Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Schecter PT Electric Guitar
BACK IN STOCK

Schecter PT Electric Guitar

An incredible value, this Tele-style string-through-body beauty boasts a maple neck, maple fretobard and coil-tappable Schecter SuperRock II humbuckers.

Overall User Ratings (based on 40 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(40)
Submitted March 3, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar might be the best guitar I've ever played, which might be somewhat of a surprise given the price, but it feels good, it plays well, it sounds amazing. There's a reason why this guitar has 40+ reviews and it has a perfect 5 stars. I think I'm most surprised by the pickups. I think they're import copies of the Schecter Superrock. I bought this guitar expecting to swap them out for some Black Winters, but I think I'm going to hold off for a while. These are fat and punchy, and they sounds really thick (but not muddy) under high gain. In my experience, lower output pups get kind of honky when I increase the gain. Not these. This bite and snarl and bark better than a lot of passives I played. The cleans sounds good too, but I play black metal with this baby, so I don't play it clean too much. I prefer actives for clean anyway.
Musical Style:
metal (black and thrash)
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2015 by Matt N in Overland, MO
"Great alternative to a tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've always wanted a tele but I'm not a big fan of Fender's 9.5" neck radius and I wanted coil splitting humbuckers. I also wanted a maple neck with a satin finish on the back. This guitar is very spartan and only offers the one tone and volume pot but I actually like the simplicity. The neck feels great and isn't too thin; very playable. It is everything I've come to expect from Schecter; perfectly dressed frets, great hardware and an awesome finish = incredible value for the price. The pickups sound great. You can really dial in that tele twang with the coils split, but you can also get great rock and metal tones as well. The pole pieces on the pickups are huge. The pickups are very expressive and have incredible gain for passives. I was a little skeptical since they didn't have height adjustable pole pieces but honestly I don't think I'll ever swap these out. It is a very heavy guitar, about a pound heavier than my Schecter Tempest Custom, which I've always considered to be on the heavier side. I prefer a heavier guitar so it doesn't bother me, though it does make it a bit unbalanced. I believe the extra heft lends to a very resonant sound. The only negative comments I have about this guitar are that the tone pot is very easy to turn with barely any resistance, which makes it easy to bump when splitting/unsplitting the coils. The metal plate where the neck bolts to the body adds a bit too much thickness and takes some getting used to when playing the upper frets. Perhaps I'm just used to a scooped neck pocket. Since the top isn't carved and is the traditional flat tele chunk of wood it can dig into your arm. Despite these things I think the guitar is still great and these are really just minor annoyances.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for 12 years and play casually at home.
Musical Style:
classic rock, blues, psychedelic rock, metal
22 of 23 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2020 by Richie T in Philthadelphia, PA
"Perfect Fit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
THIS IS THE FIRST GUITAR THAT ONCE IN MY HANDS; IT FIT. Almost like I have played this guitar before...I have become an exclusive Schecter guitar guru. This is my fourth Schecter and the lowest in price that I have purchased. zZounds is just FN Awesome!!! They gave me a decent discount for a purchase problem on another guitar. Out of the box it was set up fairly good, did my own little tweaks, not much though. Action - Perfect, this is my first hardtail. I actually like it. Stays in tune longer. I’m a hard bender, so with a Floyd I would always be tuning. I wish that they had two separate review sections ( pro & beginner ). There is nothing at all wrong with this guitar. If people would comprehend what their reading in the specs, they should already know what you are getting. I think for the price, you get what you need. Perfect for beginners and has enough for your so called Seasoned players. I Love the big chunk of alder, you can feel the resonance against your stomach. I really don’t notice the lack of cutout in the body. Maybe if you are a sloucher when you play sitting down, it shouldn’t be an issue. I played this thing for six hours yesterday for rehearsal. It is lite and I even have just the strap and the little shoulder pad and did not feel any discomfort at all!!! Pickups are on the hotter side, If your a pro player as some state just lower your pickups a little and that’s why they make adjustment dials on pedals and amps. It’s that easy beginners!!!I am a still learning guitar player ( there is always something new to learn if your an out of the box kind of player ), experimental of all genres!!! You will not be disappointed with this purchase
Musical Background:
I am as I like to say a well rounded player. My playing style is more of a bluesy, I practice a lot of scaling and riffs.
Musical Style:
I dabble in all styles. I hate just the same old thing you know...
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2012 by David O in Lewiston, ME
"My new main guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Firstly, I'm not a huge Schecter fan, i find their pickups are usually too distorted for the styles of music i play. But this model is much much different from any of the other Schecter's i've played. I started playing on an SG when i was younger and have been tryin to get back to humbuckers for years, but they were never versatile enough to play different styles. So i "settled" on a Strat and later became a huge fan of the Fender Tele. With the coil tap ability to split the bridge pickup this thing can be played on any style. Metallica to Tim McGraw this guitar handles the variety of styles extremely well. The bridge pickup when it is coil tapped is SO clean and twangy sounding i love it, but then you push the knob in and you can ROCK. So cool!! The action was set perfectly, and It's very well made and really solid, AND the black hardware is just AWESOME looking. (why is the nut still white though? odd lol). For the price paid i got a guitar that blows a lot of the more expensive Tele's away! Including the Fender Blacktop i bought in January....that's going to Ebay :-) It should be noted i have the Boss GT-10 and that is usually hooked up straight to board.
Musical Background:
Playing lead professionally for 20+ years
Musical Style:
Read above LOL Literally Metal to Country and everything in between.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2017 by Ernie F in Miami , FL
"AMAZING GUITAR!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i just happened to find this guitar demo on Youtube and kept looking for more vids and reviews. Took the chance as price is low with all the extra features like single coil taps etc. This guitar is under price. Amazing quality. It arrives with an unbelievable setup. Pickups roar yet have the perfect sound for any style music. Looks are both beautiful and rocking. They come with 10's. I changed strings to Ernie Ball Pure nickel and just amazing. Played out of an all tube Marshall, Eganter and Friedman. Just perfect. Get one of these babies today. Outstanding guitar. Resting next to my Gibson Les Paul, USA Strat and Wolfgang. All expensive guitars and this ax can stand proudly next to them. I gigged twice with it and all I'm using right now. Weight on mine 8.9 lbs. Not light. Pickups, neck is warm, rich and clean clarity. Bridge is clean and punchy midrange with overdrive/distortion. What a steal. Schecter is bad ass.
Musical Background:
ROCK, POP, COUNTRY, FUNK, BLUES, LATIN
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2020 by Keola H in Hutchinson, KS
"I ❤ this guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bonded with this guitar immediately and has been my favorite ever since. It was setup perfectly. It had perfect intonation, action and pickup height. First guitar I've had that way right out of the box. He'll it was even perfectly in tune! Every detail of this instrument is made with unbelievable quality. So classy, versatile, and easy to play. The 18:1 grovers are amazing. And tuning stability is impeccable. The neck shape is comfortable and only a slight departure from a medium fender c shape. I like it a tad more in that dept. The fretboard, inlays, and jumbo frets were as pristine as I've seen. Even above a grand. Damn Schecter! Not one dead spot or buzz anywhere on this axe. Excellent hardware throughout. The gloss finish and aged yellow binding was without a single imperfection. Sound? Amazing in every pickup position. The Super Rock II pickups are versatile and rich. Huge harmonic content. The selected body and neck woods pair wonderfully with these pickups. The Schecter PT Standard is special... I ❤ this guitar!
Musical Background:
20 + years of playing guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Jazz, Blues, Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2015 by Joe B in Bel Air, MD
"One of the greatest values on the market!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Schecter PT is an OUTSTANDING instrument. With its dual, coil-splittable humbuckers, there is no sound you can't come up with! You can dial in a nice clean tone and play some beautiful country with that classic Telecaster twang, to a nice warm single coil neck tone for some great blues licks or, say, a Pearl Jam "Yellow Ledbetter" type sound. Push that knob down, crank up the gain and rip into some super heavy, Metallica-type riffs (in less than 5 seconds). This guitar is absolutely brilliant. The fit and finish is TOP notch; this does not look or feel like a cheap instrument and it's not a cheap instrument. But, it's not that expensive either. The maple neck and fingerboard feel great, it is not a super slim "fast" neck like you may think, it's just like a telecaster. The Grover 18:1 tuners do their job perfectly as always and the guitar stays in tune great. I'm paying less than $70.00/month for this guitar thanks to ZZOUNDS.COM and I couldn't afford to buy it outright, so ZZOUNDS is the only reason I am able to enjoy this beautiful instrument. What they're are doing for musicians is absolutely amazing and such a great service. If you buy this guitar, you will NOT be disappointed, I guarantee it.
Musical Background:
Jam at home, electric and acoustic guitar.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, folk, punk, heavy metal, hard rock.
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2017 by Richard Papa in Malden, MA
"ordered my second PT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! period.... I first fell in love with this guitar back in the 80's but was unable to get my hands on one till a few months ago. From the maple neck to the crystal clear tone and the coil tap, this guitar rocks... ordered my second one today... Thanks to Schecter and zZounds. Richard Papa
Musical Background:
professional musician and teacher 36 years playing
Musical Style:
everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2017 by scott r in Benton, KY
"worth the investment,lots of tones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this guitar sounds great..neck pickup sounds great with coil split,nice neck,stays in tune,guitar resonates very well,jazz,rock,metal,blues,this guitar will handle it
Musical Background:
25 plus years
Musical Style:
rock,metal,blues,jazz
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2012 by rick rivets in nyc, NY
"It's to good for Eddie Vedder"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If it's good enough for Pete Townshend then it's good enough for all. It called the PT not the EV so to even use Vedder in the same context as Vedder is an insult to The Who. Beats any Fender tele in this price range.
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
Original rock ala The Stones
12 of 23 people (52%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2018 by Caleb R in Picayune, MS
"Needs some work out of the box"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It took me a while to settle on this guitar. Obviously when you buy a guitar, especially online it's going to need a set-up. I took it to a luthier friend of mine, and he did a set-up for me. No matter what he did, the strings would buzz on all the frets, with the exception of the 1st string. At the end of the day it was determined that the neck pocket was cut to deep. He had to put a shim in the pocket to raise the neck up. Not something you'd want to find in a $500+ guitar, at $200-$300 maybe. Everything else works as it should, and I hope that my issue was a isolated incident. The nut is also pretty cheap. I'd recommend changing it. Gave manufacturer support a 2.5 because I've never dealt with them.
Musical Background:
Singer/musician 30 years
Musical Style:
Christian, worship, rock and blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2018 by Caleb Rabiin in Picayune, MS
"Impressed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted an electric guitar that was versatile enough to play any style of music, and to be honest a T style was at the bottom of my list. I almost purchased an Epiphone Les Paul, until a friend suggested Schecter. Guitar Center is the only music store within an hour's drive, but they didn't have anything. I browsed through zZounds' selection and the PT caught my eye, so I ordered it. Out of the box it wasn't really playable, which is to be expected in my opinion. There was a few high frets and the nut is very cheap. After a good set up and a new nut it plays exceptionally well. No regrets for this purchase. The coil tap is just gravy. I put a 3 for customer support because I've yet to deal with them.
Musical Background:
20+ years professional musician
Musical Style:
Christian, rock, country, blues
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2004
Schecter PT Guitar Customer Review
I don't think I'll ever replace it. It's a good value for the price - very easy to play. Sounds good when playing heavy metal.
The Wow Factor
If it's good enough for Eddie Vedder...... well....
Musical Style:
rock / metal
14 of 21 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to