Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Schecter Omen Extreme 7-String Electric Guitar

Schecter Omen Extreme 7-String Electric Guitar

Stay in tune under the harshest stage conditions with this guitar, which has an extended 26.5-inch scale and 7 strings.

Overall User Ratings (based on 7 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(7)
Submitted May 16, 2010 by a customer from live.com
"Great Guitar For The Price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For my needs, this guitar more than satisfactory. If you are a professional musician, surely you'd want something of a bit higher quality, but for jamming with friends, writing and recording, I am perfectly satisfied with this one. I wouldn't replace this one, and I would only buy a new one if I had an opportunity to buy something truly amazing.
Sound
My big complaint is against the Schecter stock pickups. They sound muddy as hell and the sustain is pretty terrible. However, I switched out the bridge pickup (I only use the bridge) with a Seymour Duncan Invader-7, and now this guitar sounds great.
Features
As I said before, the stock pickups are pretty bad. Aside from that, most of the hardware is great. The tuners, bridge, and knobs (volume and tone/coil-tap) are perfect, though the pickup switch is in a really inconvenient location, especially considering it flips vertically. It was no problem just turning it so it switches horizontally, though. The nut is also a bit small, not leaving a whole lot of room to mess around with the action on the neck end.
Ease of Use
If you can play guitar, you can play this. I hadn't ever touched a 7-string before buying this, but it's easy enough just getting used to that extra string. I'm not a huge fan of the finish on the neck, though. When you've been playing awhile and you go to mute the A string with your thumb, your hand will stick to it pretty easily.
Quality
After purchasing this guitar, I noticed that it was made in Indonesia. I wasn't too thrilled about that, but aside from the previously mentioned flaws, and minor wear underneath the finish on back, I have no complaints about the actual quality. It actually feels very solid.
Value
Aside from the pickups, I believe this guitar to be well worth the price.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had to deal with anyone from support.
The Wow Factor
This is really a beautiful guitar. Hell, that's the real reason I bought it in the first place.
Musical Background:
6-years playing, writing, and recording
Musical Style:
Hard Rock/Alternative/Blues
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2014 by Chris Mercier in Gibsonia, PA
"Omen Extreme 7"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok, right out of the box I knew that this was a QUALITY guitar. the finish is BEAUTIFUL and in person its just... WOW! I've been wanting to buy a 7 string guitar for a long time and I love Schecter guitars. It was set up perfectly and I didn't have to change a thing. ( I Changed the strings.. just cause I wanted a thicker Gauge..)
Sound
Ill break the sound down into clean/distortion... The cleans are awesome! plug in added a bit of reverb and this guitar just sings! has the push/pull pot with is nice for a variety of sounds. Distortion - I was kind of disappointed because it just sounds muddy... I had a feeling when I purchased the guitar it would be that way, so to fix this problem Im going to Purchase Duncan Invader Pick ups and that will be that. Overall I give the sound a 7/10
Ease of Use
plug and play... haha Easy to get clean tones with this guitar... Distortion is a different animal.. I have a few tones I like but compared to my EC407 or my Tempest (with Duncan Invaders) just doesn't have the clarity Im looking for...
Quality
I give the quality 8.5/10 Reason being the pick ups are pretty Sh****... other than that, the guitar stays in tune great, the finish is BEAUTIFUL.. its just the quality Schecter is all about!
Value
Its a great Value and Even if you scrap the stock pick ups for some better ones its well worth it.
Manufacturer Support
NA
The Wow Factor
I was Wowed for sure!
Musical Background:
I play the guitar, Bass, and Drums
Musical Style:
I listen to everything but mainly my roots are in Metal and now the newer Genre of DJENT
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"GOOD STUFF"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I OWN MOSTLY 6 STRING GUITARS-THIS IS MY 1ST AND ONLY 7 STRING-MY SEARCH FOR #1 7 STRING GUITAR LED ME STRAIGHT TO THIS ONE-THIS IS IT
Sound
THE SOUND OF THIS GUITAR TO ME IIS PERFECT-IM NOT INTO ACTIVE PICKUPS-SO ALONG WITH THE COIL TAP AND PASSIVE PICKUPS AND ADUSTING MI AMP I CAN ACHIEVE THE TONE IM LOOKING FOR.I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE SOUND WITH THE STOCK PICKUPS.
Features
I RESEARCHED THIS GUITAR EXTENSIVLY.IT HAS EVERYTHING I WAS LOOKING FOR-LARGE FRET MARKERS-7 STRINGS-COIL TAP-STRING THRU BODY-AWESOME NECK AND A BEAUTIFUL FINISH.THE QUALITY OF THE GUITAR IS AWESOME IM SO HAPPY WITH IT. USUALLY I HAVE TO MESS WITH A NEW GUITAR FOR A WHILE TO GET IT SET UP THE WAY I WANT IT-THIS ONE IJUST TUNED IT-THATS IT-GOOD STUFF THE TUNERS ARE OK I JUST HAVE TO GET USED TO 7 OF THEM
Ease of Use
PLUG IN AND PLAY-THAT EASY
Quality
I HAD AN OMMEN 6 YEARS AGO-BUT THIS ONE IS NIGHT AND DAY-THE FINISH IS PERFECT THE GUITAR IS BUILT VERY WELL AND SOLID-I HAVE SEVERAL FREIND WHO ALO HAVE SCHECTER GUITARS-NO COMPLAINTS THEY ARE PROVEN-GOOD STUFF
Value
IN THIS PRICE RANGE-TO ME-ITS THE BEST FOR THE MONEY
Manufacturer Support
NO PROBLEMS SO FAR
The Wow Factor
COOL TO LOOK AT-BETTER TO PLAY
Musical Background:
long time player
Musical Style:
anything expressive and sound good to me
6 of 9 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2017 by Brian H in Prattsville, NY
"Beautiful piece of work but a few flaws"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Guitar is beautifully built and very high quality. However it has a few flaws playing wise. First off unless you're Tosin abasi you cannot reach the 24th fret. As a matter of fact I cannot even reach the 22nd fret. The Strings seem to be a really heavy gauge. I can barely bend the e-string. I usually play with .10's. The pickup have some serious sustain and were feeding back out of my little MG15CF Marshall barely turned up. The fret board seems a little fat but of course this is my first 7 string. I really couldn't recommend this to a first timer IMO. The Guitar also came defective with the push pull pot knob out and not fixable without buying a new one as far as I can tell. The bottom line for me is I cannot get over the 22 - 24th fret issue. If I pay for a Guitar with 24 frets I'd like to reach it. I probably would of gave it a chance if it did not come defective, The fact that the knob could come out that easy also bothers me. It certainly wasn't because of the packing which seemed fine to me. Not matter who's fault it was it should have not been shipped.
Musical Background:
30 years playing including some professionally
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock, Progressive
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 23, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Percect Guitar."
I will love it forever.
Sound
The perfect sounding guitar if you're into Metallica, Korn, Slipknot, etc. Amazing sustain. No dead frets. Fast neck.
Features
Didn't include any accesories, I don't care. Its perfect.
Ease of Use
The best.
Quality
The best.
Value
Great for anyone wanting to experimant with 7-strings
Manufacturer Support
Not once.
The Wow Factor
The sexiest.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2011
"IT WAS WORTH IT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall, I would recommend buying this one if your into (heavy, thrash, death, speed, alternative)Metal, jazz or hard rock!!
Sound
In my opinion i think the schecter diamond plus stock in pick ups are amazing! I own a 6 string schecter C-1 Elite before but with duncan design Hb-102 pickups and they were great but i decided to try something different and so when i got the guitar and plugged it in...THE SOUND BLEW MY HEAD AWAY! It sounded heavy and has got the right tone for the kind of music i like to play! I would recommend these pick ups!
Features
I love the way this guitar looks! The black cherry and inlays make this guitar look more brutal then i expected! I'm not really into those floyd rose attachments, the scale of 26.5 inch really helps the guitar keep in tune!
Ease of Use
This guitar is really easy of use enough said! And the neck is super comfortable!
Quality
The Quality on this guitar is very well made and well put together! Not had a single problem with ever since it arrived on my front door!
Value
My conclusion to the value for this guitar is definitely worth it! I would recommend people buying this if they want to experiment with a 7 string guitar!
Manufacturer Support
No support yet!
The Wow Factor
The sexiest beast you will ever hold and play!!!!!!!!!
Musical Background:
Active Musicin
Musical Style:
(heavy, thrash, death, speed, alternative)Metal, jazz or hard rock
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2009
"BEAST!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will keep this guitar until it breaks, then I'll buy a new one
Sound
The sound is great, but if you're into heavy stuff you might want to change the pickups!
Features
It could have another tone knob, but other than that it's perfect!
Ease of Use
So easy to get so many sounds out of this beast!
Quality
I've only had mine for a couple of days, but it seems to be VERY well made!
Value
Couldn't recomend it enough! I would be willing to pay so much more than it's selling for
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it!
The Wow Factor
BUY THIS GUITAR!
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Death Metal, Melodic Death Metal
7 of 16 people (44%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us