Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Schecter 2012 Omen 7 Electric Guitar, 7-String

Schecter 2012 Omen 7 Electric Guitar (7-String)

Don't wait for an omen to tell you that you need this 7 string guitar. It features a basswood body, 2 Diamond humbucker pickups and a Walnut Satin finish.

Overall User Ratings (based on 194 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(194)
Submitted May 18, 2011 by a customer from live.com
"Great Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to own this guitar forever. I really am enjoying this guitar.
Sound
The sound is decent. It's not top knotch. The pickups get a little bit muddy. I have since changed the pickups to blackouts and what a difference that made! I would highly suggest doing that.
Features
My only complaint is I wish it had two volume controls.
Ease of Use
Action came surprisingly low. The intonation was slightly off but only on a few strings. The guitar came with what seemed like super lights. Even in standard tuning the strings felt sloppy and loose.
Quality
I was extremely surprised by the quality of this guitar. The neck finish and headstock look great. I purchased the walnut satin and thought the headstock was a gloss finish but it is matte which I think looks great.
Value
This guitar is by far worth the money. It has great build quality and plays very well.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use them so far.
The Wow Factor
Guitar looks really good. I like that it's not black.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Hardcore, Metal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2005 by a customer from sinikil.com
"Metal 7 string for a great price!"
All I can Say is it works for me! See for your self
Sound
Love the sound, I normally play ESP's but this keeps up with them.
Features
not a lot of feature, but it is a guitar, but the tuners are very small for a 7 string and that comes in handy.
Quality
Everything came In great shape on it, and mine is still in great shape except for a little slit in the bottom, but iI think that was my fault
Value
Great Price, Great guitar.
Manufacturer Support
I don;t know so I will give them the benefit of the doubt.
The Wow Factor
I want another one, This guitar Is probably my favorite to use on stage right now, but I would get another in a heartbeat!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2018 by ryan f
"its great!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
years ago i had a shecter 7 string before that got messed up and loved that guitar. and havent played one in years just ordered the white one and got it today to replace that old one. i absolutely love it. havent put it down since i unboxed it. the action is good right out of the box. although if you chug chug on some lower tuning you may need to tweak the action. has a good comfortable weight to it. i dont like light guitars. the tuning keys seem ok. the knobs are smooth. the vintage white looks great. didnt realize how much i missed playing a 7 string. it may not be a high priced guitar but it is awesome. def worth the money. i love the payment options with zZounds. i have ordered numerous products with them and havent once been disappointed. every product i have ordered has been well packaged and arrived on time.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 28, 2012 by Robert M in Everett, WA
"This is a beautiful guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Right out of the box I was amazed on how beautiful this guitar is. I got it in white, and it is an off white compared to my other white guitar which makes it look really good. The guitar sounds good, I play it in drop A, so I will need to get it set up a little so that the B string doesn't buzz. The weight is good, not much more than my Les Paul, it is comfortable to play and I really like it. The payment plans at zZounds are great and I am very happy with my purchase. I also got the guitar in four days and chose the free shipping option, so that was pretty cool.
Sound
The sound is really good, however I would recommend taking it to a guitar tech and have it set up, the B string is a little buzzy.
Features
The most useful features are the tuners in my opinion. They are great!. Aside from that, the guitar is plain and doesn't offer much in other features. It doesn't really need to though.
Ease of Use
It was as easy as tuning it.
Quality
This product is very well made. I would trust this product for many many years.
Value
This guitar offers great value, buy it today.
Manufacturer Support
I have not needed to use support.
The Wow Factor
I would buy another one in an instant. This guitar is great.
Musical Background:
Ten years, non professional. Seven string guitar, Six string guitar
Musical Style:
Metal, Death Metal, Hardcore, Punk Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2014 by Anthony Philpott
"Very pleased "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got this guitar a couple days ago. Decided I wanted a seven string but didn't want to spend a fortune on my first one. This one fit the price and plays great. The only problem I have had with this guitar was whenever I took it out of the box the strings were pretty much slammed onto the frets. But just adjusted the truss rod and it's perfect. Would definitely buy another one of these guitars!
Musical Background:
8 years
Musical Style:
Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2015 by Duncan P in Piedmont, OK
"Omen 7"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A wonderful guitar! I didn't have high hopes, but when it got in I couldn't stop playing it. Not the best pickups but they sure aren't bad ether. I have two other 7 strings, one a music man pj70, and the a Jackson. I think I've been playing my omen more than both of them.
Musical Background:
Just play for fun
Musical Style:
nu metal, progressive metal, hard rock, and alternative rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2014 by johnny l in austin, TX
"Schecter 7 string"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow !! guitar looks and sounds great !!,better than I thought it would on both counts !!Elegant finish,set up well,shipped very quickly ! and pay plan fits a working musician to the tee !! Neck is a great fit for me,good action,,,will definitly buy from you all again !!!
Musical Background:
pro,working R & B band and church band,,over 42 yrs exp.,guitar,bass,drums,keyboard and vocalist and
Musical Style:
R/B ,blues,pop,rock,top 40,Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The sexiest litle thing!!"
I have already had my guitar for two years and am still addicted to touching it. Even if I am not playing it, the look of it sitting there just makes You feel you need to touch it.
Sound
It is very destinct and beautiful sound. It plays smooth and has nice character.
Features
I got a nice omen series soft case with my guitar. I also got an extra extension for my amp.
Quality
My guitar has been abused a little bit, it still is with-out scraches and the strings hold up very nicely.
Value
This guitar is incredible. I am really getting what I payed for. I am very pleased.
Manufacturer Support
Schector has stood behind this product every step of the way. I have had no trouble with my omen and look forward to purchasing another guitar from them.
The Wow Factor
It is sexy! I already own the guitar but think its great. They have a great selection of customizing looks for each guitar. My favorite is the metallic blue. This color is deep and gives a sensual appeal. LOL I know it sounds funny , but its nice!
Musical Background:
I had about a year of lessons before my purchase. now I play for fun
Musical Style:
I like all sorts of music. However I enjoy metal most.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
""Change PUP's, Good Stuff""
Probably keep this one forever. I'll get a Hellraiser when i can Afford it.
Sound
The stock pickups in this guitar are extremely horrible. They don't give you the punch you need for such low tuning. If you do however change these pickups to Seymour Duncan JB and Jazz models, this guitar will sound like its a C-7 Blackjack with a bolt on neck. Change the pickups to probably any other pickup on the market worth more than 69.99 and the sound quality goes right up to a perfect 10!
Features
The grover tuners are probably the best part about this guitar. You rarely ever need to retune. If you change the strings, the tuning process will probably only take 2 or 3 retunings and then your set for weeks. The neck is kinda thick, but if you lower your action, it doesn't ever get in the way. The thing that does get in the way is the body of the guitar when you try to reach up to the higher frets. You can't play them freely like you can on the Ibanez 7 string available for the same price.
Ease of Use
The seven string took me about 2 weeks to get used to. It was insane learning tabs that are made for six string guitars, but when you get it you never want to stop playing. The growl of the seven string is simply awesome. I play it through a Zoom Gfx-5 and it sounds wicked.
Quality
I think the quality of Schecter guitars are amazing for the price. Where else could you get grover tuners for this price. Ive had mine for 7 months now and i havent had any serious problems. This is most likely due to the fact that they are set up in the U.S. rather than over in Korea.
Value
If you want an awesome 7 string for this price, you've got to go with this one. Set it up, and change the pickups and, it is unbelievable! I can't explain how well it sounds and plays.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to but because its Schecter, I give em a Ten!
The Wow Factor
Can't go wrong with the black one. Can't say I suggest that blue colour though.
Musical Background:
Active musician, in a band aswell.
Musical Style:
Metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"ROCKIN' AXE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i am very satisfied with it but quite doesn't meet my musical goal yet, but there are others that will, i just haven't found them yet. this is my 4th guitar but like i say there will be others to come.
Sound
the sound is not too bad, it's actually pretty good, when i got a 7 string guitra i did not know what i was getting into, i hated 7 strings because i couldn't get used to it, so i took off the low B string and moved all the other Strings down 1. but with 6 strings and a little bit of space at the top to bend down instead of up is pretty cool feeling. and im telling you it may sound kind of funny, but if you do this this guitar can sing!!
Features
I like the guitar a lot, i just wish it had a smaller neck. and i love the coil tap, it gives it some dimensions for a fat sound or a really heavy metal sound to it. and i gotta say the stock strings were not that great, i played with them for about 15-20 minutes before i changed them. but overall the features are pretty good.
Ease of Use
very ease of use. i can easily tweak it to my sound that i want without any pedal or stuff like that.
Quality
this product is made pretty good, i guess its just a question of where you keep in your house: is it too cold?, or too hot? or too dry? a lot of people have different opinions about it, some are bad, some are good but the only question is: are we taking care of our guitars like we should be? if we are then we should have no problems
Value
couldn't ask for a better price.
Manufacturer Support
never had use it.
The Wow Factor
i already have it
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Session guitar player
Musical Style:
Rock, Intsrumental rock, classic rock, Blues, Mariachi (on classical guitar), and metal(new and old)
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"How a Omen can be a very very good thing."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i plan on having this guitar for a very long time. if it was stolen, i would certainly buy another one.
Sound
My omen 7 is the final touch on my tone quest. The low B adds just the right amount of color to my mix. Even unplugged the omen rings thanks to the string thru body and the tusq nut. Im currently running it into a peavey vypyr 75 watt combo amp. The high gain models let me hammer out some straight grooves while the others sound great also.
Features
the omen 7 came strung with d'addario strings, which i was going to put on anyway. A allen wrench for the truss rod was also included. It is a straight forward guitar..volume, tone, and three way selector switch.The neck takes a little getting used to as it is wider of course. i also prefer unfinished necks on my guitars with a coat of lemon oil, but the finish on the omen is quite smooth, not tacky at all. The stock pickups are strong but need a little more definition. overall it is a beast that has quickly become my favorite.
Ease of Use
To quote G-n-R, its so easy, easy. once I got the low B down it is quite smooth.
Quality
Schecter has always put out solid awesome sounding guitars. I used to have a Damien 6 and it was solid as stone also. When the guitar arrived, i was amazed at the way it was packed for shipping. a box in a box with absolutely signs of damage in anyway to the inner shecter box. Straight out of the box it was playing within a few minutes after tuning up. i would have no doubts about taking it gigging, and will stay steady night after night.
Value
For the price, you cant beat it. zzounds has the lowest priced highest quality instruments around.
Manufacturer Support
I havent had to contact schecter for anything and dont forsee myself having to for a long time.
The Wow Factor
The wood grain walnut finish is nice. Im waiting for the current string to wear a bit then im going to go over the whole guitar with lemon oil. its gonna look sharp;
Musical Background:
everything from metal bands to worship teams.
Musical Style:
mainly metal, but all styles are cool..just no hip hop please
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great for your first seven string!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This my first guitar and I love it!
Sound
I've noticed that I can get anything I need, The bass on the low strings comes though, the same with the mids, and the highs. A very balanced sound. The fact that it is a string-through also make it resonate very well.
Features
I love the grover tuners, they stay in tune so well! It only came with some alan wrenches and a small guitar cable though.
Quality
The grover tuners are a luxuary. The finish looked great and I love the matching headstock. I have a chip in the paint but that was my fault but to me it seemed liked it chiped very easily.
Value
Yes it's worth that in more. What it may lack in durability (not sure, only had it for 2 weeks) it makes up for in sound.
Manufacturer Support
I'll give them the benifet of the doubt.
The Wow Factor
Black is sexy. It would look even sexier if the hardware was black. I've considered buying black hardware for it. The shape is really nice and I love the "lines" that the reflection of light makes on it.
Musical Background:
Drummer for 8 years, Guitarist for 1 1/2 years
Musical Style:
Hard and Progressive Rock
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2004 by a customer from earthlink.net
"eypopping guitar with good sound and comfortable playibilty"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
overall it is a great guitar for the price.
Sound
the sound is pretty god , the brisge is a little thin and muddy unless u use a really good recto and the neck is great to solos with high distortion and for sparkling clean tones
Features
the features are great, tuneres are stable,electronics are easy and smooth and has a very comfortable body.
Quality
quality is great, finish is flawless but the elecrtronics cold be a little better
Value
if i lost it i would kill and buy a new one!
Manufacturer Support
hopefully won't have to deal with them
The Wow Factor
ALREDY GOT IT.... LOVE IT !
Musical Style:
metal
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2003 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Omen 7 - 2003 design"
I would KILL if it got stolen...
Sound
The sound is very cutting with lots of middle in it. It can also produce hell of alot of bass if ya wanna. I play progressive metal with this baby and I love it. I'm a lead guitarist and the sustain this guitar offers is great.
Features
I like the whole feel of it, I could trust it as a weapon if needed!
Quality
I'm a little upset about the tuners, and that's about it. They didn't have the stiff feeling as that of Ibanez or ESP... That's about it.
Value
This is a pretty low-value guitar, but you can most certainly get the right amount of cash from selling (Like that would ever happen?!)
Manufacturer Support
Pretty poor support I must say, out of 10 e-mails, I got 3 back...
The Wow Factor
I WANT ANOTHER ONE!
Musical Style:
Progressive metal, Thrash metal, classical
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2015 by Zack K in Grand Prairie, TX
"Awesome Budget Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is nothing but greatness and it speaks for itself quite well with no problem. As well as the price point, it's hard to beat a guitar of this quality.
Sound
This guitar is undoubtedly built for metal. I am not sure, but the stock pickups in my guitar are actually decent in terms of build quality, so therefore, the low end is pretty powerful but the clarity is pretty lacking (mostly string separation and what not) I wouldn't say the pickups are muddy either, even a friend of mine (Who owns a KM-7) said the pickups were decently voiced. Nonetheless, if you feel like throwing in a blackout, jb, emgs, distortions etc.. you're only improving it ten-fold (as I read constantly in the reviews and forums)
Features
The TOM bridge is pretty decent, does its job and what not. String-thru body is definitely the best thing ever in terms of getting the best tone out of your guitar. Now, throughout the years of this production guitars' evolution (and many parts were exchanged a lot) my 2012 Omen has regular Schecter tuners, not sure if locking, but they keep my guitar nicely in tune after rigorous playing one day and next day not even having to touch the tuning pegs.
Ease of Use
Now, of course, there is a 7th string (AKA your low B) and for some (like me) it is a learning curve, like getting used to an extra string, adjusting muscle memory and what not. Most would say the neck is either too thick, or too wide, but in the end (which I am not too sure) it just comes down to preference and is not an actual flaw. But for me, the neck couldn't be any better in terms of playability and is actually perfect for me.
Quality
We're talking about Schecter here, of COURSE the quality is great, they put out nothing but great guitars with great quality hands DOWN.
Value
Value is unsurpassed with ANY guitar of its price range. Period.
Manufacturer Support
Never used them nor plan to, I expect nothing but greatness from Schecter and they succeed each time.
The Wow Factor
Back in 2012 when I first saw this guitar, I was in love with the design and how it sounded (Watched a lot of videos with the guitar in use) and in late 2014 I actually got my hands on it and haven't had ANY issues with it. I am now in the process of buying the 2014 Blackjack C-7 model and my arsenal will be complete.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for about 2-3 years.
Musical Style:
Metal, Progressive Rock, Alternative, Deathcore.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2014 by Zack King in Grand Prairie, TX
"Pure Greatness in an Affordable 7-string"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There's literally not much to say but, wow, you really cannot go wrong with a guitar like this for the price... Spectacular performance and it's very solid.
Musical Background:
Guitar Player for 4 years
Musical Style:
Heavy Metal, Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2008
Schecter Omen 7 Guitar Customer Review
Sound
I plugged this in through a flexwave combo, and the sound was amazing. The clean was pure and delightful, and the distortion was as heavy as anyone would want it.
Features
7 strings. String through neck. Volume knob, tone knob, 3 way switch. Pretty standard.
Ease of Use
Play it.
Quality
The guitar is very smooth. The stock strings were absolute crap, and got replaced immediately. Another thing you might want to note is the extremely wide neck. That thing is a monster, but that's my preference.
Value
Not the best guitar in the world, but the best for it's price, and good enough for any style you want to play.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2007
"neck is way to fat"
if it wasnt for the OBESE NECK i would have given this guitar a 9. for its cheeeeeeep price its a great 7 string that is ruined by a stupidly huge and fat neck which makes it extremely uncomfortable to play unless your doing 1 note korn and deftones garbage. if you have large hands give this guitar a try. if your looking to shred dont bother
Sound
the pickups are good for stock low end, they sound nice and with a good preamp you can deal with them, until you can afford EMG's, emgs will make it sound much, much better.
Features
everything is low end on this thing, basswood, maple, rosewood, dot inlays, "schecter" tuners and p/u's. features are the lowest of the low, but this is the LOW end 7 string, everything is built extremely well however. This thing has an extremely fat neck, if you have little hands, dont bother, its huge and cumbersome, the dump truck of 7 strings
Ease of Use
it sounds nice for low end stock p/u's definately impressive with a GOOD preamp, the COIL TAP is great and adds dimension. The action can get down pretty low before buzzing like crazy. The neck is way too big, its fat and slow, and it feels like a baseball bat.
Quality
awesome, absolutely awesome quality from schecter, for its price range.
Value
its a great guitar if you dont need a good neck. the neck is just too big, plain and simple, its absolutely OBESE and really drags down this guitar and the damien 7.
Manufacturer Support
never used it
The Wow Factor
nice styling in black, glossy and looks high quality, it seriously needs some decent inlays though.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.co.uk
"bought an ibanez 7-string? keep the receipt?"
i love this guitar, it even beats my ibanez s470, which says alot considering that the ibanez s 470 was 420 Pounds!
Sound
not bad, chuncky tone but tends to loose it a little at the top end. There ok but keep a little spare cos ul want to change 'em.
Features
the guitar is a lovely curvey shape but i think schecter couldve made it a bit more unique if they realy tried.
Ease of Use
the necks a little chunky but meh, thats one of the disadvantages of a 7 string that you find, ever in guitars like the ibanez universe's and 7321's.
Quality
its a schecter...enough said.
Value
ive never played a guitar thats a 7 string as fairly priced and well equiped as this one. its head and shoulders above the rest. i look at people playing things like the ibanez 7321, and it makes me feel like a very wealthy man because it is both cheaper, and better than other competitors.
Manufacturer Support
ive never needed it, remember...schecter!
The Wow Factor
its not super sexy, but when evryone else in the room is playing rg shapes, you feel distinct, and presige among them.
Musical Background:
hobby/ semi-profesional
Musical Style:
metal,rock,punk,scar,blues,funk,folk-metal,nintendo-core.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 4, 2007
"Shecter Omen 7"
never again.
Sound
The pickups are incredibly muddy, i have never hear worse out of a seven string.
Features
Didnt appeal much more than any other guitar..
Ease of Use
Like i said, incredibly muddy pickups, and the neck was a baseball bat.
Quality
The tuners will not hold my guitar in tune,I can almost blow on them and they knock the strings out of tune.
Value
$300? save your money, get an Ibanez...
Manufacturer Support
never dealt with them, the guitar told me everything about the company i needed to know..
The Wow Factor
fat neck... disgusting headstock? no chicks want to see that..
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Metal,Rock
of 13 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2004
Schecter Omen 7 Guitar Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
nice......
Sound
i thought the sound of this product was wonderful!
Value
you get A LOT of bang for your buck with this one
The Wow Factor
its good lookin and sounds great....what else would persuade me to buy it?
Musical Style:
metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to