Samson Resolv 50a Active Reference Monitors

Samson Resolv 50a Active Reference Monitors

Bi-amped 75 watt powered monitors. 1/4 in. TRS and RCA inputs. 5.25 in. woofer, 1 in. tweeter.

Overall User Ratings (based on 54 ratings)
Overall:
4 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4 out of 5 stars
Features:
4 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(54)
Submitted March 14, 2007 by a customer from cox.net
"Samson's Don't Lie!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I'll add something later but keep 'em as part of the overall multi-tiered studio monitors that you see in the best of the best studios (Bob Rock using one larger "playback" monitor in vocal booth (forgot the brand)
Sound
I went from using similar-sized compact stereo system speakers to these and right away I heard the "studio mix" - tighter bass and sweeter high's (a tech cliche but its true!) No additional knobs required, everything's built in to respond true to the specs stated. Especially effective with my Boss DR-670 drum machine. As Samson states, the seperation of instruments via frequencies and EQ tweak on my digital 16-track is clear and makes for a mix that doesn't lie. My only gripe: my studio is a square room with vaulted cielings, a few bits of foam and hard fiberboard. Acoustics can ruin a perfect score!
Features
I like the volume knobs that "click" in at 12:00 (always turn speakers on at 0db!!!!) You can go louder, but that's not what near-fields are for y'all!
Ease of Use
Just follow the manual's "sweet spot" reference for how you sit and placement of speakers, use 1/4 inch (as opposed to RCA) set at 12:00 and life is good!
Quality
I love the "flat matte black" finish. They are constructed to withstand at least a F-2 Hurricane.
Manufacturer Support
So far so good!
The Wow Factor
I love the laser-like blue l.e.d. "on" indicator. Fusion drive is powered up for interstellar sound travel
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
New Millenium Metal
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2003 by a customer from aol
Samson Resolv 50a Monitor Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Like I said before, if you're looking for inexpensive, small monitors, buy these, because they really do sound good, and they are very useful.
Sound
These speakers sound very nice. They are definitely seeing much use in my studio, and they are small and look cool. The reality is, do they sound better than Genelecs...or Mackies...probably not, but they are very usable, and they're just like anything else, you have to learn how they sound to get the most out of them. For 219.99, you can't beat it, and they are loud!! Buy them, you'll like them, that is, unless you are used to 1300.00 monitoring systems.
Features
Well they look cool, they have balanced 1/4 inch, and unbalanced RCA, and of course they have power amps. Just about what you would hope to get in active studio monitors. They are vented well, and they seem nicely flat in response, so uummm way to go.
Quality
very nice quality, nice weight, pretty sturdy, I would drop them or knock them around in the backseat of your car of course.
Value
great value.
Manufacturer Support
???????????????don't know
The Wow Factor
well since I have it...it gets a 10 for wanting it!!
Musical Style:
none specifically
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"best buy for producer/mixing on a budget!!!!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
The only thing keeping theses from a perfect score is the fact that the bottom end on these is not so good however, monitors this size usually aren't geared towards sub bass. Just add a sub to the them and you are set!
Sound
the only way to get better sound out of monitors this size is to spend at least $200 more but, if you are willing to spend that much you wouldn't be looking to get something this size. Nice flat sound nothing exagerated which is crutial for getting good mixes.
Features
not many features but who needs them. Most features on monitors result in inacurate mixes. very straightforward build.
Quality
they sound great never too harsh for long listening. I won't be blasting these monitors at stupid levels so they should last long enough until I can upgrade. However, they don't sound stressed when turned up. I'll always keep these though.
Value
I am a hip-hop producer. I was mixing on computer speakers before, what a diference monitors make. I'm getting much better mixes now. Good size and color and, for the price they sound perfect. Much better than Event tr5. A must buy for hip-hop production on a budget!!
The Wow Factor
I would buy two more pairs.
Musical Background:
producer
Musical Style:
rap, r&b, world
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"All glamour but little glitz."
Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not very long.
Sound
I purchased these for use with a laptop DAW setup using Sonar / M audio Ozone and these 50a Samsons. I was suspicious about the sound due to their titanium dome tweeters, but purchased them due to OK reviews and a great discounted price. Unfortunately my fears came true. During playback of various mixes of various genres of music I find the overall sound is lacking in detail and harsh in the treble. They are fine for playback of solo instruments (eg playing a synth through) or playing back a guitar through a preamp processor but that's about it.
Features
The little rubber feet are a nice touch.
Quality
Overall the fit and finish is excellent. They look great! It's such a shame. Samson have done a great job of designing and building these little things, except, alas, the drivers. I don't feel that the woofer will stand up to a whole lot of punishment and I can see the tweeter blowing soon if I were to push the volume up with a guitar belting out through them during recording/monitoring. They have any overload protection or thermal cut off protection. They get very very hot and that kinda worries me. If they had built in protection, then for the price I would probably keep them.
Value
For the price that I paid, they may come in useful for something, but at the regular price I would spend another 50 - 100 bucks and get something that will really last. Find something around 300 with Kevlar drivers, silk dome tweeters and thermal / overload protection.
Manufacturer Support
Grade 5 because I have not dealt with support. I see that they have a three year warranty, that's encouraging at least.
The Wow Factor
Mutton dressed up as lamb.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist.
Musical Style:
Blues/Rock/Acoustic
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Leathal Sound-The Bad WAY!!"
Overall: 2 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am gonna now get a refund for this product and buy some other monitors. I wil never ever in my life buy from SAMSON EVER AGAIN!!! This product almost made me deaf literally (read my review on its sound)
Sound
Ok...I will keep it REAL. Well after i just got these from UPS, I opened them up and read the manual thorughly first. Then i hooked them up to my m-audio fast track. Well they worked the first 15 mins with "ok" sound then guess what??!!! There was this loud noise!!! like some radio frequency or something(it was not a hum)!!! The sound was so so very loud. I thought it was coming from my protools. i shut off protools in the middle of my project, but the sound still did not stop!!! i shut of my computer and audio interface directly from the power outlet, but the sound was still there and getting louder!!! I then turned down the volume of my monitors both left and right but the sound was still there...and then i finnally found out it was coming from the left monitor!!! i mean i acutually turned the volume completely down and went as far as to unplug the 1/4 cable from the input but the radio frequency kind of sound was still there and louder!!! the sound is like some kind of phone signal gone bad!!! Then i finnally turned off my left monitor and FINAALLY the sound went BUT WAIT!!! it did not just turn off as soon as i shut it off...the sound went away but slowly!!! MAN!!! that was a seriously bad experience for somebody in the first fifteen minutes of using it!!! and mind you i am no rookie...I have been doing this stuff for 8 years so i know quite a lot about montiors and this one was a BAD BAD experience. I dont trust this company no more!! those monitors could have made me deaf!! Literally!! And dont think i had the montiors turned up all the way...coz i had them actually on 12 o'clock(thats 0db)!!!NOW thats some BAD SOUND!!!
Features
Not many features..just a volume knob
Ease of Use
I would say they were easy to hook up atleast
Quality
Read what i wrote about in the Sound section...youll know why i gave it a "1-the worst" for sound.
Value
I really dont think that this product should be sold for $200 seriously...i mean ZZOUNDS not even sell this dangerous item. Comon ZOUNDS you guys have such nice products but this one is LETHAL!!!
Manufacturer Support
Well the support was ok i mean all they ssaid really was return it.
The Wow Factor
The product obviously has a lot of appeal thats why i bought it but mind you the quality and sound is lethal(in a bad way) literrally!!
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer, Active Musician, Singer
Musical Style:
Hiphop, Techno, Rock, Pop
1 of 10 people (10%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2008
"A Perfect Cost/Performance option to Buy!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
This pair of big boxes is quite good for its price range, cheaper models may be less powerful while powerful models cost more. This pair strikes its balance for cost performance and this should be the condideration for budget/smaller studios. You can buyer cheaper sets but live to regret, maybe. You can pay more for prestigious models, but waste unnecessary bucks. This ONE PAIR of awesome Speakers will not result in the both mentioned scenarios.
Sound
The Sound is very captivating and no words can describe its truthful deliverance of music and playback. Its 'WOW'! No more,No Less. You pay for what you get, its good.
Features
Could have volume knob in front to better control.
Ease of Use
Easy to use.
Quality
Its value for money. For USD200, you get a lot better quality than the expensive counterpart monitors in the Pro-market.
Value
A+ for its value.
Manufacturer Support
Think not needed yet.
The Wow Factor
I got it then.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Pop
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2007
"Great Speakers"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Great overall, read everything else to see why, its about an 8.5 or a 9 great!
Sound
iT SOUNDS great! I love the quality, it has a nice sound to it. Love it
Features
not many features but i don't need alot
Ease of Use
Press a button turn it on, flip the switch turn it back off....
Quality
The audio quality is really good, it sounds nice, it's execellent and real pure.
Value
It's a real good value, because there good speakers
Manufacturer Support
Samson's good
The Wow Factor
Well it goes awesome with my alesis 8hd keyboard, it sounds awesome too, i have it and i really like it.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2003
"Accurate not Hyped"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
They are clean, flat, and Accurate...Use the extra money you save for the studio foam... The Sonex Classic I have have in my room make the 50A's super accurate....Also get a few Auralex T'fusor's and you will be laughing all the way to the bank
Sound
The sound is true and flat. I owned a pair of Alesis M1 that suck in the mix department compared to the 50a's. When mixing, you don't want speaker's that makes your music to good- you want them to be accurate. The 50A's are super accurate for mixing in the bedroom and they translate well on hifi speakers. The Samson 120a is amust if you get the 50A's, and its great at handling to lows....Get the 50A's and the 120a, save some money, and buy some Sonex or Auralex foam and you mixes will sound better than anything you done so far...Accuracy is the key
Quality
Accurate not Hyped
Musical Style:
ALL
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2003
Samson Resolv 50a Monitor Customer Review
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
the Sound terrible, but flat. They were working for 3 hours. One of the speaker burned out with pop-sound and that was it. I sent them back, saved couple of buks and got KRK V6, those babies is real deal!
Sound
the sound is flat, but kind of poor and lack of details.
Value
horrible
Manufacturer Support
I'm not positive about support, but if those monitors don't work after purchase...it's a big question.
The Wow Factor
They look good, but they don't work...
1 of 6 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.