Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Rode NTK Tube Condenser Studio Microphone

Rode NTK Tube Condenser Studio Microphone

Give your vocals, amps, drums and acoustic instruments the rich sound of a tube mic. The Rode NTK comes with a power supply, stand mount, 30' cable and case.

Overall User Ratings (based on 96 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(96)
Submitted February 5, 2008 by a customer from mac.com
"looking for that U87 sound at about 600.00??"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
an amazing all around mic. From instruments to vocals, this mic right here is going deliver. Ive had this particular mic now over two years. Nothing negative to say about it. It gives me the right amount of warmth that I'd expect from much more expensive mics. Paired up with an LA-610, this mic gives that amazing big round sound that every hip-hop record is known for, but at the same time very translucent. Simply said.... Just amazing.
Features
I wish it came with a shockmount, but its actually very inexpensive. The 30-foot cable to connect to the power supply was a great idea.
Ease of Use
just plug it in, let it warm up for aout a half hour. Then your ready to start recording.
Quality
very rugged mic. It even comes in a vey rugged hard plastic carry case that holds everything!!
Value
Its worth it.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to call support since I bought the mic.
Musical Background:
Recording/mixdown engineer, producer
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop, R&B/Soul, Reggae
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2007 by a customer from gmail.com
Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review
Sound
Well before I purchased it, I did some research on it. Initially I wanted the standard (neumann U87). Alot of my research revealed that the NTK actually outperformed the U87 in quite a few head to head tests. I narrowed it down to three: The U87, TLM49 and the Rode NTK. I tried them out head to head. Eventually I ended up buying the NTK because it is up to par with many neumann mics.
Features
Power supply and mic. What else do you expect?
Quality
Built like a tank
Value
Worth every penny
Musical Background:
artist,recording engineer, songwriter, producer
Musical Style:
Hip-hop
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2013 by George R in Waltham, MA
"GREAT TUBE MIC"
I love the way this NTK tube mic handles vocals especially when getting close up for bass boost. I have a Neumann TLM49 which honestly isn't a bad mic but for almost all the many vocalists I've recorded the Rode NTK is incomparable and beats it hands down. One thing I find works great with vocals is to to take out some 6khz around -4db. This will take out some of the top end siblance that can occur with some vocalists. The mic works great on acoustic guitars,drum overheads ETC. Will make any home studio sound very pro-like if used properly. KUDOS to Rode on this mic- as well as their NT1A and K2 mics.
Musical Background:
RECORDING ENGINEER
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2018 by Jay H in Dover, DE
"Yeah this is the one!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nothing but great things to say about this mic. Amazing build quality, amazing recording capabilities, and it comes in a nice big case. Only complaint is that it lacks a spider mount that you have to buy separately other wise it's perfect. I didn't want to pay too much for basically my 2nd studio mic but I wanted as tube and I wanted one worth the investment and this was everything I was looking for. As far as tubes go this is a good choice. I recommend upgrading to a telefunken, RCA, or whatever classic brand of tube if you want to try upgrading the sound before upgrading the mic itself. It sounds fantastic stock though for my needs!
Musical Background:
All
Musical Style:
A lot
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2004 by a customer from hotmai.com
"This might be the best buy in the music industry, seriously."
Of all the equipment I own and have purchased I'm most pleased with this. I can't stress what a difference a good microphone will make, and you won't be sorry when you hear yourself or anyone else on this mic. I've used it from someone who can sing opera to hiphop vocals and all were definitly sounding great.
Sound
WARM? I don't think that's strong enough, I am sad that I haven't had to use it more, but while using a tube preamp art with this it sounds so perfect
Features
Strong, I mean to me the main feature is the sound... and that's why I'm scoring it a 9. I'm not rating this "for it's cost" I'm giving it a 9/10 against EVERYTHING on the entire market
Quality
The quality was perfect, a sturdy case , a rock hard microphone, and it's wonderful.
Value
10 really isn't high enough
Manufacturer Support
Never had to use it, so I'd say that speaks for itself
The Wow Factor
It's nice, the way I have it setup with a nice popfilter and a few other things makes it even more desirable
Musical Style:
Hiphop mostly, but some of everything
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 22, 2010 by a customer from pflug.nl
"nice, crisp, warm, solid, transparent tube mic!"
just superb!
Sound
I use the mic for radio and voice-over work. It's crisp, detailed, needs no EQ whatsoever and you can play with proximity for depth.
Features
Bought it with a nice shockmount.
Ease of Use
plug in and go!
Quality
Mic itself is solid!
Manufacturer Support
never used it
The Wow Factor
I have it, and keep it!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2005 by a customer from chloeind.com
"This is a great microphone for vocals and acoustic instruments"
Sound
compare it to "anything" out there. it is the best not only for the money! Of course I use a preampa nd I take a little 10khz of(about -2db) Sounds superb on vocals and acoustics!
Features
it comes with everything but the shockmount which is about 50 bucks. compare that to what Neumann is asking for an EA-1 shockmount for their TLM103!! You'll be pleasantly surprised!
Quality
very well built
Musical Background:
sound engineer
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2003 by a customer from certipsec.com
"A very sexy microphone"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I would replace it!
Sound
This is a very warm, better than real, mike. Any track recorded with the NTK will become a jewel in your mix. A wide cardiod pattern so lots of leakage. Get the SM-2 shock mount and a good stand.
Features
The power supply has a very cool and sexy blue light on it. Wish it came with the SM-2 as standard feature.
Quality
Superb. Well built. A tank (can use for hand to hand combat). The circuitry is beautifully made.
Value
A tube mike that sounds this good at this price is great!
The Wow Factor
Every singer I have put this in front of has wanted to take it home and spend some quality time with it!
Musical Style:
Jazz
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2007 by a customer from aol.com
Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I hope this mic last for a long time, that does not mean I would not buy some others, but you can build around this mic.
Sound
I bought the NTK about 2 years ago, I have been relatively please with the sound it produces... There are times when it sounds great, and other times when it get's a little grainy sounding, with lot's of electronic click in the recorded audio. I did by a new tube about a year ago, that did seemed to help make it sound fuller.
Features
I use it for VO work, it does what it is supposed to do, record my voice.
Ease of Use
Plug it in and it does the rest.
Quality
This seems to be a well made mic, the tube that came with mine was a cheap tube made in China.. it sounded ok a first, but then I replaced it with a new Mullard that actualy was made in the 60's, and it really made it sound even warmer without sounding muddy.
Value
Yes.
Manufacturer Support
I will give RODE the benefit of the doubt, I have never had to call on the support department.
The Wow Factor
It's a good looking mic that does the job... I guess that's sexy.
Musical Background:
I can play a few instruments, but I am a Voice Over talent and producer that is why I visit this site.
Musical Style:
I truly like all kinds of music from Jazz to Country.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2012 by Shawn Siddiqi in Rochester Hills, MI
"Amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love it clean clear crisp!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 28, 2003 by a customer from aol.com
"Super Quiet Tube sound, With lots of Shimmer."
Sound
Great sound, SUPER Quiet for a Tube mic. It's a little hot in the sibillant frequencies, and will need EQ-ing for some voices. You can really here the spike at around 8KHZ and again around 12KHZ. Very Flattering to female vocals, and as well as any warm or muddy sound source. Can really give articulation to dull sounding acoustic guitars. Great for many guitar amps, as an overhead for certain types of drum sounds, and it really blossoms at higher amplitudes.
Features
Cheap, With Tubes, what more could you want? Hmmm.... maybe adjustable polar patterns, an included shockmount, and a hair less high end.
Quality
Looks great, holds up well.
Manufacturer Support
The folks at rode are a pleasure to talk to, and make pretty much the best mics at each pricepoint.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2005 by a customer from comcast.com
Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review
THE BEST
Sound
SUPER SOUND !!!
Features
YOU WON'T GO WRONG ,IT'S A RODE NTK
Quality
THIS MIC ROCKS
Value
THE BEST VOCAL MIC OUT THERE!!
The Wow Factor
I'M REAL HAPPY WITH IT!! SOUNDS SUPER SMOOTHE!
Musical Background:
30 YEARS IN MUSIC BUSINESS
Musical Style:
JAZZ,FUSION ,HEAVY METAL
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"what a vocal mic!!"
best
Sound
super duper sond
Features
has everything you need for your studio vocals and acoustic guitar etc.
Quality
this is a rode,need I say more?
Value
tops
Manufacturer Support
haven't needed any
The Wow Factor
I got it!
Musical Background:
vocalist
Musical Style:
rock
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2006
"Decent value"
Sound
For 500 dollars, you get a good, but not great mic. The sound is not realistic, but it very warm. If you're looking for rock or hip hop vocals the bombast in the sound is nice. But if you're looking for clean sound suitable for jazz or classical, you're just not going to get it from this mic.
Features
The clip is plastic and wears out after a while. But the separate power supply is a nice addition.
Ease of Use
It's very easy to use.
Quality
Sturdy mic that can take a little bit of a beating.
Value
You get what you pay for in mics. At 500 bucks you get a decent mic. But if you want the real deal, you're going to have to pay about 2K for a good mic. Forget the hype. There are no short cuts in the mic world. It's like preamps. You want great sound. You need to pay big bucks. And by the way, if you don't have a decent preamp, no mic in the world is going to sound good, even this one.
Manufacturer Support
The original I bought was defective. Rode was very apologetic and replaced it with a new one promptly.
The Wow Factor
Huh? It's a mic not a sex object.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2006
"THIS MIC IS GREAT SOUNDING..WELL WORTH IT!!"
THE BEST MIC IN THE MARKET FOR THIS PRICE RANGE
Sound
sounds like a champion..very crisp and warm sounding
Features
not too many feature with this mic...but it needs none..very quality sounding as is
Ease of Use
slap it on a mic stand...you ready to roll
Quality
its a RODE...enough said
Value
was well worth the 500 dollars
Manufacturer Support
havent needed em yet
The Wow Factor
very sexy piece ill tell you..plus my girlfriend like to play with it if you know what i mean!!
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2005
Rode NTK Tube Mic Customer Review
Sound
the mic sound alive when u use focusrite voice master pre amp to pump juice in it. to me and everyone that heard the mic in my recordings,say it sounds like super clean mic and sound very expensive.
Features
power supply any cheap mic dosent have one but the rode ntk has one.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us