Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Rode NT5 Condenser Microphone

Rode NT5 Condenser Microphone

Rode's highly sensitive 1/2"-diaphragm cardioid condenser shines on acoustic guitar and more. Pick up a matched pair for capturing performances in stereo.

Overall User Ratings (based on 62 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(62)
Submitted November 27, 2003 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great mic for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I recently purchased the NT5 pair before Rode's price jump in November. I also had the chance to do a "shoot out" with the NT5 and 6 other mics (TLM 103, Pro 37r, AT 4033, SM 81, AKG 414, AKG 451). The results were quite surprising. The output on the 103, the 4033, and the NT5 were very similar. The NT5 was a little less hot, but had a higher output than all the other mics. As for noise, I found that the NT5 had a little more noise than the 4033, and the 103. As far as frequency response, the NT5 was very similar to the 451. There was a nice high end presence that added clarity and brightness to the sound.
Features
Would be nice to have a bass rolloff, but that's what filters are for. Would be nice to have a pad, the output is fairly hot.
Value
After doing the shoot out, I realized that for $300.00 a pair, the quality was outstanding. It held up to the 414, the 103, and the 4033, qutie nice for a fraction of the cost.
Musical Style:
Classical, Metal, Jazz
20 of 21 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"RODE NT5 for choir"
Good sound and quality!
Sound
Bought a pair of RODE NT5, main purpose is choir miking. Have use it for more than a year, I would say these NT5 sounds very neutral. It is also accurate, so any flat or sharp singer could be easily heard. Tried for vocal as well, sounds neutral, but I prefer a warmer and thicker sound for vocal. I would easily recommend these stereo mics for choir and instruments.
Ease of Use
Easy to use, fairly high gain before feedback.
Quality
Solid, never give any problem so far. My only complain is the NT5 sticker at the bottom of the mic, easily peeled off.
Value
I bought a new pair for less than USD 300 (in Singapore). For the price, I think it is hard to beat it. Quality / Price is very good.
Manufacturer Support
Not needed so far, haven't tried.
The Wow Factor
Yes, would buy more pairs if needed.
Musical Background:
Choir singer, sound system setup for live choir.
Musical Style:
Classical
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2005 by billhall.US
"living stereo at it's best!!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
Crystal clear and in a wonderful presence! I use these mics for live to two track stereo recording. I record both vocals and acoustic guitar all in one unit stereo right and left. These little microphones have a substantial and and exacting vocal presence that is not logical for small condensors and the most balanced sound on acoustic guitar I have ever heard.
Features
great mounts but a shockmounts for a bit more money would have been even better
Value
get them before someone at Rode figures out what they are really worth
Manufacturer Support
have not needed them
The Wow Factor
beautiful little mics
Musical Background:
singer'songwriter
Musical Style:
folk
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"What you need."
Sure you could spend more money, but you want the most bang for your buck and you want a pair of mics that will sound pro. These are those.
Sound
I was very happy with the sound. Very clear and well defined. I didn't need to eq them.
Features
Nice case, mic clips... what more do you need? They don't come with different capsules liek some mics, so I won't give it a 10.
Quality
I don't like that the brand name and model, serial number, etc are on a sticker that starts to peal off when you put it in the mic clip. Other than that, these things are great. They seem well built and rugged.
Value
This is well worth its price.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with them, so I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt.
The Wow Factor
These mics are nice and small, well built and come with a sturdy case that, although it's bulky, keeps your stuff organized and safe.
Musical Background:
Active musician, recording engineer at project studio
Musical Style:
Alternative, Rock, Punk
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Incredible sound and build quality for the price."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I would buy again.
Sound
They're very true to the original character of the sound.
Features
n/a
Ease of Use
n/a
Quality
The build quality is exceptional - the little black stickers at the bottom are not securely applied, but this has no effect on the integrity of the unit.
Value
These mics are freakishly cheap for the quality you get.
Manufacturer Support
I've had no need of service so far - the company seems very accessible with product registration and info via their website. They even maintain a list of serial #s of their microphones which have been reported stolen, so you can double-check your used purchases.
The Wow Factor
They're awfully pretty
Musical Background:
professional classical musician / techno hobbyist
Musical Style:
classical and techno
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2013 by adam brower in mendota, IL
"cheap, and sound like it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i use my NT5's only for field work. don't fool yourself. yes, you can get a matched pair for ~430 USD, but you're not getting what you really need, which is probably the Neumann KM184's or better. buy these for stereo field recoding, ok. but in the studio, they are tinny in the highs and flat in the mids. they don't cost much, but if your studio work is important, spend enough to get real mics.
Musical Background:
50 years wasted at music of all kinds
Musical Style:
music
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2004 by a customer from flamethrowerstudios.com
"Lovely."
Don't think they are as good as Neumann, but for the price I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Nice!
Sound
I was skeptical about Rode mics at first. Then I decided to try them out while I was looking for drum overheads just for a laugh. I laughed all the way home with these. I am impressed!
Features
Main feature is that they sound great.
Quality
The funny thing is, they are really small. But they feel really solid. I am not going to worry about them anytime soon I think.
Value
Blew away a lot of other sd condensors in its class for a bit less dough.
Manufacturer Support
Don't know.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2008 by a customer from btinternet.com
"Best value mics"
Best value condenser mics with a great sound.
Sound
Bright top end and a bit light at the bottom
Features
Cardioid and an optional omni capsule
Ease of Use
I always struggled to get the correct polar pattern base cuts positions on my AKG C414, but with NT5s there are no other options, which make these mics very simple to setup.
Quality
Satin nickel finish
Value
Great, paid only 195 pounds for brand new matching stereo pair with sequential number.
Manufacturer Support
An on-line product registration with 10 year warrenty
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classical / Semi Classical
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2006
"Orgasmic"
Sound
Can barely tell the difference between these mics and mics double the price
Features
Comes with everything you need
Ease of Use
Plug in with phantom power and use them baby
Quality
very durable
Value
buy these
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to