Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Rode NT2A Variable Pattern Studio Condenser Microphone

Rode NT2A Variable Pattern Studio Condenser Microphone

With 3 switchable pickup patterns, the super-versatile Rode NT2A invokes the silky-smooth spirit of the legendary microphones of the '50s and '60s.

Overall User Ratings (based on 54 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(54)
Submitted April 24, 2011 by a customer from thesignaturemediagroup.com
"Weel worth your money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Will definitely keep this guy around. It is definitley a nice addition to any mic collection. Can't beat it for the price.
Sound
I use this product primarily for vocals and I like the way it sounds.
Features
This product came with a shockmount and a pre-mounted pop filter. The mic itself has cutoffs and is multi-directio0nal which I'm sure serves its purposes as an all-around microphone.
Ease of Use
Plug and play. Pretty simple. Comes with a DVD with some insights into useage.
Quality
This thing is solid, has weight to it. Not a flimsy microphone. Good quality. Well built. It is cosmetically appealing as well.
Value
Go get this mic, you will not be dissappointed.
Manufacturer Support
Not sure, haven't had the need to use them.
The Wow Factor
Wouldn't have bought it otherwise!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
House
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Upgraded to a RODE...very impressed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I was a bit nervous about buyying this budget friendly mic at first. I didn't think it would live up to the U87 comparisons I've read but believe me, it definatly can hold it's own. Beats the hell out of the TLM 103 and my Blue Baby Bottle. Very flat, warm and full recordings on male vocals. It's got a smooth presence to it. Not brittle like the TLM 103. Coupled with my Joe Meek OneQ, which is another underrated preamp in my opinion, this microphone is out of this world. Simply put, I was blown away. Well worth the money.
Features
I hate mics that do not include a shockmount. But the HPF siwtches, pads, omni, cardioid and figure 8 switches are a huge plus.
Ease of Use
Plug and Play
Quality
Amazing
Value
400 bucks for this piece is a steal. They could get away charging a good 1,200 for it.
The Wow Factor
Very solid mic with nickel plated finish on it. Dope
Musical Background:
Engineer, Producer, Artist
Musical Style:
Hip Hop/R&B
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"You can't beat Aussie Babes and Beer for inspiration to do a totally superlative job designing, manufacturing and marketing thes"
I plan on using all of my Rode mics forever. When they come out with a Stereo version of the K-2 (K-24), I'll buy that ASAP. Basically an AKG C-24 with better specs. They will corner that market. I'll be first in line and buy two.
Sound
Yes it does sound a bit like a Neumann 89. The edge-terminated HF-1 Capsule makes it more like a 414. The Neumann's have center-terminated caps. I've used it on many sources: Spaced pair omni, Blumlein pair (crossed figure of eight), Piano, Drums, Voice, Sax, Trombone, Strings, Clarinet, M-S stereo, As the mid in a Decca Tree with two 414's. It's very versatile. I have produced several CD's with these mics basically covering styles from classical chamber music to jazz and pop
Features
The features are terrific. As stated before, the multi-pattern settings are silently switched and easy to operate. Sometimes the switches can be changed without noticing so make sure to check the settings before hoisting it up 15'.
Ease of Use
Just that the switches are a little too easy to operate and you have to double check them.
Quality
Excellent construction. They're made in Australia where they make the best beer and have extremely beautiful women, strong support for the arts in a non-pompous manner and lots of beaches. The Aussies have blown the Chinese out of the water. It's Neumann quality for sure.
Value
Worth more than any mic under a thousand except maybe the older AKG 414's
Manufacturer Support
A big fat N/A! I have heard of their great support and ten year warranty and have never needed it. I own 6 Rodes along-side my Neumann's and Akg's. 2 K-2's, 2 Nt2-a's and 2 Nt5's w/optional omni caps. They have all served extremely well with not a moments problem.
The Wow Factor
They are solid and never screw up. The design is sleek and under-stated and reflects the integrity of the Australian people as a whole.
Musical Background:
Full-time musician formerly with Ray Charles touring band/Engineer/Producer
Musical Style:
Any
23 of 25 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2012 by Esther L in Centennial, CO
"such nice sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic has such a nice sound. I was originally going to buy the NT1A, but I'm glad I went with this - the different switches record different sounds, and I can truly find the best sound for whatever room or instrument is being used.
Musical Background:
13 years, guitar, piano, violin, voice, ukulele, drums, etc. Mic used for recording at home.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2016 by Glen Q in Milwaukee, WI
"Extremely versatile, natural sounding mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Rode NTK is my go to mic for many situations. It works very well on most vocals, although, I often use other mics on singers, depending on which compliments their voice best. I have had great success using this mic for stereo field recordings of choirs and chamber music. Even though it is not traditional to use a large capsule condenser for this application, the mic's low self noise, natural sound and sensitivity are ideally suited for this application. If you don't have time to audition a bunch of mics for any given application, the NT2a works every time. I've used it very successfully on toms, kick drum, drum overheads, guitar cabinets, acoustic guitars, horns, hand percussion, etc. etc. I own four of them and plan to buy more. As far as comparisons to the Neumann U87, more often than not, I prefer the sound of the NT2A, which is more natural. I will say however that there are times when the U87 can't be beat for adding a "larger than life" element to certain voices. The NT2A is a great mic and a great value.
Musical Background:
Proessional recording engineer and woodwinds musician
Musical Style:
All styles
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"One of the best microphones in the world!!!"
Overall, this is generally one of the microphones I have worked with and it feels great. Amazing quality and brilliant value. Get this if you're a musician/engineer/voice-actor or whatever, it's a steal. The Australians are wrestling the Germans in the microphone race, and it is absolutely exciting.
Sound
Sounds so warm and smooth. The quality can be compared to microphones such as the Neumann U87, which is amazing. The best Rode since the NTK, in my opinion. Sounds great live and perfect for Hip-Hop, Pop, RnB and instrumental recording as well. Mine came with the shockmount, which was very good.
Features
What doesn't it have? Its a Rode version of the N.U87 Perfect for everything that I have used it for so far.
Ease of Use
Plug-in and have fun, just connect it to the mixer/interface (obviously something with phantom power) and then have fun. Even a beginner musician/engineer will find this simple to use.
Quality
Looks beautiful, feels nice and heavy. The design is simple, yet pretty. Once you see it, you know it's a Rode product.
Value
10 times cheaper than the U87? The Rode company must be high, quickly buy this and enjoy this. Best value in the market, nothing is as cheap and as good.
Manufacturer Support
I had this imported from Germany (which had it come in from Australia) and everything worked really quickly and I've received all the support I needed, I can also get an account at the Rode's website, which isn't important to me now, but could be helpful to many.
The Wow Factor
YOU NEED THIS!
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer/ Hip-Hop artist/ Active Classical Musician
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop and Classical (possibly Ambient too, and experimental)
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2016 by George B in Warwick, RI
"Great mic! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First one that I've owned but comparing it to the other dynamic mics that I have I can truly tell the difference! This mic has great ability to pick up low to mid range frequencies. High end is good too but not as good as other mics that I use. This thing loves the kick drum! Highly recommend for that. I also really like the multi polar pattern feature as well. Get a heavy duty stand this mic with it's included shock mount is very weighty
Musical Background:
Drummer for 27 years played professionally and now semi professional
Musical Style:
All styles
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2018 by Robert E in San Antonio, TX
"Hip Hop vocals review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I paired this with WA73 vs using the apollo twin unison which in my opinion arent' that good. Analog is always better in my op. I decided to pair this with THE 73 and wow! Microphone sounds great. I just returned a blue blueberry and this sounded better paired with 73 vs the blue mic.. Mixing and getting vocals wasn't an issue so overall right now this is my go to mic for vocals, until further notice.
Musical Background:
over 10 years of recording and mixing vocals
Musical Style:
Hip hop, Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2009 by a customer from telkomsa.net
"NT2A - the way to go!"
Just bought the NT1-A
Sound
Excellent sound!
Ease of Use
Very easy to use/understand
Quality
Good workmanship
Value
Best value for my money spent
Manufacturer Support
Website is very helpful
The Wow Factor
Great features
Musical Background:
Guitarist, vocal arranger, recording engineer in training
Musical Style:
Jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 19, 2014 by Fitzpatrick Onyenaucheya in Missouri City, TX
"Rode NT2A Variable Pattern Microphone "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Musical Background:
MC and Self taught audio engineer
Musical Style:
hip hop mainly and venture into other genres
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"What you get is much more than what you pay for."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound is amazingly pure. Very neutral, so very "factual" sound.
Features
There's no shockmount included, but that's what keeps the price low. There's no handmade cherry box like Blue Bottle, but that costs more than ten times more. But it does include built in polar controls, so that's really useful.
Ease of Use
Plug and play. Extra controls built in on the mic increase productivity.
Quality
It amazed me. Completely metal construction and no flimsiness whatsoever. Perfect fit and finish.
Value
The best value in the industry.
Manufacturer Support
LOL, didn't need support.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classical
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2006 by a customer from libero.it
"Formidable performance Vs very low cost"
Sound
Very clean with a little enphasys on 4 KHz, incidentally very useful for distant miking
Musical Background:
recording musician
Musical Style:
classic, jazz
1 of 6 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2006
"Silky, Smooth, Warm & Upfront"
A superb mic and probably the finest sounding mic in its class and 10 times more. It beats the Soundelus U195 anyday of week for vocals, its much better than AT series mics, much better than any SE mic i have tried, and it holds its own weight with much more expensive mics from Europe.
Sound
This multi pattern condenser sounds very silky indeed. I just sold my AT4047 to fun this mic, and with the savings i bought a Focusrite Voicemaster Pro mic pre. This is one killer sounding mic on male vocals. Its smooth and very flattering, almost like a tube mic. I love apply gentle +1/-1db cuts and boosts of Eq (on the Voicemaster) to shape the sound just the way i want it. Its very responsive to effects and thats what shines about this mic. I'm using it to record male vocals for smooth RnB vocals. I love the Voicemaster with this mic, as i can go through the various stages of processors to get a very polished sound on vocals. Compared to my old AT4047 (a very underated mic), this mic blows it away for smoothness and overall sound quality. This mic is also quieter, and feels much more solid.
Features
I think its safe to say that this mic is Rodes version of Neumanns U87. It costs 10 times less, and performs just as good, if not better. I an busy mix it would be difficult to pick the best mic, but in solo the NT2A sounds much more flattering without any eq or other effects. The multi patterns are brilliant and just like the u87 you can switch from one to the other without any cheap artifacts like chinese mics with multipatterns.
Ease of Use
Its pretty much a plug and play mic, although i wish it came with the shockmount that the K2 comes with. I use the clip instead, which does the job.
Quality
The build quality of this mic is superlative. Its solid, and free from any housing noise. The mic is well engineered inside with zero clutter (think Apple G5), and it feels heavy and looks impressive. The gold plated XLR is a bonus as well as solid polar pattern switches. Overall i love this mic to bits. I paid a very low price and may just pick up another or get a K2 tube mic instead, or another brand like the Neumann TLM 103 for a different flavour.
Value
Worth every cent, this mic is worth 5-10 times its asking price, no kiddin. Its much better than the old NT2, infact its a different mic all together. The top end is much smoother and not ragged like so many other mics.
Manufacturer Support
I have use Rode support in the US, and they are fairly good. I was told that Rode mics now come with 10 Years of warranty.
The Wow Factor
The look of this mic is very slick, its not big and bulky like all the far east mic, but its a heavy mic - you need a good mic stand. It looks and feels solid, and should last for decades if kept well.
Musical Background:
9 Years
Musical Style:
US RnB like Joe, Mario, Usher, etc.
29 of 32 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us