Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Randall RG80 Guitar Combo Amplifier (80 Watts, 1x12")

Randall RG80 Guitar Combo Amplifier (80 Watts, 1x12")

With two channels and 80 watts of power, the versatile Randall RG80 combo amp delivers devastating tone -- clean or with the gain maxed out.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted August 26, 2014 by Anthony P
"That Metal Sound And More!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I purchased this amp from zZounds about a month ago and Love it. It has what I was expecting, an awesome metal sound but the clean sound and dirty sounds you can get out of it is quite impressive. Clear punchy lows and sparkling highs. A very versatile amp and Loud as heck! The gain channel is ballsy but to really push it hook up your favorite distortion pedal to the clean side, turn the gain knob up to about 1/2 way, and Stand Back! Wow! The F/X loops works great with non distortion effects. For distortion, used the front end. An awesome solid state amp. Honestly the best SS amp I have owned in my 30+ years of playing.
Sound
I play METAL mainly and this amp suits it perfect but it can do rock and more. Surprisingly warm clean channel, better than any S.S. amp I have used.
Features
I really like the built in Mid Scoop button
Ease of Use
Plug it in, set you tone and play!
Quality
Super heavy duty with an awesome metal grille. You wont rip it up like cloth amp covering.
Value
Well worth the price and zZounds made it so easy with the 4 pay. Im playing an amp that I still owe over $100 on and no interest, that's a no brainer!
Manufacturer Support
Havent needed it. This things like a tank.
The Wow Factor
I love the metal grille look.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 35 years
Musical Style:
1980s-90s metal, nu metal
34 of 34 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2014 by Glen D
"ROCKIN RANDALL"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sounding amp use it daily,while my blackstar ht5r sits ontop...great for blues too face melting metal, not that im into that but this amp will do it! very happy and it will vibrate the walls down if cranked....
Musical Background:
hobbyest
Musical Style:
rock,blues...
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2014 by Robert Brusch in pulaski, TN
"playing pedal steel through my new randall rg 80 combo amp."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow! What a great amp for steel guitar. deep basses, sweet mid range and silky smooth highs that respond all the way up to your picks. I have a Pv nashville 1000 that's going in the closet. All of you Steelers out there need to try one of these fantastic amps. At 80 watts they are incredibly loud and will probably cover you at most gigs especially if you use the for line out to your mixing board.
Musical Background:
been playing pedal steel guitar for 28 yrs.
Musical Style:
Country
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2016 by John C in Farmington, NM
"Very Good Amplifier."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was in need of an amplifier and strapped for cash. First off this thing is a fantastic value. Very tube like cleans on the that break up when you give it some gusto, on the right gain setting. The reverb is not as versatile as a Fender amp, and can cause some odd aberrations in tone if used on the high gain (red) channel. The 1980s never left, at least that's what you'll think when you first click over to channel 2. After fiddling with the eq a bit you'll realize that it is quite versatile and can produce tones that range from bluesy and mild to screaming metal and in between. It takes a bit of figuring out but once you dial it in it is a beautiful sounding solid state amp. I've noticed that you have to crank it a bit to get full tone, something I never would have said about a solid state amp before playing this thing. All in all a great purchase that I would make again. Killer value.
Musical Background:
19 years playing guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
Anything from hard rock to funk and pop
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2015 by Jason Warren in Lansdale, PA
"Best amp at this price point"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Let's face it, we'd all love to have a garage of different stacks to choose from. Most of us don't really have that ability though. Most of us don't even have the ability to have one and play it at a volume level that sounds good due to pesky neighbors. This amp doesn't have a ton of models or effects, but it does have a good dynamic range. As well it has a nice tone at a volume that's playable in a garage and is loud enough to cut through in a jam session. I live in an apartment and don't get to jam much so I wasn't too terribly excited when I first ordered this amp because I figured I would likely still use Guitarix over it when I was home. However I stuck my headphones on because I wanted to check out the pre-amp section and wow... the cabinet emulator is amazing. I can't tell you how wonderful and flexible it sounds. I won't be getting nearly as much use out of Guitarix. Really I just wanted to play with the effects loop and wanted a good distortion pedal. So I figured I would try this amp out. It was a real toss up between this and a comparable Orange amp. I had gotten to play the Orange amp at Guitar Center and wasn't really "wowed", had an affinity for Randall gain since childhood, and liked that it came with the switch. So I gave it a run remembering how awesome zZounds had previously been with a returned guitar that I wasn't that satisfied with. If I have one complaint, so far (still honemooning and we all grow to have some annoyances with our most loved things) it's that the cable for the pedal kind of sucks. I came coiled with a twist tie holding it in an 8 shape instead of a circle, which is dumb as all hell. This is especially considering the fact that the packaging otherwise was amazingly well thought out. Randall if you're listening, a footswitch isn't some optional goodie! Anyhow, it appears easy to replace and likely will be once the warranty is dead. It looks like it could use something more stout anyway. Reasons for my star ratings - Overall 5: This thing is awesome not only for the price but in general. It's one that you should have in your arsenal and wouldn't be a bad choice if you could only afford one amp. Features 5: I like to play regular rock to scooped metal. This thing is great for either and everything inbetween. If you want the "Randall" sound you'll get it with this. Quality 4.5: While the amp itself is amazing with the metal grill and and heavy plastic super good looking Randall badge, the cable on the footpetal sucks. If I could rate 4.75 stars I would. I can't score it perfect though when this glaring oversight exists. Manufacturer Support 5: I've never needed Randall support and that is the best support there is. Sound 5: This thing is seriously AMAZING sounding at moderate to loud levels. Ease of Use 5: It's an amp with clearly labeled switches and knobs. Not much to say here. Value 5: This is the best amp at this price point. The Wow Factor 5: When you pull this amp out of the box and see it you will think this thing is awesome looking. Once you turn it one and crank the gain you will think this thing is awesome sounding. Then when you finally start hooking up an effects chain and getting some sounds dialed in you will think this thing is crazy flexible. Recommend? 10: This amp is great. I'm recommending it to you right now.
Musical Background:
I've been playing off and on for about 20 years. I'm not very good, but I have fun jamming with friends.
Musical Style:
rock to mid-scooped metal
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2015 by Brian B in Denver, CO
"Great stuff!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow.... I was looking for a smaller combo for practicing in my apartment, and jamming with friends. What I got is a lot more. No frills, tidy, everything you *really* need. I had it out of the box, threw my crunch up front, mods looped in back, and shaped the eq, all in about 5 minutes. My last few amps all seemed to have their " place", but this guy can do everything I've thrown at it. I'll be using it live, now, for sure! It will not be my last purchase from Randall, or Zzounds.
Musical Background:
20 years playing guitar.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, jazz, country, punk, alt., etc..
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2013 by Cash O in Bronx, NY
"Good old solid state amp."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A solid state amp without all that digital non-sense. The product targets metal players but works well for others. Terrific value for the price I paid.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Blues, funk and jazz.
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2014 by Dennis Welch in Oakman, AL
"Randall Rocks!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just returned to music and needed an amp to replace my 30watt Crate, I had always been a Randall fan and bought it. IT IS LOUD! The clean channel is very good and with a distortion pedal on the clean channel it screams. The crunch channel just mellows the louder it goes. If our band continues on I will upgrade to a stronger head but for now this little amp packs a punch and is easy to carry around and most all was a steal for the price!
Musical Background:
Been playing 39 years, professionally off an on for 20 years. Play both guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
classic rock and some country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2014 by Jason S in Lexington, SC
"Randall rg80"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a awesome little amp for the money. Clean channel is soild state fender but, better and channel 2 is straight old school metal and more. There is a ton of sounds in this amp and add a tube screamer or the like and you can get even more tones. For rock,blues,metal anything this is a very soild foundation. Very well made too, its worth the money.
Musical Background:
20 year hobbyist, guitar
Musical Style:
Rock,metal,blues
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2016 by Bob K in Tucson, AZ
"Randall RG 80 Amplifier"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this amp. I used to have a Line 6 Spyder 4, and although it was a good amp, it had way too many settings etc. The Randall is perfect for Metal, Hard Rock with the right crunch without all the settings!
Musical Background:
Been playing local music ( Vokalist) for over 3 decades but guitar for about 2 years now
Musical Style:
Metal , Hard Rock, Classic Rock
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2013 by Paul Park in Fort Collins, CO
"Randall RG80 Combo Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sound. Great quality.
Musical Background:
I have been performing for 35 years. I play acoustic and electric guitar. I sing and perform professionally
Musical Style:
Classic Rock and originals.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2017 by Stu . in Binghamton, NY
"Terrible amp !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Plugged it in and it worked for a few minutes and then died. Maybe I just happen to have got a lemon. Had to return the amp for credit. Bummed me right out !
Musical Background:
50 years
Musical Style:
Blues Rock
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2018 by Michael Huffman in Fresno, CA
"Would be great if it worked"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
zZounds doesn't give me the option to rewrite my review so i guess i gotta post another one. The amp came with a malfunction. It made a tea kettle static sound. It would stop sometimes but it would always continue. I got to play around with it for 5 minutes without it messing up, from that little time, i came to several conclusions. This amp is perfect for anyone who is looking for a small metal amp. Sadly if you want to play with low volumes, you have to crank the gain on channel 2 to 10. it makes it sound to fuzzy. If you plan to use this amp for small gigs or just to jam with people, you probably can it a metal sound with the gain set low. The most attractive part about this amp is the price. For a 1x12 combo amp with 2 channels and a fx loop, you can't go wrong. However, the control quality is just horrible. zZounds should consider checking to see if things works before they ship stuff. It would save time and money. I have requested that they send me another one. If this one doesn't work, i will be extremely mad.
Musical Style:
Heavy Metal
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2018 by Michael Huffman in Fresno, CA
"DON'T GET THIS AMP!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The amp arrived and it didn't even work correctly. It was making a weird static beeping sound. You have to turn the gain on 10 on channel 2 just too get a heavy metal tone. This is the last time a buy a amp on the internet.
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us