Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
QSC KW181 Powered Subwoofer (1000 Watts, 1x18")

QSC KW181 Powered Subwoofer (1000 Watts, 1x18")

Reinforce your lows with the QSC KW181 subwoofer. This 18" sub boasts a 1000-watt class-D amplifier and powerful DSP options in a surprisingly small package.

Overall User Ratings (based on 55 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(55)
Submitted April 11, 2016 by Brandus(Dj Bdub) W in East st louis, IL
"WHOLE LOTTA SOUND"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a mobile Dj and I was looking for a sub to make my Mackie Thumps sound better. I didn't want an okay sub though. I wanted a great sound quality as well. Then I heard the QSC KW181. OMG! This thing sounds like the Bugatti of subs!!! PLUS, it has wheels attached for extra ease with transport. Even though this sub can easily fill a room 3000 square feet, I'm waiting to buy another. Hands down best purchase this year.
Musical Background:
Mobile Dj
Musical Style:
All genres
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
QSC KW181 Subwoofer Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
sound just like a sbu should it punches as a dj it is one of the best Subs and whenever it riches it limit it automatically reset itself which is cool. I really encourage real dj's to get it.
Features
the included a metal screw on stand
Ease of Use
it is by far one of the easiest set up I have ever done
Quality
very well made and has wheels.
Value
yes but they should beat it down
Manufacturer Support
No I have not but I heard they are local so can just go to any of their reps
Musical Background:
Mobile Dj
Musical Style:
all Kinds
26 of 27 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2015 by Michael G in Port Jefferson Station, NY
"Absolutely the best 18" powered Subwoofer on the market"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As an owner of a high end mobile DJ service for several decades, I've been through may speakers systems over the years. These are the absolute best 18" powered subwoofers that money can buy. I pair them with either the QSC K12's or QSC KW152's. These Subs make for a killer mobile DJ sound system that is unsurpassed. Buy with confidence, QSC is the best of 2015.
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ, 24 Years
Musical Style:
All Styles of music
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2015 by Tim S
"A QSC KW181 is a must for Dance-Party Bands & DJs!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased a QSC KW181 after using a K-Sub for the bottom end of my 7 pc dance/wedding band and DJ PA rig (including 4 K10s) for 2 years. We used a K-Sub, which is plenty punchy and super portable, but the KW181 makes a world of difference, especially for DJ gigs. It adds that punch on the bottom end for today's popular dance music, and makes a live band's bass drum sound like a cannon! I use one Sub and 2 tops for most wedding gigs, smaller venues, and both subs and 4 tops for larger gigs, and this little PA simply blows people away with the clarity and quality of sound that it delivers! Plus, it, along with the rest of all my gear will fit in the back a Dodge Grand Caravan! Yeah!! No more trailer and a gas guzzling suburban to tow it all around! I highly recommend buying the cases too, as all my QSC gear looks brand new after 2 yrs of rolling in and out of many gigs in the cases. Do yourself a favor and get one...or two..you won't regret it!
Musical Background:
Retired IS Army Band trumpet player and audio technician. Bandleader and DJ service owner since 1992
Musical Style:
Live Band = Jazz, Swing, R&B, Rock, Pop, Blues, Funk, 60s, 70's, 80's Dance Music, and DJ Service = current- recent popular musi
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 29, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Good Quality, louder than anticipated."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great product, I would buy another, and I already have. I am excited to hear the two subs together. I used to use a B-52 ACT18 powered sub 1200 watt, and this 1000 watt is 30 pounds lighter as well as louder.
Sound
Best sub that I have heard yet, I set it up to do a sound test and before the sub even clipped, I was rattling the neighbor's windows over 40 feet away. Good sound, I bought 2 total, waiting for the second one to come in.
Features
nice plastic type coating over the wood to protect cabinet.
Ease of Use
plug and play, powered sub
Quality
bought it under scratch and dent, however could not find a scratch on the whole thing, lucky me. Maybe it was because the box was damaged a little bit more than usual
Value
Good value, in my case it was a great value for scratch and dent which was $300 off what the retail price was. retail value is a little high
Manufacturer Support
N/A have yet to contact QSC
Musical Background:
Professional DJ
Musical Style:
All / Dance
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2012 by Aaron D
"Great subwoofer I will definitely get another!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have used this sub for 2 gigs so far and was shocked on ow much better my setup sounds with this sub. I am currently running K10 tops with this sub and the K10's are holding up very well with this sub. I got some really good compliments on how well my setup sounded. I would definitely recommend this sub to anyone that is thinking about it. You will be very impressed with how this sub sounds!
Musical Style:
EDM, Hip-Hop
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2012 by Dan A in LOOMIS, CA
"Sound filled up Raley Field in Sacramento"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am the sound engineer for two local bands. We played at Raley Field in Sacramento and the two KW181's and two KW153's filled up the entire outfield from the stage set up at second base. Many people came up to me and complemented the quality of the sound from so far away. My other band, a Pink Floyd tribute band played at the new outdoor amphitheater in Folsom, CA. The KW181's set off car alarms in a parking lot about 100 feet away and 90 degrees from the stage. I am running the speakers through a DBX DriveRack PX on custom setting because the KW series is no on DBX's preset list. I am constantly complemented on the quality of the sound from these speakers. The covers are a little pricey but are high quality and well worth the price. I have had no warranty issues after 9 months of use. The wheels on the base units are great!
Musical Background:
I do not play music I am the sound guy
Musical Style:
Rock and a Pink Floyd tribute band
40 of 43 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2014 by DJ CHANCE in Bridgeport, CT
"These should win the Nobel Prize for PHYSICS IN MUSIC DELIVERY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
these lil 80+ pound beasts should not be putting out the deep bass and SPL that they do for their size and both of them on a single Furman power strip..They replaced my much larger jbl 718xlf...they are much louder,more sensitive to your input and more portable (they fit under a table). Amazing power compression,maintained a hefty 132db for 6 hours straight and hit the 135db mark at limit at 50hz...except when used outdoors where they sunshine played a roll and they maintained 130db and peaked at 133db at 50hz after 4 hours! The built in casters have been a godsend (no more rock n roller cart for me). They have yet to rattle even when playing hard hitting reggae riddims.Get the QSC cases as they even cover the amplifier when being transported so if you're rolling over a wet surface the casters don't spray liquid on the amp unit. My entire DJ Crew has these as their subs and work an average 5 days a week each and no problems ever on any of them..The have a habit of singing La Roux when you're rolling into your gig though.. "I'll beeee Bulllleeet Proof!" and they so are..
Musical Background:
Pro DJ Since 1985
Musical Style:
EDM,HIPHOP,RNB, DANCEHALL REGGAE,FREESTYLE,TOP 40
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2014 by Christopher McCoy in Charleston, SC
"The best single 18" powered sub on the market."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've used them all, I previously had a JBL PRX728s double 18". The JBL is untouchable, but was way too big for the average gig. I bought the Yamaha DXS15 as a downsize but I was not impressed with it after a year. It was good for weddings, but just not loud enough for club use. So I bought the QSC, which weighs a similar amount as the Yamaha, but is WAY louder. QSC KW181 is the king of portable subwoofers.
Musical Background:
Dj
Musical Style:
All genres
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2012 by Brad C in Bellingham, WA
"Small Footprint big pwer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this pa for our band. We chose the kw153 for tops because of the wider frequency range which can be very important in live sound. Originally I tried getting by with just one sub and it did an ok job, but nothing to write home about, just not quite enough umph. So I bought another one to go with it and WOW. I have been playing in bands since 1979 and have had many pa systems and done many gigs. The use of this system generates praises from the listeners out in the audience which is not something I am used to. Most people have no idea about sound or sound quality, What is impressive about the system is that you can feel the base. I have heard from several listeners at our gigs that they think it's cool that they can feel the bass. This system moves some air and that is what I wanted. It does not have to be loud to feel it. It is 1000 watts rms not peak, it is 2000 watts peak and that is some serious beef. In our market with a pair of kw181 with a pair of kw153's we have the best pa going. We actually have other bands wanting to rent the system from us for their gigs. The sound of the bass is tight focused and very punchy. It's not mushy and boingy like so many subs out there. Connectivity is more than we need and the built in wheels are a definite must. It's a small package with a big bang. It's expensive yes but in my experience you get what you pay for and in pro audio it does not pay to go cheap if you care about good sound. QSC has not made any compromises in this sub. It is worth every penny. I have owned lots of subs and none of them come close to this. Don't take my word for it, go listen to one of these and you will know right away how different they are. They really stand out from the rest. in this price range.
Musical Background:
Keyboard Player for The Memphis Rain Band
Musical Style:
Jazz, folk, Classical, Rock, Blues.....whatever Classically trained
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2017 by Shawn C in Deltona, FL
"Clean Sound. Love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great powered sub. I bought this unit a few weeks ago and used it at two DJ events. I paired them with the K12's and they sound GREAT together. It brings a loud, clean, clear sound. I love it. I mix Hip-Hop, R&B, Soul, Disco, and Reggae genres.
Musical Background:
15 years as a Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop, Reggae, R&B, Soft Rock, Classic Soul, Disco
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2015 by Harold London 30Jr in Denver, CO
"kw181"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I now have a pair of these kw181 subs, The sound is incredible they are the truth. They are monsters The bass deep and very hard.I shake every building I enter.
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
House,R&B hip-hop and reggae music
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2013 by A. Z. Entertainment Dj Drew in Longview, TX
"Awesome!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
buy the matching kw181 and k12s and your set. best investment i've ever made.Thank You zzounds for making this an easy purchase!!
Musical Background:
2yrs
Musical Style:
every style
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2016 by Odell Duncan in MORENO VALLEY, CA
"Incredibly Expensive But Worth Every Penny..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unit arrived just 3 hours before show time on 2/1/2016. After unpacking the unit I was a bit worried, How can this little light weight box out perform my Behringer Eurolive B1800HP that I literally ABUSE 5 nights a week to the point where it gets warm in the back and at times you can smell a hint of burning plastic (in the Behringer unit). I pull the Unit out take a good look at it and then put it in the QSC cover that I also purchased and began to pack the car for my show... I was very nervous due to the fact that I never take untested gear to a show ever but we had enough of lugging the 120lb behringer around and decided we needed a break. I get to my show set everything up and begin to play music and couldn't believe the smoothness and over all quality of bass provided by this unit. very tight and punchy as well as accurate and fast response. I do wish i had better control of the cut off frequencies but the unit does a fine job on it's own. I've only used it twice so far and my second time was the true test due to the fact the walls are very thin at this place and there are very bad standing waves there so this room was for sure the determining factor of my review. I did have to adust the low freq. levels on my mixer a little more and i did manage to get the unit to clip a little but that was from gaining the bass on my EQ and the KW181 handled it like it was no problem and never tripped out, in fact if the sub wasn't next to my DJ booth the whole night I don't believe I would've noticed anything. This is a great Sub and works well for the size and weight. I't is incredibly expensive but worth every penny. A replacement for the brand new Cerwin Vega P1800SX I purchased before this one and the Cerwin didn't last an hour in the second room I mentioned without constantly clipping and then literally burning the amp out. this thing takes the same beating that my 40 lb heavier 2300 watt unit does every night and it never even warmed up!!! Love it. Hope this review helps you guys and thanks Zzounds!!!
Musical Background:
Professional Singer, DJ, Karaoke Host, THX Certified Home Theater Installer
Musical Style:
Hip Hop/Rap, R&B, Blues, Country, Rock, Salsa, Cumbia, Pop etc.
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2017 by Nate T in Fullerton, CA
"Amazing subwoofer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought 2 of these bad boys for a bar/club that I dj in every week and they sound AMAZING , they do not clip or distort at all!!! I believe they sound better than the EV ekx series after hearing the EV ekx series every week (another dj has them)
Sound
I play lots of hip hop music and have a pioneer ddj-sz running through a mackie mixer and I only need to set these things to 12 o clock gain and they sound and respond amazingly
Ease of Use
Very easy to setup and use , they have a limiter switch that will automatically adjust from clipping, deep mode for more enhanced bass (not needed)
Musical Background:
Professional DJ, 8+ years
Musical Style:
Hip hop, r&b, funk, old school, reggae, etc
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2017 by DJ C-Nice Lewis in Baltimore, MD
"QSC 181 Powered Sub"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This sub is more then amazing. I have to of them and can do a small room of 50 people with one to a large room of 400 with both. the quality and durability is outstanding. It can be used as a stand alone sub or you can add a powered sub optimizer to get maximum performance from this unit. I totally recommend this and I have no draw backs or complaints I can think of at this time. A must buy item!!!
Musical Background:
professional DJ 16 years
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop, R&B, Pop, Reggae, House, Club, Go Go, Gospel and a few others...
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2012 by Jason N in Las Vegas, NV
"Another Happy Customer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a sound engineer and tech. at a casino in Vegas, but a hardcore musician at heart. I made the decision on the QSC Active 18's because of product and price.. The main reason why I chose QSC, is I have torn down the K12's for maintenance, and like the way the product is put together, the abuse dj's have done to these things in 108 to 110 degree temperatures, inside another enclosure throughout the whole summer months is jaw dropping. Seemingly the toyota corolla of small pa speakers... Of COURSE sound! LOL The clarity of the amp and speaker combo is amazing for what they are priced at and again the abuse they take. So I figured what the heck, I need subs that can push air. When I unboxed the units, I was happy to see a tight box with a rhino lined protective coating, real casters that roll on carpet, and concrete, light enough to be able to handle by myself, yet heavy enough they punch, and stay quiet! Now for ZZounds... I was shocked zzounds approved my order, I have rough (real) rough credit, and zzounds took a chance on me, and once they approved my order, BAM! these things were at my house two days later, unbelievable... So I am happy all the way around, they function like a company should, I am a happy musician, and I am happy with the product as an end user... so cool... ( yes, after re-reading my review, it does look fake, or that I am an outside sales guy, but I'm not, just a fairly normal HAPPY customer!!!)
Musical Background:
I take a beating for a living, I am a sound engineer, and tech. I have been playing piano/synths, bass, and faking the drums.
Musical Style:
rock, tronic, synth rock, experimental, shoegaze, dub step
26 of 29 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2015 by Jason Blanchard in Sulphur Springs, TX
"Solid Subs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have got four of these paired with a set of K12 and we have never had a show that we were not complemented on the overall sound of our rig, plenty of bottom end and punch right where you need it, Highly recommended !!!
Musical Background:
Been a musician and sound tech for 20 + years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Country, Blues, Pop, Contemporary Christian
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2011 by a customer from verizon.net
"BOOOOM!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll be satified for a long time, and I replace it with the same before anything. I wass looking at the ksub but I'm glad I went this route I like the wheels and the weight the most, and of course the sound.
Sound
Awesome I mean I wouldn't suggest to go blast an old dj Magic Mike cd or anything but it hits all of the frequencies I've needed.
Features
A handle on each side and and wheels...good enough for me
Quality
Seem like it can last for a long time with proper care and if you get the cover also.
Value
seemed kind of high but well worth it once I heard it for myself
Manufacturer Support
Havn't need to contact them except to register for the warranty.
Musical Background:
Dj
Musical Style:
Electro, House, Reggae, Hiphop
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2016 by Louis W in Germantown, MD
"Great product, great service"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The transaction with zZounds was easy and fast. The Play as you Pay approach really works for me and the expedited shipping was a great added bonus. Now, the QSC KW181 is a beast of a sub! Great low (and sub low) end performance. The sound is tight and there's lots of headroom when you need to crank it. As a DJ, this sub was a great compliment to my other QSC speakers. I can't imagine anything better for my needs.
Musical Background:
I've been playing music for over 35 years (Violin, Cello, Bass Guitar, DJing)... And I play bass guitar and DJ professionally.
Musical Style:
I play a variety of styles.... Blues, funk, Jazz, hip-hop, R&B, Rock etc. With DJing, add Country to the previous list.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2014 by Kenneth T in Atlanta, GA
"Best powered subwoofer , no competition !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This sub has the everything you ask for.... Power, size, weight, casters, kick and super low response. Got one and thanks to zzounds play as you pay, had to get another! Had the JBL's first, constant fan running was annoying. These QSC's have no fan running unless you really push them hard, then it engages the super quiet fan. Thanks QSC!
Musical Background:
Lifetime musician
Musical Style:
All types
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 19, 2012 by Brad C in Bellingham, WA
"QSC KW 181 Powered Sub"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought one of these for our band to go with a pair of KW 153's. I thought one would do but no. I had to buy another one. Now this PA is moving some air. It's small, and it has a huge sound. It's plenty loud for small to medium venues, anything larger and we hire the job out. The real high light of this PA is the sound quality. We play in the Bellingham WA area and I am convinced we have the best sounding PA going right now. We have other bands wanting to rent it from us for their gigs. It's a killer PA
Musical Background:
DJ/Keyboard Player for Memphis Rain/Studio Musician
Musical Style:
Rock/Jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2016 by DJ Cracka in StL, MO
"A sub you can FEEL in your heart"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As a mobile DJ these subs are the best investment. Other subs which perform similarly cost 2-3 times as much and are far heavier. The lightweight aspect will impress you as much as the heart throbbing bass. The quality of the sound is impressive. 2 of these subs will more than satisfy most large venues. Pair these up with the KW152 and you WILL sound the way you envisioned when you set out in this industry. This review is strictly for mobile DJ's with a focus on nightclubs, larger venue bars, weddings receptions, and parties. Do yourself a favor, make the investment, and you'll soon be known as the guy to go to when people plan to party.
Sound
Hip Hop friendly, DEEP bass option really shines
Features
The mounting pole for loudspeakers is nice, the locking power cord is a nice bonus, all the built in amenities are impressive.
Ease of Use
Plug n Play Daisy Chainable Very simple Plus, it has wheels, you can roll it in
Quality
Rugged construction
Value
Yes
Manufacturer Support
I was sent the European power cord, called zZounds, they had me a new one the next day. It wasn't the manufacturer's locking cord, but they did send me one immediately.
The Wow Factor
Boost the gain on the back of the unit to the halfway mark, switch on the Deep Bass and you'll feel it internally. If you like to feel the bass, you'll like these subs.
Musical Background:
DJ - KJ - MC
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, House, Rock, Metal, Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2016 by ROY SHANNON in CHICAGO, IL
"DJ ROY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best powered subwoofer on the market…especially paired with the KW152s…I did a gig with 500 ppl in attendance…I added 2 K10s to the setup and you would have thought there were 12 speakers….the sound was fantastic. I have been a EV fan for more than 17 years….nobody could have convinced me there was anything better. This was a great investment….EVERYTHING fits into my expedition with room to spare…before these speakers I was setting up passive 2 EVs T252s and 2 EV MTL-1s…had to rent a trailer…spend more for quality and sound you can't go wrong.
Musical Background:
Deejaying for over 28 years…
Musical Style:
House, R&B, Old School Dance, Chicago Stepping and a little Hip-hop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2014 by Derek T in Fort Myers, FL
"Best Subwoofer Period! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is by far the most versatile and best sounding sub in its class. The size and portability make it feel like a 10" sub but the sound and frequency response rivals that of any 18" sub on the market. We use it for both live wedding band and DJ applications week in and week out and it never fails. The sound is always spot on. Thanks to the balance and tightness I've noticed way fewer problems with bass traps and rumble in certain rooms as well.
Musical Background:
Playing music professionally for 10 years. I play guitar, bass, sing, and DJ.
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, jazz, country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2012 by DJ Crisis in Houston, TX
"Awesome Subwoofer!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I DJ at a restaurant that hires for Reverse Happy Hours and I have to bring my own system. It's a pretty big space to cover, (about 1500 sqft) and this sub packs a lot of power. I play Hip Hop and House Music and the dance floor packs up more just because my audience can "Feel" the music now because of this sub. Ive been telling my other friends to buy it, so that we can couple them up.
Musical Background:
Club and Mobile DJ for 13 years.
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, Reggae, Electronic Dance Music
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2014 by Telis Shepherd in Richmond, VA
"qsc 181 powered sub"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
You heard the rest. now hear the best! This beast is the best subwoofer I've ever heard! People say that they cost 2 much, but rest assure, you will be more than happy. Looking to buy another in another month! ZZ Sounds is also the best... thanks guys!!!
Musical Background:
I've been spinnin wax over 20 years
Musical Style:
I cover all genres
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 26, 2012 by Dj MEDEK in Sin city, NV
"Can you hear me now!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I haven't been djing for very long and I'm glad I made the decision to go with the kw181. I had a chance to hook up and try the k-sub and that sold me to get one,but I didn't want to be cdisappointed so I made sure thats what I wanted. But then when I went wto try it at my local GC in a bigger building and I don't know if it was the way they had it tuned but it sounded like crap and that's what made me look at the kw181 and let me tell ya this bad boy was built this way for a reason. The price scared me at first but when I got it and sampled it out and then had my first gigWith it I was amazed of the bass that was coming out from it. All I gotTo say is if stand real close to it and your bump'n that dance floor be ready to make dem girls want more from you with you VIBRATING the shit out of them.
Musical Background:
Mobile Dj
Musical Style:
Hip hop, R&B, ISLAND reggae, riddim reggae, alternative, house, dub, ol'skool.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2017 by Christopher Lewis in Baltimore, MD
"QSC KW181"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
One word...AMAZING! The sound quality is outstanding and I use a dbx drive rack to bring out even more bass and crisp sound to each and every event.
Musical Background:
16 years
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2014 by Love George in Miami, FL
"If i was 10yrs. Younger i would get two more KW181"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A guy came to and ask what kind of spekre are these i can hear them 3 blocks away At this i only had 1 KW181 with 2 K8 out side. I almost gave up on them i did't know how to set them up. But i had virus so now i own 2 love thwm
Musical Background:
Dj for 35 yrs
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2018 by sean lalley in biloxi, MS
"This is a GREAT SUB"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
unreal how much this speaker will put out. small dj system and it was an upgrade from b52 system I had. the weight to sound ratio is unmatched
Musical Background:
5 years
Musical Style:
little bit of everything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2013 by Joel Velasco
"Boom Boom Pow!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow! I was a little hesitant and skeptical when I decided to plunk down $1500 for one speaker. I read reviews and watched as many reviews as possible on YouTube. I currently have the Yamaha DSR112s so I thought the logical choice was to purchase the matching DSR 118s. It's a good thing I checked the KWs out, and I'm so glad I went this route. You will not be disappointed! It did have a rocky start though. The sub was only a week old when I used it on my first gig. After one hour, the sub turned off. Needless to say, I was not happy. I called QSC the following day, and they had me bring it in. I needed it for Friday and they repaired the sub in two days! It turned out to be a bad module. Things happen but I cannot thank QSC enough. The customer service is awesome & no one in the industry can match their warranty. I highly recommend the KW181 and QSC for their outstanding customer service and warranty!
Sound
You can feel the bass! I play mostly Top 40, Hip Hop and R&B and the
Features
I wish the handles were turned the other way so that it's easier to lift/load onto my van.
Ease of Use
Plug & play. Very user friendly panel.
Value
A little pricey but worth it.
Manufacturer Support
The sub was only a week old when I used it on my first gig. After one hour, the sub turned off. Needless to say, I was not happy. I called QSC the following day, and they had me bring it in. I needed it for Friday and they repaired the sub in two days! It turned out to be a mad module. The customer service is awesome & no one in the industry can match their warranty.
The Wow Factor
Crowd pleaser! The clients and guests were very happy with the sound quality and clairty.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
Top 40, Hip Hop, R&B, 80's
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2014 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Excellent sub!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
it is in fact a bit heavy, but with good quality comes weight. Have absoloutely no complaints. not enough sound has never been an issue.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2012 by James P in North Charleston, SC
"QSC forever!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you are thinking about getting this sub don't hesitate any longer, this beast is amazing!!! I've had may sub brands this one is truly the best.
Musical Background:
Sound company
Musical Style:
All kinds
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2015 by Ron C in Cleveland, OH
"Good product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sounding speaker, light weigh for a power sub. Thanks QSC
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
R&b, ballroom, steppin, hip hop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2017 by EDUARDO CERRUD in MIAMI, FL
"QSC KW181 Active Subwoofer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WAWWWW THE SAUND IS AMAZING
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
EVERY KIND OF MUSIC SOUND AWESOME
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2012 by a customer from yahoo.com in Las Vegas , NV
"No other way to explain it turns me on!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had an old 15" Samson that was 500 watts that I had gotten from a cousin that dj's and I use the mackie th15a thumps as my tops. These two and the kw181 Match well for a small to medium venue. But when I started to use the kw181...... It was like night and day not only because of more power but the smoothness of the bass even in outdoors it was still sounded crisp and clean like it was in side a a venue. I was glad I went with my gut feeling to buy this sub the other alternative was the k sub but I did my homework and this was the better one. IT hits so hard it turns me on!!!!! But I do have to say it sure is pricy......that is he only reason I haven't bought the matching tops yet I'm hopping their is a 12 payment play soon for them!!!!!
Sound
Smooth and definitely gonna bring down the house you can feel it in your bones!!
Features
N/a
Ease of Use
It's as easy as 123 and hit play.....
Quality
The product is built very strong in a wooden cabinet, also it is easy to maneuver around with casters that come with it. Like a hot knife thru butter!!
Value
Yes and no ..
Manufacturer Support
Not yet!!
The Wow Factor
I wouldn't change anything it looks and sounds sexy.....
Musical Background:
3 years mobile DJ
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, Island Reggae, R&B , house, mainstream,dub step, oldies, riddim reggae,disco,
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2014 by Phillip C in Augusta, GA
"Great Sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a compact Cerwin Vega, earthquake - I am very happy with my purchase --- especially right now -- free/rebate for speaker cover
Sound
packs a punch, good base response
Features
excellent features
Ease of Use
very easy
Quality
very sturdy, wheels are very smooth
Value
a bit pricey but
Manufacturer Support
excellent
The Wow Factor
2 thumbs up
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
All genres
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2017 by DJ 911 in Visalia, CA
"A must for all Mobile DJs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
QSC is a must for all Professional Wedding DJs, bands, and muysic groups. I've used, owned, and have heard many different Pro systems including JBL, Marathon Pro, Yamaha, Behringer, Mackie, and EV. Now ... dont get me wrong all these other brands souns great, but to my liking, they don't sound SPECTACULAR! QSC has the capacity to go full volume without peaking or distorting. Other brands just cant do that. QSC Sound Quality is OUTSTANDING! I've gotten lots of good feedback from customers stating how great the sound quality is. I use 2 - K10 loudspeakers, and 1 - KW181 Sub. I enjoy going to the bathroom during wedding events and hear the clarity of sound from afar, and the clean thumping from the bass that my QSC system has to offer. Powered subs and speakers is a great convenience and easy to setup for mobile events. Weighs about 65 lbs so its not to hard for me to load up my truck by myself. Stop buying anything else .. "Buy QSC ... you'll love it, it's a guaratee"
Musical Background:
10 year Wedding DJ
Musical Style:
Everything
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2012 by Steve S in Uniontown, PA
"Great Sub !!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have two of these Subs ....They do a really great job .....we use them in a Rocking Country Band .... We have played to as many as 300 in a mid sized club TURNED UP TO 60 % and these subs done the trick !! Also we have Played shows outside and they done well ...they are not a long throw sub ......but dont let these subs fool you . they cover very well . Our setup is this ...We use 2 k 12s as side fills ...and the KW 181s and the KW 153s as our mains ...It is a great system ....
Musical Background:
20 years
Musical Style:
New Country .
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2015 by Alan Columbus Jr. in Selkirk, NY
"objective opinion about kw181"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased pair of kw152's as soon as i hooked them both up together i knew i was going to keep them ,in my opinion i love them i would like 2 more , I thought i was going to feel the same way about the kw181 subwoofer , i read numerous reviews about how great the kw181s are , again in my opinion thumbs down, not impressed at all, no wow factor and these may be advertised as light infact they are awkward and heavy ,shipping weight is 111 pounds , not happy about the bass output when paired with the kw152..To give you an idea if you already own kw152s if you leave them in deep mode the k181 does not out preform the kw152 dont get me wrong it adds a little (key word ) little more bass or solidness . when i pushed them to over power the 152s they shut completely off and reset themselves 5 times in 20 seconds , i was listening to (of all things donna summers) song lucky , dont figure qsc speakers didnt like disco , i played anything from frank zappa ,ozzy , to taylor swift , relived the 60's to present trying to like the kw181 so i didnt have to pack it up and return it , i just cant seem to justify this speaker for the 1400.00 dollar price tag . i also was looking at the yorkville ls801 and their ls2100 , wish i had waited , im just not happy with this overrated speaker i sat right in front of this sub 4-5 foot away it did not blow me away like others say , may I add i tested these in my 14 x 25 living room in a 1600 sq foot house.
Sound
I first hooked the kw181 through my mixer ho -hum /then i hooked it u off the back of the kw 152 no difference , just dosent blow me away .i agree it needs a bigger cabinet and another 500 watts to be a winner , i understand it was made to be lighter than its competitors, but its is better than the k sub , as per online reviews
Features
to pinpoint my feelings about the kw181 ,it dosent kick ass , like i expected from qsc
Ease of Use
I truly believe the kw181 may have been made to be used with the k or kw 8- 10 -12 I think the kw152 and the kw153s (now i wish i had purchased the 153s) because i wanted to put the kw152s on the kw181 s mounting post , well .are in a class by themselves and need a higher powered bigger cabinet sub to mate up to would like to see a 2000 watt rms 18 to go with the kw152 and k153s.
Quality
I didnt lkie the fact that the kw181 shut off 5 times in a row playing a donna summer disco beat , was not even a rap style bass it was more computer synth bass , for those interested the songs name is lucky'
Value
No this is not worth it, and this is in my opinion , just feel sorry for everyone who has to lug this back to zzounds poor fed x guy .
Manufacturer Support
did not contact but i may just to ask the personally what were their intentions for this sub to work with , im sure it was not for the kw152 or kw153
The Wow Factor
No just not enough grunt low end lacks big punching power , looks like its a killer but its a kitten .
Musical Background:
I have been at home jaming for 40 years , getting into djing.
Musical Style:
rock, hip-hop, country, blues, Christian, electronic,disco anything that is music, zappa, moody blues , love all music
9 of 19 people (47%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2013 by DINDIYAL SINGH in WETHERSFIELD, CT
"Best BANG for the BUCKS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I set my gain at 2 '0' clock and it kick hard and clean.I can feel it inside and it make the floor trimble..lots of complements at end of night..this put my 2 jbl jrx 118 sp sub to shame..and it lighter and well built.
Sound
Raggae is Jamaican music known for heavy BASS..this speaker handle with ease without clipping and it really pound..1000watt clean power..I call it the Beast.
Ease of Use
plug and play
Quality
well built superb engineering...added wheel is a plus handle with ease..I just roll it to my SUV myself and wife lift it in vehicle...easy handeling
Value
At first glance it's pricy...compare to others it blew the competation..the best bank for the bucks.
Manufacturer Support
yes, very professional...and good advice
The Wow Factor
the design... finishing touch on the wood..attractive blue led light in front and a monster at the Back...
Musical Background:
JAM @ HOME
Musical Style:
HIP HOP, REGGAE,SOCA,CHUTNEY
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 18, 2017 by Steve Wilson in St. Petersburg, FL
"You only need one for most venues "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought two of these with the covers. They are indeed HEAVY. One will get the job done. I use my KW181 with my brand new K12.2s. Most of the rooms I play in are completed submerged in quality QSC sound. I'm running a TouchMix as well. No complaints over here. The sub punches well above its weight. You FEEL the low end better than anything in its price range.
Musical Background:
Piano player
Musical Style:
R&B, jazz and new-soul are my bread and butter but can play and execute all genres
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2013 by DINDIYAL SINGH in WETHERSFIELD, CT
"BEST BANG 4 DE BUCKS 2"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
UPDATES.I am happy to inform you that I have just added one more sub to the system on 6/17/2013..from ZZsound on 6/17/2013..customer service is 2nd to NONE
Sound
Can't get enough....
Features
excellent features...
Ease of Use
PLUG and PLAY...
Quality
well built......
Value
like I said at first glance it's pricy......but this is money well spent you will not regret
Manufacturer Support
yes..easy to reach and was very professional..
The Wow Factor
if one rock me then then 2 will blew me away
Musical Style:
Rock , hip hop, raggae. soca and chutney ....
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2014 by Harold London Jr in Denver, CO
"It's a must have"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very very happy
Musical Background:
DJ FOR 27 YEARS
Musical Style:
HOUSE MUSIC
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2015 by Mark R in levittown, PA
"kw181"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
just received my k181,used on me set friday night and its was like the new bully on the block just moved in, how you like me know ... can,t wait to order my second one in a few months
Musical Background:
mobil dj
Musical Style:
hip-hop reggaton
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2013 by Vince Chatman in Jackson, MS
"BOOOM BOOM POW"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
WOW WOW WOW.....this is it.....hooked this bad bout up and had my entire house rocking...OMG....well work it.....Im a mobile DJ and I only need one of these....WOW WOW WOW...
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
All type
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2013 by DJ HEAT in JACKSON, MS
"No brainer...had to add another one....Game Changer......WOW WOW WOW"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
purchased kw181 4 months about and was blown away and well as the competition. Ordered another last week to match then added 2 EV 15 top's and I must say this setup is a game changer.....class all by myself....Love it love it.......LOVE it.....wow
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
All
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2013 by Vince chatman in jackson, MS
"Game Changer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Monster of a Sub......Head & Shoulders above any other sub ive had or heard.....simply AWESOME...
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
All types
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
đź’¬
Chat With Us