Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
QSC GX5 Power Amplifier (500 Watts)

QSC GX5 Power Amplifier (500 Watts)

Push your passive PA with a reliable QSC power amp for less. This 500-watt amp has a built-in 100 Hz crossover and GuardRail limiting to protect your system.

Overall User Ratings (based on 27 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(27)
Submitted August 19, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"Truly the best deal in power amplifiers out there today."
Really happy with it.
Sound
In typical QSC fashion, a great sounding amp. Way more amp for the money than I was expecting.
Features
Really, it's got everything I need, including a very cool built-in crossover for powering a sub and a top on their own channels. The GuardRail protection system is a no-brainer.
Ease of Use
Lots of inputs and outputs. Thoughtfully done.
Quality
It's a QSC. 6 year warranty free online. What else is there to say.
Value
Yes. I think it's the best deal in amplifiers out there. I'm buying more.
Manufacturer Support
In all my years of owning QSC products (I'm old) I've only had to contact their tech support once and I was impressed that I got a live body on the phone right away.
Musical Background:
Pro musician for 30 years
Musical Style:
Whatever they pay me to play
56 of 57 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"Satisfied by the GX5!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great value, 6 year warranty, great sound, like I said, you can't go wrong. QSC is a real company, all substance and no gimmicks. Go for it!
Sound
Boomy, clean, full range, amazing sound. Awesome!
Features
The QSC GX500 has everything I need, and nothing I don't. Simple, easy to use, but at the same time cool features like the Guardrail system and optional sub-crossover. Nice manual with no-nonsense, pictorial descriptions of what you can and cannot (or should not) do with the amplifier. QSC keeps it simple with minimal flash, an ALL-METAL case, and clearly-labeled ins and outs. NOTES: you can use SPEAKon and/or 1/4" speaker outputs--nice to have options!=
Ease of Use
Like I said, couldn't be simpler for the features. I was shocked at how fast I had it working.
Value
All in all, the best amp for your money, hands down. Amazing sound, ease of use, and super long warranty.
Manufacturer Support
FREE 6 YEAR WARRANTY. Let me repeat that: this product, if you register it online, comes with a 6 YEAR WARRANTY. You're simply not going to beat that. SO nice to see a company stand behind its product. Solid.
The Wow Factor
Silver and black. Nice.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Composer, Worship Leader
Musical Style:
Chanting, Electronic, Rhythmic
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 24, 2012 by Brian s in huntingdon, PA
"Light weight MONSTER!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
We have been using this to power our mains (PV215's -700 watts at 4ohms. This thing is a perfect match!) and it works like a dream. Serious, clean power. Others have complained about the fan noise...in a live setting, it isn't an issue.The only con I have with this unit is that the knobs on the face seem cheap but other than that it is solid. Couldn't be happier! I was really surprised at how clean and crisp this thing is. As soon as I can, I will be purchasing another one.
Musical Background:
bass player for 30+ years
Musical Style:
classic rock, country, blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2011 by a customer from suddenlink.net
"The Brand QSC, combined with Zzounds, you can't go wrong!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will hold on to it, unitl it is time to update. I believe this amp will be with me for a good while.
Sound
Wow! The QSC GX5 gives out plenty of staying power. The fans keep it cool, even on the hottest of days. I use this amp with my Peavey DJS4 DJ Speakers. The amps power works really well with these speakers. The sound is clear and very powerful.
Features
The QSC comes with light panel on the front. The feature allows you to see if the amp is clipping or not. Very usefull.
Ease of Use
This amp has a varity of connection, suitable for any novice to use. It is as easy as plug and play. You know how important that is, for any gig.
Quality
The QSC is very well built. Sturdy, compact and very manageable.
Value
I would recommened this product to anyone who is looking for a top quality amp at a very reasonable price. Plus, using the 4 payment plan allowed me to buy what I really wanted and not settle for something I could barely afford. Way to Go Zzounds. I will definetly be coming back.
Manufacturer Support
You get a 6 year warranty, what more can I say. This company really stands by it's product.
The Wow Factor
The silver and black combination of color is sharp and very sexy. It really stands out.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
Tejano/R&B
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2013 by DJ BILL in TAMPA, FL
"UNDER $400 AND CANNOT BE TOPPED!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
OK, I used the Behringer EP 4000 claiming 550@8 ohms per side continuous, Crown XLS 5000 hitting the 600.00 mark and 440@8 ohms clean, and this going at 500@8 ohms clean. Hooked to EV TOUR X 18 SUBS, power hungry in the 35-100 hz range. Crown sounded ok till "bassy" Hip Hop songs hit, it LOST it's clarity and peaked badly trying to keep up. The EP 4000 fared better, did not clip like the Crown, but couldn't "handle" the BOOM BOOM which as a DJ you MUST HAVE!! The GX, Clean, Cool, Kept up with it's Big Brother(GX7) and almost at clip did produce the BASS, BASS, and more BASS! I would NOT push this to EV TOUR X 18 SUB levels constantly, but my EV ZX5's LOVE THE GX5, and they are rated at 600 continuous watts, but the GX5 pushes them at 120hz and up all night at ear bleeding volumes!! Need MORE, go GX7, but for 99% THIS AMP WILL DO ALL YOU NEED, AND KEEP KICKING!!
Musical Background:
DJ/SOUND TECH AUDIOPHILE SINCE 1988
Musical Style:
ALL TYPES
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
QSC GX5 Power Amp Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to be performing with this amp in my PA for many years to come.
Sound
The sound is very high quality and very musical.
Features
The built in crossover is nice feature, but it cannot be bridged which can be a drawback for some applicaitons.
Ease of Use
Turn it on and go!
Quality
The connectors in back feel great when connecting various cable types. the front knobs and casing feel a little cheap & pasticy
Value
You get so much power & QSC reliability for a very good price. You can also get a 6 year warranty if you register the amp online.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
n/a, its an amp
Musical Background:
active musician in a rock cover band
Musical Style:
rock & dance
27 of 30 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2016 by Maurice S in Ofallon, MO
"Ascent gx5 power amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a mobile DJ and this amp is priced right and gives me plenty of sound to rock the house! Easy to transport and hook up. All the quality you expect from a QSC product.
Musical Background:
20
Musical Style:
All of the above
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2014 by James Langhans in Windsor, VT
"QSC GX5 Power Amplifier"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The QSC GX5 Power Amplifier is a great value of performance with functionality. The switchable crossover selector and the simplified mono input feature for two-channel output are what stand out in this price range. Frequency response ranges are industry standard. The manufacturers 3 year warranty is what sold me.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2015 by Jose Nunez in Anthony, NM
"Good Amp for the Price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this amp about 3yrs ago I use for top cabinest they work very well and the inputs and out puts are a plus
Musical Background:
Musician/Dj/sound tech
Musical Style:
Latin
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2014 by Stevie W in Long Beach, NY
"QSC GX5 Wow"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The QSC GX5 is a very good Amplifier, It put out very crisp clean sounds. Highly recommended
Musical Background:
Djing
Musical Style:
Rock, Reggae, R&B & Hip Hop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 22, 2013 by Mike B in Garland, TX
"Power Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great Productt and Orderingade it simple to enjoy. Hassle Free shopping w/ Great Financing ...
Musical Background:
Home
Musical Style:
Country & blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2012 by Alex L in columbus, OH
"Amazing."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play my bass guitar through a Tech 21 Sansamp RPM rackmount pre-amp to the GX5 to power my Hartke AK410 and AK115 bass cabinets. I love it. The GX5 has so many POWERFUL options to run a bass rig. Anywhere from 500w to a single 8 ohm cab, all the way up to 1400w if you want to run two full stacks @ 4 ohms each. Just think of running TWO SVT810 cabs with one $400 amp! Amazing. Bass players, this is THE power amp to get! Non-bass players, the GX5 has enough power and options to handle almost any application.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2014 by bob z
"Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I cant get over how easy it is to get equipment shipped to your front door from these guys, I was looking for a power amp for a pair of pv2515 pa speakers, I don't know much about the workings, so I called and asked many "stupid" questions. The answers were professional, informative and I actually learned a few things! I ordered this amp on a thursday night at about 9:30 P.M. Would you believe it was on my doorstep saturday morning!!! This is my third purchase from these guys and I Promise you, I will not go any where else! The amp turns out to be a perfect match for the speakers I have and once everything was hooked up, I seen why, These speakers NEVER sounded this good!!! excellent recommendation by the staff member I talked to, unfortunately dont remember his name. I love ZZOUNDS! Only wish they'd give return customers longer payment plan options! LOL!
Musical Background:
30 years of bass guitar playing in bands
Musical Style:
classic to hard rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"High Quality and Low Price do exist! The QSC GX5 has them both."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Considering QSC offers a 6 year warranty on their products if you register online, I suspect I'll be very happy with this purchase for many years to come. If either of my other two Carver amps were to fail, I would replace them with a QSC product.
Sound
I am very happy with this purchase. I am impressed at the overall build quality QSC puts into the GX series of equipment, especially at this price point. I purchased the GX5 to power a pair of Peavey 115 mains and couldn't be happier with the reults.
Features
Since amps do really have many "features" other than output power, I can only say I am happy with the output power of the GX5 I purcahased.
Ease of Use
It doesn't get much easier. A power button and right and left output control knobs on the front make for a clean look. Both RCA and 1/4" TRS inputs on the back sit right beside Speakon, TRS and binding post outputs on the back. Connections are simple and plentiful.
Quality
This is a nice looking unit with clean lines and plenty of input and output connections. It is clear that QSC takes thier quality control seriously.
Value
I couldn't find a better deal anywhere. Even if I could have, zzsounds would have matched it anyway. Why even look anywhere else?
Manufacturer Support
I have not had any issues that have required me to contact zzsounds yet.
The Wow Factor
For the price and quality I couldn't find anything else in this price range.
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Get this amp, and load it down to 4 ohms per ch....it will sound great!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound is great on poor speakers and great speakers. Clean power and weight...none of that new fancy-smansy digital rail power, or whatever you call it.
Value
A lot of power for the money...blew a pair of Seismic 15T's after an hour or so
Manufacturer Support
Called once, and spoke to a live person the first time.
The Wow Factor
It looks nice in the rack with the GX7, but I like the weight of the GX5...makes me feel more confident in it's power.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
ALL
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2012 by Heath R in Union City, TN
"QSC GX 5 Review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp seems to be very well made. I Think it is probably a good amp for monitors or smaller mains. I had trouble with thermal shut down at a outdoor gig last year and was a bit disappointed. The amp seemed to be underpowered for the subs I was running off of it....The subs were a good balance wattage wise but the amp didn't meet my expectations. I heard harder hitting class D amps than this one. But like I said....i think it would be ok for monitors and Mains. Need a bigger amp to run subs.
Sound
Sound was fine
Ease of Use
Very easy to use and understand
Quality
Very robust and well made
Value
A little on the high side. Though the numbers are impressive as far as wattage is concerned. The practical application them in real time of it left me hanging to some degree.
Manufacturer Support
haven't needed them
The Wow Factor
2 Wows.....one good...one bad......1 for Wow this thing is awesome looking and well made........2nd....oh wow.....whenever it starting to shut down on me when in use.
Musical Background:
20 years in a band
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 14, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
QSC GX5 Power Amp Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I use this amp for my 2 15 in. Peavey Loud speakers and they sound really loud. I barely put the volume half way and sounds awesome.
Features
I like this amp because it has RCA Plugs for inputs to my mixer.
Ease of Use
It's pretty easy. Just plug in and play. That's about it.
Quality
This product is really reliable. Plus it's backed up with a 6 year warranty when you register your amp online.
Musical Background:
Perfesional DJ
Musical Style:
All sorts of music style
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2018 by Ed S in Las Vegas, NV
"A Great Sounding amp with Amesome Power"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I tested this amp on a homemade subwoofer for my home theater. It is amazingly spectacular. It brings a huge grin to my face every time a watch a movie or listen to music. Today’s music and music that has been remastered are emphasized in the lower frequencies which I assume has been done because so many people are using earbuds. My old CDs work great, but the few new ones I own or streaming music make the bass sounds too over the top. I listened to an old Santana CD and a recent one that had been remastered and it is really a shame what they have done to it. This is by no means the worst of the offenders.What I have done is not the intended use for this amp although I thiught I could push the amp a little, but it isn’t even trying. I am enraging the neighbors with it, but the amp is running ice cold. It has at least one fan or more than likely two that kick on with the power switch. In a professional environment it would be no problem, but the quiet sections of a movie give the fans a chance to be heard. The fan noise would not be a considideration outside of my living room.It is powerful, it runs cool and it makes me smile every time I think of it. QSC has been around a long time and this is a high quality amp that is a tremondous value for the money. I had other plans for this amp, but I may just leave it there in my home theater. I might buy another one from zZounds. I own a dozen amps both for home use and professional use and this one is my new favorite.
Musical Background:
I have been playing music and listening to music a long time.
Musical Style:
Van Halen, Ozzy, Led Zeppelin, classical, reggae, old country western and honky tonk. Pop music from the 80s like Prince, Tina T
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to