Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Pro Co RAT 2 Distortion Pedal

Pro Co RAT2 Distortion Pedal

Turn heads and shred faces with the Pro Co RAT2 Distortion Pedal. This Rat is radically different from any "distortion" you've ever heard before.

Overall User Ratings (based on 78 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(78)
Submitted February 26, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"The Rat has built a permanent nest in my pedalboard."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
one of only a few pieces of gear that have become essential to my setup. i could not play a gig without it.
Sound
Great great sound, really crunchy and distinct. The amount of distortion can be set so low or so high that it can really be used for anything. I get crunchy overdrive out of this most of the time, but I will crank that knob and get some really heavy distortion that commands attention.
Features
3 knobs & a footswitch, pretty standard, but it's all you'll need.
Ease of Use
3 knobs and a footswitch, you'll figure it out before you even start using it.
Quality
this thing has been beaten to hell and it doesn't seem any worse for wear. it's a friggin tank.
Value
wish it was like, 10 bucks cheaper, but whatever.
The Wow Factor
it's a classic & an original and people keep getting new sounds from it in all sorts of musical genres. who the hell doesn't want it?
Musical Background:
Occasionally gigging musician
Musical Style:
Post-Rock, Experimental, Shoegazer, Electronic
18 of 18 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2006 by a customer from ideacircus.com
"plug in, turn on, be a rockstar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Need just a little dirt or a lot of sludge? It does both. Even good on Bass.
Sound
Frigin great distortion, subtle, to very harsh. Melvins to Molly Hatchet. Full on old school rat sound. And true bypass to boot. I love it. I have a Big Muff, and this can mimic it as well, but another level of distortion that the Big Muff cannot seem to do.
Features
3 knobs. Black. Excellent for blunt force trauma.
Ease of Use
plug in, turn on, be a rockstar. Simple Pedal.
Quality
Everything seems just fine. Well built and constructed. The battery wiring is a little jammed in this little box, that's the only issue I have.
Value
I was looking for a little better price, but after noodle-ing with it for a bit, it's waaay worth the price.
Manufacturer Support
Hopefully it won't be an issue. It's damn sturdy.
The Wow Factor
I've been shopping for a nice distorion pedal for a while, and have done my homework. (The only good kind of homework.) Check it out.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal - Doom & psych
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2019 by Steve S in Miami, FL
"Awesome Distortion"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very unique sounding. This the 90s distortion sound in a box. You can get a light overdrive to a heavy distortion that is fuzzy.. I'm surprised this pedal is better than the price tag lets on. You will instantly recognize the tone of this pedal. You've heard it on so many records. You get more than you pay for because its built super strong and is versatile. It also plays nicely with other pedals before and after it like wahs, modulations, and delays etc.
Musical Background:
Guitarist, Producer, Singer-Songwriter
Musical Style:
Rock and Alt Rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
ProCo RAT2 Distortion Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Before I get to anything else, I want to clear this up. Some people say that the new rats suck because they don't have the old chip in them. I'm saying this simply isn't true. The old ones are great and so are the new ones. So don't worry about that if you're on the fence about this pedal. This legend has a full range of great distortion sounds. From subtle to mighty. It's easy to tweek on the fly. It also works wonderfully with your guitars volume knob. I tend to leave it at a moderate distortion and clean it up when needed with my guitars volume.
Features
Minimal, but intuitive and functional controls with a broad sweep of possibilities.
Ease of Use
It's super easy to use.
Quality
Built like a tank. The bottom of the pedal makes it awkward to fit on a typical pedal board, but it's easy to work around with a little help from a google search.
Value
Very affordable.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to contact them, but Proco has an amazing and well known warranty / support.
The Wow Factor
It's kinda legendary, and seen on many pedal boards through rock history.
Musical Background:
20 years of playing.
Musical Style:
United States
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"It's A Legend For A Reason"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I primarily use it as my highest gain stage on my board however it can cover everything from light breakup to the verge of velcro fuzz. It doesn't take much to get good tones out of the RAT however if you spend a little time dialing you'll get some great ones.Was over the moon to see they finally updated the power jack to accept the standard 2.1mm connector (Boss style)!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"SIMPLY AWESOME!"
It's the best i've ever dealt with
Sound
Not loaded with feedback like the metal muff, nice nice sound at any level, I never get sick of it
Features
All you need.
Ease of Use
Takes a bit of tweaking but after you found your setting its perfect!
Quality
Durable as hell, small too.
Value
Worth the price.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
I WANT IT, I OWN IT!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, working with active musicians
Musical Style:
Grunge, Metal, Funk, Experimental.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 13, 2011 by a customer from stevenchappelle.com
"BUY IT, USE IT, Be Happy. ;-)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I see people trash this box and say to get it modded and BLAH, BLAH, BLAH...and this from a man who has an analogman TS9/808 Tubescreamer...but this box is great the way it is. I've been playing for 47 years, since I was 15, and this box is great for CLASSIC ROCK. I front a Classic Rock cover band, and it's perfect on my pedal board.
Sound
Great distortion...can tweak it to get your sound.
Features
What else do you need...3 knobs...great sound.
Ease of Use
Again...3 knobs.
Quality
Nice, solid pedal.
Value
Can't beat this distortion for this price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use it.
The Wow Factor
Just what I wanted...cool dark gray box...led light. I like it. ;-)
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classic Rock
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"still got that sound.."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
satisfied until it breaks, if it ever does, which would be easy to fix or replace.. this compares to a couple of other classic (made since the seventies) distortion units which i would use in case of pedal not able to be there, but i am pleased to have another one after so long without one and would wear this out.. it's my sound all over again, love it!
Sound
my experience with the rat goes back to about 1989 when i got an old 1981, small logo sheet metal rat.. that was my sound for a long time, could get a lot of really superb harmonics and very thick distortion at low and high frequencies.. i sold it to my brother, who has made it a permanent fixture in his pedalboard and still sounds awesome.. i bought a rat2 recently, hoping to get that sound back, and this sounds like the old pedal i loved.. great news since i had thought that they sounded different since the old days.
Features
this pedal only came in a thick cardboard box, pretty minimal but not to worry because it could probably put a hole in concrete.. old school AC adapter plug on the pedal and no plug, reminds you of the old days but is different from most adaptor plugs on new pedals.. batteries is all i plan on using with this pedal as always, however. i am not an employee of proco, btw.
Ease of Use
this pedal has an amazing range of dynamics, all accessible between the filter and distortion controls.. filter goes backwards so back it down to let more trebles through, same as old rat, which i like.. i like distortion which is why i like this pedal.. back off the distortion and you still have all this tone.. used with a wah pedal, even more tones can be had between the two filters of the pedals, there is no manual for this pedal, so you have to see what it will do, but results are always spectacular with old fender and marshall amps without overdrive channels.
Quality
the old rat is still going 26 years on, and it looks like the new pedal is ready for another 26.. the warranty says "any excuse even abuse" if anything happens i'd put it to the test, but as i don't exactly play at the bottom of a swimming pool or a demolition derby, i still wouldn't mind taking it out every time i could.
Value
this is not a lot of money for this kind of sound.
Manufacturer Support
haven't invoked support yet for either pedal.
The Wow Factor
i always wanted another rat.. missed out on opportunities to grab a reissue of the old pedal i had, but since i am getting my desired sounds from the new one i appreciate it more, and would get more than one.. i also dig how much more solid and compact the new pedal is.
Musical Background:
active gigging and recording musician
Musical Style:
many genres and methods from traditional to futuristic
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2005 by a customer from aol.com
"Damn fine pedal."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sweet.
Sound
Nothing else can even come close to this type of distortion. The sound is so unique and...awesome! Haha, for some examples, listen to Foo Fighters. You'll notice how it can sound different whever you want. The song Stacked Actors shows how raunchy and sludgerock it can sound (really awesome) but Everlong, it's totally different, awesome none the less. This might sound stupid but, Jimmy Eat World. Their distortion is something I have always wanted but just couldn't quite get. I absolutely HATE that band now but their old album Clarity was AWESOME. Even if you don't like their old stuff, listen to them just to get a sense of this pedal's sound, it really is somethin'. Bands who use it, that I know of: Foo Fighters Jimmy Eat World (Tom Linton, Rythm) Krist Novoselic from Nirvana (Bass) The Melvins Blur Spineshank Pink Floyd If you want a longer list go to guitargeek.com and check it out.
Features
It's got what you need to make it sound awesome.
Quality
Built like a brick house.
Value
You can't get this sound from anything else.
Manufacturer Support
You won't need it.
The Wow Factor
Hot.
Musical Background:
I love music.
Musical Style:
Anything.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2007 by a customer from shsu.edu
"Wish i had my 80 dollars back"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
over all i am sure this distortion is decent for a stomp box but i would recomend looking elsewhere for the single fact of the sound, although i have read some really bad reviews about the quality but have had none of these issues myself
Sound
The sound is definitely distinct. I have never played the old one but the lower distortion levels are good at best but the higher levels get way to wild with no sense of feed back or bottom end...if u cut the filter you will loose any bited on the high but will get a good distortion for power chords. I use it with a ts 808 tube screamer...when set up right with this pedal it does give a great blues sound( like stevie ray vaughan but slightly more distorted)
Features
simple. easy. appropriate would probably be the best way to describe it.
Ease of Use
easy to turn on but to find to find the tone one might have to go hunting for it
Quality
i have had no problem with it but the other reviews horrify my and really makes me wonder about the problems with the inputs
Value
I have always been kinda dissapointed with my distorions tone(my clean is amazing b/c i have a twin reverb) and if i could get the right sound i would pay much more. For me it would be better to have the right sound and have to have 2 of the same pedals because of bad quality rather than own a tank that cant do anything right. For the price i am sure there is a better pedal available.
Manufacturer Support
never had to use it but by the other reviews it sounds pretty crappy
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, reggae, country and BLUES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 12, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"No doubt about it...this is the pedal to own!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This will be my go-to pedal. It will get used, abused, and used again. If it is stolen by a jealous guitarist in another band, I will hunt him down, and de-tune his guitar before his next set and take it back. If lost, bent, or mutilated, I will replace it.
Sound
I heard a guitarist use one when he auditioned for the band. It sounded good, so I got one 3 days ago for zz...plugged it into my blues deluxe at rehearsal...and was blown away. I've been using a POD for effects, but unless I need something exotic, from today forward, the RAT is the only pedal I'm using.
Features
The filter knob lets me dial in whatever sound I need. What else is there to say...volume and distortion and filter...so simple I even understand it.
Ease of Use
Like I said above, simple, simple, and simple.
Quality
I was impressed when it was delivered. Even when in the box, it felt like it was built like a tank. This pedal is gig ready to rock.
Value
I've been looking around at other pedals, and even the ones costing twice what I paid can't touch it.
Manufacturer Support
I nine, only because I haven't needed it. Their web site, though, is great. Tone samples for every RAT. Very nice.
The Wow Factor
It's black and white. Does it look sexy? Hell no. Does it sound sexy? Hell yes!!!!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2003 by a customer from msn.com
"the best distortion pedal that's beutiful in a dingy kind of way"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
i would never replace it with another pedal it's to good to replace.
Sound
i don't really have anything negative about it but i wish the knobs wern't higher than the switch. it makes it harder to stomp on.it sounds great gives u distortion without losingt the tone
Features
it didn't come with an adapter when i got it but i like the sound quality and i like the glow in the dark feature. very easy to use
Quality
this s the best quality pedal i've ever played, it has a problem with the battery some times but it always seems to go away in a second and it doen't happen very much it's happened like 2 times and i've had it for almost 4 years so. it was used when i got it, it was 1 that was made a long time ago when they 1st came out.
Value
i think it's kind of expensive but it's worth it.
Manufacturer Support
i didn't have contact with the company but there's nothing wrong with it. i don't know anything...
The Wow Factor
i have it so yeah
Musical Style:
altenative punk rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"A WARNING!! DO NOT BUY THIS THING! YOU WILL REGRET IT!"
I thought this would last me a long time, i'd heard about RATS being super reliable...haha! NOT ANY MORE! The new ones are terrible! If it was stolen i wouldn't care...maybe i'd actually feel a bit sorry for the thief! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!! IT'S TOTALLY UNRELIABLE, SOUNDS VERY ORDINARY AND THERE ARE MANY BETTER DISTORTIONS AVAILABLE
Sound
It sounds pretty dull and lifeless. There's really nothing to get excited about. The older rats where great. The new ones totally stick. Don't waste your money on a below average distortion.
Features
No battery included. and the battery compartment is a joke! totally frustrating and stupid! It features true bypass switching.. but i'll get to that later.
Ease of Use
I didn't get a manual! but it's not exactly hard to use. 3 knobs - volume, distortion and filter. you can play around with them and get a few usable sounds.
Quality
THE NEW RAT II is the most poorly put together piece of crap i've ever owned! My first one stopped working after 3 DAYS!!! it just blocked the signal and made a bad humming noise! so i sent it back and the shop was kind enough to replace it. 2 weeks later..SAME PROBLEM! it seems unplugging a cable and then plugging it back in kills it! I have no idea what kind of switch they have put in here, but it's a joke! i can't get any sound except a faint buzz and a hint of the signal. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY! TOTALLY UNRELIABLE AND USELESS!
Value
Very over priced. The RAT is living off it's past reputation. The new ones are utterly CRAP! Dull, lifeless, muddy, weak sound.
Manufacturer Support
NON EXISTENT SUPPORT! PRO CO don't HAVE any support! none of my emails where returned! A WASTE OF MY TIME! When (not if) the new RAT breaks you will get absolutely no help from this company!
The Wow Factor
looks ok, big and black with some glow in the dark paint. Not bad...but far from sexy.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Blues
of 7 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2008
"HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT"
Don't waste your time, effort and money on this. If you can find an old one pre-'90s get it, the new ones blow.
Sound
My uncle had a Rat from the early 80s and it sounded kickass, the only distortion pedal I ever liked, then I got one of the new ones for $89, it sounded so so, still a little different than most distortion units. Then it just stopped working about 2 months after I got it.
Features
I wish I had more time to play around with it...BEFORE IT CRAPPED OUT ON ME. I should've kept the receipt and returned this, but again, I thought this pedal was going to last me forever. Lesson learned.
Ease of Use
Simple, 3 knobs
Quality
This was a huge disappointment, I was looking forward to my Rat lasting me for almost 30 years like my uncle's has...how disappointing to see another brand ride the good name it earned in the past to sell high priced horrible quality musical equipment (ala gibson, marshall, vox)
Value
Don't waste your money on this POS, it's not worth $5
Manufacturer Support
I emailed them to see what I could do with my pedal, I got an email asking if I lived in the US or abroad, and I responded and never heard from them again, I tried contacting them again with no luck...D.bags, I live in new jersey not mongolia, shouldn't be too effing hard to take responsibility for the crap you sell.
The Wow Factor
it looked like the old ones, which I liked, just a black box with 3 knows and a switch, fine with me
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Rock
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2005
ProCo RAT2 Distortion Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this pedal, once I get my own I will play it forever, and if that one is lost stolen or broken, I will immediately get another one.
Sound
Different from other distortions, give you slight overdrive, to crunchy distortion, all the way to big muff pi harmonic distortion, very nice.
Features
true bypass, need i say more.
Quality
Built like a tank, very solid, simple construction with few things to break
Value
Most distortion pedals cost way more than this one, and the rat2 is just flat out better anyway.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
The letters glow in the dark, just a little feature that makes it different
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2004
"Unacceptable static."
Sound
Used in cunjunction w/ a Peavy or Crate solid state amp this box causes horrendous static and hiss.
Features
It isn't all that ajustable but you can turn it off.
Quality
All steel. Jumped on it often to kill hiss. (jumped on it w/ both feet when angry at it)
Value
This box doesn't perform as well as most of the cheaper boxes. (Were the other reviews written by Rat employees?)
The Wow Factor
It's utilitarian and bombproof. I like that
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to