Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Phil Jones Bass C4 Compact Bass Speaker Cabinet

Phil Jones Bass C4 Compact Bass Speaker Cabinet

Featuring four PJB 5" speakers in a Baltic Birch plywood cabinet, the C4 bass delivers huge tone from a small and portable enclosure.

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(15)
Submitted April 9, 2014 by Herbert P in Shaker Heights, OH
"This cabinet is incredible! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Because of health reasons I needed to downsize my bass rig. The PJB-C4 is just what I need to continue playing without breaking my back and the bank. I am using a Little Mark II amp head with the C4. This combination just sings clear and loud with a wonderful clarity. I am glad that it does not have tweeters, as they are not needed nor are they missed. The upper register is flawlessly smooth. I just received it and am still testing it with my different basses and in different live performance events. But so far it has not let me down in any way.
Musical Background:
I have been playing professionally for 30+ years
Musical Style:
I play most styles of contemporary music including but not limited to rhythm & blues, blues, rock, folk, gospel, country, jazz,
51 of 51 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2014 by John Reid in Levelland, TX
"Phil Jones Bass C4 Bass Speaker Cabinet"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm very happy with this purchase. I'm not new to Phil Jones' bass gear as I have owned and still do own several pieces that I use from time to time depending on the gig. This cab is probably my favorite so far. It sounds great and is small and very portable. For now, I'm using an Aguilar Tone Hammer head on it and it's a great sounding combination. I've heard that Phil's coming out with a combo version of this cab and I'm planning on buying it as soon as it becomes available.
Musical Background:
Professional player/educator
Musical Style:
Mostly jazz and R&B
31 of 31 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2016 by David H in Tualatin, OR
"Instantly my favorite cabinet ever"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This cabinet literally saved my musical career. I just can't safely carry my big cabinets anymore. But let's not get carried away by how small and lightweight this thing is. The sound quality and volume level that this system attains will blow your mind. My band has two guitarists, each with boutique 50W tube combos, and a kit drummer, and everyone was stunned. (We're not metal or anything, but we're loud enough everyone wears earplugs.) My bandmates assumed I was wired into two cabinets, but no. This little cab filled the whole room, powered by a simple Peavey MiniMax head, with *plenty* of headroom left over on the gain and master (neither level was past 1/3 of max). No compromises on low end response or clarity of the upper notes. (Note: I play 4-string, can't vouch for low B's). If you close your eyes you would think you were hearing a 4x10 or a 2x12. Thanks to Phil Jones, I can now look at smaller more efficient cars to move my gear around instead of pick up trucks! The only reason I did 4 stars on value is because these things are pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for....)
Musical Background:
I have been playing music 40 years. I play guitar bass synthesizer and can sing. I play local clubs and parties 10-20x per year.
Musical Style:
I play classic country, rockabilly, blues and classic rock.
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2015 by Dwane W in Grayson, GA
"I'm officially impressed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was gigging with a Markbass 410 cabinet and really got tired of carrying it back and forth to rehearsals and gigs. I heard people say really good things about this so I decided to give it a try. I was completely blown away. This has the same amount of punch and presence as the 410! It handled my 500 watt head easily as well!Around the house, I use it with my 10 watt Phil Jones Bass buddy and my wife actually asks me to turn it down. This... is a great amp. I'm thinking about getting another one!
Musical Background:
Professional gigging and session musician
Musical Style:
Christian, rock, jazz, modern jazz
14 of 14 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2018 by Kevin K in Clifton Park, NY
"Amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing professionally for 20+ yrs. I've tried every amp cab combination on the planet. I can say without a doubt, this is the best cab I have ever heard. I orderd one once I played through it for 2 days, I ordered a 2nd....I will never use any other manufacturer again.
Musical Background:
Professional bassist and teacher
Musical Style:
Classical to death metal
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2021 by Matthew W in Lenexa, KS
"Just bought my second PJB C4."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
why settle for one when you can have two for twice the price! the c4 cabinet is unmatched for it's size, weight and performance. getting ready to have two of these cabs paired to ampeg PF800. Which should power them nicely. if all goes well I plan to buy two more c4's and pair all 4 cabs to my Carvin BX1600 amp! two per channel! should be an excellently clear and loud presentation in about a 12inch square footprint 4 feet tall! way to go PJB! and ZZOUNDS for pay to play at such a bargain thanks again!
Sound
the sound quality let me hear what my bass has been trying to tell me for years! for clarity I put this can against any!
Features
I feel that I am in the right direction to making my bass and me complete. a true representation of what I want my bass tone/sound be.
Ease of Use
right out of the box you will hear a better quality sound with the same gear you normally play with. this cab is a game changer.
Quality
made with all top quality materials and construction. this little cabinet is 28 lbs and that is without an amp . second to none on build quality and craftsmanship. built to last
Value
this product is worth every penny! quality, weight and clarity better than any diamond out there
The Wow Factor
the tonal quality for a bass player has ended with this cab
Musical Background:
Rock, hard rock, metal, pop, jazz and blues
Musical Style:
groovy beats from the bass
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2018 by Vernell Armwood in Seaford, DE
"WOW"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Unbelievable how BIG this cabinet sounds. It's so small!!! I was skeptical, but I'm sold..it sounds good at ANY volume, even the Low B...I WILL be buying another.
Musical Background:
Been playing 20+ years, mainly praise and worship
Musical Style:
RNB Soul, neo-soul, hip hop, funk
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2013 by Michael Maresca in Largo, FL
"Who needs vintage? This cabinet has big boom!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This cabinet was surprising. I'd been using a Crate BE410 cabinet that has sounded great. Lotsa bottom end from the heavy magnets. This little guy matched it for tone and oomph at 1/3 the size. I understand the speakers have to move the air to be loud, but this little cabinet did it. My band mates could not tell the difference between these four 5" speakers and the big cabinet I've been using with them for the last 10+ years. Now I want to find the right micro bass amp to go with it to make my gigging rig even easier to carry. My one gripe was that it only allowed Speakon connection for the cable. Not, a big deal as I had an adapter handy, but allowing a standard 1/4" as well would be ideal. Well done, Phil Jones!!!!!!
Musical Background:
Serious hobbyist bass player
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Punk
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2013 by Tom G in Salem, NH
"Powerful lightweight"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
See details below
Sound
The C-4 has a lot cleaner and more detailed sound than I get with my old bass stack. I mostly go for a mellow, finger style sound, and I find that I'm dialing the mids way down and cutting the highs a bit also for C-4. You definitely want to use a head/preamp that lets you do some frequency shaping.
Features
Best feature is it weighs 24 lbs. Compare to my old stack of 15" (55 lbs) and 2x10" (45 lbs). It beats schlepping 100 lbs of speakers around.
Ease of Use
Connection is speakon only. I would have preferred a connector that allowed speakon or 1/4" phone plug.
Quality
Looks to be of excellent design and workmanship.
Value
Hard to say -- it's definitely pricey. In my case, light weight has a lot of value to me and was my motive for buying it. I'm happy with the purchase, but I'd be happier if it was less expensive.
Manufacturer Support
I emailed support to get clarification of the 400W power handling rating and received a prompt and very thorough response from none other than Phil Jones.
The Wow Factor
Getting so much sound from this tiny cube is pretty cool.
Musical Background:
guitar 45 years, bass 15 years, not a pro, but play in a couple of bands
Musical Style:
band work (bass) is mostly soft rock, country, occasional reggae; at home anything goes but mostly finger style guitar
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2019 by Matthew W in Lenexa, KS
"Studio Clarity/Quality Cabinet!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased the C4 in Red for a practice cabinet. This thing really delivers the bass! I am amazed at the clarity and volume this little cab puts out. Lots of air movement from the side ported cabinet. Light weight, sturdy as any quality cabinet. the Quality is second to none. I may purchase another to play gigs with. Currently I have this cab connected to my Ampeg PF800 and it handles it very well. Not much cab head room, but plenty of punch and power! Love this cabinet!
Musical Background:
Bass Guitar and Vocals for me, been playing off and on 35 years. Hardcore player now!
Musical Style:
Wide range of music likes for me. From Grateful Dead to Slayer! nothing is out of my range.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2020 by Matthew Wilkerson in Lenexa, KS
"C4 is Outstanding in every way!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this cabinet sight unseen on recommendation of web site. Extremely light, super small footprint with a clarity that i have never imagined. Every tone is just better somehow? I am in the market for another one to daisy chain with my current cab powered by an ampeg pf800 Amp. All friends, band members and other musicians cannot believe the clarity this cabinet has.
Musical Background:
5 years of Slappin' that bass!
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Roack, some metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2015 by Jim F in Robbinsville, NJ
"Great tone in a small package"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I picked up the C4 Cabinet as the extension cab to my BG400 combo. Great quality product and by far the best sounding small cab out there. This makes my combo come alive pushing all 500 watts. Don't let the size of the drivers fool you. I play a jazz bass through my rig and have no problem keeping up with 2 guitars and a drummer. I'm sold on Phil Jones amps, the tone I have been searching for.
Musical Background:
20+ years playing bass in original and cover bands
Musical Style:
Classic Rock
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2016 by Daniel B in Louisville, KY
"Does Not Move Air"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I spent an entire Saturday doing an A/B comparison against my old 1990 Carvin 2x10. The sound was very sterile and uncolored, which may be a plus to some users. But my old 2x10 just sounded better to me. And at the end of the day my conclusion was that it just didn't move any air. I play bass because I love the feel of the low vibrations. This just didn't have bass that I could feel. This was made in China and perhaps some of the earlier glowing reviews were of American construction. I don't know. I sent it back.
Musical Background:
Playing bass for 30 years.
Musical Style:
Rock
8 of 18 people (44%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2016 by Marvin m in Richmond, VA
"Very cool"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you are trying to get a speaker for the football field this ain't it but as an extension this is what you need. ..I use it with a 15 and the C4 really brings my sound alive...great middle and highs..it also adds to the bottom. ..this cabinet is the Bombay. ..do your self a solid and get one
Musical Style:
Everything
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2016 by Marvin m in Richmond, VA
"Very cool"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you are trying to get a speaker for the football field this ain't it but as an extension this is what you need. ..I use it with a 15 and the C4 really brings my sound alive...great middle and highs..it also adds to the bottom. ..this cabinet is the Bombay. ..do your self a solid and get one
Musical Style:
Everything
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to