Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Peavey Vypyr VIP-2 Guitar Combo Amplifier

Peavey Vypyr VIP-2 Guitar Combo Amplifier

Peavey packed this lightweight 40-watt combo with TransTube technology for tube-like tone, dozens of amp models and effects, and even instrument modeling.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(16)
Submitted April 1, 2014 by Sam S in Providence, RI
"Great amp!"
I don't know why these reviews are so low, but I love mine. It does everything it's supposed to. Analog distortion is very natural and cuts through. Love it!!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
36 of 36 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2018 by Glen McCausland in Spring Hill, FL
"AMAZING AMP FOR THE MONEY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased about 1 month ago. So far it is just amazing there is really nothing bad to say about this amp. No matter what type of music you play this amp will give you the sound you are looking for. Also zZounds delivered it to my door quickly and in perfect condition If you are looking for a great amp just buy this you will be happy you did
Musical Background:
Heavy Metal since 1982
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2019 by James M in Knoxville, TN
"Best amp for the money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off I’m extremely happy with the friendly customer service and secure shipping of this amp. This is easily the best bedroom/practice amp you can buy for the money. The amp models are spectacular and the effects can easily be changed to suit the sound you’re aiming for. It has plenty of options for your tone desire.
Musical Background:
11 years of playing guitar 5 years professionally.
Musical Style:
Rock,Metal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 3, 2017 by Jon V in Alamogordo, NM
"Best bang for $200"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought my Vyper 2 this year. I wanted a practice amp with stomp box effects and a bunch of amp models and distortion. I was shocked by the precision and tone from every amp model. I played my Les Paul, Fender Strat and Ibanez RG7420 through it and got to hear what I've been missing all these years. From clean to metal it holds it's own. The tone can keep up my brothers drums. The effects are amazing. The AUX in is great for jamming along with your favorite songs. The headphone jack works great. You can hear everything loud and clear. Amazing. I play a lot of punk, hair metal, speed and thrash, rock, blues and some classical pieces I transposed to guitar. It nails it. I totally recommend the Sanpera pedal. With it you are unstoppable. I played a 5 string bass through it and it sounds awesome. I haven't tried an acoustic. I probably never will. Acoustic guitar is too limiting. It's a great recording tool as well. Here's an example of how good it sounds. I plugged my phone into the AUX and played the Misfits Walk Among Us, dialed in a good dirty punk sound and played along with my Les Paul. It was so precie that I couldn't differentiate between the song and myself! That's amazing. I be had this amp since February this year and still have a ways to go before I be learned how to use all of its capabilities. Buy from zZounds. They are awesome. Best online music store there is. The payment plan is the best. No hastle, free shipping and great customer service. Don't forget the Sanpera pedal. One more thing. I am a huge Eddie Van Halen fan. I dialed in the Brown Sound almost to a tee. I'm also a big George Lynch fan. I get his sounds as well. I use Seymour SH6's and TB6's in the bridge of all my guitars. Have since the 80's. They sound awesome through this amp. My 7 string tunded down a whole step sounds amazing. Buy one. You won't be sorry.
Musical Background:
Been playing for about 40 years. Was semi pro in the 80's. Now I play for fun.
Musical Style:
Misfits, Exploited, Rancid, Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, LA Guns, Motley Crew, Dokken, Ratt, Korn, Slipknot, the list goes on. I
20 of 21 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2014 by Rich S in Chicago, IL
"Killer AMP!!"
My second Vypyr...still have my Vyp30 that I love but this VIP does it a little bigger and badder. The Budda models alone are worth the cost of the amp. I really like the ability to use the USB out to record my acoustic and bass tracks with more control and choices. These are 40 very loud watts too so gigging with it is no problem...just mic it and it's good to go. Get the Sanpera ii f/s tho...full stompbox control with wah, volume and 30 second looper. I like the LCD screen for tuning and seeing what's on or off. It's a Peavey so they've always been great with warranty and service with anything else I've had.
Musical Background:
30 years....gigging musician / recording hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock/country
20 of 22 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2019 by a customer from gmail.com
"Sweet Sounds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve owned all the VIP amps of this version. The 40watt is the one for me. I sold the others. I use it for practice primarily and gigged with it a couple of times. The amp is light and easy to carry. Works well with both sanpera pedals. Will not work with the sanpera pro pedal. Sounds great. I noticed a high pitched sound and found that it was because my TV remote was within a foot of it. Moved the remote and no high pitched sound. The amp has a lot of features. I love that I can practice with different instruments, guitar, bass, and acoustics.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2021 by Eric S in Niagara Falls, NY
"Good value for the price, OK sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is probably one of the best entry-level modeling amps. The only other one that might beat it tone-wise in this price bracket which is commonly recommended is the Boss Katana amp series. This still doesn't mean it's that great sound wise - you will notice the modeling nature of the amp as a seasoned player quite quickly, especially without the perfect settings dialed in. But it does have some decent tones. The amp is honestly really great otherwise, it has a lot of features for the price - I mean come on guys, you're not going to get tube tones for a couple of benjamins. One more note: The only way I can seem to use it to record silently is with ASIO4ALL drivers through the USB port, so beware. Because of this, if you intend on recording with this amplifier, consider using the cabinet with a microphone in front. It will improve the amplifier's performance. Also, the foot pedal needed to control some of the amp's features is very expensive. This all said, make your own decision. I used it for about a year before I upgraded to a higher end modeling amplifier. I don't regret my purchase of this amp.
Musical Background:
Local musician
Musical Style:
Hardcore, punk, metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2016 by Stephen Roy in Flagstaff, AZ
"Beginner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this amp despite recommendations I start with something simple. I didn't want to progressively spend money on better amps and this seemed about right for my office space and budget. Sounds great with my Les Paul yet I wish I had more info on how it really works past the basics.
Musical Background:
Play at home, can't read music so I just ramble through licks that feel good. If I figure out one thing a day I'm happy.
Musical Style:
Rock and rolling boogie.
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2014 by HENRY G in READING, PA
"MY NEW FAVORITE AMP"
THIS AMP ALLOWS ME TO FLY THROUGH THE WRITING/PRE-PRODUCTION PROCESS IN THE STUDIO, AS WELL AS GIVE ME EVERY OPTION I COULD WANT LIVE!! THE FOOT CONTROLLER MAKES IT A GREAT LIVE RIG...ESPECIALLY IF YOU WANT TO HAVE TRUE EMULATION OF MULTIPLE AMPLIFIERS! THE ACOUSTIC AMP MODELING(TRACE ELLIOTT MY FAVORITE) GIVES THE VERSATILITY IN THE STUDIO OR LIVE!! AND THE BASS MODELING EVEN ROCKS WITH A 5 STRING!!! THIS IS MY CURRENT GO-TO AMP!!!
Musical Background:
MULTI-INSTRUMENTALIST (BASS AND GUITAR CONCENTRATION) SINGER/SONGWRITER, STUDIO AND LIVE PERFORMANCES
Musical Style:
ROCK, BLUES, METAL, COUNTRY
31 of 35 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2014 by WildBill Gauger in Fort Collins, CO
"Great Amp!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is so great! It has effects at your fingertips. Different amps, cabinets and can handle both my guitars, lead and rhythm, plus acoustic, and my bass. I just have to buy the Sanpera II footswitch! That will complete the sounds I want and need.
Musical Background:
Been playing for forty years.
Musical Style:
From John Denver to Iron Maiden and a few stops in between.
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2014 by Lawrence K in Frackville, PA
"Good sound.......BUT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First the good stuff. I was a little worried that in this price range, it was going to be cheap sounding. It is not. This sucker sounds great. I am super impressed with the wide range of tones you can dial in with this amp. Output is better than expected. It can really rock. Ok, now the bad stuff. I've been fooling around with this for about a month now and still haven't been able to figure out how to use all the features. I got mine with a sampera 1 foot switch and find it extremely difficult to use. Still haven't been able to figure out how to get the looper to work and that is one of the reasons I bought this amp. I absolutely hate the small print on the dials. I still have perfect vision and cannot see the print without getting up close to see what functions are selected. This amp would definitely benefit from a digital display. I bought mine primarily for home studio use because I wanted all the effects and versatility in one package and it does deliver in that aspect, just difficult to figure out. As for using this in a live setting, I think the tonal characteristics and the volume output would lend itself to being used live but, I think the working musician would find it too cumbersome and difficult to use in a live setting. I love the sound, love the concept, just wish Peavey would have put together an easier to use package.
Musical Background:
25 + years, have played professionally, now jamming just for fun
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Classical, Blues
12 of 15 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2014 by Mike M in Paducah, KY
"Incredible Tones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is even better than I expected for tone quality. There are some drawbacks otherwise. Only 16 presets? Hartley, ya gotta be kidding! The software is adequate, but nothing more than just barely adequate. Don't even think of using the USB for audio in your DAW. I get a terrible noise out of the amp when it is connected. No other USB audio devices I use make noise. Can't do a proper search on the Peavey website because the word "noise" is so often used that it is rejected by the server's search function. The effects are probably better than average. My advice, if you are recording to a DAW, use the DAW's effects instead for better results. The instruction manuals are lacking. No English only version. Everything is explained in the manuals, but due to the VIP-2's initially confusing overcrowded multifunction button/knob system you need a genius IQ to figure it out. OK after you finally decode Hartley's little button/knob nightmare and work with it a while, though. Overall, this little amp is well worth the money for the tones alone.
Musical Background:
Veteran Amateur
Musical Style:
Freedom Rock
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2015 by Grizz M
"Peavey Vypyr VIP-2 Combo Amplifier"
I purchased the VIP-2 because I was looking for an amp with USB recording capabilities. After quite a bit of manipulation in my DAW, I was able to detect the amp as a microphone on the input side of things, and was able to record with it. While recording, the amp shuts off the speaker, and the only way to monitor the sound on the amp is either by headphones, or plugging another speaker into the headphone jack on the amp. This amp could be greatly improved if it were possible to have the sound from the amp actually show up in the computer. I should say the USB feature works with Macs - the sound comes through in Logic just fine, but I have a Windows based system and it doesn't work like that in my DAW. Peavey does include a trial version of Reaper and claims it will work in that DAW, but I am not interested in putting another DAW on my computer. I've also had no luck with their editing software. I assume the purchase of a pedal is required to get the editing software to work. The bottom line, I like the sound of this amp. It has some issues on the two bass amp settings - rattles a bit. They also state that this amp models 36 different amps, but that isn't quite true. They model 12 different amps and have 3 different gain settings for each amp giving you the "36". For the $200 it cost, it is a decent buy. If you are looking for an amp to use to record directly into your computer, and you have a PC and not a Mac, you may want to look for different options. I went back to using my Zoom G9.2tt pedal as the USB interface instead of trying to record with headphones on one ear.
Musical Background:
Been playing for over 40 years, mostly record at home now
Musical Style:
Anything with notes
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2019 by a customer from htc.net
"Peavey sucks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been using Peavey equipment for years. This amp made 4 months out of warranty. Quit working. Took it to authorized repair shop. Cost me $175. Used it twice it quit again. Contacted Peavey. No help at all said take it back to repair shop.if there stuff only lasts 4 months out of warranty I am done. Works good when it works.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2014 by todd swenson in saint paul, MN
"vypyr vip-2 peavy amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Amp gets a perfect score of "10" in my book. The selections and sound are awesome. The amp sound is deep and rich. Easy to use and makes anybody sound like a professional player.
Musical Background:
I jam at home using keyboards and electric gutiar. I've been playing 25 years.
Musical Style:
rock
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 1, 2014 by todd swenson in saint paul, MN
"peavy amp and pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The sounds and special effects of both are awesome. I can adjust the amp and get a different sound every time. And the phase pedal 90 has incredible effects that complement the peavy amp. Over all a thumbs up.
Musical Background:
I jam at home using keyboards and electric gutiar. I've been playing 25 years.
Musical Style:
rock
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to