Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Peavey PV118 Passive, Unpowered Subwoofer (1x18")

Peavey PV118 Passive Unpowered Subwoofer (1x18")

An amazing value, this 18" subwoofer handles 400 watts at 8 ohms with a 40-180 Hz frequency response. Ensure your audience feels the bass with the PV118! Unpowered. Requires separate power amplifier.

Overall User Ratings (based on 80 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(80)
Submitted September 26, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Youth church band with tight budget but massive sound"
I have owned these for a almost two years now, and I have set these up on a football field in central Arkansas and cranked it up. These sat in one enzone and at the 50, the were as clear and crisp as any I have ever heard: even at the oposite enzone, they were pretty clear but volume was low
Sound
I dont really like a sub that extends so far into the midrange like this one does, however if you are bi-amping with a crossover set between 150-250hrz, this thing will knock you off your feet. not only is it loud, but it also sounds better than most PAs that I've used in the past. 1 or 2 of these is good for large gigs and 4 is great for gigs for 250-500
Features
Even though this sub doesnt have all the features of Subs that I have used in the past, works great. The Low pass crossover is pretty darn good if you are mono amping your set-up and runnning your subs/mains in parallel. I really like the grill. It has taken a few hits in our equipment trailer and saved the woofer many times.
Ease of Use
1/4" jacks, Sturdy Steel handles, fairly compact design. Hard to go wrong
Quality
I have probably pushed these harder than most sound engineers would dare, but I have never, Ever had a minutes problems with anything Peavey. Now I do have a Yamaha mixer because peaveys are a little out of my price range, but this combo works really well.
Value
Of course I bought mine about a year ago before the price went up $30, but still, you can buy a single 18" sub for $500 that can beat this one, but you can't buy a single 18" sub for $500 that can beat two of these. Ka-Boom.
Manufacturer Support
I will give this a 8. I have never had to use it yet myself, but its good to know they are just a phone call away.
The Wow Factor
Now, it's not much to look at, but, I have always been about function rather than looks. (and it still looks pretty good for the price) but the sound quality is what sold me.
Musical Background:
Active musician, band leader
Musical Style:
Contemerary Christian/worship
54 of 56 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2007 by a customer from zoominternet.net
"Absolutely great value, you won't find a better one for that price anywhere. Peavey is a reputable company, don't get suckered"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had it for a few years now. Got used two nights a week, five hours per night for 12 months, putting canned music through them in a decent sized bar. I put about 375 watts to each and had them EQed pretty hard, and they never missed a beat. Used them last summer for an outside street party, same settup as in the bar, and they thumped really well. I went way down the street and they were still sounding great, and that was with a live band.
Sound
Sounds really good. I couple them together, which increases the SPL and that helps. For the price, can't be beat.
Features
Only 1/4" jacks, and everything's going "Speakon" these days. It doesn't bother me though. It has an internal crossover, which I appreciate for simplicity of use.
Ease of Use
Plug and play. No external crossover needed, just amp to these, then out to the Tops... and crank it.
Quality
I have to rate it according to the price/value. Not gonna get better for the price, and I've shopped around.
Value
I can definitely go a "10" here.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it, but they're reputed to be excellent. They have engineers on most Pro-Sound forums always helping people out. Great company and support
The Wow Factor
I like the simpleness of the design. I like seeing the speaker through the grill... want mine to look like a PA, not a home stereo.
Musical Background:
DJ, Karoke, small-time live sound, shows at school where I teach
Musical Style:
Variaty.
93 of 99 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2014 by Mitch H in Conrad, MT
"The Best for the Money. Period."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing 30+ years with every type of equipment, and these are the absolute best in their price range, and even as good (or better) than subs twice their price. We use two of these with two PV15's indoors, and four of each for outdoors. Sturdy, solid, rich, thumping sound! You will not regret this purchase!
Musical Background:
30+ years. Professional. 24-40 gigs per year.
Musical Style:
Country, classic rock, and blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2019 by Ed P in Detriot, MI
"Way better than active subs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I had a pair of these running on a Crown XLS2502 mono pushing 1200 watts to each one. They absolutely pounded! Now that's a $1200 setup. I sold the amp and subs and went to an active 18" sub with 3000 watts peak for $1K and it sounds great but doesn't have near the output that the two subs had. If you have the room, go with these and a good amp vs. an active setup, in my opinion.
Musical Background:
Jam at home, DJ, Karaoke
Musical Style:
All kinds. Mostly electronic music
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Amazing Subs!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to be happy for a long time with these subs for the type of medium size venues I play with my band, they sem to hold up to the road great abd are very well built, I found a winner here aned Im happy!
Sound
These subs are tight and punchy, they sound amazing! every bit as good as jbl, mackie or anything else! I run two of them off one QSC GX-5 and its a perfect match. I cannot find one thing at all negative to say about these subs, simply amazing value.
Features
its a sub, there is an in and out..I wish it had neutric in but thats a small detail
Ease of Use
plug it in and crank it up!
Quality
The sub is very well built, nice carpeting and strong corners, the grill is nice and you can see the speaker. I love it!
Value
If you want the status of sying you have "JBLs" go ahead and spent triple your money, there is however no need, these subs are a fantastic purchase, the price is crazy for how ell they sound and are built..Nothing can compete value wise top these, do yourself a favor and spend the money on a better mixer or amplifier instead, these subs ROCK ! Awesome job peavey!
The Wow Factor
they look great ! they sound amazing, there not to heavy and the cost is awesome! yes you want these!
Musical Background:
gigging muscian
Musical Style:
Classsic rock
23 of 26 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2014 by Ronald O in Avondale, AZ
"Worth the money, and very happy with the unit."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This subwoofer has real clear sound, and low has very good thump to it. I have peavey PV115D powered speaker to power this sub. I have two of these Peavey PV118 passive subwoofer, and two Peavey PV115D powered speaker all these together bring crisp and clear sound with really good low end.
Musical Style:
Mobile DJ, mostly dance music, live mixes.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 8, 2018 by Ed P in Allen Park, MI
"Nice thump!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Good sub. I'm using it with a 750 Watts RMS power amp which seems like a good match. Plays loud and deep. Adds a lot of punch to the music. Wish it had a SpeakOn connector. I added my own and bypassed the internal crossover since I have an electronic one.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Electronic, metal, Pop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2014 by Bill Fronefield in Palmyra, NY
"PV118 Subwoofer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great product! These kick hard- I like Peavey quality
Musical Background:
I play porfessionally for 25 years. I play lead guitar/lead vocal
Musical Style:
Country/Southern Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2013 by a customer from YAHOO.COM
"PEAVEY SUB WOFFER"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
LOVE THEM
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
ALL MUSIC
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2011 by a customer from furuno.com
"Bass Pounding Beast!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Considering Peavey known reputation for quality, I am not worried at all about longevity. I may by a second in the very near future.
Sound
When using this to add fill in bass to compliment two Peavey 115 mains, it rocks. Recently did a gig in a high school gym and this 18" sub and the two 115 mains worked perfectly together to provide an awesome sound.
Features
Peavey quality and excellent sound are its best features.
Ease of Use
1/4" TRS connection to amp with a second 1/4" TRS connection in parallel to daisy chain. There is nothing more simple than that.
Quality
This sub is very well made. I have only used it four times, but I suspect it will be reliable for many years to come.
Value
I think this just might be the best value out there for an 18" sub. $289.00 plus free shipping is one heck of a good deal.
Manufacturer Support
Can't comment on support as I have not needed any at this point.
The Wow Factor
It is good looking sub with a nice commercial look. Black is sexy!
Musical Background:
New DJ
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative and even Dance music (when someone is paying for it)
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 28, 2011 by a customer from beu.midco.net
Peavey PV118 Subwoofer Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Many years
Sound
These things THUMP!!!They are clear, quick response and the sound fills the room.
Features
Built in crossovers work great.
Ease of Use
Fool proof!
Quality
Very heavy and built like a tank, alot to lug around but I use a cart to make it easier.
Value
Zzounds will beat any price, (have done it for me several times)even at full price they are well worth it. I just ordered a second set so now I have 4 subs and to main tops.
Manufacturer Support
Have not needed.
The Wow Factor
Makes any sound system come alive, but you have to have enough power to push them as not to destroy them.
Musical Background:
Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
All
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 7, 2015 by Jeremy H in Cabot, AR
"Could not be happier"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I DJ all types of music from acoustic instrumentals to House and Techno. I added two of these with a new QSC GX 5, and I could not be happier. I have two Harbinger V2115 tops and two PV118s, a Drive Rack PX, and the package really comes together, and sounds as good if not better than fellow DJ friends high dollar all powered systems. I really think the DBX Drive Rack PX helps. I cut these subs at 40 hz with a BW slope of 24 db, and then cut the top end of the sub at 95 HZ with a LR 24 db slope. The tops are 112 hz LR 24 db slope to 20k. Last gig I had filled a large room that had a balcony all the way around the dance floor, and I only had the sensitivity of the amp turned to half with the tops turned up to half, and my setup really filled the building nicely. I had lots of compliments on how hard hitting and clear my system sounded.
Musical Background:
many moons, i play a lot
Musical Style:
everything
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2017 by Jarvis Barnes in Fort benning, GA
"Nice sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have one of these speakers that I connect to the 400 amp output of the PV 215D. The two produce a great sound together. For some reason I was under the impression that this model has a built in crossover, on further thought that makes no sense since there is not an amp. The only thing I plan to change is getting a crossover and amp to push the speaker to get its maximum performance. Using this set up to get started with my system has been working great for me so far and can serve youwell as a starting system too.
Musical Background:
over 20 years experience as musician and sound man
Musical Style:
various genres depending on venue and occaision
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 30, 2016 by Dean Bagdasarian in Franklin, MA
"Peavey PV118"
One of my bands has had two of these for about 5 years. The sound is good for the price . The only problem I have had with both of them is that the wire used in the x-over is brittle . 3 or 4 times between the two the wire just broke , from the vibration ,and we don't really push them that hard. I finally took the x-overs out . Using an external x-over anyway. Still using them.
Musical Background:
Bass and Stick player 45 years +
Musical Style:
Classic Rock ,B Sides ,Deep Cuts
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2013 by rex fuller in council bluffs, IA
"Awsome experience"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am extremely happy with my purchase and will by from zzounds again!!
Musical Background:
Have played drums for thirty years and listened to music longer now quality and value
Musical Style:
Rock, hard rock!
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2010 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Nuthing wrong with ZZSounds blemished products, what a savings"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
as long as Peavey doesnt get the big head and charge what the competitors charg for their over priced equiptment I will buy their product
Sound
I happen to get two of these as blemished products at the same time. and I cant tell that they are blimished, other than a slight bent corner on each, they sound great, Dont be afraid of resealed box or blimished.
Features
yes
Ease of Use
Plug and play the only way to go
Quality
yes
Value
yes
Manufacturer Support
Have owned Peavey equiptment for years , have never had any problems with anything I'v owned
The Wow Factor
Great looking , the ownly thing I would change is to have tolex rather than carpet
Musical Background:
active musican
Musical Style:
classic rock , blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2018 by Ed P in Detroit, MI
"Crazy bass. My poor house"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have two of these monsters in my basement (20 X 30') powered by a Crown XLS2002 2100 Watts bridged into 4 ohms. I was playing some 'bass' music and found various pictures had fallen off the nails and a few light bulbs had died. I can't believe the sound out of these things. I started with one. Awesome. Two is even better obviously. I want to rent a hall just to see what these things can really do. I'm running them with a pair of JBL 215s with the QSC MX5. Awesome combo.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
All kinds. Mostly electronic, funk, rock.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2006 by a customer from comcast.net
"SAVE YOURSELF TIME AND MONEY,THESE PV118'S ARE THE REAL DEAL AT AN INCREDIBLE PRICE!!"
These speakers were one of the best buys that i have ever gotten!! These have met my expectations and then some!! Unbelieveable price and quality!!!!
Sound
Incredible sound for a ridiculously low price!! These babies pound!!! Great punch,you can feel these bad boys pumpin it out!!!
Features
Easy,1/4 plug in, and your ready to rock!! Very simple features [which is good for me] the simpler the better!!!
Ease of Use
So easy to use even my mother in law could figure it out!! whoops i hope she doesn't see this!!!!!!!!!!
Quality
Very solid, solid components,quality speakers,heavy duty grilles, nice carpeted cabinets,huge, and i mean huge bass sound!!!
Value
The best value on subs anywhere!! I will put these subs up against any other brand out there!!!!!!!
Manufacturer Support
I believe the best support from peavey is building a product that i dont have to use support for anything!! Over twenty years a peavey gear user and i've only talked to them to order an item [back in the eighties]that my local music store did'nt have!!! great products!!!
The Wow Factor
Go to your local music store and have them plug the pv118's in,when you here them once you will want these speakers!! Make sure you go home and order them online [ there so much cheaper online]!!!!!!
Musical Background:
34 years ,,bands,,,djing,,,karaoke.......
Musical Style:
rock,blues,jazz,funk,country....
44 of 45 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2008
"A cheap sub for the cheap minded"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound is pretty flat, nothing much really to it. I don't understand how it can be considered a SUBwoofer if the bass can't go below 55hz. The built in lowpass is extremely high for this sub. If you just plug in the sub by itself, you can hear the high hats in every song. I was pretty disappointed overall.
10 of 22 people (45%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 20, 2005
"JUST BUY IT YOU'LL LOVE IT"
WOULD NOT HAVE PAID 600 FOR A SUB THAT I CAN PAY HALF THE PRICE FOR PEAVEY THAT IS JUST AS GOOD
Sound
SOUND IS GREAT..IF YOUR LOOKING FOR SOMETHING THAT YOU CAN FEEL THE BASS THESE ARE THE SOLUTION FOR A GREAT PRICE. MY BAND HAS 4 OF THEM ALONG WITH 4 PV215 AND I TELL YA I LOVE IT. VERY COMPAIRABLE TO THE EXPENSIVE PA'S THAT I HAVE HEARD
Features
VERY EASY TO USE PLUG AND GO. GET YOUR BOARD SET THE WAY YOU NEED AT LET THESE BABY'S THUMP
Quality
THESE BABY'S ARE MADE TOUGH. WE PUSH THEM TO THE MAX AND THEY HAVE YET TO LET US DOWN
Value
JUST GET IT AND YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED
Manufacturer Support
HAVEN'T HAD TO USE THIS YET BUT HEARD THAT PEAVEY SUPPORT IS ONE OF THE BEST
The Wow Factor
VERY BASIC LOOK BUT IT'S THE SOUND THAT MATTERS
Musical Background:
ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Musical Style:
ROCK
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to