Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
PRS Paul Reed Smith CE24 Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)
BACK IN STOCK

PRS Paul Reed Smith CE24 Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

Expand your tonal horizons with the CE24. Constructed with a bolt-on maple neck, this guitar's brighter tone is tempered with a pair of PRS 85/15 humbuckers.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted December 21, 2017 by Zachary M in Baton Rouge, LA
"Just get one"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Great guitar. It sounds great, it's the easiest guitar to play that I've personally played. There's a lot of sustain on tap and the versatility of THE ACTUALLY USEFUL COIL SPLIT gives you a lot of tonal viability. Feels great, sounds great, looks great. Absolutely worth $2000.
Sound
Sounds great. Such a versatile guitar that doesn't really compromise anything to get that Swiss-Army-Knife usability. I feel like most genres would be a dream on this guitar.
Features
There are dozens of companies that throw a coil splitting push/pull toggle onto a guitar just because everyone else is doing it. And then PRS throws one onto the guitar to actually get a usable split tone. Go grab a Gibson with coil split on it and split the coils and play a show. It's weedy and thin and just sounds like you broke your Les Paul. Now split your PRS. It doesn't necessarily sound exactly like a single coil guitar (Fender, etc) but it's a thinner tone without being uselessly thin. It's articulate versus weak. It's punchy versus quiet. Every single company needs to reverse engineer the PRS pickups and splitting and try and replicate that or they shouldn't include the feature. I have to say.. There really should be a hard case. $2000 should get you a hard case. I mean c'mon.
Ease of Use
PRS necks are legendarily playable and the CE 24 is no exception. I've personally never played a PRS guitar at all before ordering this one but as soon as I started playing it felt like playing an old favorite. Wonderful neck feel. Frets are perfectly smooth first to twenty-fourth.
Quality
If I had to knock it on ONE thing it's tuning stability. I don't know if it's the bridge or the tuning pegs or the nut or the tremolo system (since it's all proprietary, this is my first interaction with any of it) but I have to tune up a little more often than I'd like for price paid. It's not an oppressive problem and it's easily fixed in any case.
Value
$2000 seems like a lot of money, but look at the $2000 price point. Fender and Gibson make great guitars but nothing that's clearly a better value than what PRS is putting out for two grand. I have Fenders and I have Gibsons and I love them. Hell, I bought them before I bought the PRS. But at $2000 this is so much guitar it's really hard to make the comparison. At lower or higher price points I think there's more of a conversation to be had but PRS is the king of the $2000 range right now.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had an issue so far so I can't speak for reliability of consumer support but it's no secret that PRS guitars are as great as they are because Paul Reed Smith is a nutcase whose attention to detail and perfectionist tendencies border on psychosis. It isn't an accident that every inch of this guitar is utilitarian and gorgeous.
The Wow Factor
If you're a flame top guy/gal, use a website like zZounds that can let you pick the guitar you're getting because the possible tops are WIDELY VARIABLE. There are tops that look like just a stained maple top and then there are tops that could have made it onto a 10-top Core model. Being able to pick your own top can get people who love flame maple happy and people who think it's gaudy happy.
Musical Background:
Light gigging
Musical Style:
Blues and southern rock, jazzy stuff, metal if we can find a venue. Kind of all over the place.
30 of 30 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2017 by Marvin Brown in Memphis, TN
"Gibder-Fenson"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great ax my lucky#7. I should know. Just what I wanted. The better of both worlds.I have small hands no fault of my own. The slim carve is welcomed. These pickups sound great on my rigs('67 showman-4×10 Marshall cab, Marshall 9000-Engl preamp-gsp 1101 processor-4×12). A true versatile setup for any application. Way to go PRS! I have a one of a kind custom shop Tele that's a little slicker with a custom neck but, out of the box this thing is awesome. It's worth every penny. My first PRS. I wanted one for years (kinda a fender Gibson guy). I stayed away because of the substantial necks.I have many guitars with custom pickups and these PRS's sound awesome for any application. Y'all hit a home run on this model. Oh yeah zZounds. ...the best ordered it Monday. .got it Tuesday. .12 to pay no interest. .how can it get better Thanks 45 yr.player
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2016 by Douglas D in Terre Haute, IN
"PRS CE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Balanced, fret board is butter, access to the frets 12-21 a dream. Sound can be adjusted to be any guitar and any sound. Way to go PRS.
Musical Background:
I am a prince want to be. I have to play all instruments. Guitar X12 Tenor Sax x1 Bass X2 Piano x1
Musical Style:
ALL Music.
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2018 by David D in Wise, VA
"PRS CE24"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got mine back in February and been waiting to do a review till I had it for a while. I love mine. It's very versatile and the pickups are very responsive. The neck plays smooth and it was intonated out of the box and has stayed that way (haven't had to touch it except to change strings since I've had it). I play through a Blackstar HT Studio 20 with a modified compression pedal (mostly clean but will break up easily if I need it to). The split coils sound just as good as the humbuckers do. Fit and finish are awesome and was able to pick mine out by serial number thanks to zZounds. I have owned many high-end guitars and this is right up there with all of them, and better than a few $2K ones I've owned. Only complaint I have is that I think a $2000 guitar should come with a case. I know this is how they save some money but, come on PRS, at least provide a reinforced soft case of some kind (this is why I gave four stars on features). This guitar is great for any level of player.
Musical Background:
40 years, Guitar, Bass
Musical Style:
Christian, Rock, Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2016 by Douglas Duck in Terre Haute, IN
"PRS Paul Reed Smith CE24 Electric Guita"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is one sweet playing machine. The neck is butter. Three way switch is smooth and I hear no noise when changing pickups. I would only have one wish, is that they put a better set inlays, just a little more detail. I recommend this to any level of player.
Musical Background:
I am a bass player turned Guitar player. I have been playing for 30 years.
Musical Style:
Jazz, Rock, Blues
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2018 by Brian B in Valrico, FL
"Les Paul plus Strat all in one"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing instrument ... order it already ...
Sound
85/15 Pups are the most articulate I've ever heard. Even under heavy gain, these animals are clear. The coil tap loses little volume and bleeds tones from the humbucker to the single coil. Unique, toney AF, and clear ... did I say clear? Yes, yes I did.
Features
Coil tap is new to me as I am used to using a toggle for pup switching, but its easy to pull out the coil tap knob on the fly but may take a bit of practice doing it. A 3 way toggle allows for 6 tone configurations from stratocaster ish to Les Paul ish types of sounds. The tone is great either way. The cutaway for frets 17 through 24 is impeccable.
Ease of Use
The only learning curve is the coil tap knob use if you are not already used to one.
Quality
The player was in mind when this guitar was designed and then recently reissued. It fits like a glove, is not heavy (8 lbs), and looks like a $4000 guitar.
Value
Don't let a bolt on neck stop you ... this guitar is the real deal. For the cost, a hard case would be nice, but the gig bag doesn't suck. Its padded and is quality with big pockets and a lot of stuffing for protection.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had to call.
The Wow Factor
It was gorgeous to pull out of the gig bag. Its feels good on your torso. It sounds alive and clear due to HQ pickups. Just get one ... I chose Whale Blue.
Musical Background:
30+ years, 1996 USA Stratocaster Plus, 2004 USA Les Paul, 2018 Ibanez Prestige. Marshall and Egnater tube amps. In cover band.
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic rock, metal, Jazz, Country.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2016 by Bob D in Durham, NC
"PRS Paul Reed Smith CE24 Electric Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This guitar has been a great purchase as I have played it quite often in Church and am pleased with the sound and quality of this instrument.
Sound
The sound of this guitar is excellent. The pickups are very clear and work flawlessly for the combinations that I need.
Features
I love the single tone and volume control. The vibrato is smooth and tuning stability is great.
Ease of Use
The neck is very smooth and fast.
Quality
Quality is better than my Les Paul, The finish is flawless. The only adjustments I have made are the tuner screws and the pickup heights. This guitar came detuned 1/2 step but was easy to tune up and intonation was spot on. The only flaw would be more detailed bird inlays.
Value
This guitar is worth the price. A hard case would be better than a gig bag but that is my personal preference.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had to deal wit the manufacturer yet.
The Wow Factor
I have received quite a few compliments as to the sound and beauty of this guitar. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Musical Background:
I have been playing occasionally for 55 years--the last five, very seriously.
Musical Style:
I play Southern rock, blues and Christian.
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2019 by Tom P in Tallahassee, FL
"Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first PRS and I’m very impressed. I’m now looking at the core selection. I’ve always been a Fender Strat player and always will love my Black Strat. However this new PRS has made it as my new favorite. I’ve read that statement before and now I understand what they meant.
Musical Background:
My first piano lessons at 6 years old and am 53 now. A life of music
Musical Style:
Rock, jam band
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2021 by James Smith in Johnson City, TN
"This guitar is awesome, and beautiful!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this guitar about a week now and I’m very happy! I do not see the need to upgrade anything as of yet. The maple neck is sweet, very fast! The pick ups work well, clean or dirty. So far she has stayed in tune. The finish is beautiful! I love this fire red burst! I think it is a nitro finish as well. All in all very nice guitar.
Musical Background:
Play all the time!
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Awesome Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Paul Reed Smith CE 24 is my go to guitar. It is beautiful and sounds and plays flawless.Been a zZounds customer for quite a while, never an issue.Guitar arrived with perfect set up.Just needed a bit of tuning.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 13, 2018 by Jacob B in Dickinson, ND
"Best of both worlds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is a great "middle man" in the feel and playability to fender and gibson. PRS gets a huuuge leg up in the quality department over anything I've played recently. Flawless feel and playability right out of the box. I play everything from blues to metal and I can dial it in. Pups could be hotter than they are and a hard case on a 2k guitar would be nice. All in all this guitar is worth serious consideration. It does come with a sweet PRS sticker. I feel that free stickers really set the tone for a exciting product unpacking.
Musical Background:
15 years playing, touring, recording
Musical Style:
Blues to metal and literally everything in between.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 14, 2016 by Cullen Wallisch in Denver, CO
"A WARNING TO ALL FUTURE PRS BUYERS!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
While the PRS CE is a beautiful instrument, sounds and looks, alike, be warned, these guitars seem to be only good for show pieces, as they are fragile. Upon Adjustment of the truss rod by my tech, the "P" on the Paul Reed Smith logo on the headstock has lifted from the headstock. The issue is that the logo sits ON TOP of the headstock. Yes, that means there's nothing protecting the logo, so a small nudge of a finger nail, or cleaning of any kind will eventually lift the entire logo off the headstock. ON A $2000 GUITAR?! Absolutely not, not okay. This is the last PRS I will purchase, knowing that this is a common practice across their core line. BUYER BEWARE!
Musical Background:
Professional touring musician.
Musical Style:
Rock, jazz, blues, metal
23 of 72 people (32%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us