800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 208-CFG2
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: PRS 2018 SE Custom 24

An iconic Custom 24 can be yours at an incredible price! This SE version features a maple top, mahogany back, and a pair of 85/15 "S" pickups for hot tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Simply outstanding!" submitted June 16, 2018

By Bobby Rust in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Touring pro, and music teacher
Music Style: Classic Rock, Jazz, Folk, Country, Folk/Rock, Celtic Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been playing, for nearly 54 years. I've owned a LOT of guitars. From my first one, a 1956 Gretch Country Gentleman, to Fender Custom Shop Strats. AND, I've owned a few PRS guitars, as well. But THIS one?? I am blown away, right out of the box! Set up is perfect, and OMG, the amazing tones you can get! (I play through a Marshall MG 50 CFX). I haven't really put her through her paces yet, but what I CAN tell you, is that the finish is flawless (Whale Blue), there is NO fret spray, not a single buzz... She's just perfect! I have nothing bad to say, at all. Of ALL of the PRS guitars I've had, (As well as the others), this one blows the rest, outta the water!
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A PRS To Be Proud Of" submitted July 25, 2018

By Lawrence B in Green Lane, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: It varies. Rock, Blues, Country, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar! Very versatile! It is now my Number One. Unlike previous SE's these new pickups sound great and have lots of character. Great cleans, they crunch really nice and when you throw distortion at them they shine on through. Driving a Bugera V22 1x12 for Blues, Country, and Classic Rock and a Bugera G5 Head matched to a Bugera 1x12 cab for heavier stuff. It's not a Tele, it's not a Strat, it's not a Les Paul. It has it's own special sound. Overall craftsmanship is outstanding. The "wide thin" neck is extremely comfortable and easy to play on. Frets are well finished. The bridge is very solid. The neck heel join might be a little off-putting to some folks, but the cut on the lower bout mitigates that somewhat. Can't comment on the stability of the vibrato bridge as I don't really use it, but the bridge and saddles are rather beefy, so sustain isn't lacking. Cosmetically this guitar is a standout (I have the Trampas Green). Bird inlays are nicely done and don't have that cheap look to them that I seem to remember from previous SE's. The new headstock logo, with Paul's signature prominently displayed, with a much smaller "SE" underneath add to the overall charm. This is a quality instrument at a great price.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Working Players best friend" submitted September 28, 2018

By a customer from yahoo.com in harrisville, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing since 1964
Music Style: Blues / Rock / Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After 54 years of playing guitar I have to simply say, this is a working player or guitar lovers best friend.The craftsmanship of this imported model is excellent. The neck is wonderful. Fret work is superb. The 85/15S pickups are dynamic and articulate. The controls and switch are very responsive and solid.Now the tuning issues that many complain of can be cured with a set of locking tuners that don't cost a lot. I replaced mine and tuning is rock solid. Stock one's aren't terrible but a good set of locking ones like the Gotoh's I bought simply eliminates that issue The hardware is 99% outstanding. The bridge is very solid and stable.The best thing is... this guitar can cover about any genre of music. Buy it and you won't be disappointed.PRS customer service is second to none, trust me on that one. zZounds is the best to deal with. I should know I have bought many instruments, amps and about everything else from them and they are the internet's best dealer.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love it..." submitted May 27, 2018

By Tim Moore in Columbus, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Returning player after 25 years not playing
Music Style: Classic rock, blues, hard rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just getting back into playing after 25 years away and this is a great guitar to come back to. clean sound, beautiful finish... high quality thru and thru.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar with some issues" submitted September 9, 2018

By Rick P in Staten Island, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 25 years
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased my PRS SE 24 from zZounds.com over a month ago and have enjoyed playing it every day since. The fret work on this guitar was excellent. Apparently, these guitars are setup at the PRS factory in Maryland after being shipped from overseas. Having said that, the pickup height was off and needed to be adjusted – not really a big deal. The playability of this guitar is second to none with silky smooth bends and low action. The nut seems to be an issue. Had a real difficult time getting the guitar to stay in tune as the nut slots were slightly tight and grabbing strings during tremolo use. I put some Nut Sauce on the nut and it got better, but not a 100%; I have since replaced the nut with a TUSQ nut. The bridge saddles were also causing the strings to stick and stay sharp during tremolo use – again nut sauce helped alleviate this issue. Many posts indicate that the nut is a must upgrade for the SE model – hopefully PRS addresses this in the future.Sound-wise the guitar plays great and the new pickups are good sounding and appropriate for all kinds of music; I play classic rock, jazz and some metal. I’d have given this guitar a max rating if it weren’t for the nut issue.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"pawn shop gold" submitted February 13, 2018

By ronnie sampson in winchester, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: home plunker
Music Style: rock/metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchase most of my stuff from zZounds but came across this prs custom 24 in a pawn shop bought it just for its looks alone I believe its a 13 or 2014. Got it home oiled the board,new strings and set it up and to be totally honest in my opinion it matches my American made Les Paul,SG, and Strat. Sounds great neck is comfy trem system is great.Just thought id put this in in case someone was wondering about this model. (Like to leave a pick but guess i cant) Got some guitars to pay off purchased from zZounds of course rest assured my next will be a American made PRS.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Guitar" submitted March 17, 2018

By Jesse Gray in Newton, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar - 8 years
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Metalcore
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For such a low price, this guitar is fantastic. If you play metal, you may want to swap out the pickups, and have the nut slots filed a little if you're putting thicker strings on. Otherwise, it's very solid straight out of the box. Little to no issues with fret buzz & action.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 208-CFG2. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Domingo de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2018, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!