Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Orange O Bass Electric Bass (with Gig Bag)

Orange O Bass Electric Bass (with Gig Bag)

Designed by Orange's lead designer, Adrian Emsley, this distinct bass serves up smooth tone with the help of a custom-wound split-coil pickup and maple neck.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(8)
Submitted June 7, 2017 by Damon D in phoenix, AZ
"it is not just a P bass copy - it's a mid range demon!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got the O bass after watching the NAMM videos. those don't do the sound justice. on a spectrum analyzer, this thing has HUGE tonal frequency range, nearly twice the amount of my 900 dolllar fender P bass special (mim). it also has waaaay more midrange, those tasty low mids that give your live sound growl. i recorded an album with it and now i'm taking it out on a two month tour. the neck is a little thick, but that adds to the tone. the weight is perfect, light, the body shape is a real looker. everyone says, "what a cool bass !" it's also got the best tone knob control i've heard, it has at least 3 useable settings, full open, 1/3rd down, 2/3rd down or closed. all sound good. i got the black one, and put the tortoise shell included extra pickguard on. i wish i could get the orange pick guard too.
Musical Background:
30+ years
Musical Style:
mainly hard rock and metal, southern rock
21 of 23 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2020 by Richard D in Loudon, TN
"Fat Tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this bass a few months ago and I have been playing it every day since I got it. It is a very nice bass. It has great tone and it is a very nice playing bass. I usually play Epiphone basses because I like the way they play and sound and they don't break the bank. I have nothing against Fender but I just want a bass to look different than what 95% of bass players are playing so I've always played Gibson or Epiphone basses. The O-bass by Orange is the best of both worlds! You get a really cool looking bass with a nice vintage vibe and kind of a pbass sound. It doesn't sound exactly like the precision and jazz basses I've played but it has that punchy tone with a little something extra. I play it thru an old Ampeg B3158 and I really really love everything about the sound I'm getting. I can tweak out the eq and get a really nice jazzy sound or kick up a little extra bottom and get a low growl like a Les Paul bass. Overall it really is the best of all the sounds I look for but in just one bass. I would normally have to play my Eb3 for jazzy stuff and my lp for rock but with the o-bass I have all those tones and more in one bass. I noticed in the reviews some people have complained of neck dive but I find that using a cotton strap I have zero problems with neck dive. I put the same strap on my tbird and blam there's the neck dive so don't let the reviews sway you if you're concerned about dive. Trust me after playing for 30 years and playing almost every top brand of bass plus several customs this is by far the most versatile bass I have ever played. At this price you really can't go wrong.
Musical Background:
Over 30 years playing bass, 20 years professional.
Musical Style:
Rock,blues,jam band.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2017 by Mark Smith in Montevallo , AL
"Orange O Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased one of these from zZounds a short while ago. I was so impressed I predestined a second one. One using round wound strings and the other using flat-wounds. Sidemen sound for studio and live. The sound of this bass is like a standard P bass in steroids. You would almost think it was active but it's not. The volume and tone controls work incredibly giving you a wide range of sounds. (They both have a very nice resistance to movement) usually only seen in higher priced basses.) You can play softly and get a nice smooth boot on end sound or you can dig in and get a real punchy midrange sound that will cut through the mix. The next is perfect for my style of playing and is not I wimpy neck but quite masculine. The tuning keys are very good and will probably last a long time. The only things that I have a bit of an issue with is it does have a bit of a neck dive probably due to the tuning keys weight but it's not a deal breaker. Also,though the bridge is possible I will change the bridge out for a Baddass style bridge because the intonation adjustment screws are very small and thin. But the unbelievable cost of the bass makes upgrading lees painful Man I love these. When I can afford i will,buy a third one.
Musical Background:
Over 50 years, bass primarily but guitar also.
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, Country, blues-
8 of 12 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2016 by David Roy in Russell Springs, KY
"It's Orange, enough said !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own an Orange O bass and just love it's sound and playability. For the money it's fantastic ! Other than being neck heavy, nothing bad to say about this beauty !
Musical Background:
I have played since I was 13, and I am now 60. I play acoustic and electric rhythm guitar, but my main instrument is bass.
Musical Style:
Golden Oldies, Country, Contemporary and Southern Gospel music
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2017 by james lewis in bradenton, FL
"I love this bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
bought it because it looked coll. I figured I could change the pickups if it sounded bad. It sounds great,not at all like precision. This bass has a sound of its own. The quality is there in the build. I have many great basses and this one fits right in.
Musical Background:
playing for 40 yrs many many many gigs
Musical Style:
rock jazz jamband and blues
6 of 10 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2019 by Dan Noel Sr in HAINES CITY, FL
"Orange O Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expected better from Orange, but it is made in China. I changed the bridge to a brass over sized unit with threaded saddles. I changed the wiring harness with CTS 250 pots and added an .047 capacitor, the original had the little pots with very small wiring,and I replaced the round wound strings with Fender flat wounds.These 3 changes turned this bass into a tone monster! The price is right but it takes some tweeking!
Musical Background:
I've been playing bass for 57 years! I don't play guitar, never cared to learn. I play professsssionally.
Musical Style:
Blues, Country, Rock
3 of 7 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2016 by Paul Ewing in Oshawa, ON
"Completely different..... beautiful the same."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this bass for my partner...and bass player, She plays an old Fender Jazz. We write original Indie Alternative music with a slant towards a near metal sound. She felt that on some songs a Fender P bass would be much better but did not want to join the 80 percent of all bass players that play a Precision. The O bass is perfect the look is great. The sound is bullet proof It is quite simply a P bass in every way. It's a no brainer. The thing is as good sounding as an American P...at a fraction of the price. Best of all...it has more cache then a Fender...it really can turn heads.
Sound
It 's a P bass...it sounds great. You would have to work at it to make it sound bad. LOL
Features
First the fit and finish are as good or better then anything you can buy. A Precision bass is simple...leave the tone wide open or cut it back about a third. Those are the 2 sweet spots.
Ease of Use
The neck is fast. Basically a modern neck. Zero complaints there,
Quality
The cosmetics are great. The weight is good. Not to heavy but with enough mass to give you that dark punchy P bass tone.
Value
This bass is a steal. An American P bass for a Squier price. Add to that a classic lookwith plenty of cache.
The Wow Factor
This bass is just plain cool. Understated in shape...but not a shape in a bass that you have seen much of since the 60's with basses like the Honer Club bass.
Musical Background:
Pro for decades. Mostly in the UK...London
Musical Style:
Indie Alternative...3 piece band with slant towards heavy distorted guitar. If you can imagine Jazz singer Nina Simone singing o
15 of 45 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2017 by Gunner V in Spokane, WA
"ahhh pfft"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
nothing special just a rip off on a cheap P-Base, you would think Orange would have came up with something original , just a typical low-end unit... all cheap parts.
Musical Background:
play all stings
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
1 of 22 people (5%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to