Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Novation Impulse 49 USB/MIDI Keyboard Controller, 49-Key
ONLY 2 LEFT

Novation Impulse 49 USB/MIDI Keyboard Controller (49-Key)

Express yourself on 49 semi-weighted keys with aftertouch. This MIDI controller comes packed with drum pads and sliders that map to Ableton and other DAWs.

Overall User Ratings (based on 6 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(6)
Submitted October 20, 2017 by Brian S
"Simply Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Let me start by saying that I’ve played several different midi controllers in recent years, so I’ve gathered a lot of information on the different features and “feel” they each have. Before I purchased my Novation Impulse 49 from zZounds I went by Guitar Center to check it out again, and I’m so glad I did! To play it is to love it!! This keyboard feels Incredible! The semi-weighted keys are Perfect! Just the right resistance, feel to the touch, playability, etc.! These aren’t the ‘super light’ and cheap feeling synth action keys that are very prevalent on the market... The keys feel like a ‘true’ Piano! The overall quality, substantial feel and looks of this keyboard controller are also very high quality. The reviews I read were SPOT on re: quality, fit and finish, and the super easy and useable Automap software that the Impulse comes with. If you’re looking for a Great midi controller keyboard that feels & looks Amazing, get this piece of gear - you will be extremely happy you did! And, of course, zZounds service and support make it an even smarter buy. : )
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2012 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Novation rocks!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very good controller. Mapped to everything with automap 4. U still may want to do your own custom presets but out the box is still good works with logic and protools 9/10. Get it you wont be dissapointed. The keys feel better than the oxygen 49 and axiom i had both an it feels just right!!!
Musical Style:
Rock, hip-hop/R&B and neo soul
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 3, 2012 by Benjamin Tucker in Louisville, KY
"Impulse? No, I thought about it a lot first."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After a bad experience with the much cheaper M-Audio Oxygen 49 and researching reviews of alternatives, I decided on the Impulse. I already owned an older Novation REmote 25 which, except for the joystick, has held up well despite a lot of use.
Sound
Actually, key strikes are a little noisy. Seriously, it isn't louder than the keys on my other synths but it actually sounds "cheaper" somehow.
Features
Novation continues to make this easy to use with your software with their Automap software. The adventuresome can "roll their own." It is especially suited to Abelton Live (the Lite version comes with it) and, like the REmote, to Propellerhead's Reason.
Ease of Use
The features of this controller are complex enough that you will have to spend time learning about them to take full advantage of what it can do. I confess I haven't owned it that long yet.
Quality
I hope that it holds up under use as well as Novaion's earlier models. Overall, I feel the knobs, sliders, and pads feel substantial. Unlike the REmote, however, the white keys have sharp corners which, for me anyway, detracts from the quality.
Value
So far, I am very pleased with my purchase...especially with zZounds competitive pricing (after a little encouragement). Thanks, zZounds.
Manufacturer Support
Online....compared to M-Audio anyway...outstanding.
The Wow Factor
The odd-looking radiator grill end panels are either a cosmetic feature or something you want to try to ignore. I was wondering if there might be a way to replace them....something in 1/2 inch cherry for that classic synth look. There is an idea...custom end panels. I do like the red, black, and grey color scheme though. With the Launchpad, Remote, and now the Impulse, I have my software under control.
Musical Background:
55 year, jam at home, play at church, flute, piano, keyboards
Musical Style:
electronic, jazz,
14 of 17 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2014 by Steven Reed in Ridgeway, VA
"Great Music Controller for Music Producers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I find the Novation impulse 49 provides a big convenience in a tight spot for computer based and live producers! The auto map feature allows you to focus more on creativity instead of spending too much of DAW set up.
Sound
N/A
Ease of Use
This product was is clearly made for Ableron Live users. I'm a Logic Pro X user and the product is a little dated for that reason. Other than that the auto map feature is very helpful in getting around certain Daws.
Quality
The quality of this product is awesome!
Musical Background:
I've been playing Rythm/lead guitar over 30 years, keyboards over 20 years and music production about 16years. Berklee 2yrs.
Musical Style:
Philly soul, gospel, funk electronic, instrumental ballads.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2013 by joel foust in paulsboro, NJ
"Bummer "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this a month ago, and 3 of the lights for the mute/solo buttons went out. I called Novation, and they insist on sending via mail to a repair facility miles away - with no definite time for me to receive it back. I feel pretty ripped off right now, and I don't think I will buy anything from Novation again. I heard complaints about their products online, but I gave them the benefit of the doubt. I didn't think the same thing would happen to me. Well, it did. Take it from me - buy at your own risk. You have been warned.
Musical Background:
jam at home producer and keyboard player
Musical Style:
hip hop and r&b
3 of 10 people (30%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2013 by foust joel in paulsboro, NJ
"Buy This At Your Own Risk"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just bought this a little over a month ago, and the mute/solo buttons stopped lighting up - they went completely dark. They seem to still work when you push them as far as muting and soloing the tracks, but they don't light up. I am really disappointed with Novation. $400 isn't exactly spare change when purchasing a keyboard controller. I would like to think the thing would work properly for at least a few years - if not more. I contacted Novation, and they gave me a place in Pennsylvania that does repairs. The guy is supposed to call me back tomorrow. Right now I have no idea how long this is going to take, but this is definitely an inconvenience. Who wants to go through this aggravation after buying something a month ago? The part that really ticks me off is the fact that is is just over th zzounds 30 return policy, so they won't let me return it. If you don't won't to go through what I am right now, don't buy this thing! I am not going to buy anything from Novation ever again. This guy had the same problem on youtube - look what happened to him: http://youtu.be/YNLr3KjbT4M
Musical Background:
Jam at home and produce at home recording studio
Musical Style:
Hip Hop and R&B
5 of 17 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us