Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Neumann TLM 103 Anniversary Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone with Shock Mount and Case

Neumann TLM 103 Anniversary Microphone with Shockmount and Case

This Anniversary package includes a Neumann shock mount, aluminum case, and the super-low-noise TLM 103 fixed-cardioid condenser -- great on vocals and more.

Overall User Ratings (based on 44 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(44)
Submitted May 18, 2005 by a customer from aol.com
"Great Mic, especially for the cash..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
May go up to the next level of MICS...U87 eventually when finances dictate. For the money, this is a great buy!
Sound
Great sound with a LA-610 Preamp in my 002 set up...Sounds good on acoustic guitar as well as lead vocals...
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Pop/Rock
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2015 by Floyd Simmons in Lakeside, AZ
"You will love the TLM 103"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased my first Neumann, the TLM 103, this year. Expected high quality sound for my voice over work, and the microphone does not disappoint! Paired with a Focusrite preamp, I get clean, true and only slightly flavored sound that I can manipulate in post any way I want. I have used it on my own voice and others, and I get the same great results every time. I have achieved good results for both male and female voices. I have also recorded two different acoustic guitars with the same great results! I cannot recommend it highly enough, and though it's not the top of the line Neumann, the serious home studio professional should not have this mic in his or her arsenal. And, with zZounds' amazing purchase payment option I am happy as can be! I highly recommend the TLM 103 and just as highly recommend zZounds.com.
Musical Background:
Voice over, non-musician
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2016 by nicole C in Las Vegas, NV
"Cannot go wrong, TLM 103"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used this mic in a previous professional recording studio and this mic is heaven! Since then, I told myself I would not record with any other mic. This is a must have for home studio or professional studio. Vocals sound warm and to be honest, almost like the gates of "heaven" are opening lol! Hands down a must have. Ensure your mic stand has the correct adapter, technically you can use a shock-mount from another mic like the MXL 990, however the 103 sits right at the base of the mic itself. Eventually purchasing the adapter to use the shock-mount that came with this mic. The piece I'm referring to is the bottom screw/housing that the shock mount screws into.
Musical Background:
Playing instruments for 16+ yrs, violin/trumpet new to recording at home
Musical Style:
R&B, Pop, Electronic dance, Folk, Alternative-pop
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great Mic, but Overpriced."
Overall I would give this mic a 7, just for the simple fact that i love the way it sounds. The only reason I gave it a low score, is because of the price, it's overpriced and neumann needs to go ahead and drop the price on these. I have been looking into starting my own studio, just starting to record vocals first. And I have used many mics, but I am still considering this one, but then again, the price hurts the pockets for what i get. So i am interested in, AKG 414, AKG 214, BLUE Baby Bottle, SHURE KSM44 & of course, Neumann TLM 103.
Sound
The sound is great, very clear and "airy". I have used a U-87 many a time, even though the U-87 is more FLAT & slightly boomy, i enjoy the U-87, but I LOVE the way the TLM 103 sounds. I have also used an AKG 414, and the 414 is very boomy, with alot of low end in it, but sounds great. The TLM103 is a great mic, with great sound, the only negative part about the mic itself, is EVERY small studio has one, and me personally, I don't like to be like everybody else. But for the simple fact that everybody has it in their studio as their go to vocal mic for rap/hip hop, and even country vocals, that must mean something. But your mic is only as good as your preamp.
Features
I gave this a 1 for the features, because there is no High Pass Filter, no Pad, (Even though most preamps have these two) & no pick up pattern option.
Ease of Use
Easy to use, just plug and play, no rocket science involved.
Quality
Mic looks great & sounds great.
Value
This microphone is WAY WAY WAY OVERPRICED for what it is. The only reason it costs so much, is because it has a Neumann Logo.
Manufacturer Support
Yes, Neumann is quick with response.
The Wow Factor
Mic looks "sexy" and great.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer, Artist, Producer.
Musical Style:
Rap, Hip Hop, Country, Rock.
12 of 19 people (63%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 25, 2005 by a customer from aol.com
"For the price and the sound it can't be beat."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic will last longer than I will and I still am using mics that are 30 years old.
Sound
I have been in recording for 30 years. Neumann has the best sound. This mic is great!
Features
Just as advertised. If you need multi patterns or pads or roll offs get a diffrent mic.
Quality
Neumann = Quality, you wont be disapointed.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had any problems with the mic.
The Wow Factor
I have it And want another for stereo recording.
6 of 10 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Almost as good as an U87!"
Features
the anti-shock mount is cool, I only with it would have a low cut (just for the fun of it)
Quality
Its a very handsome mic, if I may say so...
Value
for this price... it doesn
Musical Background:
Audio Engineer
Musical Style:
all of them
5 of 8 people (63%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2016 by Larry O in St. Louis, MO
"TLM 103 Earned Legacy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Still being a relative newbie--I bit the bullet and got the TLM 103 Sounds great on my voice and in my studio. It is very transparent, clean and accurate. Love its pick-up pattern and low self noise. zZounds makes it easy to buy!
Musical Background:
Voice Actor
Musical Style:
Voice over and narrate
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
Neumann TLM 103 Anniv Mic Customer Review
Sound
Great vocal sound. If you can't get a great sound on vocals or acoustic instruments, you need to research on how to EQ.
Features
Mine came with the shock mount.
Ease of Use
Very easy to work with. You just need a preamp for this thing to do its magic.
Quality
Built like a tank.
Value
You pay what you get for and this mic is the best for its price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with Neaumann.
The Wow Factor
This mic sounds as beautiful as it looks. It's the industry standard.
Musical Background:
producer
Musical Style:
all genres
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2005 by a customer from baxter.org
Neumann TLM 103 Anniv Mic Customer Review
Sound
this mic is a definite improvement over dynamic microphones like the Shure sm57 and sm58, but when comparing the sound to other condenser mics like the AKG c414, Rode ntk,Audiotechnica at4040 and at3035, these mics cost less but sound as good and in most cases even better! One thing I do like about the tlm103 is that it is very solidly built. The mic is quite heavy for it's size!
Features
it doesn't have any pads or highpass filter switches. It is a very beautifully designed attractive looking mic!
Quality
very solidly built,like a tank!
Value
Because it has the Neumann name tag on it it gets overpriced.
Manufacturer Support
haven't needed any
Musical Background:
recording industry
2 of 7 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2005 by a customer from xerox.com
Neumann TLM 103 Anniv Mic Customer Review
a little pricey for it's overall performance.
Sound
sounds fairly good
Features
doesn't have a pad or a high pass switch,what do you expect?this is a Neumann.
Quality
sound quality is ok,needs lotsa eq for decent sound.
Value
might be a little pricey for what you get.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed any.
The Wow Factor
I've used the mic for singing vocals. I don't plan on buying one.
Musical Background:
singer
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2005 by a customer from NETSCAPE.NET
"QUALITYWISE,THIS IS NOT A TYPICAL MIC FROM NEUMANN."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I AM DISATISFIED WITH THIS MIC. THE SOUND IS MEDIOCRE AT BEST.
Sound
I OWN A TLM 103. IT'S OK- THIS MIC HAS TOO MANY LOW MIDS TO THE DEGREE IF YOU DON'T HAVE A DECENT MIC PRE YOU'LL BE LET DOWN DUE TO THE MIDRANGY,BOXINESS TYPE SOUND. THER IS AN I.C. CHIP ON THE BOARD INSIDE THE MICROPHONE WHICH IS USED IN THE TRANSFORMERLESS DESIGN OF THIS MICROPHONE. I.C. CHIPS USED AS OP AMPS ADD HARSHNESS TO THE SOUND AND ARE NOT USED IN HIGH QUALITY DESIGNS. ANY AUDIOPHILE WILL TELL YOU THE SAME. THIS MIC IS ALSO OVERPRICED.IT LACKS NOT HAVING A ROLLOFF OR ATTENUATOR. NEUMANN BETTER WAKE UP WITH THEIR PRICING OR ELSE THY'LL BE LOSING OUT IN THE MARKET TO COMPANIES LIKE RODE AND AKG. TRY COMPARING A 200 DOLLAR RODE NT1A TO THIS MIC USING STUDIO MONITORS OR HEADPHONES AND YOU'LL AGREE.
Features
IT LACKS FEATURES MENTIONED ABOVE. IT LACKS EVEN SOUND.
Quality
USING AN I.C. CHIP OPERATIONAL AMPLIFIER CHIP IN THE TRANFORMERLESS DESIGN OF THIS MIC TAKES AWAY FROM THE SOUND OF THIS MIC.ANY AUDIO PRO WILL TELL YOU THAT INTEGRATED CIRCUIT OP AMPS ARE NOT USED IN QUALITY DESIGNS SUCH AS MICROPHONES,MIC PREAMPS ETC. THAT'S WHY THE U87I THAT NEUMANN MAKES DOES NOT EMPLY I.C'S , DISCRETE COMPONENTS ARE USED. ANOTHER WORDS DISCRETE TRANSISTORS,RESISTORS,CAPACITORS ARE USED .MOST CONSUMERS WILL GET SUCKED IN BECAUSE THEY SEE THE NEUMANN LOGO ON THE TLM103 AND THINK ALL IS WELL....(EXCEPT FOR THE QUALITY, PRICE AND THE SOUND)
Value
IT'S OVERPRICED CONSIDERING WHAT YOU GET. THIS MIC SHOULD BE SOLD FOR MUCH LESS CONSIDERING WHAT IT LACKS.NO ROLLOFF AND NO ATTENUATOR. BOXY MIDS AND HIGHS THAT NEED TO BE ADDED BY ABOUT 4 dB TO GET A HALF ASSED SOUND.
Manufacturer Support
I HAVEN'T HAD TO DEAL WITH NEUMANN.
The Wow Factor
I'M TRULY SORRY I BOUGHT THE TLM103.
Musical Background:
RECORDING ENGINEER,MUSICIAN 40 YEARS
Musical Style:
VARIOUS
4 of 16 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2006 by a customer from aol.com
"not a bad mic,for the money????"
Sound
overall ,it sounds ok,but should be stunning at this price!!
Features
there's no bass roll-off or pad !!! what features???
Ease of Use
as easy as any mic costing 20 bucks ,as long as you don't require a roll-off or pad !!
Quality
it as good as any Chinese mic .
Musical Background:
recording artist
of 7 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2006
"What a Mic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
The best solid state mic with a warm yet open sound. Its not a harsh mic like the cheap chinese mics from SE or Studio Projects, etc. Its a solid German performer with a big open airy sound.
Sound
You gotta love that Neuman tone. Think Justin Timberlake, Timbaland, Aaliyah, Didi, Missy E, Jamie Foxx, too many to mention. I bought this mic for that specific tone, which no other mic has. All Neumanns have a similiar tone, and the 103 is very much like the classic U87. It is very responsive to EQ, and it doesnt affect the sound to make it bad. I use this mic as my main go to mic for soulful female vocals. I put it through a Neve pre and eq, and it sounds off the chain.
Features
No onboard features = less fuss = Start recording radio Hits.
Ease of Use
48v and thats it...start recording.
Quality
Crafted with accuracy, and finished like smooth silk.
Value
Worth every cent, and more.
Manufacturer Support
Never need any support for this mic. Built like a tank.
The Wow Factor
The most sexiest looking mic on the planet. You walk into the booth, and you see this beauty...and wow.
Musical Style:
Urban Rap / Hip Hop / RnB
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 26, 2005
"The Best Vocal Mic Ever...it sounds so warm and smooth"
If you can afford 103, you will never be disapointed. I know i wasnt.
Sound
Its a Neumann, what do you expect. The midrange on this beauty is wonderful. I love the airy high too. Its sound just like a U87...yet its even better with its low noise spec.
Features
Not many features, just a solid state pro mic.
Quality
I love german products, and this is no exception. Neumann is a pro company...all the big boys use them. Justin Timberlake, Janet Jackson, Beyonce, Jay Z, and a million others sing through neumann's all the time.
Value
Its a U87 in a smaller shell...so neumann tells me. I have even compared, and they are extremely similar.
Manufacturer Support
Havnt needed it.
The Wow Factor
I just cherish the TLM 103. Its a dream come true kinda mic. My vocalist sounds so much better through it. I can just hear the soul right in the singer through the tlm 103.
Musical Background:
Music Producer
Musical Style:
R&B and Rap
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 26, 2005
"Warm, Rich, and Airy."
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I love this mic. its the best musical purchase i have made.
Sound
WOW...its sound so feckin warm. its a stunning vocal mic. I love the breathy sound it reproduces. the midrange is heaven.
Features
Simple...no gimmicks...no nonsense mic.
Quality
its a fantastic mic...german precision, what more could you ask for.
Value
Its great value for money. its also great if you are making a commercial return.
Manufacturer Support
UK support is handled by Senn, its cool.
The Wow Factor
its sexy, sleek, and small. nicely crafted. its sound even better.
Musical Background:
Producer / Songwriter
Musical Style:
RnB / Hip Hop
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to