Neumann TLM 102 Studio Microphone

Neumann TLM 102 Studio Microphone

Get that Neumann sound in your home studio with the TLM 102. This fixed-cardioid condenser excels on vocals and voiceover -- try it on drums and amps, too.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(16)
Submitted November 21, 2014 by Rich Rimmey in Chicago, IL
"It's a Neumann"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm using this on Acoustic guitar and it sounds smooth & clear. I would say it was a big upgrade from Rode & MXL mics I was using. By itself, it is great for adding guitar to a larger mix. I pair it with a ribbon mic (figure8 Pattern) for midside recording for when I really need the acoustic to jump out in the mix. Can't wait to try it on vocals. For the price point, it should have come with a shock mount.
Musical Background:
Semi-Pro rock musician/producer/studio owner
Musical Style:
Rock/Alternative/Heavy Rock/Pop Acoustic
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com
"Tiny Tiny Tiny"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Yeah, so what, it's small. Don't let that fool you. The sound I get from this little guy is HUGE. I have several respectable mics, and this little fellow certainly holds it's own. This will be my go to for years to come. Do yourself a favor though, don't buy a mic of this quality until you have a great preamp to go along with it. I'm afraid that with a cheap preamp your just not going to properly hear what this mic can archive.
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 18, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Little big man"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've used this mic for male and female vocals across four genres, on acoustic guitar , finger snaps, claps, and other small percussion instruments including a cardboard box and have never been disappointed on the contrary this little mic will surprise you time and time again with how well it works. I am a full time engineer with great gear and this mic has now become a staple in my studio will be getting another one for stereo soon as possible
Sound
This mic has that expected Neumann shine in the highs without the harshness often associated with the 103. It has a very nice broadcast vibe to it. Especially for such a small mic. Amazing!!!
Features
Though it doesn't have the usual mic features such as a pad or hp filter I would say the real feature of this is it's size. This mic can be fit anywhere you need and has an excellent Proximity affect and is not fickle with positioning. Kind of point and shoot if you would
Ease of Use
The only issue I take with this mic is it is very subjectible to rumble and other structure born resonance. Nothing a shockmount won't fix to bad I'd doesn't come with one but that's pretty much it's only weakness.
Quality
Classic Neumann build quality. Feels very solid for such a small mic. The head basket alone shows the nice build.
Value
The price I'm sure some would say steep based on the appearance but based on the sound and usabillity it's very worth it. Just think a stereo pair of neumanns for 1400 that will work for anything you need to record from drum overheads to vocals.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it wich I consider the best support
The Wow Factor
It's very cute for lack of a more professional term. I think it looks exactly like it's supposed to.
Musical Background:
Audio engineer
Musical Style:
Any and all
25 of 29 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great mic"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I done a ton of research for my home studio on best mic for my money. This mic is great all around, specifically for vocals paired with a apollo interface, it's a beast. And I would like to add how pleased I am with zZounds as a company. I ordered the apollo twin usb last night on a Sunday, and it was on my doorstep this afternoon. Not even amazon Prime is that fast. Also, they make it so easy for anyone to have the gear they desire. Thanks Guys I will be back for more stuff soon!!-Ryan RHip Hop/RapMichigan, U.S.A
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2010 by a customer from msn.com
"NEUMANN FOR $700...WHY LOOK ANYWHERE ELSE?!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I hope to keep using this mic 50 years from now or maybe put it away like an antique only to pull it out for special records. I plan on telling my great grandkids about this wonderful mic that NEUMANN made for $700 and gave me stellar results!
Sound
I record a wide variety of latin music from mexican regional to hip hop and lemme tell you...this mic does it all! Don't let the size of this thing fool you...it's a monster when it comes to clarity.
Features
Does not come with a shockmount so you gotta use a regular clip that comes with it. I find that kind of "unsafe" since its such a small mic because you dont it to fly up accidently...lol.
Ease of Use
Plug into your best mic preamp and hear everything MXL couldn't provide me.
Quality
It's made like a Neumann TLM103...in fact it looks like a mini one. As far as quality, it looks professional and feels professional. Whether it would recover from a fall to the ground due to carelessness, I dont know. Im usually careful & overprotective with all my recording equipment.
Value
I paid $700 for a mic when there was plenty options available to me. I wanted the security of the NEUMANN brand name stamped onto my mic!
Manufacturer Support
I put 9 b/c I haven't had to call NEUMANN for nothing. It works like it should...why should I call them? Maybe to thank them for a very good mic.
The Wow Factor
It looks professional...althought the size makes it look like a toy. But who cares? Big things come in small packages...
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, Active Musician
Musical Style:
Mexican Regional, Hip Hop, Worship
25 of 30 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Awesome Microphone"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This microphone has a lot of power for its size!! I’ve wanted a Neumann forever and finally invested in my first of many!! A+ product whether recording live instruments or recording vocals you won’t be disappointed with the TLM-102..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2018 by JOSHUA TRACEY
"SO SO CLEAN. A REALISTIC SOUND!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I upgraded to this mic from a rode k2. I got tired of fighting sibilance and inconsistent recordings from the rode so I needed a mic that would work for a one mic set up. when I first hooked up the tlm 102 and gave it a test run the first thing I noticed was that my voice sounded "real". it sounded like it was in a spot I couldn't attain before even with the rode k2. the high end is clear and intelligent but still smooth but still sharp but not harsh or irritating. it sounds natural. I haven't needed to use a de-esser yet. the low end is phat and solid and the mids are very natural sounding. I'm loving this microphone. I haven't even put it in a booth yet and I haven't gotten 1 bad recording from it yet. I recommend this as the baseline microphone if u have a 1 mic setup. my recordings are consistent and sound really good. I wouldn't get anything under this. I'm very pleased and definitely recommend this as a must have if your on a budget. you won't be dissapointed
Musical Background:
PRODUCER, ENGINEER, SINGER/SONGWRITER
Musical Style:
ALL GENRES
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2017 by Chris Fortson in Detroit , MI
"The Little Giant"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Seeing the pictures online made me think one thing. But then seeing in my hand made me think another. This is a rather small microphone in comparison to what I've used in the past. Transitioning from a monsterous Sterling Audio ST-79 to the TLM-102 made a HUGE difference. The depth of the vocal is outstanding. The frequency range is great and the Higher SPL makes it able to withstand some of the loudmouth vocalist rappers it will be used on. I myself have a deeper raspier voice and this mic works wonders on the clarity of it. In the mix there is much more control on dialing in to get the sound you want. This little Big Dog is now my Go to mic for Vocals out of my collection which includes: a. (1) ST-79 -Sterling Audio - Condenser b. (1) ST-55 - Sterling Audio - Condenser c. (1) MXL 990 and (1) 991 - MXL - Condensers d. (2) Fathead I - Cascade - Ribbon e. (1) TLM-102 - Neumann - Condenser (these are just my Vocal specific mics) All in all I love the mic and the mixing flexablity, its smaller size, and its versatility in use. Sure there is not a bass roll-off, or pad switch so it may not be best for SOME RANDOM VERY SPECIFIC NEED. But for the typical use of a microphone this thing has become my best friend.
Musical Background:
Lead vocalist, producer, and engineer of my band. I've produced and recorded for multiple genres of music for over 20 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, Hip Hop, R&B, Gospel, Electronic, and Jazz
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2021 by Xylor T in SACRAMENTO, CA
"My TLM 102 review"
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just bought Neumann TLM 102 for a few sessions on my vocals and nylon & acoustic guitar. I do noticed, TLM 102 does have a little more presence and somewhat compressed on the bass. If you want to tame the bass, then you'll be happy with TLM 102 (note: There’s no cut low/high filter switch). If you're asking a flat sound, it's not here. Presence is strong? "yes." A lot more than mine Oktava MK 319. Treble? a little less than mine. If you want a little more treble for your vocals, you might want TLM 103. But remember, 103 is two times for you to pay. Do you want something "warm'ish" in your vocals? It's all right. It's not the best for a warm warm sound. BUT it is good though. You may have to turn up the mid a little more when you mixed. On my vocals and nylon & acoustic, I had to decrease -10 db on the bass. After my recording and testing, I decided to return mine TLM 102. For me, It's just not worth it –especially it’s 8x than my MK319. I really expected a lot more, but I know there are a lot of people that they love it. They say, they would pay 10 times. For the rest of my sessions, I went back to my MK 319. RECOMMENDATION?? Well, if you have a budget….sure. It would be nice recording a few acoustic rhythms. But, I know there are few more mics that are a lot cheaper than TLM 102 with the same quality sound.
Musical Background:
30 years musician, gigging, recording
Musical Style:
country, rock, and metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2016 by Jerry D in Bay City, MI
"Has THAT sound!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was not expecting it to be so darn small, but don't let that fool you, It has a HUGE sound. I use it to record vocals, acoustic guitar and on some guitar cabs. everything that goes through this mic sounds great. I been trying it on a few UAD unison mic pre's and it amazing. If your looking for your first BIG mic purchase, this it it!
Musical Background:
I play guitar, drums, bass and keyboards. I gig out live but mostly record bands in my studio for the last 30 years
Musical Style:
I make rock, rap, R&B, classic rock..on and on...
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2012 by Will therealnewell Brown in Kansas City , MO
"Great mic!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The microphone is very small, but the output of recording vocals is very good! It picks up bright sound and produces and amazing clarity when listening back I said " damm that sounds good". It shows why the Neumann name is so common in studios. I did wish it was bigger and had a shock mount though.
Musical Background:
Producer, artist, self made
Musical Style:
Hip hop, r&b
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2017 by steven b in anchorage, AK
"great microphone"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this microphone sounds fantastic. the highs are not harsh or too hyped and the lows are defined and clear. only surprise to some will be it is very small. like half the size of a regular condenser mic. don't be worried about that though. it's still a very high quality mic and you can see and hear it when you first use it.
Musical Background:
professional musician for 27 years
Musical Style:
ambient indie rock loops stuff & solo singer songwriter acoustic. also play old timey and blue grass music
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2016 by Chris Heidel in Columbus, OH
"Great Mic but not the best bang for your buck"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Awesome mic, no complaints there. But for the price tag, you'd expect a shockmount maybe, but at the very least you'd expect it to come with a box and/or case. It only comes with the cardboard box with foam inserts and a regular metal clip. So be prepared to shell out an extra 40-50 for a shockmount.
Musical Background:
17 years-Guitar-Piano
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2017 by a customer from yahoo.com in San Diego, CA
"Good Neutral Mic "
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Good mic not too fancy the high end isn't harsh it has a nice smooth sound but for vocals I would recommend the TLM 103.
Musical Background:
Artist, Producer, Mix Engineer
Musical Style:
Hip Hop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Okay"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Does this mic cut through a mix? Yes it does. But for me, the sibilance was out of control.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.