Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
MXR M103 Blue Box Fuzz/Octave Pedal

MXR M103 Blue Box Fuzz/Octave Pedal

This pedal fuzzes up your tone and duplicates each note 2 octaves lower. You get to control the ouput of the mix and effect.

Overall User Ratings (based on 23 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(23)
Submitted March 26, 2020 by Mark Garner in Metairie, LA
"A Truly One Of A Kind Sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, THIS ISN'T A PEDAL FOR EVERYBODY. The Blue Box is an ancient design - from around 1974. It's glitchy and works best on the A, D & G strings in the upper registers (above the 10th fret or so). And it isn't polyphonic - single notes only.Now, having said that, the sound it produces is truly unique to this pedal. Thick and wooly! I had the Boss OC-3 Super Octave and HATED IT. (It's best function is as a paperweight.) The biggest complaint I have with this pedal is that it isn't very loud, the volume drop when you engage the pedal is quite hard to miss. I solved that problem by running the pedal into an MXR Classic Overdrive. If you want to blow up a small guitar amp, this may be your ticket. I find it's best to palm mute the strings. Any extraneous noises interfere with the signal processing. I would indeed recommend this to a friend but with warnings. It may not work too well in a live setting but it's a great studio toy. Jimmy Page's solo in 'Fool In The Rain' is probably the best known use of this pedal but Wings guitarist Jimmy McCullough put one to good use on 'Wino Junko' from the 'At the Speed of Sound' album.
Musical Background:
Former semi-pro now a stay-at-home jammer.
Musical Style:
Rock, rock and rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2012 by Christopher K in Decatur, GA
"Nice, with a small mod..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I liked the sound, but the volume drop from engaging the pedal is ridiculous. There's a simple way around this: clip the C11 capacitor off. Voila, gain is back! The tone is more aggressive (the cap is a low-pass filter, I believe) but this is not necessarily a bad thing - and if you're handy with a soldering iron you can always change the value to something less extreme, and/or put it on a switch so you can go back if you want to. It's a waaacky sound, once you get it dialed in. Pretty simple - one knob is level, the other is amount of fuzz vs. low-octave mixed in. All the way CW it's a nasty fuzz pedal, all the way CCW it's fat, fuzzy, synth-bass. Mix to taste. There are probably better (or at least different) pedals like this out there, but at this price point I'm betting this is the one.
Musical Background:
Played +30 years, part-time pro
Musical Style:
Rock, funk, blues, experimental...whatever.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2016 by Josue S in Las Cruces, NM
"Mainly just for noises and fun"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this just for the odd sound of it, it does have a volume drop but not too bad. Works well with an overdrive stacked with it.
Musical Background:
5 years on guitar
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Punk, Alt
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Crazy-Cool Effects Pedal!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
The MXR M-103 Blue Box is a combination octaver/distortion pedal, with a bit of pitch modulation thrown in for extra insanity. When played without other effects, it sounds like a rabid Atari 2600 on a rampage! Combined with a slow and deep chorus and a bit more rock distortion, you can get cool sounds similar to to '70s rock or even a bit like '60s psychedelic. This is not a polyphonic pedal, so chording with this box doesn't work so well. Use single notes for best results; and use chorus, delay, or harmonizer pedals later in the effects chain to flesh out your sound. I've also tried MXR and DigiTech phasers with the Blue Box, with fun and interesting results! Keep the Blend knob around the 10 or 11 o'clock position for less randomness and a bit more control over your sound. The Blue Box is built tough, and is a lot of fun to use! This pedal is a great value; and provides unique sounds for rock, metal, industrial, punk, alternative, and experimental music!
Musical Background:
Active Musician & Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Classical, Bluegrass, Punk, Weird Stuff
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2015 by Rea H in Mount Rainier, MD
"Good Presents for Grandsons"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Blue Box Fuzz is durable, easy to use and fun to experiment with.
Musical Background:
Not a bit, but I am a fan!
Musical Style:
Love rock, blues, and bluegrass.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2013 by brian b
"DO NOT BUY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this thinking it would be a cool addition to my collection but I was dead wrong the volume drop is awful the tone is terrible all settings were terrible. If I could I would give 0 stars
Musical Style:
rock, metal, blues, and jazz
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A Must for Your Pedalboard!"
This is the sweetest pedal ever! There's none like it!
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2009
MXR M103 Blue Box Customer Review
Sound
The sound is really juicy, but it takes a lot of effort to get the sound you want, and it is not always possible too.
Ease of Use
I know that it was created to be a little bit unpredictable, but id use it more often if i could get from this box what i want every time.
Musical Style:
psychodelic rock/funk/electonic
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to