Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
MXR EVH Phase 90 Eddie Van Halen Phaser Pedal

MXR EVH Phase 90 Eddie Van Halen Phaser Pedal

Designed with Mr. Van Halen and dressed in stripes, the MXR EVH Phase 90 lets you toggle between vintage and modern MXR phaser sounds with the Script switch.

Overall User Ratings (based on 35 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(35)
Submitted October 17, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great Pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very good product.
Sound
I'm not much into pedals, but this is a real stunner. Works equally well for lead and rhythm. Warm, luscious and pulsating washes of sound and with interesting pulses of extra overdi=rive/feedback sounds on occasion. Once you have one you will notice all those songs where one has been used too - and you may not have noticed it before. It fattens up rhythms not unlike a chorus pedal and adds interest to lead work. It sounds very good with your amp on full overdrive or when clean. I have to say I never use it with the knob turned more than halfway up and usually only a quarter turn up or less. You get the van Halen sound with a throbbing Marshall or a more typical 70s sound (Skynyrd, Tull, Thin Lizzy) when coupled with more moderate distortion. There is a very subtle difference + and - the script switch but not a great deal to my ears. Perhaps it means you need only get the regular MXR90? I have to say I almost always engage the script for the "vintage" sound, but this is only because I assumed it woudl sound better.
Features
Its got a knob and script switch. The knob turned up past halfway gets into uncontrollable territory - might be effective for weird sounds once in a while - but I've not used it there yet. The blue diode is so bright it positively dazzles. I guess that's good should thelights go out and you need to see...
Ease of Use
Its so easy it hurts! Simplicity is its virtue!
Quality
Outstandingly tough.
Value
Its very good. With this good a sound it is definitely worth it - which is not the case with most pedals in my experience.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed any yet.
The Wow Factor
Get one now! Actually don't, because then you'll sound as good as me!
Musical Background:
Active musician/hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock and Blues
14 of 14 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2015 by Rick C in Boca Raton, FL
"EVH Phaser is Versatile MUST for any Pedalboard"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Seen and Heard many different Phaser pedals, but this one is one of the best. Great tonal variety and I can call up either a traditional "Script Mode" phaser sounds or "Modern Style" phaser sounds and not just Phaser effects from Van Halen songs!
Musical Background:
30 plus years - Full Time Solo and Band / Professional Lead & Background Vocalist and Guitarist
Musical Style:
Acoustic, Rock, Country, Blues, Jazz and R&B
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 13, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
""AINT TALKIN BOUT NOTHIN BETTER THAN THE EVH PHASE 90""
i wont settle for less when it comes to a phaser now, forget any other company, this does it for me
Sound
i play with a lot of distortion kinda like a mix between "black album metallica and some pantera ish distortion" and this pedal keeps up i can still play classic van halen tunes and hear the phase tone just fine, its absolutely awesome i cant believe how amazing the sound is. And so easy to figure out because its just the one knob!!
Features
Absolutely most solid built pedal i have ever owned. im damn proud of it, i stomp on the bastard all the time when i am playing with it and its never cut out or had any problems, and it looks amazing too
Quality
i bet this thing is gonna last me a life time, and if it doesnt im goin out and buying another one, sure it was pricey but its well worth it to anyone. If your hesitant to buy it just do it. I used to have a danelectro phaser and if i kicked in my o.d. it wouldnt be able to keep up, this thing can keep up just fine and its absolutely amazing
Value
worth every little cent, i have no complaints
Manufacturer Support
havent had to use support, this pedal is built tough
The Wow Factor
amazing pedal, those who dont have it, envy it, those who have it, cherish it!
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
somewhere between "metallica and sonata arctica"
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2014 by Laurence Scroggins in Pismo Beach, CA
"Best Phaser Available"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I didn't buy this to nail the EVH sound, I bought this because it has the classic script phase and EVH phase in one pedal. The MXR phaser is the standard for which all others follow, and this MXR has two distinctive phase tones for the price of one. I actually bought mine on Amazon and it was $119.
Musical Background:
Guitarists, Keyboards, Music Production
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Alternative Rock, Blues, Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"EVH Phase 90 Lives up to the Hype."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Lives up to the hype. Check the others out and give this one a whirl. It's really that good.
Sound
I use it within a True bypass loop, by loopmaster, (loop-master.com), and the sound is Warm, Rich, Smooth, and Whirly. Great overall tones.
Features
One knob with both Script and Block modes at your finger tips. Great pedal. The outer case is extremely durable and the paint is nice to boot. Best Led of any pedal I've ever had. Jacks look top notch too.
Quality
Overall construction gets a 10. Solid through and through.
Value
A bit pricey, worth every penny though in my opinion. I didnt pay retail so another 10.
Manufacturer Support
Havent had any problems and therefor no reason to contact any one. So a 10 for the no problems =)
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative/Rock/Fusion
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2006 by a customer from kingcon.com
"EVH PHASE 90"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i would keep this and add a couple of other boxs
Sound
very cool just what i thought it would be
Features
the script button puts it above the rest
Ease of Use
very easy one knob a footswitch and the script button
Quality
it could be run over and still work flawless
Value
this box has one of the best values
Manufacturer Support
i have not had a problem with mine
The Wow Factor
its got the EVH stripes on how can you go wrong
Musical Background:
active
Musical Style:
rock alternative
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.ca
MXR EVH Phase 90 Phaser Pedal Customer Review
Sound
sounds great better then the boss phaser for sure. a must have for early van halen fans
Ease of Use
1 knob and a script switch. simple
Quality
real heavy. built like a rock. I've dropped it on concrete and it didnt leave a mark.
Value
great pedal. good for getting the early van halen spacey tone.
Manufacturer Support
have not had to deal with support
The Wow Factor
looks good!
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
hard rock classic rock metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2012 by Garland E in Denison, TX
"EVH Pedals"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First of all zZounds rocks! These two pedals speak for themselves. I would purchase again.
Musical Background:
Playing Guitar for 30 Years. Been in and out of bands all my life... Currently I am Jam at Home.
Musical Style:
I Play rock and roll.. Metal,thrash,grunge, ect... I was in a country band once.. for a bit..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2005 by a customer from juno.com
"VH fans this thing is killer"
Sound
If you love VH, this is the pedal, clean, powerful ........just go buy it!
Features
3 knobs is all you need for awsome sound
Quality
Metal built like a little brick
Value
Pricey but worth it...........
Manufacturer Support
never had to deal with them
Musical Background:
Part time
Musical Style:
Rock metal jazz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2006 by a customer from aol.com
"The best phaser. (fullstop)"
insane. [fullstop]
Sound
This is the ultimate phaser. simple but SO effective...
Features
nothing more needed. the 'script' switch is a fantastic addition. the blue LED is so cool...
Quality
solid as hell
Value
slightly pricy
Manufacturer Support
great. dunlop always are...
The Wow Factor
I REALLY want one
Musical Background:
band member
Musical Style:
hard rock/classic rock/vintage metal (ie. zakk wylde)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2005
"F****** Amazing"
Sound
If you want that rich VH sound this is it!
Features
Great Sound for any VH lover!
Quality
Great artwork great deal!
Manufacturer Support
Amazing Support
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock/Screamo
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2005
MXR EVH Phase 90 Phaser Pedal Customer Review
Sound
If you are a Van Halen fan ths is the petal for you and no joke. Sounds just like the recording.
Features
Just to good.
Quality
I dropped and b accident on concret and it was still good. No scratches but paint chiped off.
Value
It was worth every dime and penny.
Manufacturer Support
Best pedal out.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 29, 2004
"EVH PHASE 90 IS A WINNER!!"
Eddie Van Halen fans, especially those of the early/Roth years, should buy this phaser immediately! You will absolutely love it! And anyone who wants a great-sounding, easy-to-use, well-built phaser should buy this as well. I've played many different types of phasers, and own quite a few, and this one is the best-sounding one hands down! This is a winner clear across the board.
Sound
Absolutely NAILS the early Van Halen tones. Both the "block" and "script" settings are very dynamic, musical, sensitive to the player's touch, and noiseless. The "script" setting is even more rounder, mellower, and warmer than an orange Phase 90 with the R28 mod; I know because I own both and A/B'd them.
Features
The one "rate" knob is all you need. This thing BLOWS AWAY the Boss PH-3 phaser (I own one of them), which has a million knobs on it. Bottom line is, it don't matter how many knobs an effect has if its basic tone is no good. The EVH Phase 90's tone is awesome!
Quality
Seems very well built; even better and more heavy-duty than the regular Phase 90's. And the paint job on this is MUCH better than on regular Phase 90's (whose orange paint tends to chip rather easily).
Value
It is a bit pricey, but the tone this thing gets makes it definitely worthwhile.
The Wow Factor
This has got to be the "feel good" product of the year; it actually lives up to its hype!
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
hard rock/fusion/instrumental
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to