Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
On-Stage 12-Space Rack Stand

On-Stage 12-Space Rack Stand

Who needs a bulky rack case on your studio desk? Put all your outboard gear right where you need it with this sturdy 12-space rack stand from On-Stage.

Overall User Ratings (based on 58 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(58)
Submitted July 9, 2009 by a customer from att.net
12-Space Rack Stand Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The only reason I give it a 9 overall is because I have an older version of this rack. The manufacturer changed some parts, specifically the rubber non-slip feet & the metal brace on top that hold the 2 sides firmly. Plus, some of the hardware is wing nuts instead of the older style nuts & bolts. This creates a slight mismatch between the older & the newer model. However, I'm not saying this isn't a significant improvement!
Features
Amazingly simple. This is not a rack strickly for live use. It's a nice little unit that can be used anywhere you need to rackmount your expensive gear. Fits in almost any little nook & cranny. Also, the angled design makes it way easier to see the small increments on your equipment knobs when the rack is placed on the floor.
Ease of Use
Too easy. I gotta be honest. I called the company & zZounds.com when I received the unit & proceeded to put it together because I thought it was missing some hardware. It wasn't!! That's how simple & "no hassle" this little guy is!
Quality
Considering it's just a few racks, metal bars, & some screws, I would say "superb." Very sturdy, probably more than some of the more expensive products.
Value
Excellent value. Makes you feel ripped off by the plethora of other racks on the market.
Musical Background:
Recording
20 of 20 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2003 by a customer from bellsouth.net
"Good buy! Great price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
N/A
Features
For the money, you can't beat it! Perfect size for my home studio and my Focusright Voice Master Pro with room for more.
Quality
Sturdy and good quality materials
Value
I couldn't find anything, anywhere as good and as cheap. Why pay hundreds of dollars, when you can have this item for this low price if it suites your needs.
The Wow Factor
Nice looking. Better than the picture
Musical Style:
Classical keyboards, folk and contemporary guitar and vocals
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2012 by Dean Kesler in Oconto Falls, WI
"It's Tougher Than It Looks!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking for some sort of rack or stand for my Behringer X1832USB mixer besides my guitar stand and found this rack stand. It looked a bit cheesy online but, I figured for less than 30 bucks, I had nothing to lose. Once it arrived, I unpacked it and put it together. Still looked a bit lite to me but, I mounted the mixer and topped it with a Behringer EPQ1200 power amp and, Wow! Sturdy as can be! Not a wiggle or bend. I was very pleasantly surprised and wouldn't hesitate for a moment to buy another one, or two or...you get the point!
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 35 years. I play electric & acoustic guitars, bass guitar, drums and, mandolin.
Musical Style:
Country (classic to modern), Rock, Bluesy stuff, Southern Rock
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The only rack you need really."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I most likely won't need another rack for my project studio. There is no rack of this price that can beat it.
Sound
It doesn't have sound but that's a good thing.
Features
It came with everything you need. That includes the screws and washers that you need. Nothing extra. It was smaller than I thought. I don't know why I thought it was huge.
Ease of Use
It's pretty simple to assemble, if you have never assembled anything in life it comes with a little manual with pictures on it. (That's all I ever look at anyway)
Quality
It's as sturdy as it needs to be. You can break it down and take it with you at ease. Besides If your traveling it's not the rack that you need to be worried about, it's the modules you have on it.
Value
For me, I don't even have enough hardware to fill the rack because I only got it for 3 things. You do not need anything more on this scale.
Manufacturer Support
You won't need support for this product.
The Wow Factor
There's not much to it. It is a nice design as far as it's simplicity.
Musical Background:
Music Producer
Musical Style:
Instrumental
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 19, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Excellent choice for setups not requiring portability"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you need a rack for home studio use, this is a good choice. It let's your gear breathe better than an enclosed rack, it's sturdy and stable enough, it gives you side access to your gear which can be helpful depending on your setup. However, two quips: 1. you have to be careful how you organize your gear because of the angle of the rack. If you put your power conditioner on the bottom, the wall warts are not going to fit (too close to the table), you'll have to set the whole rack unit up on books or some other stilts. If you put your deepest item on top, you're going to be top heavy and it doesn't feel really stable that way (didn't fall, though) but if you put it on bottom, it may also have a conflict with the table if it is quite deep (like a synth tone module as opposed to a reverb or patchbay, for example). Now the real killer: I don't care what the ad copy says, this thing is NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT easy to carry around with you. Think about it, where are you going to grip it? No wheels, no handles, no sides... you're going to be grabbing it by your GEAR. Awkward at best, downright panic-inspiring most of the time. And twelve pieces of rack gear is HEAVY, partner. So, what I'm saying here is, buy it because it's cheap, but not because it looks light and portable with that one item stuck in it in the ad photo. This thing is a real BEAST for trying to take places. I'm already shopping more traditional, enclosed racks with wheels & handles... I REFUSE to move this thing around any more, grabbing it tenuously by my gear.
Musical Background:
home recording/musician
Musical Style:
rock, country, electronic... blah blah blah
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2017 by Stephen Moore in vale, NC
"Great rack for my studii"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Puts together in 5 minutes or less. No tools needed other than a phillips screwdriver to install your components into it. It comes tons of screws to install your components. Bigger than it looks on here. Worth every penny
Sound
Quiet. Very quiet.
Features
Lots of component mounting screws. Easy to assemble. Lots of room for your gadgets. I have 2 dsps, crossover, eq in mine so far
Ease of Use
Simple
Quality
Sturdy. Looks nice
Value
Worth it
Manufacturer Support
?????? Great instructions came with it
The Wow Factor
Looks good. Its not gorgeous. Functional.
Musical Background:
Play guitar. Bass. Harmonica. Drums. Record. Run live sound more than 20 years. I am more than amateur and less than pro.
Musical Style:
Rock. Gospel. Bluegrass.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2013 by Bobby G in Jupiter, FL
"Nice Rack!! Uh HUH!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have one of these racks and use it for rack mount high end stereo equipment. It's as sturdy as can be and depending on the rack sizes of your gear you can mount between 3-6 pieces. Easy 1,2,3 assembly, fit and finish very nice ****** Five Stars for this piece and the price makes it a no brainer! I wish they had a rack around 44" as I would grab it and so would others I know!
Musical Background:
Piano and used to be a DJ. Now an Audiophile
Musical Style:
World, New Age, Rock, mostly. Appreciate all genres.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2011 by a customer from clear.net
"Great Price and Functionality!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think this will be adequate for my needs, i may add an identical one if needed.
Sound
Sound is non-existant from the rack, but the amps and effects it holds sound great.
Features
Nice little rack, perfect for my purposes.
Ease of Use
Simple to put together.
Quality
Adequate for the job and great for the price point.
Value
I can't find anything that beats this value.
Manufacturer Support
No need.
The Wow Factor
Not real sexy, but it mounts and organizes some sexy stuff!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist (just having fun!)
Musical Style:
Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Very inexpensive and easy way to clean up your home studio space"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Nice addition to our home studio. Inexpensive, easy to assemble and a great way to tidy up our work area (used to have a bunch of stuff strung out all over the place). Not as good looking as the Star Trek looking desk consoles w/built in rack spaces, but they're also a few thousand dollars less expensive...
Ease of Use
Very easy, if you put some components in it ...
Quality
No complaints. Will probably by three or four more 'cause they are so cheap and are great way to clean up the studio space.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Americana
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2005 by a customer from juno.com
"It arrived this afternoon, I put it together, and am very satisfied with this rack."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Good product - I don't see any reason to spend hundreds of dollars on a rack when you can get this one, and use the money you save to buy more effects units...
Sound
Not applicable.
Features
Has everything you need.
Quality
Very sturdy. I think it is well designed.
Value
I think it is worth the price.
Manufacturer Support
Not applicable...
The Wow Factor
It is perfect for desktop use in a small home studio.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
All
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Pretty good but not perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This works as a good inexpensive solution for studios. Although they call it a table top stand, you'd most likely want to sit it on the floor instead. But beware, only 11 of the 12 spaces are usable unless you put an extremely shallow item in the bottom space. Due to the angle and bottom horizontal bar, items in the bottom rack space will either touch the floor or get blocked by the back bar which really represents poor design in my opinion. They should have extended the rack rails at the bottom in order to avoid that problem. Also, it comes with rack screws but no washers. But for the price, it's hard to beat. Just count on 11 spaces instead of 12.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Jazz
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2005 by a customer from comcast.net
"A good value for your money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great price, Decent quality, angle helps for glare and tweaking purposes....but detracts from usage of the bottom slot(or two)
Features
If you fill this unit with different size units(1U, 2U, etc...) it's a pain because, unlike traditional(and more expensive) rack stands, this unit only has screws where 1U boxes are SUPPOSED to fit...alot of vintage gear is 1/8" or so off, and that means wasted rack space...currently, I've got all twelve spaces used for what SHOULD take up only 10
Quality
It doesn't move, so it shouldn't fall apart. Made of steel. Bottom rack space sucks, and won't fit much more than a patchbay(although, that can be OK, since who wants wires in the way of all the other gear?)
Value
Cheap....Very Cheap. It works well for the money
The Wow Factor
Racks are only sexy when they are full....if you buy this, but only have one or two things to put in it...expect a searing hole to develop in your wallet until you've filled it with your favorite rack units! Then prepare to buy another rack stand and start all over!
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer, Hobbyist Musician
Musical Style:
Whatever pays the bills!
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2020 by Dennis S in Flagstaff, AZ
"Sturdy little rack with a minor issue."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Light , Sturdy and easy to assemble but like other's have complained the Threads for the mounting screws need to be chased or you risk stripping the threads and screws , I have the proper tap so this wasn't an issue to chase them though it is very irritating to have to chase the threads on a new product.
Musical Background:
40+yrs Guitar Player
Musical Style:
I play everything but write and record original heavy metal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2014 by Zach B in Philadelphia, PA
"Great rack stand but..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This rack stand is great in terms on convenience, portability. I only have 4 units so far so it looks about half full. I'd recommend leaving the top-most slot open so you can grip the top bar like a handle when moving. However, the screws are a nightmare. So many of the holes in the stand are poorly threaded that it strips every single screw I try. As a result, I can't use half of the rack and I had to throw away many of the screws. Tried pre-threading the holes with a screw but that doesn't seem to work either. It's driving me mad!
Musical Background:
guitar, drums, bass, recording engineer
Musical Style:
rock, punk, indie, metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2017 by john raborn in salado, TX
"good for small spaces"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
it works but it is a little flimsy
Musical Background:
30+ years thrashing Strats
Musical Style:
texas
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2020 by J G in Grants Pass, OR
"Decent quality, bad QA"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I got the stand, arrived per zZounds standard shipping which was prompt. Unfortunately the stand had the connecting dove tail piece welded upside down and backwards on the right leg making the stand absolutely useless... luckily my neighbor has an OA torch and can fix the mistake. This is the first problem I have had with on stage but this is just plain clumsy assembly.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2012 by Sean Hale in Burbank, CA
"Nice Rack"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed a desktop rack that would fit a compact mixer under it and this one fit the bill. I was worried it would be flimsy and that my rack gear might be to heavy for it. I was happy after assembling the rack that it was strong and sturdy and was easily able to support my rack gear without being wobbly or otherwise cheap and weak. What better is that it's a nice compact recording set up having the rack gear right above the mixer. Short cables... small footprint... ergonomic. I would recommend this Rack
Musical Background:
I have been writing and recording music for 30 years. Guitar is my first instrument.
Musical Style:
I enjoy writing Rock, Singer Songwriter, Electronic, World Music and experimental.
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 26, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"None Better For the Money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to use this stand for a long time to come. It's the perfect size to have next to you on the floor or on a table. The stand is well-built and definitely worth the money.
Features
The rack comes with rubber feet already attached as well as a bag of rack screws.
Ease of Use
Four parts connected with wing nuts. Very easy to assemble which is great for transporting the rack.
Quality
A very rugged piece of equipment, the stand holds up well with heavy objects racked near the top. The only problem is that the top space will be a bit too narrow if two of the wing nuts are over-tightened.
Value
For $30 there's nothing better.
The Wow Factor
Everything's black. The stand looks clean on the floor and I'd imagine on a tabletop as well.
Musical Background:
Musician, Aspiring recording engineer
Musical Style:
Jazz Fusion
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2005
"Perfect price for perfect product"
Features
Bag a screws comes with it.
Quality
Very solid design. Rubber feet wont scratch desk or wood floor.
Value
Very good price for a very good product
The Wow Factor
If you
Musical Background:
Radio Engineer
Musical Style:
Alternative
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2004
"Best rack bang for the buck!"
Features
It's a rack - it holds stuff and does that well... only grip is the bottom space is easily used due to it's angle - only shallow devices will fit.
Quality
it's made of metal...
Value
For less than 30 bucks it's a great deal...
Manufacturer Support
if you need help putting this thing together you need help period...
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2003
"A fine rack for little money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Still got 8 more spaces!
Sound
Though I beg and plead, it remains silent. I have to give it a 5 for being both yin and yang.
Features
It's very basic, but it's very cheap. It does the job.
Quality
Seems solid. I have 3 units in the rack currently and I expect to see them there when I get home later.
Value
A great value at this price, especially considering the relative lack of options in the rack area. It's either "build your own" or "buy an expensive stage rig". This really is a great option.
Manufacturer Support
Come on.
The Wow Factor
I rate it high because it is my first rack, and it will probably be yours or you wouldn't be looking at it. When you set it up and look at it and go "wow, that's my rack, man", you'll be just as happy as me.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to