PRICE DROP

Marshall MS4 Not-So-Mini Mini Guitar Amplifier

This mini Marshall amp is made in the likeness of a full Marshall stack, and has the tone to match. It features switchable Clean and Overdrive modes.

$59.00
  • No Credit Check
    4 x  
    $14.75
Overall User Ratings (based on 126 ratings)
  • Overall:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Sound:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Features:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ease of Use:
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Quality:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Value:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Manufacturer Support:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • The Wow Factor:
    4 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(126) (see rating details)
Submitted January 16, 2014 by Scott M in Horn Lake, MS

"real nice amp"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This "mini" amp sounds great, I will have to say it puts out a lot of sound for how small it is.

Musical Background:

I have been playing for about one and a half year, I play a Gibson hollow body electric guitar that I got for my 17th birthday.

Musical Style:

Rock
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com

"Awesome"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I like this amp a lot! I expect to use it for atleast 10 more years til it dies. then i'll just go buy another. It's as close to a Marshall full stack as I'll ever own, and I love it.
Sound
For a mini-amp, this thing is awesome, it kicks perfectly to get a good sound for Our Lady Peace, or you can crank it to get a heavy sound for Slipknot. Its the most versatile mini-amp I've played.
Features
This amp needs 2 things to be perfect. Reverb, and an gain switch instead of just knob. For the price, i gues reverb could be skipped, but as for the gain/distortion, there is always a tiny bit of distortion, even with gain set to 0. I play acoustic as well as electric, and for small practices or shows, I use this amp with my acoustic. No one has ever noticed the small amount of distortion, but I do. Overall, it's pretty well suited.
Ease of Use
This amp is extremely easy to use. I'm yet to find an amp that isnt...
Quality
I'd say this amp would be perfect for on the road, if you're playing small shows, or just jamming with the guys. It's dependable and I've only had problems when the battery runs low. When that happens, you just run out, buy a new $1 battery, stuff it in, and keep jammin'.
Value
This amp was definately worth $60. I love the Marshall distortion. It's distinctive, and you can tell its a marshall without even seeing it.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with support.
The Wow Factor
This amp isn't really very "sexy" I mean, size is supposed to matter right? It's not a whopper, but it sure as hell kicks like one. Point for me! size doesn't matter!

Musical Background:

hobbyist/actice musician

Musical Style:

rock, country, jazz, blues, metal, punk
53 of 59 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 24, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com

"BUY THIS AMP!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
if this amp ever wears out, i would most likely go and but another marshall mini amp. i would do this because they are simply the best mini amps that you can buy, and i dont think that there is any mini amp out there that can recreate the awesome roar of this beast.
Sound
overall good sound, however you need to use a distortion pedal to get distortion at low volumes. this amp is extremely loud and durable. i have had mine for over two years and it has held together well compared to my fender mini deluxe. this amp sounds the best with the tone rolled off at medium gain and volume settings because you can access exellent jazzy sounds with the neck pickup, but when you switch to the bridge, the sound changes to a wonderfull bluesy howl.
Features
compared to the other marshall mini amp, the most notable difference is the gain control. this is very helpful in adding extra volume and boost to the sound. however, one feature that i really wish this amp had would be seperate bass and treble controls instead if the single tone control so that you could get more refined tones from this amp.
Quality
this is an extremely high quality product and it is very handsomely dressed for something under 60 dollars. the battery life is ussualy somewhere around six weeks under everyday usage on the road. i have not experienced any difficulty with this amp over the two years that i have owned it and don't expect it to fail anytime soon. if you are looking for a high quality, good sounding amp, then this is your best bet.
Value
this amp is a bit on the expensive side, but you will be extremely pleased that you spent an extra ten dollars for this amp. it is deffinatly worth every cent that you are paying.
Manufacturer Support
nothing has ever gone wrong with this product and i highly doubt anything ever will. as for a warranty, this amp doesn't have one because it doesn't really need one.
The Wow Factor
besides the sound, who could resist having a scaled down full stack on there desk. this amp is definitly more attractive than most of the amps in this price range.

Musical Background:

hobbyist

Musical Style:

metal, blues, classic rock
20 of 23 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2004 by a customer from mac.com

"The true way to get the MS-4 to sound great."

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I think that the MS-4 is an excellent design, I plan to keep it for long time. I did not expect it to sound like my JCM 900 1960 lead with the AVT 150H. It is the best sounding mini amp made, especially to only have 1 watt. The only feature I will look for with the MS-4, is reverb.
Sound
If your guitar has high output, turn down the tone, if it has low output and higher bass frequencies, turn up the tone
Features
The MS-4 is the best mini-amp made out of all I have played and heard. The feature that would be really nice, is reverb! Though for it's price, it is perfect
Quality
The amp is well made and there are no defects in mine. Anything will last as long as you take care of it. As for use ont he road, I think it would be perfect, it is not all in the amp that gives you a good sound, it is also how fluent and smooth you play.
Value
Yes, the MS-4 was well worth it's price.
Manufacturer Support
I would would rather pay for a Marshall than get any other amp for free, that is how much I use Marshall amps. With the MS-4, I use the built in functions for the sounds that I want.
The Wow Factor
There is no sexuall appeal to an amp or to music itself. The MS-4 is a very reliable and convenient accessory.

Musical Style:

Neo-Classical Speedmetal, virtuoso rock
16 of 20 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com

"awesome mini amp"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
6 months
Sound
sounds very good and packs a huge ounch for such amini amp pretty loud.. and sounds great
Features
i really like the stand
Quality
well about 2 to 3 years without having to change anything
Value
yes definetly worth the price
Manufacturer Support
havent dealt with
The Wow Factor
it looks cool but if it had a case or box it would look a lot cooler

Musical Background:

play in a small band

Musical Style:

rock
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com

Marshall MS4 Not-So-Mini Customer Review

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Sound
Its the best buy it.
Features
i love the two cabinets they're just like the high quality amp that marshall producecs
Quality
for what your paying you could'nt get anything better.
The Wow Factor
If you have a band and your mom doesn't no about it this amp is perfect for you. This amp could blow the windows out of a doll house.

Musical Style:

rock
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 18, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com

"If your looking for an all around kick around that sounds great you cannot beat this"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this si my primary cary amp and probably always be, its pretty rugged
Sound
add a reverb and this will have it ALL!
Features
add reverb and an extra inlet for effects
Value
a decent price for a good quality piece
Manufacturer Support
haven't used it
The Wow Factor
Hey IT"S A MARSHALL!!

Musical Background:

retired musician

Musical Style:

classic rock
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 2, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com

"This sucks!"

Overall: 1.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound is okay, but I only had the thing out of the box for a couple of hours when it developed this large rattle. And I never turned the volume up over 7. Not good.
Quality
I know htis is a toy, but I was very disappointed with this product. Why does it have an On/Off switch if it can't be turned off?
Value
Use the money to go in on a real practice amp.

Musical Background:

hobbyist

Musical Style:

rock
8 of 19 people (42%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2011

"Does what it is intended to do-----"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Best----mmmmm....it is just a silly mini amp. Something you would take camping or mess around with when you travel. It is not a substitute for a real amp. Worst: Overdrive requires volume @ 10. An effects unit (said it again) is needed to to sub par distortion sound and lack of any effects (delay, echo etc...)
Sound
Sound: Clean is tinish, but what would you expect from those little speakers?. The distortion is not very good. It sounds awsome when hooked up to a RP 100 though, but does not hold weight on its own. You will need some kind of effects unit ( I said unit) to make this thing sound good. this is a bummer because I wanted it to attach to my belt.
Features
none
Quality
seems ok----time will tell
Value
I have a feeling, since I will need to use an effects unit, that the same thing can be found in a product 1/2 the price----think honeytone
Manufacturer Support
time will tell
The Wow Factor
Dumbest question ever
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2010

Marshall MS4 Not-So-Mini Customer Review

Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Sound
Spend the extra $70 and get the Roland you will be much happier in the long run and will actually get some use out of the Roland Cube.
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2004

Marshall MS4 Not-So-Mini Customer Review

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
I'm somewhat new to electric guitar...but I think this is a good buy.
Sound
I haven't used the MS-2, but this one is loud enough. Good enough to fill a room, but you won't make anyone go deaf. Full, beefy sound, I was actually surprised by the sound it gave.
Features
Gain, Volume, Tone. The basics. For this little unit, I don't think reverb is necessary.
Quality
It's made out of plastic, and it's kinda light. I guess it'd be okay if it were dropped a few times, maybe some small stomping as well...I dunno, I haven't messed it up yet.
Value
I got it for $49.99 - it seems like a good deal, if it lasts anyways. I just needed something light and portable to bring to practices.
The Wow Factor
It's a nifty little toy, and it makes you want to just go outside on the streets and play. And once I get another cable, I'll try plugging it into my amp to...will probably make some more gnarly noises.

Musical Style:

any kind of rock, old and new
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.