Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Marshall CODE50 Digital Guitar Combo Amplifier (50 Watts, 1x12")

Marshall CODE50 Digital Guitar Combo Amplifier (50 Watts, 1x12")

Plug into 50 watts of power, and explore a huge library of classic and contemporary amp and cab models, as well as pro-quality on-board digital effects.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(16)
Submitted July 6, 2017 by James M in Greenwood Village, CO
"Marshall Code 50 Combo Amp sets the precedent"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Marshall's latest endeavor in modeling amplifiers is a big win for guitarists, not surprising from a company renown for its high standards.
Sound
My first guitar amp was a Marshall, purchased 28 years ago. The potential sounds that can be produced from this amp are surprising. This amp can essentially reproduce any sound within the Marshall Universe, when dialed-in to match what one expects, from say a JCM800, JVM, 2555, or the Silver Jubilee.
Features
Though a mini-USB to PC cable, one can also record to a DAW; the amp has a built-in computer interface through USB.There are knobs on the top of the amp that can be used to change from preset to preset. Tones can be dialed in directly by using the control panel at the top of the amp. The sound is penetrating for a smaller amp even at low volume. On headphones the sound is excellent and complete in terms of the full range of sound that the amp produces. Some are not fond of the control panel on the top, but I actually prefer plugging in to the top, and not a face panel. And the app removes need to dial in sounds directly from the control panel. The Bluetooth feature really stands out for me (described in Ease of Use)
Ease of Use
One of the really awesome things about this amp is that the Bluetooth functionality allows one to control the amp through an iphone, Android phone, or tablet, using the Marshall Gateway app. This app is like the icing on the cake. Instead of fumbling with the knobs and pushing buttons at the top of the amp, Marshall Gateway gives you nearly direct control over selecting presets (LIBRARY tab). Just swipe the touchscreen to access the other tabs like (AMPS) to change cabinets or the (EFFECTS tab) to tune-in the right sound.
Quality
Further the Code 50 does not look like a tiny practice amp, has a relatively small footprint, but is build solidly. It's not made from "Corinthian leather" nor would I want it to be. Of course it has that classic Marshall look and with the golden control panel and knobs.
Value
With all the features and most importantly, the sound produced by this amp with traditional Marshall quality and attention do detail, at such a jawdropping pricepoint puts Marshall back in the front, with a modeling system that reproduces the amp sounds I care about most! I am astounded by the quality and value of this amp at a cost that I still have difficulty believing. The level of quality, while suiting my needs without finding space for a full Marshall stack, and when I could never turn the volume up past "1" or "2" without getting the neighbors seriously ticked off. lol.
Manufacturer Support
I contacted Marshall to ask them a question about the amp and the representative who replied the next day and assisted me, Hannah, was very helpful and seemed sincerely interested in my personal experience.
The Wow Factor
The Code 50 achieves what I did not consider possible before for modeling amps. I have used modeling software to try to attain classic Marshall sound above all other amps, but it was difficult. Finally I went to source and I've gotten what I wanted. For me, from the time I discovered that this amp existed, to opening the box, to plugging in, till weeks later when I can fairly review the amp, it's been just huge wow factor. The biggest "Wow" for me still is: what one gets in return for an almost revolutionary price.
Musical Background:
28 years playing guitar, but also Violin, Piano, Ukulele
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Dimebag Darrell, Classical
61 of 61 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2017 by Mark Cofield in Binghamton, NY
"Marshall Code Fan"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had a week now to use my code 50 and i love it. I was a Blackstar amp user this is my first marshall amp. Sounds great even at low volume. Easy to use settings. I purchased foot pedal at same time and it works well however i do find myself using the app on my phone to change settings more but pedal would be great for the stage or fast changes. Only thing I'm not a fan of is the knobs on top i wish they were on the front like on the code 100 head. One caution is... this amp can go very loud if you live in an apartment building like i do your going to need very hard of hearing neighbors to keep them happy. Headphone jack works well and tuner on amp and with app very easy to use. The best part was of course zZounds 4 pay and service. This was not my first 4 pay or purchase and once again fantastic service all the way from chat line to delivery. Will not be my last purchase i am positive of that!
Sound
I think this sounds way better than my Blackstar id core 40. Soo many voice choices and sounds fantastic.
Features
App is amazing to use with amp. By far one of the reasons this amp caught my attention.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use. Sit down and play with many voices at your fingertips.
Quality
Seems very solid and well built.
Value
Soo worth the money. I was looking to spend way more and I'm glad i didn't and purchased this amp.
Manufacturer Support
Didn't need to contact by phone but i had emailed them with questions prior to purchase and was contacted back quickly.
The Wow Factor
For me it was a total WOW when i unboxed it.
Musical Background:
drummer for 30 years guitar for 2 years. play at home hobby.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, jazz, metal
50 of 50 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2018 by Jackson Moon Lathrop in Palm Bay, FL
"Marshall Code 50 ROCKS!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp will do everything, and MORE. Want to sound like you are playing a JCM 800 with a stack? That is the baddest amp on the planet, and this Code 50 duplicates it VERY nicely. Check the MOD list! It will sound like just about anything you want it to. SERIOUS power, and tone. Turn up to 3 or 4 and this puppy kicks ASS. And that is LIVE in concert. Best amp for the money on the planet. Great for recording also. Has USB ports, and you can record direct with any tone you desire. Very easy to use. Simply dial in what ever you want from the 100 MODS, and FIRE AWAY! Playing progressive rock, but you can get down on everything from a blues sound, to super clean, to VERY Nasty with insane crunch. Speaker is fantastic. Look is killer, and controls are top notch! Serious quality in every respect. If you are doing modern rock to Zepplin-Hendrix E T C...THIS IS THE AMP FOR YOU! VERY happy!!!
Musical Background:
pro player
Musical Style:
progressive rock...rock...jazz...blues
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2017 by scott b in wichita falls, TX
"Excellant Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got the Code 50 a month ago, and am more than satisfied with this baby. The first 2 or 3 days with this and I wasn't too taken with it, but as with all amps, after you learn the ins and outs, it is a wonderful amp. I'm still getting to know it and it seems to get better all the time. Marshall did the effects so much better with the Code than with the MG series. You have total control over all of the different effects, which is something you don't have on the MG. For being a small combo amp, it's the closest thing I've found that really does sound like a Marshall stack. It can also sound like many other amps. Marshall hit a homerun with this one and at a very reasonable price.
Musical Background:
40+ yrs. Mainly a hobby anymore. Play at home and an occasional party or benefit.
Musical Style:
Rock and Blues
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2019 by Tim W in New Egypt, NJ
"This is a REALLY good amp!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Ooookay - here is MY review! I have been playing guitar for almost 50 years. Been in a lot of bands and have been playing just about every Sunday at church for about 20 years. I have had a LOT of gear. This amp is not just good "for the price", it's just really good at any price, in my opinion. I think what it boils down to is it DOES take time to work with the presets. As many others have pointed out, you need to cut down on the presence and the other low end level (I forgot what they call it) as well as the gate. THEN just take the time to get acquainted with the amp and customize your presets. I will say that the amp seems to be given more to overdrive and distortion sounds than it is to clean sounds but you definitely can get nice clean sounds out of it as well. I have just sold the last of my effects pedals and just use this amp - it's that good! Being almost 60 years old I'm not the best with fiddling with electronic stuff but I'll tell you this - it only took me about ten minutes to be able to easily work with the settings on this righteous amp. I just used it today at my church - black gospel church - and after the first song one of the choir lady's leaned over and said "you are sounding great!". I concur - I WAS sounding great! Another thing you should look into is the Code pedal so you can change your pre-sets on the fly. I got it and am very happy I did. I have three main channels that I have made (you can do 100 though!). I have a clean, a crunch and a super overdrive. Those three settings alone, along with my guitar's tone and volume controls cover everything. Oh, I do have one pedal that the Code can't duplicate, my Cry Baby Wah Wah. In summary - if you don't mind taking time to get this thing set up right, then just GET IT and have fun, Fun, FUN!! PS: One other thing I like is since I have 22 titanium parts in my back, this thing is light AND still plenty loud to gig with!
Musical Background:
58 years playing, 20 years at church
Musical Style:
All music styles
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2017 by Joshua S
"A welcome surprise"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp to get back into playing guitar, and i wanted an amp that wouldn't break the bank but still sounded decent. I got both in the same package. This amp not only sounds great but for the price? i couldn't be happier. Handles metal and blues pretty well. I've owned it for about 4 months now and im still having fun mixing and matching tones. Highly recommend
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2017 by scott b in wichita falls, TX
"Thumbs up to Marshall Amplification"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing over 40 yrs. and have never had the money to buy the higher end products. I've got 2 MARSHALL 100 Watt heads, 1 Marshall 5 watt head and Marshall 100 watt & 20 watt solid state heads, along with Fender, Roland, Crate, Orange, Jet City, and ZT lunchbox. I did have a Line 6 but didn't really care for it. Marshall has hit a homerun with this amp! Yes, it's solid state, but I've always and still do believe that a guitar player can find the right sound and tone out of any amp. You've got all kinds of room to fine the sound and tone out of this amp, and you've also got a lot of leeway with adjusting the effects which are much better than in the MG series.This is an exceptionally good amp at this price. I am lovin' it, and this 50 watt amp is easy to carry around. I know you "tube"guys are smirking but that's o.k. You can go on and spend a fortune on a boutique or name brand, I am perfectly happy with this purchase and am having a ball fine-tuning this little baby for whatever, pretty melodic serenades, jazzy blues, balls to the wall blues, and good old rock. Again, thank you Marshall for putting out a great amp for a very affordable price and as always, thanks to zZounds for great service and products. Oh, and by the way, it got here in 2 and a half days.
Musical Background:
Playing for 40+yrs. guitar and keyboards. Just play occasionally now.
Musical Style:
Rock and blues
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2016 by Jay M in Englewood, CO
"Marshall Code 50"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got my Marshall Code 50-watt yesterday, it was delivered while I was on my way out...I unpacked it this morning and from the first note I played I realized this was a winner and at the price of $249.00 its no brainer to include this in your arsenal no matter what gear you currently own. The models are incredible, as I have owned all the classic fender, Marshall, Vox, Supro and boogie models in my 55 years on this planet. The tones and response in this package are beyond impressive and I haven't even played with the effects yet. I love to Bluetooth interface its so easy to use I love it. The closed back construction give very tight response and when you adjust to various cabinet models the amp breathes as a blues breaker or DSL combo would. The stack model deliver crushing volume and great tone and a the attack sensitivity is just as I remembered from my plexi and JCM 800 days. The only criticism I have an its a minor one is that the control panel is on the top, this is a common problem with a lot of amps nowadays and it makes it hard to make adjustments without leaning over the top of the amp but the mobile app solves that problem nicely. I've always been frustrated that the closest thing to a modeling amp Marshall made was the JMP-1 which was while an awesome piece of equipment was very pricey and fragile and I've wondered why they waited so long but after 2 hours with this Code 50 I realized it was worth the wait...If you're smart you'll order one before Marshall realizes they priced this series way to cheap!!!
Musical Background:
50 years, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Classic Rock, Country
27 of 29 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2017 by ruben trevino in katy, TX
"Terrific 50 watt amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Marshall has crafted a fin 50 watt combo for home or live gigging. Great tone, easy to use, great price point. Just cant beat it, sounds great . . .
Musical Background:
been playing over 20 years, play electric guitar
Musical Style:
rock, country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2016 by David Strausser in Azusa, CA
"Awesomely incredible"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is awesome. I love it. Ability to mimic sounds of some of the greatest guitarists with a few clicks. Wish I would've gotten the bigger one, but for $25, this thing rocks more than my old 100 watt Crate amp.
Musical Background:
Rocker for about 20 years. Love my Les Paul's
Musical Style:
Rock - Aerosmith
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com in Henrico, VA
"Excellent small gigging amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Marshall code 50 is an excellent small gig amp. If you are taking requests at a small venue this delivers. There are ton of bad reviews online. Take this and the code pedal and you can dial in almost anything. Nice to grab one pedal and a fairly light amp and go. I do have a smaller tube amp I like to use but this thing is a Swiss army knife.
Musical Background:
Small gigs and jamming
Musical Style:
blues, rock, metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2018 by JT B in Safford, AZ
"Marshall Code 50"
I had my old create amp quit on me and I saw the code 50 so I ordered up one from zZounds and it is a good old practice amp .. I like the cell phone hook up to operate the amp .. Nice amp ..I highly recommend it .
Musical Background:
Guitar picker for 45 years
Musical Style:
Music Style whatever rings my bell
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2017 by JIM hoffman in Meriden, CT
"Well worth the price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very tweakable tones,just be patient.Also very loud,easily heard over drums etc. Dont know about customer support,hope i dont need it.
Musical Background:
Guitarist for 35 years,Have owned many high dollar tube amps,and modelers,For the price this amp rocks.
Musical Style:
anything from blues to death metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 17, 2016 by Justin R
"Pretty cool modeling amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I picked this up a few days ago and have put around 6 hours in on it.I'll be honest, I had some reservations. But my curiosity won out. I really wanted to try one locally first, but no one ever had the thing in stock. I took a chance and am glad I did.My experience with modeling amps has been not-so-good. I've tired various Line 6's, Peavey, and Fender. Always wanted the same result, a good sound with a selection of effects for a bedroom amp. I haven't been happy with any of my previous attempts to replace my Blackstar HT5r. The Blackstar is a great amp. I love it. But if I want to get creative in my bedroom, there is no way my SO will deal with my having numerous pedals laying around and all of the cables accompanying them. I always defaulted back to my Blackstar. Worth noting is that I'm also a tube guy, and probably a gear snob like so many of us are. I own six amps. Only the Code and a Bass Amp are not tube.When I plugged in the Code initially and ran through some presets, I was disappointed. The presets are pretty bad. However, when I created my own preset, it was at this point I started to get impressed.It seems this is the key with this amp. Find your own sweet spot and go to town. I would create a base sound that I liked, then variations of that sound with different effects. Save them to my amp, and they are there forever. The little LCD screen and selection knob make it stupid easy to find the preset that you want.Once dialed in, the sound is pretty good. Keep in mind a lot of the dialing in process will involve your guitars tone knob. The biggest issue I have with this amp is just how much treble it throws out. My presets tend to be in the 3 range for treble and I still roll the tone back almost all the way. If it matters, I'm playing through guitars with SD Sh-4's and SH-5's in the bridge.I've read other reviews that state the amp reacts well to volume control changes. This is not my experience, at least for the gain settings I typically use which are 4-6. It doesn't react like a true tube amp in this manner, but the tone knob on your guitar will affect it drastically. Outside of this, the sounds are pretty good once dialed in. I typically play a harder rock sound, and as someone who is normally picky, I'm pretty happy at this price.It's not perfect and it won't replace your favorite tube amp, but as a bedroom or practice amp it's very good for the price.Wish Marshalls app was better, I hope they release a way to share presets, the treble thing is annoying but is easily overcame. I am on the fence in regards to changing the stock speaker, I feel this may result in a more fined tune sound.. And maybe get rid of some of that treble.
Musical Background:
Guitar for 20 years
Musical Style:
Whatever I feel like at the moment, mostly heavier rock
7 of 11 people (64%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2017 by stephen p
"Problems with my amp months after purchase"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A few months went by after I bought this amp and used it a handful of times. I turned the amp on one day and the Display screen on the amp wasn't displaying any text. The display only lit up and no text so you can't see any preset or setting options(very difficult with so many effects on the amp). I would recommend this amp for the sound quality the amp cranks and sounds so awesome. I still use it just cant see what preset i'm on or have options to modify. Just figured I would leave a comment of my experience with this product.
Musical Background:
Played guitar over 10 years, background in piano and sheet music writing/reading
Musical Style:
all except screamo
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2017 by Randy Holland in Sulphur, OK
"Marshall Code 50 Guitar Combo Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought on 7/12/17,2 payments to go out of the 6 and I am so frustrated with the fake digital tones...I've went through the pre-sets and 80% sound disgusting to my ear... I play blues and my ear was trained on a peavy and i can only find a few pre -sets my ear can even tolerate ...A few of the clean channels with touch of reverb and # 65...lol..So aggravated that i still have two months left to pay on and then was going to get another guitar on the 6 month deal but now it looks like i will have to get another amp...My advice if you care about your musical ear go analog...PS I forgot to say that this weird digital stuff will make your ears ring 24/7 and no i'm not sitting next to it to close...It's just weird tones like sick dieing cows to a siren in your ears..Even tried whats called analog freak and its freaky all right and can'y play with another guitar player cause their freaked cause don't fit their ear...Wish i could return and get credit for a good analog real amp ...
Musical Background:
1 year intermediate blues guitar player
Musical Style:
Blues,Rock ballads
4 of 22 people (18%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to