Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Martin D-18 Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar (with Case)
BACK IN STOCK

Martin D-18 Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar (with Case)

Hear the rich, resonant tones of the D-18 dreadnought. An American classic, this Martin features a genuine mahogany body and solid black ebony fretboard.

Overall User Ratings (based on 17 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(17)
Submitted June 25, 2015 by Sean H in Seattle, WA
"Martin D-18"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing. The nicest acoustic I have ever had the pleasure of owning. Almost impossible to put down. I've owned a Martin D15 before, as well as an American made Breedlove, and also test drove 30 + other Taylors, Gibsons, and Martins, before I decided on the D-18. For my ears, the D-18 sounds clearer, and better balanced, than the D-28 & D-35. Yes, it's lacking the ornate inlays and binding that the more $$$ Martins have, but don't be fooled- this is a BEAUTIFUL GUITAR. I couldn't be happier. Asked for overnight shipping, and it arrived in Seattle from New Jersey in less than 24 hours. Thanks zZounds!
Sound
Sounds like the acoustic guitar I've been waiting my whole life to own.
Ease of Use
Arrived straight out of the box after a cross country trip in tune.
Quality
It will last 10 lifetimes. My grandkid's grandkids will be playing this guitar.
Value
In this price range, the best value you will find.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with them, but I can't imagine that there would be any problems if I did.
The Wow Factor
I'm wowed. Very wowed.
23 of 23 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2016 by Michael G in Southaven , MS
"D18 Is a classic "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the D18 Friday and received it the next day. Opened it, tuned it and the sound was incredibly exceptional. I had played several D18 and D28 at the local guitar store, I chose the D18 because it has a better all around sound and is more versatile than the D28. I do plan on buying a D28 one day but my first martin had to be a D18. Thanks to zZounds for the 0% interest payment plan. I'll be a customer for life.
Sound
The sound is good for any style of music
Features
It features only the best material that you can buy
Ease of Use
Plays as easy as a Taylor
Quality
Superb
Value
Worth every penny
Manufacturer Support
None yet
The Wow Factor
It's a perfect 10
Musical Background:
Jam at home now, have played in bands in the past
Musical Style:
Bluegrass, blues, rock, country
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2016 by Butch Dixon in Attalla, AL
"Martin D-18 "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased a Martin D-18 from zZounds using "pay as you play" as a method of payment. This method has allowed me to purchase a quality instrument that I could not have purchased any other way. This is the second purchase for me using "pay as you play" and the first one was flawless. The D-18 arrived in a timely manner safe and sound. The quality and tone of the instrument was incredible. I highly recommend Martin as a primary choice for an acoustic guitar. It is really unbelievable. It plays live and in the studio that requires little to no EQ management. Thanks for the opportunity
Musical Background:
30 plus years. Pedal Steel, Fiddle, Guitar
Musical Style:
Country and some gospel
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2006 by a customer from verizon.net
"Let me save you some time - buy it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
The Martin D18, for me, is a lifetime investment.
Sound
Before purchasing my D18 I tried many others. There were a few that played and felt a tiny bit better than the D18, but the sound, wow!
Features
The workmanship of the guitar is flawless, and the materials are as well. However, bone bridge pins to match the nut and saddle would've been a nice addition. It's very easy and inexpensive to do that upgrade yourself though.
Ease of Use
Not quite as easy to play as a Taylor in the same class. But it still plays exceptionally well compared to any other guitar on the market. Again, the sound has no close second that I've heard. If you're at that level where you're considering a guitar in this league, then sound is probably everything to you.
Quality
One of the best made instruments money can buy.
Value
Considering that I'll have this guitar for the rest of my life, and then hand it down to my daughter - that's value people!
Manufacturer Support
It's hard to imagine a better warranty than lifetime!
The Wow Factor
It's beautiful in it's artful simplicity.
Musical Background:
experienced novice
Musical Style:
modern worship and rock
52 of 56 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2017 by John T Sullivan in staten island, NY
"WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the guitar of my dreams!!! the tone will blow you away! The neck is perfect!! The builders at Martin are true professionals. When I opened the case I got chills on my neck! Get a D18 and I promise you won't regret it. Plenty of base without drowning out the notes. Thankyou zZounds for providing me with the perfect instrument!!!
Musical Background:
been playing for 10 years. I play a 1988 American standard Telecaster. I'm not a professional
Musical Style:
rock, folk,
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 18, 2015 by Chuck R in Fredericksburg, TX
"Martin D-18"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When Martin redesigned the D-18 in 2012, they hit a home run. Having owned over ten Martin's in the past and currently own two before the D-18 purchase, I can tell you that this guitar is a hotrod! I changed the phosphor bronze strings to 80/20 and added ebony bridge and end pins. This is the guitar I have been looking for since I started playing in 2000.
Musical Background:
acoustic jams
Musical Style:
Country, Christian, Americana and Folk
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2014 by David Reed in Oklahoma City, OK
"2014 Martin D-18"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a D16GT and it was very hard to play. As I learned more about Martin, I thought the D16GT was a std. series since it was made in the USA. The D18 is a dream guitar in the lower HIGH end series for Martin. There is indeed a difference when you reach the Standard series. I like the new nut width @ 1.75 since I have stubby finger tips. It's also very light at 4.1 lbs. All solid wood on this one! No man made finger board, etc. The Dove tail neck joint makes a lot more tone than that of the D16. What a nice change for Martin to an old classic. The sounds or even and mellow. The D16 has a really loud bass, but drowns out the high end trebles. The D18 is so well balanced. Not to tinty like the Taylor's. Go play one and see and hear for yourself. The guys at Zzounds were fantastic. Very knowledgeable and friendly as well. This is the time of year to get one shipped in! Still let it acclimate to your geo. area and home before you get it out of the case. I'd say 12-24 hrs, but ask the experts.
Musical Background:
Play at home
Musical Style:
folk/rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2014 by David R in Oklahoma City, OK
"Martin D-18 2012'"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
After purchasing my first Martin (D-16GT) a few years a go, I was so excited to own a Martin with such a wonderful sound. However, it was very hard for me to play. As it stood, it sat in the case most of the time. I was looking at some Martin reviews and discovered my D16 was NOT one of the standard series Martin's. Then I saw the reviews, heard the reviews and was blown away with the new design of the D18. With the larger nut and the experience of the bone bridge and nut, i was hooked. Now i own the new D18 I bought from zZounds. Bert was my guitar expert and I could not have asked for a better rep. I hate to say this, but go play one at your local store and buy it from zZounds. They ship it new, in the box which I like because there are a lot of people handling the guitars in the stores. I like my stuff new in the box anyway. So, as for my new D-18, I could not believe it was in tune right out of the box. It plays so well I could not believe it. The only thing you may not like is the advertised tortoise binding. I do not have any of it in my binding. Was scheduled for a new guitar set up, and canceled it because EVERYTHING was perfect from the factory. Hats off to Martin and zZounds, both #1 hands down.
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
Folk and rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to