Martin D-10E Road Series Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Soft Case)

Martin D-10E Road Series Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Soft Case)

Crafted from premium solid tonewoods with X bracing for resonance, the Martin D-10E features Fishman MX-T electronics with a handy soundhole tuner built in.

Overall User Ratings (based on 8 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(8)
Submitted February 24, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Solid wood Martin for under 1k..what else is there to say!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So after playing guitar for more than 30yrs, this is my first Martin. Very weird considering my father sang and played with a Martin F-65 (rare semi-hollow body, only about 600 made) most of his life. I've lived all my life usually not more than 2 hours from the factory, and for most of that time less than an hour. I've taken the factory tour which was awesome. I've met many musicians that play Martins, endorse them, etc. I've been playing the last year or so on a Fender acoustic(not including my electrics that I own or play), which is a decent enough instrument, albeit a cheap sub 300$ guitar, when I purchased it over a year ago. I have owned a few other acoustics, a couple Takamines, Fenders, Ibanez, Ovations etc over the years. I won't say I have any considerable experience with 1k and up acoustic guitars, but I like to believe I have at least a decent ear. The sound is really the thing here, as this is not an ornate guitar with fancy inlays and stuff like that. Still, one of the main reasons I chose this model is because it's solid wood. I have no experience with Martins HPLs, but I also know Martin wouldn't put their name on anything if it isn't well made. I prefer solid wood, so that's a great reason to chose this model for this price point, and the reason I did. That being said, this is what a great guitar should sound like. I can easily hear the way every string sounds as clear and loud as the others. I'm pretty sure this has to do with bracing and the way they build their tops. it just projects the way a guitar should, not muddy on low strings and too bright on the highs. It sounds superb, plain and simple. Clear, bright, articulate. Martin has been perfecting guitar building for almost 2 centuries now, and while this is not their top of the line guitar, it gets all the benefit of their experience in the way they're designed and built. One thing I didn't realize about Martins until after getting this, and looking at their specs on most of their guitars is they have a wider neck (1.75" width) than I'm used to. My Fender neck was more like an electric neck, both width and thickness wise. I will easily get used to this though, and may enjoy it even more in time, as I have big hands. I also love the hidden controls for the volume and tone and tuner. I love that they didn't cut a huge hole in the body of the guitar for them, very cool. I haven't plugged it in yet, but I have no doubt it'll sound good. Fit and finish are fantastic, as is the soft case they include. I would rather it have had a gloss finish, except the neck, but that's just a personal thing. It's a beautiful, well made instrument, that you should definitely put on your short list of under 1k guitars.I would definitely recommend this guitar.
33 of 33 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Amazing Guitar"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was on the fence about getting this thinking maybe it’s a “cheap” Martin. There is nothing cheap about this guitar at all. Set up perfectly out of the box this box looks even better in person than the pictures and it plays amazing. The Richlite fretboard looks and feels great, the gig bag is a high quality padded bag that I actually would prefer over a case for the convenience of carrying it. For $800 you are getting a LOT more instrument than I would expect at that price.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2022 by a customer from windstream.net
"Outstanding value"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this guitar right out of the box. You may order this guitar thinking you are getting a "cheap" Martin. You will lose that notion as soon as you open the box and take this guitar out of the case. It has a rich high end feel. The sound from the very first strum is deep and full. The setup is pretty much perfect right out of the box for playability and sound. The construction is exactly what you would expect from Martin. The built in tuner was a nice perk I didn't realize the guitar had. The soft case is just a nice added benefit. If you want a Martin and you don't want to spend a thousand bucks this is the way to do it. You will not be sorry. The cherry on top is how easy zZounds makes it to own this, or any guitar.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2020 by Seven Ragle in Fayetteville, NC
"Stunning"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely incredible for the price, the finish is beautiful and you'd be hard pressed to find something better than this. The soft case it comes with is also very nice quality and offers plenty of structured support where its needed. The guitar fits perfectly inside with no movement. 10/10
29 of 31 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2022 by a customer from zoominternet.net
"Martin D10E road series"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my second guitar in 45 yrs. learned guitar earlier in life on a low end model and only picked it up half a dozen times a year Retired and treated myself to this Martin D10e 9 months ago to hopefully improve and enjoy a new hobby. Researched, read reviews, you tube videos, and took a chance. I have been playing this thing every day and absolutely love the sound. I chose the large body as I think it has a very nice tone. My skill level has improved and look forward to playing every day. Martin had a wider neck which fit me. I am very happy with my purchase and zZounds fast and easy shopping/shipping.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 26, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Martin D10e Sapele"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not much to say. It ticks all the boxes for looks, sound, and playability. Martin is a prestigious guitar maker that consistently maintains a high standard of quality.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2021 by a customer from icloud.com
"Excellent all wood Martin"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had a few of the Martin X series guitars. This one is a huge upgrade. Sounds great, easy to play. Set up was A+ right out of the box. The soft case is an upgrade as well. This feels like a high quality Martin for under $1,000. zZounds free one day shipping is always a plus.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2022 by Gregory B in Dothan, AL
"Garbage"
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been playing and working on my own guitars since 1975 . This is absolutely the worst guitar I’ve ever owned. The neck has an S shape to it . The relief is acceptable up to the 7th fret , after that it rapidly accelerates to an unusable 1/4 inch at the 12th fret . No matter how much you attempt to adjust it, it simply is unplayable. I am ashamed to even take it out of the bag . Martin quality control seriously blew it big time on this guitar. I own dozens of guitars and waited until my retirement to buy that Martin guitar of my dreams. This is a nightmare, not a dream. Stay away from this piece of crap . No matter what adjustment you do to the truss rod , it won’t help. Bass to treble side is extremely different. 1/4 inch on the bass side at the 12th but the treble side is marginally better. However, the S shape of the fretboard makes the guitar unplayable unless you like staying in the cowboy chord area . My Ovation, Breedlove,Fender , and Gibson acoustic guitars are brilliant examples of guitar playability. This Martin was to be my final guitar since I have only played them and never owned one . I can’t even play this piece of garbage. Martin has no dealer or authorized repair shop within 100 miles of me so I am stuck with a $900 piece of firewood. Never ever will I buy anything with that name again. That’s all they are, a name. How this got by quality control blows my mind. I have $200 acoustic guitars that are much better than this. Totally disgusted by my experience with this guitar.
Sound
Unplayable, neck is crap
Features
Doesn’t matter what you do to adjust the neck , it is crap
Ease of Use
I wouldn’t know , this guitar should never have been allowed to be released . The neck is unacceptable
Quality
It looks pretty. If I wanted a pretty guitar to never be played then it would be ok . But you can not even play this $900 piece of crap. Extremely frustrating
Value
Absolutely no. Buy another brand. Breedlove would be my best choice as I bought one and absolutely loved it out of the box . Best acoustic guitar I ever played
Manufacturer Support
I have contacted Martin. No authorized repair shop within 100 miles of me in my state . Martin should be ashamed of this garbage
The Wow Factor
Martin name sucked me in . Never ever again if they don’t want to fix this piece of junk
Musical Background:
Former Pro
Musical Style:
Blues , Rock , Country, since 1975
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.