800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-T0LB
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: M-Audio ProjectMix I/O

Elevate your at-home studio with this interface's 16 analog audio inputs and four analog outputs, plus touch-sensitive faders, transport and zoom controls.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"3 years old and still kicking!!" submitted March 30, 2010

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: house,old skool hip hop,soul.
Back to Product Information
Sound: i progressed to the project mix from sound blaster 1080, was blown away by the sound quality,bearing in mind i only had earphones when i set it all up (which was a breeze!!) Feature: the i/o came with ableton live lite,various power adapter cables(i guess to suite different international sockets etc.)It looks so pro like,and gave my little room a real lift.my only gripe would be that they could have added a fake leather or vynal padding along the bottom of the unit,because leaning on my hand, using the jogg wheel for long periods causes numbness!! Ease of Use: so easy to use,you never forget either or loose interest. ive had mine for 3 years nearly,still as good as when i first plugged it in.Still need my p.c mouse on occassion,i couldnt go back to a sound blaster type card again!!! Quality: looks very good!! maybe could do with a more colourful lcd for meter display etc.But for sub 1000 euros already too good :). Value: well worth the money i payed!! put this way:if someone was going to offer me the money i payed for mine, i'd advise them to go to a store and get their own!! i havent had the need to look a similar items either cheaper or more expensive. Manufacturer Support: support bang on!! no problems over the near 3 years!!! The Wow Factor: ive still got it!!,(say no more!!) Overall: i,d sooner get my self a bigger multi roomed setup first than stepping up or replacing the project mix,even then,i ask my self, "would i need to replace it"
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You gotta try this or else you will regret buying any other firewire control surface for you DAW programs!!!" submitted July 12, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer, Active Musician, Artist, Producer
Music Style: R & B/Gospel/Contemporary/Movie/ all other genre
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I am using a beringe compressor/limiter with a Samsun CO1 Condensor 48V phantom powered mic connected to my daw Sonar 7 Producer edition and Pro-Tools M-Powered. It works wonders in my studio which is located seperately from my home. It responds excellent to my system. It intergrate easily with Reason 4.0 also which is not listed. Midi Works seemingless through it. The play in the XLR's is a little scary but I have no problems with it. I love all of the controls and I am still learning them by heart. If you do not have a good memory of using these Knobs then don't use it. It does not explain everything that it can do. I wouldn't trade it in the world. Only if I could at some more tracts to this product then it would be great. 8 mic inputs are not enough. Feature: I love the way it handles. I wish that it came with all of the XLR cables, and other cables that it can handle. The word clock cables need to be added along with ADAT cables and wires. You have to purchase everything but the power supply. So buy the accessories before going home to hook it up. Ease of Use: It is easy to use once you get it going good. I had to go into the presets and un mute the unbalanced cable plug ins. If you don't then you won't hear anything. Quality: This control surface is constructed strong. I have no problems with it yet. Only had it for about 8 months though. Value: For the price this is. It is an offer that you can't refuse. Manufacturer Support: Couldn't tell you. I have not called them yet. The Wow Factor: Its great but some people want it to match everything else such as black or woodgrain etc. Overall: I will continue with this product because I can see the standards for this product is very high already.
16 of 19 people (84.21%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Greatest thing since sliced bread." submitted January 25, 2007

By a customer from virtualtracks.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer,producer,active musician
Music Style: Folk,Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: Same great sound as with Delta 1010's that I have used for a while on my desktop. Feature: getting automated faders of this quuality combined with 8 pre-amps plus the hardware controls for running fast recording workflow is awsome. Time is money and this unit gives all the benefits of saving time on mixdown,mastering etc etc without spending an arm and a leg. Ease of Use: Easiest set-up of any unit I have used recently.Even all the drivers and firmware were up to date. I use it to be able to run Pro-Tools and Sonar on a laptop for total studio portability. Mated with a keyboard controller this makes the lightest most portable full mobile 8 track recording studio with all the power of full PC software compatibility. Have not found anything wrong yet. Quality: The faders may not be the best but they are a pro level quality so I'll knock a point off Value: All this for 1300$,its a steal Manufacturer Support: Great support so far from M-Audio.They do whatever they can till thay get you satisfied. The Wow Factor: Clean,professional looking gear. Overall: As long as it is reliable -I have not had it long,I do not expect to buy anything for 3-4 years maybe.
20 of 24 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent value and the features are great! just needs better pre's" submitted May 14, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active producer
Music Style: hip hop, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the Unit sounds great for the price range. the mic pre's are very hot which can make miking a drum kit up a bit sketchy at times but with this many I/O for such a low price you can't really complain Feature: midi control massive I/0 templates for controlling all major DAWs touch selection of channels. Led readouts for everything, zooming. makes DAW work a real hands on experience. only draw backs are that the pre's aren't amazing and the latency I get with it is about 4ms longer at 128 sample rate than my Native instruments KA-6. Ease of Use: pretty much a plug and play afair here. not much learning curve. read the manual and your good to go. Quality: Have had mine for about 3 years now and never had a single issue with it. Value: amazing value. (though check the used market as u can get em for a crazy bargain) Manufacturer Support: haven't had much need for it but m-audio has always been hit or miss. and the drivers rarely get any updates The Wow Factor: mainly for the touch sensitive faders with LED read out and built in I/O just wish it had more pristine mic pre's and a better I/o interface built in (updated I should say as it's getting a bit long in the tooth) Overall: I'll probably keep it another 2-3 years before really feeling the urge to upgrade (and it's not like you can't use other nice mic pre's and just run stright into the box from there).
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"flustered" submitted September 9, 2012

By mahboubeh nourbkhsh in montreal, QC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar player for 12 years and recording engineer
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The firewire jack on the unit is defective so I can not make any connection to my pc, and it`s been like one week that i called zZounds and they have not told me yet how should i sent this back
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

M-Audio ProjectMix I/O Customer Review submitted March 5, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer, Engineer, Songwriter/Performer--Tripple Threat..woot woot lol
Music Style: Hip-Hop, R&B, Electro
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The mic pres are decent but for better sound I'd pic up a mic pre. Feature: Comes with everything you need. Automated faders are great. Value: Awesome for price range Manufacturer Support: Support is decent. However, EVERY TIME I CALLED I WAITED AT LEAST AN HOUR TO SPEAK TO A REP....RIDICULOUS! The Wow Factor: pretty sexy looking
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good unit for a good price" submitted July 3, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: CEO Record Label/Executive Producer
Music Style: Hip Hop / RnB
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound comes out pretty good. I don't have an expensive mic or expensive mic pre-amps. But what I do have it sounds great once the mix down is complete and we send it off to get mastered. Feature: the knobs and buttons are efficient, but without labels to me they are just excess knobs and buttons. Ease of Use: It is very easy to use. After an update on the driver it synched up and was ready to go. Unfortunately I am now having problems with plug ins. And we don't have that many. I'll be calling M-Audio VERY soon. Quality: Quality overall is it is a good unit. It turns on when I need it to and it doesn't die when we are doing something important. I have never had any issues till I updated my Mac software. Hey now that I think about it. I might need to update the driver software...:) Value: Value is overall great deal for the price. looks and feels and sounds above average. Manufacturer Support: When I called the first time they were great!! The Wow Factor: I own it...but I really wish I had a HD system :) Overall: Overall it does the job...I just need to make some adjustments to my system to get some bugs worked out.
3 of 6 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You have to try it to believe it" submitted February 16, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Jazz, r&b, Hip-hop, classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: I think the sound quality on this unit is awesome. This is a must buy!! Feature: It has very versatile features for most situations. The fact that it can control logic, protools(m-powered, le in HUI mode)Cubase, Sonar, DP ect. makes this a good tool to try different softwares. I wish you could use spif and adat at the same time but you cant. You have to use one or the other Quality: I expected the quality to be sub par because of the price but the quality is excellent. This is a steal. Value: For what you get it is worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: support is ok The Wow Factor: sexy sexy
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-T0LB. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2018, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!