Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Mapex Armory Studioease Fast Drum Shell Kit, 6-Piece
ONLY 3 LEFT

Mapex Armory Studioease Fast Drum Shell Kit, 6-Piece

Whether you're performing on stage or in the studio, this 6-piece birch/maple shell kit will produce well-rounded sounds with lightning-fast response.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted September 27, 2014 by Carol W in Carmichael, CA
"EXCELLENT!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered on a weekend and had them by Tuesday! Very nice set--well made, beautiful finish (I bought the blue) and impressive hardware! The sound is fantastic, easy to tune. I am pleasantly surprised by the quality of these drums--I just can't say enough. I highly recommend..
Musical Background:
Playing drums for over 20 years, mostly at home
Musical Style:
rock, jazz
42 of 42 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2015 by John Peterson in Florence, OR
"Mapex Armory Studioease Transparent Black"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered on a Friday, in the studio Wednesday night. Gorgeous kit, packed well, very nice finish. The black chrome looks great. I ordered black chrome stands too (Mars 600 series). The kit sounds excellent, I will however be putting on better heads, both batter and resonance sides. Big bang for the buck. The hybrid shells sound great. I also have a DW and a Gretsch kits in mable, the Mapex kit sounds just as good. The Mars 600 series boom stands hold the toms and cymbals well - those are a good value too. Buy this kit, you will not be sorry. Zzounds order was painless and again, the pay as you play option is great. This is my third order over 2K and I have had no problems with billing or shipments.
Musical Background:
40+ years behind a kit, Semi-Pro
Musical Style:
I play all genre's but am primarily in to R&B, Fusion and jazz
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2018 by robert liberman in springfield, IL
"Mapex AR628SFB Armory Studioease Fast Drum Shell Kit, 6-Piece, Ultramarine Gloss"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Like many out there, I was skeptical of Mapex for years, I own Tama Starclassic, superstar kits, Pork pie, sonor, Pearl reference and Masters series, yeah im a collector! First thing I did was replace the batter heads with Evans glass hydraulics on the toms/ aquarian super kick2 on the kick Wow this kit sounds phenomenal!! even compared to any of my other kits that are either birch, maple and mahogany and at a great price. What really sold me is the roll over bearing edge as iv been doing this with all my kits before Mapex started doing the Sonic edge is nothing new to me just better than a sharp pinpoint 45 degree.. Great lacquer ultramarine finish and a virgen kick drum, but wish it were a 10 lug kick..Mapex won me over!
Musical Background:
P;aying drums for50 plus yrs
Musical Style:
Rock, classic rock, classic country, new country
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 18, 2014 by Jim L in New Smyrna Bch., FL
"Awsome Drums!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
To start with zZounds is fantastic. I ordered this kit on a Friday night and it was in my music room Wednesday Morning!!! Now to the drums, these are not what i am used to playing. I've always played big deep drums so for me tuning took a little getting used to,that being said once i adjusted to tuning a little higher these drums were extremely easy to tune!!! They sound awsome!!! The finish is flawless and absolutely stunning!!! I have been playing for over 30 years and must say these are some of the best sounding and playing drums i have used in this price range. They have great attack and sustain. I highly recommend these drums.
Musical Background:
30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock,pop, and country
23 of 24 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2015 by John P in Florence, OR
"Transparent Black Armory Studioease"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was my third purchase with zzounds, and as has been the norm the drum kit, stands and cymbal pak was delivered fast and in perfect condition.The drum kit is very well made and with great shell finish. Tuning was a breeze yet I will be putting different heads on the kit to really make it sound even better. I own several high end kits, and this kit is every bit as good. I bought this kit because of the hybrid shell composition and the sound that it delivers.
Musical Background:
30+ years. Drums, keyboards & Marimba
Musical Style:
Jazz, fusion, rock, country...pretty much everything
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2018 by Shane Scheib in Uhland, TX
"Mapex Armory Series, Black Dawn Finish"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been playing a second hand Premier kit for the last 10+ years as my regular, with quality DW hardware I've built up during that time. I've been ready for new shells for quite sometime. I've played on just about all the major brands. DW, Tama, Pearl, Luds etc.. I had been eyeing the Mapex Armory for over a year. Really liked the clear black.. Over the last year I looked at them, watched and "listened" to vids of these kits out of the box. I liked what I heard. Almost a month ago I got online and saw the Black Dawn finish.. I drooled a bit looking at it.. Thought about it. And, well pulled the trigger.. A week later they were in my hands.. Next day, I assembled the 2 drums I needed to, and swapped my shells on my hardware.. a little tuning and I was set. Played by myself for about an hour and a half.. Next day 3 hours with my band. They sound great, tone is on point, projection is great, the rest of the band actually had to turn up.. For the price, these shells can't be beat.. I'm actually considering a second set for my residence, neighbors might hate me, but oh well.. if I could post a pic of them here I would.
Musical Background:
Been playing Kits for 30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Country, Jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2019 by Raymond Bruce in Harrisonburg, VA
"Excellent Set in Every Way"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got this set and I love it. Beautiful ultra marine finish for starters. Hardware is solid, well thought out. Wood shells smooth and flawless. Sonic bearing edges live up to hype: drums tune up effortlessly. Nice deep sound even with stock heads, I'll leave them on for now. Bass drum is a beast played soft or hard. Tomahawk snare is a real surprise: loud and cutting but pretty nice tone. At this price, Mapex Armory is a bargain.I have to express my appreciation to zZounds. Ordered set and lots of accessories on the weekend, everything arrived perfectly Wednesday morning. Their payment plan made the whole thing possible for me.
Musical Background:
I've been a drummer for over 50 years. Still a working pro.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Jazz; I like to play any style.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2017 by Wanya Gray in Chinle, AZ
"Armory Trans Black"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this Wednesday19 and got it Friday21 , two day shipping. I had a PDP 5 piece kit, had it for 8 years, however it was time for an upgrade and this Mapex armory was the BOMB, if any of you wanna upgrade your kit, Mapex armory is the one. I love it, Great sound and awesome hardware
Musical Background:
I play the drums, been playing for 7 years, and i have four drum kits, two mapex, one pdp, a yamaha kit.
Musical Style:
Hip-hop, Reggaeton, Christian, Reggaeton, Rock and jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2014 by Brian A in Hedgesville , WV
"This Kit is incredible!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed another kit for my at home studio. Have 2 others already. One at my practice space and another for gigging. Decided to go with the Mapex Armory kit. For starters, Mapex takes great care in just packing the drums so they arrive safely!!! That being said, once I got these things set up and tuned, which was a breeze thanks to the new Sonic Clear bearing edges, it was off to the races!!! Even with the stock Remo UT heads (made in China, equivalent to Ambassadors) the drums still sound amazing!!! I imagine with better heads on these drums, they will really sing!!!! The toms sound warm and sing. The floor toms have a beautiful low end to them that floor toms should have! The bass boomy and punchy!!! Oh and let's not forget the Tomohawk Snare that comes standard!!! This thing cuts and has a great crack!!! You will definitely be heard!!! And it has a beautiful black nickel finish and has the same hardware as Mapex's higher end snares!!! All in all, I would highly recommend this kit for any level player, this thing kicks some major a$$ for just a little bit of cash!!! And zZounds customer service, shipping time, & pay as you play option is top notch!!! I don't shop anywhere else!!!!
Musical Background:
Playing for over 25 yrs. Professionally and for fun
Musical Style:
mostly play rock, hard rock, heavy metal
12 of 14 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2017 by Gerald D
"Mapex Armory 6 piece shell pack in Photon Blue"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After setting up and playing the new shells, they are a great replacement for my old Yamaha shells. After playing for and hour non stop, I would recommend changing the heads. The included heads are very playable but not up to the sound I like. Changed to Evans G2 batter and Evans glass resonant heads on the toms, Evans Emad2 batter and Emad resonant on the bass, and Evans reverse power dot snare batter and 300 snare side.
Musical Background:
Have played since high school in the 80's in various stage bands, marching, and DCI.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Metal, Counrty, Southern Rock, and pop music styles
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2015 by Henry H in Calumet City , IL
"Mapex Drums"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Drums were very nice, and my drummer was just like a kid in the candy store. They are simply beautiful. The only thing that should have been clear about assembly is that before someone purchase them, have specific instructions about having a set of heavy duty stands to hold the 2 drums that need to be attached to the symbol stands. But, other than that, it's all good.
Musical Background:
I actually play the rhythem guitar
Musical Style:
Blues and r&b
9 of 16 people (56%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to