800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZR-8S28
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Mackie Thump15A PA Speaker

Meet the updated, upgraded 15" Mackie Thump! Modernized design, 1300 watts of power, and DSP from Mackie's SRM series make these PA speakers a superb value.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Well Done Mackie !" submitted August 1, 2018

By Nick L in Framingham, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 43 Years In Music !
Music Style: All styles dance, reggae, hip hop, world music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: The new Thumps definitely have more power and have the edge when you need to push them a little. Im some 10 gigs in with these and you cant beat the weight, power or sound with these but I use a Yamaha mixer and a Mackie mixer sometimes and they sound awesome. I know when I go into a room ive got the power ! Ive used them in hotel ballrooms without a sub up to 200 people. I bought the bags also, take care of your gear and it will take care of you ! Im 43 Years in Bands and Dj and in my 60s and appreciate the lightweight of these and the power. Hip hop, rock and house no problem. If you want the thump these are the ones !
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"More power " submitted October 23, 2017

By DJBWILL W in Crystal River , FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: I only did one gig with them and they pass the test. They have more power than the last thump. You can tell right away. Now let me tell you about the first and only review a head of this one. I don’t know what he’s talking about but it’s must be his mixer. You have 4 preset EQ on the speakers but you have to tune in on your mixer for the sound you want. I think there are great for the price and I have JBL’s and EV’s not as good as the JBL but for the price you can’t go wrong.
33 of 34 people (97.06%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie Thump 15" submitted February 24, 2018

By Jose Gastelum in Calexico, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for over 7 years, singer/songwriter.
Music Style: Rock/Blues/Alternative/Indie
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: I bought this speaker for 2 main purposes: Use at home as a PA system speaker and for live situations as a Monitor/Loudspeaker. The Mackie thump 15 sounds amazing, it provides very clear sound from vocals, instruments and drums when mic'ed properly. I have used this speaker mainly with a mixer mic'ing an acoustic guitar, electric guitars and vocals and the sound it provides is as good as the one coming from the amps/guitars. It doesn't blend your sound in any way, you get what comes out of the mixer. The only reason I dont give a full 5* is because I dont like that it has "pre-set" eq, I would rather it to have basic 2-3 band EQ or even just a volume knob instead of that because if gives me the placebo feeling that my sound can be not better, but different in a way I could probably like. Anyway, when used with a mixer you can EQ to your taste. I have also used the speaker to play music from my computer and it sound very nice, lots of bass from this speaker.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"mackie thump 1300 watt" submitted March 11, 2018

By steve keller in winnsboro, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing for about 25 years i play guitar and keyboard mostly at home with friends
Music Style: christian rock blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: bought the used one it works fine . front light does'nt work but i'm good with that . have'nt had a chance to really turn it up yet . so i'll do another review later for that part. never had to use manufacturer support.
3 of 8 people (37.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best for entry level DJ on budget!" submitted August 1, 2018

By Michael Miller in StCloud, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar,10 yes!. Home picker!
Music Style: Metal,classic rock!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: Great sound, head to head blows JBLs out of the water! Very loud, with no clipping!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best 15s for the money!" submitted August 2, 2018

By Michael Miller in StCloud, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10yrs guitar, 35 yes live sound! Audio all tiles!
Music Style: Metal, classic rock, and heavy rock!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: As advertised! And more, the pair will make your ears bleed! Can't say enough!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"No Clarity" submitted November 13, 2018

By Sheila Woodin in Gresham, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Live rock band
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: I bought this speaker to use as a main but it is terrible for vocals. Very muddy even when eq'ing it from the board. I waited about 2 months before writing this review to let it break in. I usually like Mackie products but this one falls short. Even though its 1300 watts my ev 12- 1000 watt blows it away. Therefore; I use it just to mic the drums and run the bass through it. Forget using it as a rehearsal speaker. it feeds back mids and bass even though the EQ's are down. The only thing I can think of is if it had an EQ on the speaker I could dial the highs in but it doesn't have an EQ just a dummy dsp for live and monitors. I am very dissappointed that this is supposed to be 1300 watts it sure don't sound like it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie loudspeaker don't do it!!" submitted October 3, 2017

By Paul Neyhart in Hazleton, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been an advid listener and music lover for 40 years!
Music Style: Rock, hip hop, jazz, any good music!
Back to Product Information
Overall: Mackie loudspeakers are fine if you like noise!! Not music!! There is no midrange or tone!! I want music not noise!! Does not provide smooth sound! Over priced!
4 of 35 people (11.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZR-8S28. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Domingo de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2018, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!