Mackie Thump15A Powered Speaker (1300 Watts, 1x15")

Mackie Thump15A Powered Speaker (1300 Watts, 1x15")

Meet the updated, upgraded 15" Mackie Thump! Modernized design, 1300 watts of power, and DSP from Mackie's SRM series make these PA speakers a superb value.

Overall User Ratings (based on 24 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(24)
Submitted October 23, 2017 by DJBWILL W in Crystal River , FL
"More power "
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I only did one gig with them and they pass the test. They have more power than the last thump. You can tell right away. Now let me tell you about the first and only review a head of this one. I don’t know what he’s talking about but it’s must be his mixer. You have 4 preset EQ on the speakers but you have to tune in on your mixer for the sound you want. I think there are great for the price and I have JBL’s and EV’s not as good as the JBL but for the price you can’t go wrong.
Musical Background:
20 years
Musical Style:
All
92 of 96 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2021 by a customer from live.com
"For the money"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My standard introductory precursor. Don't push them beyond the limits of their specific design criteria and they will serve you well. They're not an upper end EV, QSC or JBL so don't expect them to be. For the money, they're exceptional and do many things well. Best of all, they play hard with a reasonable degree of clarity. When I say reasonable I mean if you walked past them at a show you wouldn't have any complaints however compared to better speakers nothing jumps out at you and just grabs a hold of you. They can get a bit muddled in the mid bass region and mid-range which is critical for vocals but keep in mind 15-in woofers really aren't the best in those regions in terms of impulse response mid-range clarity or off axis response. Lower end polypropylene plastic enclosures also don't do the best job of controlling resonance so you've got to expect a loss of clarity. That's just going to be commensurate with the price point. It's designed to be bass heavy as a standalone but honestly some clever eq'ing along with a proper sub and a crossover point of 100 works quite nicely with these and frees them up to do a better job across the entire spectrum. Due to the prominent bass and fact that you can choose an EQ curve as one of the presets to exaggerate that even more, it makes a pretty good Kick drum monitor as well. As far as price to performance ratio goes I would have zero complaints. It will do everything a weekend musician needs it to do quite adequately. After auditioning and doing side by side comparisons, I do believe there are some other speakers in this price range that actually sound a bit better but I don't think any of those will play as hard as the Thump, When you consider anybody buying in this price range is looking for a compromise between sound pressure and clarity, I believe the thumb takes the win overall. It's money well spent.
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2018 by Nick L in Framingham, MA
"Well Done Mackie !"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The new Thumps definitely have more power and have the edge when you need to push them a little. Im some 10 gigs in with these and you cant beat the weight, power or sound with these but I use a Yamaha mixer and a Mackie mixer sometimes and they sound awesome. I know when I go into a room ive got the power ! Ive used them in hotel ballrooms without a sub up to 200 people. I bought the bags also, take care of your gear and it will take care of you ! Im 43 Years in Bands and Dj and in my 60s and appreciate the lightweight of these and the power. Hip hop, rock and house no problem. If you want the thump these are the ones !
Musical Background:
43 Years In Music !
Musical Style:
All styles dance, reggae, hip hop, world music
34 of 36 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2021 by Bryan M in Pomona, CA
"Great Speaker, Reasonable price!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Mackie Thump 15A was well recommended and it exceeded my expectations. Highs are crisp, the mids are full and the lows are deep! Considering this is a full range enclosure, I found the deepness of the lows on this was a real treat. All reviews and comments I found indicated that it has really good low end response. But listening to it live is a real treat.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Still going strong"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had these speakers about 3 to 4 years now and they still going strong. Did a lots of events with them. Some things I had to push them really hard. I tried to use them for small to midsize events/venues, about up to 100 people. The last I use them I really beat the hell out of them. I usually don’t do that but I was told it was a small venue and about 70 people. When got it was the total the opposite. If I had known,I would have Brought my Mackie DRM 15s or JBL srx815s. So I was little worried that I didn’t have enough power. They got a little harsh and I heard a little popping noises on heavy bass songs,so I had to dial back every now and then but I got thought it with both speakers not blown.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 22, 2020 by Lizete Tzib in Pontotoc, MS
"Excellent"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow so happy i bought these makie speakers wow couldn’t believe it sounds good. For the price not bad at all thanks zZounds i recommend these speakers
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
Mix. Spanish and English music
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2020 by Lizete Tzib in Pontotoc, MS
"Excellent"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow so happy i bought these makie speakers wow couldn’t believe it sounds good. For the price not bad at all thanks zZounds i recommend these speakers
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
Mix. Spanish and English music
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2018 by Jose Gastelum in Calexico, CA
"Mackie Thump 15"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this speaker for 2 main purposes: Use at home as a PA system speaker and for live situations as a Monitor/Loudspeaker. The Mackie thump 15 sounds amazing, it provides very clear sound from vocals, instruments and drums when mic'ed properly. I have used this speaker mainly with a mixer mic'ing an acoustic guitar, electric guitars and vocals and the sound it provides is as good as the one coming from the amps/guitars. It doesn't blend your sound in any way, you get what comes out of the mixer. The only reason I dont give a full 5* is because I dont like that it has "pre-set" eq, I would rather it to have basic 2-3 band EQ or even just a volume knob instead of that because if gives me the placebo feeling that my sound can be not better, but different in a way I could probably like. Anyway, when used with a mixer you can EQ to your taste. I have also used the speaker to play music from my computer and it sound very nice, lots of bass from this speaker.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for over 7 years, singer/songwriter.
Musical Style:
Rock/Blues/Alternative/Indie
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2021 by Ian Hall in Long Beach, CA
"I'M IMPRESSED"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My second pair of speakers that I bought from zZounds...these speakers hit hard and very easy to setup. I'm Grateful for zZounds.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2020 by Mark B in Vacaville, CA
"Thump 15a...."
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought a pair of Thump 15's for my sons wrestling room and all as I can say is wow! Having many years of home HiFi equipment experience, this was my first experience with PA speakers and this has me rethinking all the choices I have made over the years. Supper simple to set up. Great instruction manual. Sound is absolutely great!
Musical Style:
Classic Rock to Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2021 by Douglas L in Cleveland, OH
"Top Notch"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
1500 watts of pure clear sound, and the bass
Musical Background:
5 years djing professional , many more as a novice dj
Musical Style:
Old school genre's
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2021 by a customer from icloud.com
"Good speakers"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
I have these speakers and I think they are great for the price range
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2022 by a customer from gmail.com
"Jackie thump 15A"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought one in 2019 just before the covid pandemic closed our venues. Now things are starting to get better gigs are happening again, I purchased two more because they’re a great value! Although the cost
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2018 by steve keller in winnsboro, SC
"mackie thump 1300 watt"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
bought the used one it works fine . front light does'nt work but i'm good with that . have'nt had a chance to really turn it up yet . so i'll do another review later for that part. never had to use manufacturer support.
Musical Background:
playing for about 25 years i play guitar and keyboard mostly at home with friends
Musical Style:
christian rock blues
6 of 10 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 4, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"No."
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Was a Mackie Customer til I purchased a pair of these speakers. The first three gigs they sounded incredible, I didn’t even have to push them. Now the sound is flat and basic. No. Very disappointed and for that you lost a customer. $800 down the drain.
4 of 9 people (44%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2020 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Garbage"
Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
To keep it simple and to the point. Both speakers are done. 1 went out and the other went out about 2 months later (WITH THE SAME PROBLEM). If I had to guess, the amps are done and I only had them for around 6/7 months. That's what I get for trying to be cheap.
3 of 7 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2021 by Joseph Tabor in prescott, MI
"Awesomeness Big Bang for the buck"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve purchased one pre pandemic and gigged a lot, recently not so much…but I think the biggest bang for the buck! I’m purchasing two more in a couple of days…as the band is starting to pick up dates.
Musical Background:
Bassist/vocalist band TANJENT-rock band…
Musical Style:
Hard rock, rock, classic rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2018 by Michael Miller in StCloud, FL
"Best for entry level DJ on budget!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sound, head to head blows JBLs out of the water! Very loud, with no clipping!
Musical Background:
Guitar,10 yes!. Home picker!
Musical Style:
Metal,classic rock!
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2018 by Michael Miller in StCloud, FL
"Best 15s for the money!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As advertised! And more, the pair will make your ears bleed! Can't say enough!
Musical Background:
10yrs guitar, 35 yes live sound! Audio all tiles!
Musical Style:
Metal, classic rock, and heavy rock!
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"thumps"
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
do not buy them. if you are a rock band .they are not for rock bands. good for duets dj s .ect.... but suck for floor monitors and they are not 1300 watts of power B/S ITS ABOUT 250-300 WATTS
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2020 by eddie Banks in brookhaven, MS
"These speakers are not what they claim to be"
Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Mackie do not stand by there speaker this is nowhere near 1300 watts don't believe what on the box , not true don't be surprise u be replacing parts before 6 months or less
Musical Background:
33 yr
Musical Style:
hip hop
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 29, 2019 by Francisco T in Wilmington, DE
"Already Blown"
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought the speakers on July 29. Today is exactly 2 months since I bought them and they are both blown. I do not push any of my speakers hard so I’m having a hard time understanding why these Mackie Thump 15A’s Blew so easy.
Musical Background:
DJing since 1993
Musical Style:
All genres
1 of 6 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2018 by Sheila Woodin in Gresham, OR
"No Clarity"
Overall: 2 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this speaker to use as a main but it is terrible for vocals. Very muddy even when eq'ing it from the board. I waited about 2 months before writing this review to let it break in. I usually like Mackie products but this one falls short. Even though its 1300 watts my ev 12- 1000 watt blows it away. Therefore; I use it just to mic the drums and run the bass through it. Forget using it as a rehearsal speaker. it feeds back mids and bass even though the EQ's are down. The only thing I can think of is if it had an EQ on the speaker I could dial the highs in but it doesn't have an EQ just a dummy dsp for live and monitors. I am very dissappointed that this is supposed to be 1300 watts it sure don't sound like it
Musical Style:
Live rock band
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 3, 2017 by Paul Neyhart in Hazleton, PA
"Mackie loudspeaker don't do it!!"
Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
Mackie loudspeakers are fine if you like noise!! Not music!! There is no midrange or tone!! I want music not noise!! Does not provide smooth sound! Over priced!
Musical Background:
I have been an advid listener and music lover for 40 years!
Musical Style:
Rock, hip hop, jazz, any good music!
7 of 41 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.