Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Mackie SRM150 Compact Active PA System
ONLY 3 LEFT

Mackie SRM150 Compact Active PA System

Versatile and mic stand-mountable, this 150-watt Mackie PA system brings together a 3-channel mixer and active loudspeaker in one ultra-compact enclosure.

Overall User Ratings (based on 34 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(34)
Submitted October 15, 2008 by a customer from msn.com
"Best Mackie quality does it again! An outstanding product for the money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guy is rock solid and will last. Buy one won't be disappointed.
Sound
I was quite surprised when I heard this small unit. The only thing that would have made it sweeter is if it had a built in effects unit. The sound was studio-quality clear, very nice bottom end and clear mids and highs. I used this for a single act at a party of 50 and I was asked to turn down! I pumped backing tracks, vocals, and an acoustic through this little guy
Features
Few controls but they're effective. I really loved the sound, sorry I returned it. Now I have to order another one!
Ease of Use
The controls are perfectly set for performance and clarity. Not too many buttons and levels to screw up!
Quality
THE BEST QUALITY! Couldn't believe how well made it is.
Value
Would have been nicer if this was 100 less, or at least had a digial effects unit in it.
Manufacturer Support
Mackie. Nuff said.
The Wow Factor
I returned this and now I wish I kept it. Now I have to go buy it again!
Musical Background:
Active musician, weekend single act
Musical Style:
80's, Eagles, acoustic style light jazz
50 of 52 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2008 by a customer from verizon.net
"AMAZING SMALL PA. EXCELLENT SOUND"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had a few PA systems. Large, medium and smaller. Any more I am into small and light weight. But my interest is solo to small acoustic combos. More interested in sound quality than blowing the place away with volume.
Sound
I think the sound quality is very good. Amazing for such a small speaker. It reproduces exactly what you put into it. It is completely dry of any effects. I purchased a Behringer 1002FX small mixer with effects with it. Together it is a winning package. Here is how I have used it so far. With a small acoustic blues trio. Two guitars and one harmonica and vocals. I placed a studio type condenser mic in front of us to pick up all of us at once. I also used it solo the same whereas I play an acoustic guitar and vocals. It is quite impressive. You almost wonder if its picking up anything at all it is so transparent. Next time I ran just vocal mics through it and used amps for the guitars etc. I was outside of the room while one person was singing and was amazed how nice it sounded and loud. Again get an inexpensive small mixer that has effects. With the combination I got there is no hiss or noise. It is dead quiet. I placed the unit on a tripod stand without the boom of course. It will feed back as anything will depending on where you place it. I will try placing it on a chair in the corner next time also. Have to say I am really impressed with this unit overall.
Features
It has enough features for what it is. If you want effects get a small mixer that has effects to go with it. The nice thing about that is you can set the mixer near you and control the amount of effects and volumes easily and make adjustments for each song and person on the fly.
Ease of Use
Plug it in and go.
Quality
I read here some were not happy with it. I hope I don't have any issues with it. I love it.
Value
I have had the Roland Street Cube. Mobile Cube. Both are nice if you don't have electricity. But this thing is a real sound system.
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Blues
37 of 39 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 12, 2014 by Mike P in Corbin, KY
"Great product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I use this portable P.A. for teaching firefighter classes. Venues vary from small to large classrooms. No problem with this small unit to reach all the students even in the back of the room with no distortion!! At about 7lbs., it is light enough to carry everywhere. I replaced a Logitech 30 watt 3 piece speaker set with this, wish I had done it a few years ago.Only thing I would change is the case to be built around the control knobs, Not much protection for being portable. Overall... Great product!!!!!
Musical Background:
53 years. Guitar, Bass, Piano\organ, Drums
Musical Style:
Rock, Southern Rock, Country, Blues, Bluegrass, Gospel
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2017 by Gabe S in Wasilla, AK
"SRM 150"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have only had 1 chance to use this in a live setting but must say, this thing exceeds my expectations so far! We play in a fairly loud rock cover band, and i purchased this unit to help reduce my gear load by replacing my 15" wedge monitors. So far, this has not only kept up with clarity and volume capability, but it sounds better, and actually reduces stage volume by being on a mic stand, it can sit closer to the singers, thus not needing to be as loud! these units have so far exceeded any and all expectations i had for it. I look forward to purchasing more of these units as I can afford to. and this would have been my only complaint, is the price is a little steep, but considering what they do for my sound and my back, im thinking maybe they hit the nail on the head with the price too....would have put 0 stars for manufacturer support but that wasnt an option, just never had to use mackie support, ever.....
Musical Background:
I have been playing music for a long time, and bass guitar primarily for 17yrs. been doing sound for my bands the entire time.
Musical Style:
Rock primarily, we have a 4 piece cover band, 4 piece original project and a 3 piece acoustic group. We play everything from fle
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2009 by a customer from aol.com
"A potentially great product that is poorly put together with no quality control."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound on the unit is really very good, especially considering the size. I have two of them and use them as a stereo pair for my keyboards. The bass gets a tad muddy if you push it but the sound is good overall.
Features
Very nice features. Considering its size, it has three band EQ plus phantom power and even a fuse and various ways to sculpt sound.
Ease of Use
Very, very easy to use.
Quality
I have seldom had such problems with anything I have bought new. On the first, the speaker was not soldered properly and I had to wait for the warranty repair as it made no sound. Just yesterday, the power light stopped working on the new one I bought. For this reason, I would hardly recommend the units.
Value
If it was manufactured with satisfactory components, it would be well worth it. I think that either the quality control team is drunk, stoned or just out of it completely.
Manufacturer Support
The two weeks I waited for the first to be fixed makes me dread bringing in this new one.
The Wow Factor
Who wants units that break this easily and this quickly. Kind of pathetic.
Musical Background:
Musician for almost fouty years
Musical Style:
pop/rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2011 by a customer from shaw.ca
"Too many reliability and design issues"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Although I could live with the poor design of the boom adaptor ( I could rig something up to work better), the fact it failed electronically after a few months is not acceptable.
Sound
I found the sound of this unit to be very good and very adjustable frequency wise. When it was working properly I never had a problem getting good volume and tone from it, regardless of the venue. I never ran out of headroom to get it loud enough although the stage volume of the band I play in is not overly loud - even though it's and 8 piece band with a horn section.
Features
I used this on stage strictly as my own 'more me' vocal monitor. In that respect the best feature was the ability to control the volume and EQ of it's speaker output. At home I plugged in my Fender Strat and used it as a convenient home amp to learn parts from recordings. Didn't have to adjust anything - plug and play. Not a good 'guitar' sounding amp but not what I bought it for so worked fine for me.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use - volume 'trim' controls output to PA, master volume controls output to it's speaker (you), 3 tone controls for EQ'ing. Doesn't get easier. Additional buttons for mic/line level, phantom power (if required) and instrument/mic.
Quality
This is where the product doesn't cut it. The small boom adaptor that comes with the product and is meant for attaching a mic stand boom to is woefully inadequate. The first time I used it I almost stripped the threads. From then on I was ultra careful fastening the boom stand to it and after a short amount of use the base that the boom adaptor screws into came loose and started to strip the internal 'locking' mechanism. I use a pair of vise grips and a towel to tighten and loosen the unit to get it to stay properly on my mic stand boom and still both thumbscrew nuts are now stripped. Worst of all 1 channel stopped working after about 4 months and now the 2nd channel has become intermittant!! This is not at all what I expected from Mackie and I will be returning the unit.
Value
Not worth it for the faults mentioned under Quality.
Manufacturer Support
Have not yet contacted support
The Wow Factor
When it was working it was the best thing since sliced bread and I raved about it to everyone. That was before the other issues cropped up. If they fixed the boom attachment and the reliability issues I would definitely want it again.
Musical Background:
Professional guitarist for 40+ years.
Musical Style:
R & B, rock, celtic, blues
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 2, 2016 by Andre de Saint Phalle in Johnson, VT
"Perfect practice PA"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am using this in my living room for songwriting with a looper. I have to dime the volume, but the vocals are clear and crisp.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2015 by Daniel S in Wilmington , NC
"Great sound but questionable build quality"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've used the SRM 150 for probably 6 or 7 gigs over the last 3.5 weeks, and it did great until last night. During setup and sound check it started to show smoke coming out of the front! I immediately unplugged it. To zZounds credit, they are issuing me a return slip via email and claim it should happen quickly. Once it's got a tracking code back to zZounds they'll send me a new one (I could've gotten my money back but I want to try another and see how it goes). Feature and sound wise, they designed a good little micro PA. I'll update the review when I get the replacement and test its reliability
Musical Background:
Playing for 35 years, gigging several times per month. Guitar, bass
Musical Style:
Rock, bluegrass, country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2007 by a customer from netscape.com
"Great Sound Quality, Could Use Better Quality Adapters and features"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall the Mackie SRM150 Compact Active PA System is exactly what the musician who wants to take up a small footprint and have quality sound. However, the mic stand attachments gave me some real problems I hope Mackie will correct in future models. The adaptors for the mic and boom stand are flimsy and the threads stripped out my first gig with it leaving my mic flopping around. Once I attached the boom the weight was too heavy for the adaptor. I appreciate the phantom power, 3 quality channels and transparent sound, but now I just set the speaker on a stool or single mic stand. This means I carry two stands now. Not something I wanted to do when I bought the SRM150. Also the phantom power indicator light wigged out after a week and now stays on regardless. I play the native American flute, sing, guitar and hang drum and use mostly a large diaphragm condenser mic.
Sound
The sound of this PA is the best feature. I was worried about the limited Freq. response but have not been disappointed. It does tend to feed back if you have it on a boom stand though. I use it with a large diaphragm condenser mic. The bass gets a little honky sounding if you try too much low information. A effects patch or something would have been helpful.
Features
The stand adapters are really poor quality. My boom stand actually fell on my Hang drum from the imbalance. The top adapter stripped out the first gig. The bottom adapter for the stand bends too much.
Ease of Use
Overall it is easy to use.
Quality
It feels like soft cheap plastic. I like the lightweight. It is so much easier than lugging around my other systems. but the stand adapters are just disappointingly cheaply built. I really hope Mackie does a better job on future models.
Value
I'm sorry to say, as a loyal Mackie customer, that the cheap stand adapters that went out on my first gig do not match the price tag. Also, I had to wait like 4 months to get this.
Manufacturer Support
I don't know.
The Wow Factor
It really looks and feels like a toy. The quietness, transparent sound are its strongest features as well as the 3 Channel and phantom power.
Musical Background:
Professional Performing Musician
Musical Style:
Acoustic
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Defective products."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would never by anouther one.
Sound
I have had 3 of these. Each one failed in a different way and had to be sent back. The 3rd one just lost channel 1 and Mackie is giving me a hassle when I said I want some other product or my money back. These SRM 150s are defective,badly designed products. I would steer clear of them till Mackie makes them as bullet proff as there other products. I own several other Mackie products and have not had trouble with them. I am dissapointed that they would leave me holding the bag like this.No more Mackie products for me till this is settled.
Features
If you put this product on the mike stand as directed it can fall over easily. ( Top Heavy)
Ease of Use
No problem till the electronics fail.
Quality
Very poor quality!
Value
No.I was a great Idea ,but your money is better spent else where.
Manufacturer Support
It looks like the are going to leave me holding the bag so to speak.
The Wow Factor
The idea is great ,but it doesn't work.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Folk
15 of 19 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2012 by steve G in Kula, HI
"good product!"
While the SRM150 doesn't have the tone of a larger monitor, like a 10" or 15" speaker, it delivers a lot of punch for such a small box.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Hoping the next SRM150 will work out of the box"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll give it one more chance
Sound
Sound quality was terrible. It would break up at half volume and would cut out completly. I'm hoping it was just a bad apple so it's going back after 20 minutes of use.
Features
For some reason the power cord it came with was for a 220V outlet.... So I had to go buy one from Frys to at least test the damn thing. ZZsounds said they would credit me back the $7 I had to pay for the dord
Ease of Use
Defective, so no opinion until I get a replacement
Quality
As of now it gets a 1
Value
In all honesty the TC Helicon 300V was my first choice, but it looks like these things are back-ordered until the Fall
Manufacturer Support
No opinion, ZZsounds is handling the situation
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 12, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
Mackie SRM150 PA System Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I think this product is outstanding, would definately recommend, i get people telling me how impressed they are with this pa. Speaker. I thought it left my bose $1,100.00 accustic cd radio in the dust! So I replaced it with this mackie pa speaker , I use it for mp3 music,keyboard, congas and kareoke singing.
Features
Yes
Musical Style:
Keyboard
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 12, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
Mackie SRM150 PA System Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I think this product is outstanding, would definately recommend, i get people telling me how impressed they are with this pa. Speaker. I thought it left my bose $1,100.00 accustic cd radio in the dust! So I replaced it with this mackie pa speaker , I use it for mp3 music,keyboard, congas and kareoke singing.
Features
Yes
Musical Style:
Keyboard
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2008
"A gem...wouldn't gig without it!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
For the size of this little gem, I would say it couldn't get any better. I use to lug around the SRM450 as an active montir at my gigs, but this little guy hangs in there like a champ and it weighs practically nothing compared to the big speaker. I also use it for rehearsals with my band and it takes no time at all to set it and break it down.
Features
Okay...so the mic stand adapter was no problem for me when used as directed. I found that if you use it on a pole with an iron base, it is sturdy enough. I even tried the adapter on a mini-mic stand like you use for a kick drum, but it did need some cushion behind it in case it tipped. But with time, I found that if I put in on a homemade wedge type stand, on the floor, facing up at me, it is just perfect. My whole band now uses this one monitor for the whole stage. It's all about the user and how you adapt to it!
Ease of Use
No built in reverb, but I don't use this item by itself. I daisy-chain it from my main speakers and that send is already processed through the mixer board. Having its own EQ on board, I can adjust the sound of this little monitor to cut through the rest of the sound on stage and give me a good level.
Quality
I find this SRM150 to be made with the same plastic cabinet/controls/knobs/metal screen as the large SRM450 speakers, and they are my favorite. It is super light weight and travels like a champ. Seriously...other musicians want to know all about it and are thinking of getting their own.
Value
Wouldn't look for another product because I don't need to. This I would buy again.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had any trouble with this product, but I do own other Mackie items that required support. I have had no trouble getting authorized factory service under warranty for those items and never paid a cent. It was fast and easy.
The Wow Factor
Like I said...other musicians are jeaulos of my little SRM150 gem. I've even loaned it out to my favorite musicians and got great feedback.
Musical Background:
Professional vocalist/band leader for 10 yrs.
Musical Style:
Blues, Jazz, Jump, Swing
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2007
"Small box, big sound, ultra portable."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There is nothing on the market that matches it's design and features.
Sound
Don't let it's size fool you. This box puts out the power and is perfectly suited to a small to medium size room. Mid to high range instruments are best with it's 5" driver.
Features
The SRM150 has no built-in effects which I beleive is to be expected in a device of this type. To solve this problem, I attached a PicoVerb. Also, there is no way to connect an external passive speaker.
Ease of Use
No graphic EQ... Oh well.
Quality
Well built in all respects
Value
A little pricey considering comments mention above.
Manufacturer Support
No comment.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Jazz
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us