Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
LR Baggs Para Acoustic D.I. Acoustic Guitar Preamp

LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI Acoustic Guitar Preamp

Plug into a top-quality DI/preamp! This direct box features 3-band EQ with sweepable mid and notch filter, FX loop, phase reverse, and XLR and 1/4-inch outs.

Overall User Ratings (based on 61 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(61)
Submitted January 20, 2006 by a customer from monkeystack.com
"Great sound, good features"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm actually at this site because I'm buying another one so I can have multiple instruments plugged in simultaneously.
Sound
I've recorded and played many different venues with this. EQ features help with feedback at loud clubs. For general amplification or 2nd signal in recording, it sounds great setting all the nobs to center. I've had a lot of good feedback from soundguys saying this DI sounded much better than any other acoustic guitar/mandolin they've had. I use it coupled with McIntyre Acoustic Feather.
Features
Top features - xlr or 1/4 inch output - EQ with sweep on two bands - power - utilizes phantom power - easy to access battery for on-the-fly changes - clear indication when its about to die
Quality
I've never had a problem with mine. And the battery lasts for a long time. I have one friend whose gone through 2 in less than a year - they just keep dying on him...
Value
Its a little high priced. But its versatility and sound make it well worth it
Manufacturer Support
NA
The Wow Factor
Its brown. The acoustic 'earthy' people like brown, right?
Musical Background:
Gigging Musician
Musical Style:
Country, etc...
31 of 33 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 10, 2010 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Stop shopping and place your order!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I do not plan to replace this product unless it is lost, stolen or otherwise damaged beyond repair. If I had to replace it today, I would buy another one.
Sound
The LR Baggs Preamp is transparent while allowing you to make subtle changes to your tone as may be required by the situation. The EQ is clean and accurate and the balanced direct out does not color the tone. I generally use microphones on acoustic guitars in a studio setting, however, this piece provides an accurate signal worthy of your next project.
Features
This is a well thought out piece of equipment with no unusable features. It's assembled with quality components, powered by your mixers phantom power or a 9V battery. I've owned other Preamps and compared features before I purchased this one. I think you'll find that this one offers exceptional value.
Ease of Use
Plug & Play!
Quality
Bulletproof!
Value
Again, this is the best value I have found.
Manufacturer Support
LR Baggs offers excellent factory customer support.
The Wow Factor
There is no "sex appeal." It's a brown box!
Musical Background:
music director, professional musician, sound contractor
Musical Style:
adult contemporary, contemporary christian
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2004 by a customer from marysden.com
"a must for acoustic musicians"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got my first para D I 4 years ago and have now bought a couple more for other musicians in my bands. I expect to keep using them indeffinately.
Sound
Great DI. A must for anyone with an acoustic. Built very solid. The eq is really nice for getting your sound the way you want it.
Features
Good features: Phantom power, so no need for batteries, but you still have that option if you need it, The feedback notch control is very helpful and practical as well.
Musical Style:
Roots Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Awesome Preamp!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
The LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI is an awesome preamp for electro-acoustic instruments, and comes with so many valuable features! Since early 2004 I've used it in conjunction with a McSpadden SH12KK Custom mountain dulcimer with custom LR Baggs piezo bridge pickup, and the LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI makes it play like a dream! The most useful features for me have been the equilizer, gain control, volume control, effects loop, and its dual output of both a 1/4" and an XLR jack. I've played in venues where I'm lucky if someone knows how to turn on the sound system, let alone operate it; so the advantage of having so much personal control over my sound through this gem of a product is wonderful! Some house systems I've played through have had a horrible buzzing sound, but simply pressing the reverse polarity button on the LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI has been the quickest and easiest remedy! This unit can run on phantom power through the XLR, although I prefer to use 9-volt batteries in it. Battery life in this preamp is quite long, as it doesn't use much power while it's operating (less than 3mA!). The discrete pure class A field effect transistor input gives the very best sound possible and virtually no noise. If you play any electro-acoustic instruments, be sure to pick up this awesome product! It's well-worth the investment, gives you more control, and improves your sound!
Musical Background:
Active Musician & Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Classical, Bluegrass, Punk, Weird Stuff
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great D.I. but sometimes a pain for sound techs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are great D.I. Boxes. I've worked with many of them as a sound tech. Though the only complaint I would have is that as a sound tech if you have a band that doesn't use phantom power and then switch to a band that uses these with phantom power it can be a pain the have to shut down the sound system just to turn these on. It can really slow down a show. They do help put out a great sound though.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2005 by a customer from excite.com
"Learn to use it and you won't be sorry"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not looking for another product. Don't need one.
Sound
I play several different instruments. A Taylor 514CE, which has a factory installed pre-amp, an Aspen Dreadnaught with an LR Baggs active iBeam, and a Yamaha classical with an LR Baggs active iBeam. The trick to this little wonder is understanding how to use it. If you have never used a device like this, know that gain and volume aren't the same thing! Learn the diff...read the manual. Also, take some time to figure out how the notch works. My classical has so much resonance that it feeds back easily, but the notch control is able to zero in and remove it. I do a lot of fingerstyle and classical picking at various places that have their own PA. It also works great with my Fender Acoustasonic SFX. I use it every Sunday morning for leading worship. The mixer board EQ is set flat, and I just run straight from the XLR into the snake. I usually change the battery every Christmas, but I haven't really needed to.
Features
Most useful features are the notch and the XLR D.I. output
Quality
This baby is tough! It's been dropped a few times and it hangs in there!!
Value
I think the price is right on this compared to other devices I've played through.
Manufacturer Support
Have never had to contact the company.
The Wow Factor
This is not a sex appeal item...what kind of questionairre is this. This is about MUSIC!!!
Musical Background:
Worship Leader, active musician, hobbyist, teacher
Musical Style:
Fingerstyles...blues, rock, country. Worship...contemporary
28 of 29 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2007
LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI Customer Review
Sound
I use the DI with two acoustic guitars and 2 M1 passive Baggs soundhole pickups. After years of struggling at gigs with lousy sound systems and problems of all kinds I finally feel I have consistent quality and control. It's a very good unit and combo with the pickups. Wish I had done all this earlier!
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 10, 2006
"I shouldn't have believed the good reviews . . ."
Sound
I bought this DI looking for a better sound for my acoustic guitar. To be very honest I was disappointed. I tried three different acoustic guitars, and it made everyone sound worse. You know that 'too mid rangey but low end muddy' sound? Yup. But it has a parametric EQ you say? I know, I don't get it either. It actually fed back more than before.I plugged my passive DI back in -- and it was night and day better (and it's the sound I'm trying to improve on). So I am going to continue my search by buying a Countryman DI. But will it sound good? I'll just have to see. (Sorry for the negative aadvertising LR Baggs.)
Features
Sure it has lots of features. That was the selling point for me. But what good are features that don't give you the sound advertised. Maybe the features would make a cheap guitar sound good, but I'm looking for a pro sound.
Ease of Use
Plug in, tweak for a bit and play. But to get that quality sound? Three hours and three guitars later . . . not so easy.
Quality
It appears well made.
Value
Sorry LR Baggs, I read all the testimonials and have to question what everyone thinks is a quality sound. For the money . . . not so valuable.
Manufacturer Support
I can't tell you about customer support, I have no experience with them.
The Wow Factor
I'm returning my as soon as I get return authorization.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian
4 of 12 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 18, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Good stuff. Definitely works as advertised."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Short of a modeler, this unit has great flexibility. I have more output than I know what to do with.
Features
Perfect feedback elimination between the inversion and the notch. The EQ settings give great flexibility in shaping the sound.
Quality
Everything looks great. It seems to work as advertised.
The Wow Factor
It's not sexy, but it works great. Good stuff and easy to use.
Musical Background:
church
Musical Style:
rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to