Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
LR Baggs M1 Acoustic Guitar Pickup

LR Baggs M1 Acoustic Guitar Pickup

Easily get that superior live sound with this acoustic guitar pickup. It operates passively and produces clear, rich tones resistant to feedback.

Overall User Ratings (based on 33 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(33)
Submitted November 7, 2013 by John Castello in Utica, NY
"LR BAGGS AWESOME"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First let me say this: Thank you ZZOUNDS for having a 4pay 8pay and 12 pay. I have spent a lot of money with you instead of the other competition. Okay this pickup by LR Baggs is great. People like Jeff Tweedy uses it. It's a great pickup on my Pre-Gibson made in Canada Garrison G20. The Garrison is a great guitar. So great that Gibson bought them out. Nuff said. If you have a great guitar or a no so great guitar the LR Baggs takes your acoustic sound and enables it to go through a PA sounding like it does acoustically. This pickup does not color the sound...it transmits it almost perfectly without needing a Feedback Buster in your sound hole. Feedback Busters ruin your sound. I don't know why people use them. Don't by under the saddle pickups, because if you do you will need a Feedback Buster...spend the extra cash on this baby. It's a GEM.
Musical Background:
35 years baby! And loving every minute of it.
Musical Style:
POP MUSIC/SINGERSONGWRITER
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2005 by a customer from comcast.net
"Quick! Find The "Add To Cart" Button!"
Its Just A Really Good Pickup. Its Easily Installed, Fairly Priced, And Sounds Awesome. Definitely A Must Buy For Your Acoustic If Your Planning On Making It Loud.
Sound
You Buy A Pickup For The Sound. This Pickup Sounds Amazing, Not Only On Larger Amps (100+Watts) But On My Fender 25R 25Watt As Well. It Handles Distortion, Eq, Reverb, And Effects Without A Problem. The Polepieces Can Be Adjusted For Higher Output, Too.
Quality
When I First Took The Pickup Out Of The Box, I Noticed It Was Really Deep And Heavy, But Also Really Solid And Sturdy. Its Solid Design Will Probably Last Longer Than Your Guitar.
Value
Although More Expensive Than Some Other Pickups, The Quality Is Un-Paralleled, So The Pickup Is Truly Worth The Money. It Can Easily Be Compared In Sound Quality And Design To Pickups Costing Double Its Price.
Musical Background:
In A Local Band
Musical Style:
Indie, Garage Rock, Noise Rock
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"A Real Winner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This pickup sounds amazing. On top of that, I was able to install it with the existing electronics on my acoustic in about ten minutes. I wish everything was this easy.
Features
The way this pickup sounds is it's best feature. The next best part is that it is fairly easy to install.
Quality
So far so good.
Value
I felt that the price was very reasonable. I make a lot of gear purchases and this was one of those rare all upside no downside kind of purchases.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it.
Musical Background:
Band Leader
Musical Style:
Indie Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2007 by a customer from landmarksurveying.net
LR Baggs M1 Guitar Pickup Customer Review
Awsome, if you gots a good guitar and need a pickup, get one.
Sound
This pickup is awsome, it was recommended to me by a Taylor dealer as I didnt want anything permanent in my Taylor 710.
Features
Only a volume knob, run thru a PA it delivers sparkling highs and you her the beautiful bass of this guitar without muddiness or blurring.
Ease of Use
So easy to install, removed the factory end pin and it slips right in!! Took 10 minutes at most.
Quality
A very well made item, I really love ther somewhat "retro" bone color, and it does not look dorky like many soundholes do.
Value
Hey, it ain't cheap, but a guitar in this category need the optimum pickup, why play a $2500 guitar and compromise on the pickup. I'm going from playing out on my trusty Cedar top Seagull and LR Baggs built in pickup to this Taylor jewell!! First time I busted it out at open mic nite, you could hear the "oohhhs", it was cool. Then the sound came out, wow!!!!!!!!!
Manufacturer Support
Didn't need
Musical Background:
Open Mic player, no time for full-time, play 3-4 times out a week for fun!!
Musical Style:
Alt-country acoustic stuff
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2005 by a customer from adelphia.net
"been playing 30 years and this is the best acoustic pick up you can buy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
you really need a di box with this one but you dont have to drill into a great acoustic i use the m1 active on my medium priced acoustics
Sound
natural and clear
Features
easily removable and easy to install
Value
a little pricey but worth it
Manufacturer Support
havent needed it
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
recording acoustic
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 28, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great acoustic pickup!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Great acoustic guitar pickup. Reproduces overall characteristic of the guitar better than any acoustic pickup I've used. Not quite as good as a mic, but about the best you can get for a gigging, loud rock band.
Features
The no solder end pin jack makes installation a snap.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use. Some drilling required to fit in the end pin jack, but that is to be expected. Pair it with a good pre-amp and you're set.
Manufacturer Support
Unknown, have not dealt with the company's service department.
Musical Background:
Active musician, recording engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, Folk, Indie
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great...for a magnetic pickup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I miss the quick attack of the undersaddle pickup. So I may go back to it and use a Fishman Aura enhancer with it.
Sound
More natural sounding than the last magnetic acoustic guitar pickup I used. Definitely a nice change from the undersaddle pickup harsh "quack". I did miss the quick response and attack of the undersaddle, though.
Features
Adjustable polepieces, very important.
Ease of Use
Pretty easy to install. Loosening the clamps to install it was a bit tricky.
Quality
Musical Background:
pro guitar player since 1977
Musical Style:
variety
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2012 by Mikael REALE in OROVILLE, WA
"LR BAGGS ... WHAT ELSE ?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Some Mic just don't need any thing else, for me; the M 1 is one of them. I mount it on my GIBSON J 50 (1972) and it's like a dream. It's basic, easy to use and to install, don't really need a preamp so I do not use the one I had yet ...
Musical Background:
Guitar Song writing Praise and Worship
Musical Style:
Christian pop rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 6, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
LR Baggs M1 Guitar Pickup Customer Review
ist great
Sound
i honestly am amazed at how well this pick up sounds. i also have the PARA ACOUSTIC DI which i think helps balance the pick up out. but i honestly am amazed.
Features
you really dont have any control over anything unless you have a good DI or someone good on the sound board.
Quality
i love LR BAGGS stuff.
Value
its steep in price but great in sound
Manufacturer Support
havent needed it.
The Wow Factor
i love it
Musical Background:
worship leader
Musical Style:
rock/alternative/acoustic
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2012 by a customer from yahoo.com
"LR Baggs M1 Acoustic Guitar Pickup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I read a lot of reviews and forums before I bought this. I'm delighted with this pickup. My guitar sounds like my guitar - not some morphed version of my guitar. I put it in an OM and it is wonderful. I did not get the active version. From what I'm hearing I don't think you need it. Of course, I play solo, so maybe in a band you might need that battery for extra drive?
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Read the Instruction Document BEFORE you make the Purchase Unless You Are REALly Sure this is what you need."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Until it or I am no longer making music. Choices often require taking chances and risks to meet my goals. I couldn't find anything better to make what I wanted to do work. That may not be good advice, but I would not have returned it if I could not have installed it on this guitar. I have others, but I do not think that there is a better device that I cold have replaced it with, even if it had been easier
Sound
Frankly I am amazed at how well it works without actually sounding like it is even there. I ahve been an "Acoustic, non-electric" guitar player for over 40 years. I actually purchased it so I could use the "Digitech Live Vocalist 3." The Pickup makes my guitar sound as though it were in front of a microphone as it has for 40 years, not an electronic amplifier. I will rate the "Live Vocalist 3" separately
Features
It comes with a "Jackstrap Feed Through Adapter" some replacement pickup elements, a hex wrench, and wire tabs. However, you will need a small phillips screwdriver, jeweler's is ideal, to actually install the pick up. It also comes with a 10' cable with 1/4" plug. There is a retaining notch on the bottom of the pickup that acts as a 'strain relief' for the cord. I had to use my brain before I found it
Ease of Use
I rated it a "10" because it is a breeze to install. HOWEVER...the instruction booklet, which I recommend you read, clearly states that it is for a guitar with a WIDER THAN 3.5" Sound Hole! That is EXACTLY what the Manufacturer means. I took a chance and traded "quality of sound" for "Ease of Installation." It took me longer than I will say here to install it. That was my choice. If you do not have patience or very small hands...DON'T BUY IT. However, once I installed it, without destroying anything or taking my guitar apart...did have to change strings...but htat is recommended anyway; it was worth every unkind thought I had concerning my decision.
Quality
Solid, barss screws with brass inserts in the non-metallic hold-down. The housing looks like ivory on the face and it is not-just-cheap-plastic on the body. Other than checking once in a while for loose screws, it is more solidly built than I imagined.
Value
Spot on. IT is not cheap, but neither is my Martin Guitar. Sorry Martin Mainiacs. I've owned mine since 1959 and just had to step up. Most of my group members have died or deserted, and I needed the backup.
Manufacturer Support
DOn't think I will need it. I might have needed a Zanax during installation, but like I said, it was MY choice
The Wow Factor
Got it! A tight fit, but the music soothed the chafed ego.
Musical Background:
40+ years with guitar, banjo, haronica
Musical Style:
Bluegrass, Gospel, Finger Pickin Good
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2009
"I own it and never regretted buying it -- neither would you!"
I've had it for several years and still love it. It's been through a lot and still looks and performs like brand new.
Sound
Matched with the Baggs Para DI it's very good. If you must plug in, this is a good solution.
Features
I don't like batteries, blenders, volume knobs, etc. So, the ease of use of this pickup are excellent for me. The adjustable poles are nice, I did do a bit of that. The included cables are high quality and work well.
Ease of Use
About as straightforward is it could possibly be. Don't you always appreciate a smart design? Yeah, me too. So you'll appreciate the M1.
Quality
Looks excellent. Feels excellent. Sounds fantastic. Construction seems to be a very high quality.
Value
Sometimes you regret a purchase or think twice about the money spent. I never felt that way about the M1. It's truly an excellent value.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to use.
The Wow Factor
Style and sizzle is subjective, but, to me, it has tremendous appeal. When I talk to players, they all seem to know about it and I've had more than one ask to borrow it. Nah... don't think so.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
A bit of everything... mostly folk, rock, alternative, country...
21 of 23 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2005
"Good Product"
A good overall product.
Sound
It is probabely one of the best MAGNETIC pickups out there.
Features
Adjustable pickup censors work well.
Quality
Made very well. It has a tension breaker on the pickup for the chord so in case you step on it it doesn't take a chunk out of your sound hole.
Value
Like I said, one of the best magnetic pickups out there.
Manufacturer Support
Lr Baggs has THE BEST support.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us