Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Laney CUB10 Guitar Combo Amplifier (10 Watts, 1x10")

Laney CUB10 Guitar Combo Amplifier (10 Watts, 1x10")

Get clear, natural guitar tones or gainy vintage tones with this 10 watt combo amp. The preamp features tone, volume, and gain control.

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(15)
Submitted December 14, 2014 by Andrew Moxom in Woodbury, MN
"Laney Cub 10"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The cub 10 is a total sleeper amp. The stock HH speaker is a little thin, but swap it out for a Jensen Mod 10-70 and this thing will open up and surprise you with its ability to growl. Pure 6v6 clean tone, crunch, and hairiness all in one small simple package. Takes pedals well, and plugging in a cabinet takes this tone machine to an even better level.... The lack of metal corners, (these are black plastic) will not stand up to any abuse. The power light flickers a little... But overall I am happy with this purchase, its light, portable, and can really rip.
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock blues
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2017 by Lawrence B in Woodville, TX
"Clean tube tone on a budget? This is it."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been looking for a single channel, clean, tube, amp head capable of Fender-esque clean tones in the under $500 range for a couple of years now. I mainly had my eye on one of the Tube Screamer heads, then I noticed this hidden gem. I'm sure many of you have read some of the same gear forum posts about this amp that I have, and so far, this amp has lived up to the claims. I have not yet switched out any tubes or the speaker, so my review is for the amp as it comes stock. I have owned many 1X10 combos over the last couple of decades, and none of them sounded as big as this amp. I took this amp to my friend's practice space and set it up on top of a half stack I have there, and when I started playing, my buddy thought that I had it plugged into the 4X12 cabinet,... no joke. I bought it with the intention of mainly using it as a head, but have enjoyed it so much as it is, that I haven't even bothered to plug it into a cabinet yet. It's not perfect though, or especially versatile. It just does the one thing, clean tube tone, but it does it fairly well, and very cheap. I'm not going to go through the specifics because they have been gone over WELL by other people, I will only say that the general online consensus regarding this amp seems to be one of the rare instances where something actually lives up to the hype. Recommended.
Musical Background:
25+ years guitar
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2019 by Tim A
"Love mine! A real keeper"
A wonderful little combo for clean sounds at home. Try one before you blow big bucks. I think it may be just what you are looking for especially if you use pedals. See my comments about the speaker.....
Sound
Great cleans. Different to my Bassbreaker 15 combo and on many ways better. It has a very honest and forward clean sound. When you up the gain it's less good so I tend to use pedals. Since I got the Bassbreaker it gets all the driven work. Also as it hasn't a loop or built-in reverb really it's best to use a drive before reverb. In summary what it does well it does really well but has limitations. At the time a vox valvetronix 30 was my amp. The Laney just blew it away for sound. It was much clearer and louder too.
Features
Features are few. High/low inputs (I always use the low), volume, gain and tone controls. The tone is just a treble cut and I use it fully up - certainly with humbuckers. The speaker out socket makes it flexible for rehearsal or even gig volumes I guess. Speaker out gives lots of possibilities. I have even put it through bass cabs just for a change of tone. I like the Celestion speaker which I was blaming for the amps poor break-up sounds however I did a mod so I can put my bassbreaker through it and it sounds awesome! Sounds great for recording both clean a and heavy ish gain. Much better than the expensive speaker in the BB blond! Also the speaker is low efficiency which means you can push the amp without being horrendously loud. It goes plenty loud for home use though.
Ease of Use
Plug it in (captive mains cable), plug in and play. Easy. You certainly don't need the manual.
Quality
The cabinet and presentation are very good with a substantial handle and reasonably robust all be it plastic corner protects. The cabinet is ply, the covering of a profession vinyl material. The knobs are not cheapie and turn nicely. Looks pretty professional without adding too much to the cost.
Value
Yes, yes and yes. I got mine a few years ago at a local shop brand new for £150 GBP which was cheaper than online prices. They are a bit dearer now thanks to exchange rates. I would buy another in a flash.
Manufacturer Support
No contact but I don't think there's much on the Laney website either. Valves are available easily. Mine has been 100% reliable but has only been used at home and rarely if ever turned to 11.
The Wow Factor
Looks pretty professional and fuss free. Could have metal corners and a slightly better quality logo but the speaker cloth, covering, handle, pots, knobs, switches and sockets are all good quality. The old-school looks are pretty cool.
Musical Background:
Lots. Long time. Amateur!
Musical Style:
Rock. Folk
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2017 by steven b in anchorage, AK
"awesome little amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
killer sounding tube amp. great full sound. good bass response for such a small speaker. nice and loud and clean . smaller then i thought it would be. it's about the size of a fender pro jr. i've owned a fender pro jr. also a fender blues jr, and epiphone valve jr, and vht special 6. this amp sounds better them all of them. it comes with great, quality tubes. only draw back is there is some cabinet buzz / rattling when i play louder bass notes. i usually don't play so loud so it's not a problem for me. i use this along with my vox ac15 in a stereo amp set up. it sounds great along side the vox with a similar quality of sound. i'll probably buy another one so i can play in stereo live with two of these, so i don't have to lug the ac15 around.
Musical Background:
professional musician for 27 years
Musical Style:
ambient indie rock loops stuff & solo singer songwriter acoustic. also play old timey and blue grass music
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2014 by Bill J in Ashburn, VA
"Outstanding!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been looking for a grab and go combo for about 3 years. I tried the Ampeg GVT15-112, the Ibanez TSA15, the Fender Pro Jr and the Blues Jr. I sold them all for various reasons (sounded boxy, baxandahl eq was silly, effects loop was noisy, had to crank it to get good tone, etc). In a lot of cases, I also experimented with speaker changes. I will keep this Laney. For the combination of weight and sound, this Laney is AMAZING. I don't understand how they did it. It doesn't sound boxy, it sounds big and open. It's plenty loud, you can crank the master volume and it stays pretty clean. The only concern is that it is bright. I've got the tone and the gain set at 9:00 and the volume set at 3:00 and I'm running a GSP 1101 through the front. it sounds great. I own a lot of really nice amps: Mesa Ta-15, 1968 Princeton (Real), 1968 Bandmaster (real), Vox AC30 and a Hot Rod Deluxe. I LOVE THIS AMP. It's not as good as any of the amps in the collection, but I like it better than all the things I sold.
Musical Background:
Sunday mornings
Musical Style:
Rock, Christian, Classic rock
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2012 by John K in Escondido, CA
"I was very impressed!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I didn't expect such a great sound from such a small basic looking amp. A pro could record an album with this and no one would know it's a $200 amp! The only issue I had was that the bulb can work loose in transit. You literally just need to unscrew the cover & tighten the bulb. Then replace the cover and this should solve the problem!
Musical Background:
Guitar player for 30 years
Musical Style:
Play rock, hip-hop, country, blues, electronic, chill ragtime, regga, about everything.
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2015 by Alexey U
"Really decent small combo"
Sounds solid, good fat tone for 10'' speaker. Great for practice and maybe small gigs. It has one channel, with gain to max. it gives 50th style drive. Works with not-too-loud band. Durable enough. Handled it's full volume.
Musical Background:
20+ years
Musical Style:
blues, rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2014 by Cal C in Breckenridge, CO
"Laney CUB 10 guitar combo amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this as a "grab n' go" smaller footprint option for sit-in gigs in smaller venues. My main amp is a Carr Rambler 1x12; and I wasn't expecting this little warrior to hold a candle to that.. but was hoping it would play nicely with my pedal board for these small gigs and have a familiar character due to the similar tube compliment.The amp arrived in good shape and, even with it's Chinese pedigree, seemed to be built pretty solid and cosmetically fit the bill. I did notice that the 6V6GT tubes had smaller 'bottles' than the standard 6V6GT tubes in my Carr.. I'm still trying to get info from Laney on those. First playing impression was that it had much more volume and punch than I expected; however the stock H+H 10" speaker had to go immediately. I anticipated this and ordered an Eminence Ragin' Cagun Patriot 75 watt (8 ohm) 10" along with the Laney CUB 10. After a short demo to see what the tone stack and various volume/gain settings would produce, I decided to swap out the speaker. NOTE: if your going to do this take your 'patience pill' first.. you will have to remove the entire amp section to access the tiny speaker mounting nuts, which (on this particular amp) seemed to be welded on.. they were very difficult to remove! After completing the swap, I was rewarded with much richer, more open tones. I've used this on a few gigs and received some 'jaw dropping' reactions from other musicians who know my signature tone with the Rambler. It's definitely a 'sleeper' and, because of it's diminutive size, doesn't intimidate small club owners. Time will tell how it holds up, but for now have a very useable alternative for my standard rig (all in around $270!) and can take it anywhere in any weather without risking my Carr. I'm gonna let the stock tubes burn in and find their 'voice' before possibly swapping. I start with these settings and tweak for each venue: tone-10 o'clock; volume - max; gain 9/10 o'clock.
Musical Background:
Former 'road dog' pro, been playin' forever, still gig regularly, guitar/vocals
Musical Style:
rock, classic/blues based rock, a bit-o-blues.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2012 by Jammie Dow in Newcastle, WY
"The best kept secret in tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well I gotta say this is a great amp! I don't use pedals or effects always straight into the amp. I also build amps. This one has that natrual tube warmth, crunch, and sparkle. A bad guitar will sound bad thats what I like about it! Also makes a great guitar sound great just like the old amps do sheer guitar tone. Never tried humbuckers through it but a good sounding guitar will sound good! My strats have a ringing brassy belltone that when I pick them out to buy thats what I look for acoustically no amps no need for one in picking any guitar out except to make sure the pickups and switches work and this amp lets it through tele is the same way brassy like crossroads the movie and this amp gives it up and lets it through! I had a few fender pro juniors a few years back and had to mod them to get the goods they just wouldn't let the ringing brassy tone through. Some people may not like it stock but then again I would blame the guitar first and go play some electrics acoustically and pick ur sound.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 20 years also build my own amps
Musical Style:
Delta blues, Texas blues, southern rock, some harder ac/dc etc rock
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2012 by Walter P in Kirkland, WA
"Great little amplifier"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great little amp with one huge exception - the stock speaker is dog meat! I dropped a Weber Signature in the box and it really came to life. For me, this is the perfect amp for recording and practicing because it sounds great and has such a small footprint. At idle you can barely hear the amp at all, unlike a lot of similarly priced amps that hiss and hum, effectively ruining the ambience of a late night session. I opted for the "blemished" model (I'm still trying to figure out what the blemish is!) from zZounds and saved $50. If you're looking for real ceramic tube sockets, a leather handle, stainless steel corners, etc. you're going to have to look elsewhere but for those looking for a solid, sweet sounding amp for a great price pick up one of these Laney CUB10s. My rating below is AFTER swapping the speaker!
Musical Background:
Song writer, multi-instrumentalist.
Musical Style:
Rock, jazz, blues, country, etc.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2014 by steve n in georgetown, OH
"after 1 month"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got this amp for recording at home.The speaker is not a Celestion in mine they put a HH electronics in it from the factory.Sounds wonderful.Tight low end and sweet highs.This amp can get as loud as my 50watt solid state.tube breakup is in the expected place on the dials,about the size of a champ.Amp is very playable stock.Most Tube people change tubes and speakers easy access to both,I only changed the pre tubes to my prefered type because that the sound I wanted,amp is great out of the box though.
Musical Background:
36 years practicing musician.
Musical Style:
classic rock.jazz,blues.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2016 by Mike Kohn in Neshkoro, WI
"Great tube sound...while it lasts..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
You can read all the other reviews and yes, this amp does have great sound, even before the common mods of replacing the speaker with a Jensen MOD 10-70 and the tube swaps...but beware, as a number of these units shipped with bad thermal fuses that shut the amp down for literally no reason at all. Mine arrived quickly and I enjoyed the living heck out of it for a total of 15 minutes when it completely DIED. Vol at 3, Gain at 7, tone at 7, had an early SX SJM-62 with Wilkinson soapbars plugged into it. Sounded great...for a few minutes.
Musical Background:
20+ years, semi-professional, mostly rhythm.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2014 by lee d in redwood falls, MN
"cub 10"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is a wonderful practice amp but hooked up to my 4x12 its a slammer. Great price, love it!
Musical Background:
guitar
Musical Style:
country rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2019 by Alistair S in Las Vegas, NV
"WTF!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Solid, dimensional , tone , very easy and intuitive. This is my first tube amp . I play in stereo , so I got two of them, that's how I roll ,so anyway my initial thought was wow this is what I been looking for.By the way it's also very quiet and take pedals well . Add your own spices and you're good to go. As a Musician on a budget I'd say this is your top selection to guarantee a semi-professional sound and if you play in stereo then getting two will give you a signature sound . Many thanks to zZounds ,they're awesome. This is my first Laney , a leap of faith for me that I will never regret .Where was this when I was 17 ? I'm 63 and this the best thing since sliced bread!!!! Very simple layout I love the look Old school look wit da vibeA winner winner even without a chicken dinner !!!!
Musical Background:
Guitar, play at various establishments in Las Vegas ,
Musical Style:
R&B , classic rock, Jazz , hip hop , positive Rap
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us