Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Line 6 Pod HD Pro X Guitar Multi-Effects Rackmount Processor

Line 6 Pod HD Pro X Guitar Multi-Effects Rackmount Processor

Process two independent signal paths through over 100 stackable effects and rich, dynamic HD amp models -- only with the POD HD Pro X rackmount processor.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted May 24, 2014 by Brad A
"Great modeler, large community for patches. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was eyeballing this unit for sometime. As a cheaper, easier to buy alternative to an AxFX or Kemper. For the negligent difference in sound, the price is well worth it. Great sounding unit. Creating patches requires line6 software, and the interface for it is a bit clunky, and as far as i know, does not allow you to hear them as you are making them. I can not find the ability to reamp on this device either. It makes a very good guitar dedicated interface, and with the large community at the custom tone website, and the fact it uses all none "X" variant patches, adds tons of user made patches that are easy enough to add and organize. The inclusion of tactile, real, usable knobs to adjust everything was a brilliant move. No clicking around through menus if I want to add gain, or adjust treble. The unit itself is really easy to use and navigate, I gave two and half for usability because the requisite software for patch creation needs a lot of playing around before you figure it out. The unit also has several out puts, which comes in really handy, an FX loop, foot switch port, XLRs Variax inputs. It is really cool, and more potential can be unlocked for with a variax guitar and a foot switch. But with non variax guitars, as most people are using it, its a great unit, and doesn't sound digital, unless you want it to sound digital, it can do that too. Other then software, I have no complaints with this unit. It is a very smart and well designed modeler.
Musical Background:
Guitarist, 14 years. Agile 827 Septor Elite, Marshall JCM 800 1959 2 1960 4x12s.
Musical Style:
Metal, Jazz
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2015 by christopher L in Millinocket, ME
"Great piece of kit!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this unit a year ago, and I'm still just as smitten with it as when it came to my doorstep! Within a week of receiving the POD I had 2-3 banks of patches and was playing gigs with it. The amp and effects models sound incredible and feel very life-like, I haven't used a traditional amp and pedal setup in a long time.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, metal, country, funk.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2014 by Michael M in Paducah, KY
"My Second Pod"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first Pod was the XT Live. Line 6 quality was the primary reason I rejected the competition. Second, I wanted a rack device for studio use only. Third, I was hoping the HD quality of sound would make a difference in tone quality. Although I am very happy with the processor itself in every way, the tone editor is lacking in minor details. What it does, it does well. What it does not do, is beyond my understanding.: No tuner! Sure, the processor has a tuner, but it is high up on my rack and not any too easy read if I am seated. No "Save" (Ctrl-S), only a "Save AS" menu item. Are they serious? Why only a "Save AS"? Most of the presets are there only to demo the capabilities and likely no one in their right mind would consider using these rejects on stage or in the studio. There is a "Z" (impedance) function that is totally ignored in the editor PDF. It is only documented in one of the many hardware PDFs. As is usually the case, software and documentation don't measure up to the hardware. In Line 6's case this is minor when compared to other manufacturers, but still, because it IS Line 6, I expect better. Last of all, the price tag on this puppy is 100 bucks too steep. It is a VERY powerful and capable top quality device, but it still doesn't rate $700.
Musical Background:
30 year veteran amateur
Musical Style:
Freedom Rock
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2014 by Chris L in Camdenton, MO
"Pod HD Pro X Well worth the purchase!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was a little skeptical in making this purchase at first, but only because the reviews seemed so conflicting. So here's the skinny. It does have more DSP than the non "X" models, and now, I'm able to run dual amps with the following effects running simultaneously: Noise Gate, Boost Comp, Volume Pedal, Classic Distortion, Digital Delay with Mod, Tri-Chorus, FX Loop, and Plate Reverb. So as you can see, there is enough power to really create a variety of signal chains. It has all the same HD amp models and stomp boxes as the non "X" versions. However the winning factor for me is the extra DSP. So there ya go. Hope that helps.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2014 by Jordan Roland in Austin, TX
"Love the Pod HD pro X"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This device does literally everything I need it too. I've had no problems with it at all, and I get some really nasty tones with it for my 7 and 8 string guitars. It is best used with the FBV Shortboard MKII, if you are playing live or just jamming along to your favorite artist music. Yes, this device when properly dialed in, most definately DJENTS. :) BUY IT.
Musical Background:
7 String and 8 string
Musical Style:
Djent, prog, ambient, experimental, metal, groove
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2015 by Jeffrey C in Kingsland, GA
"Line 6 Pod HD Pro X"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm really enjoying this unit! I use it in my live rig in place of my stompbox pedals in order to keep everything plugged in inside of my road case. The effects are top notch, and with a bit of tweaking, the amp models hold their own as well! My only complaint is that you cannot use custom cabinet impulses as you can with other units such as the Kemper or Axe FX.
Musical Background:
Touring musician
Musical Style:
Heavy metal, blues
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2014 by ryan kline in lancastsr, CA
"just as good as an axe fx "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing kicks ass . The capability ooffhand patches you can build are almost endless. And one of the best things is you can have it on for hours and it never even gets warm . The sound is great on the amp modelers and the cabs sound pretty tasty too . Definitely a good addition to my live rig and my studio.
Musical Background:
guitarist , vocalist , bassist . play in three bands and record my own stuff in my own studio, elder tree studios
Musical Style:
Indie rock ,djent ,acoustic ,progressive rock ,progressive metal
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2013 by Sean A in Morgan Hill, CA
"A MUST for the recording musician"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The sounds on this are amazing and when plugged into a board.... LOOK OUT!!!!! It's not the most intuitive piece processor so do not throw away the instruction manual, but once you understand it better, its pretty easy to create your own patches. This blows away all my other processors and worth every penny.
Musical Style:
From Mozart to Megadeath
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2014 by Randy L in Plano , TX
"Line 6 Pod HD Pro X"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned an Axe Fx and used a Kemper I also owned the first HD Pro and I was impressed with it. This model is up to par with its predecessor. Especially through a power amp. I think if you're trying to compensate for not having Axe Fx or a Kemper amp profiler this is an excellent substitution for home studios doing pre production for an EP or whatever. I bought this solely for live use with a VHT 2:90:2 to an Orange Cab. If you know what you're doing you should have no problem dialing in a tone that you can be happy with studio or live.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 10 years and recording in my home studio for about 3 years
Musical Style:
Mostly Progressive metal
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2014 by Mike M in Paducah, KY
"HD is not just a couple of letters."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my second Pod purchase. I wanted a rack mount device to complement the floor Pod XT Live. I expected I would be able to control the HD's Wah/Vol via MIDI from the XT. No can do. There is very little that can be controlled by MIDI, even though the HD has MIDI ports. Instead, Line 6 chose to coerce people into buying their FBV to control many common MIDI functions. Not good, Line 6! However, do not be diverted, folks. I just set up a patch for Wah and another for Vol in my XT and use it as a pre HD source of effects that I can switch in or out. All those old XT AMP/CAB patches are now rather useless but I'm creating new effects/utility patches to support the HD either as input to the HD or as an effects loop device. The possibilities are massive.One thing, though. The HD Pro X really does have a much more realistic and smoother quality sound. Not as raspy as the XT and other non-HD versions. Not as "digital." This will be more evident through your audio reference monitors if you are recording direct rather than mic-ing your amp. If you use a non-HD device, or any normal stomp box as an outboard effect via the HD effect loop, be advised that it will be a non-HD choke point and some of that definition will be lost in the non-HD loop. Best to locate the effects loop near the start of the effects/amp/mix chain.The bad news: S/PDIF out at 96k does not work. Pops, drop outs, loss of sync. Several unanswered complaints on the Line 6 website.
Musical Background:
Long time amatuer. Occasional pro.
Musical Style:
FreedomRock
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2013 by kyle warren in pendleton, OR
"this is amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play a lot of metal and I get the sound I want out of this basically I can compare it to my peavey 6505 and it sounds just the same
Musical Background:
been playing 7 years now I play 7 strings and jam at home
Musical Style:
Metal
3 of 11 people (27%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to