Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Line 6 M5 Stompbox Modeler Pedal

Line 6 M5 Stompbox Modeler Pedal

With over 100 built-in effects, the Line 6 M5 Stompbox Modeler saves space on your pedalboard without losing anything -- it even has a built-in tuner!

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted September 20, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
Line 6 M5 Modeler Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I believe this pedal has scratched my gear itch, and will keep it at bay for a long time. It does exactly what I wanted it to, and surprised me with some very cool effects I thought I'd never use. IF I lost this, I would absolutely have to replace it... if I didn't replace it with another M5, I'd replace it with it's bigger brother, the M9. But, this fits the bill for relatively compact and versatile... so I'd be compelled to stick with it.
Sound
This pedal sounds great! The presets are a little generic... but the magic is definitely there to be found. Each effect has a great range of tones, and it's not hard to tweak and massage them to your liking. The distortions and fuzzes are absolutely great. They are very reactive. The delays and reverbs are top-tier. I've heard some pedals that were a bit warmer, but not at this price, and they were single effect boxes. I use this in the effects loop of my Line 6 X3 in my bass rig. It has some effects that work better for bass than others (the deeper chorus settings are a little over the top for bass), but they all work well and sound good.
Features
It came with a power supply... but it works just fine with my Boss power supply, even with 2 other pedals on the same powersupply. It has a pretty good tuner built in, so if you are at a point on your pedalboard where you only have room for one pedal, this will still do it, because it can replace your tuner! 100 effects with a tuner. Who couldn't find room for that?
Ease of Use
There is a slight learning curve with this pedal. It's definitely easier than any other processor I've played with, but it does take a little thought to get comfy with it. Once it's set up and tweaked out, though.... it's absolutely stomp-box easy.
Quality
Very well made. I only gave it a nine because I don't want to sound like a Line 6 fanboi.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2011 by a customer from comcast.net
"Swapped out my pedal tuner for a slew of great FX."
It's versatile enough to keep me happy for a while, but I'm always buying more pedals!
Sound
I incorporated the M5 into my pedalboard that includes many boutiquey pedals. Removed my tuner, cleared a little more space arround it, now I have a tuner that doubles as virtually any effect I want. It usually is my Leslie simulator, but it's great to have a single pedal that when recording or just coming up with sounds can be just about any effect. Echoplex with tap tempo, seek wah, ring modulator, tremolo with tap tempo, univibe, tube driver, dynacomp compressor, spring reverb, you name it it's in there.
Features
I give it a 9 only because it does not run off of one output of my pedalpower 2. I have ordered the jumper cable to combine 2 of the pedal power's outputs to produce the necesary voltage to power the M5. Until then I have powered it with the included adapter plugged into standard ac jack on the pedal power.
Ease of Use
Chose a model and the knobs allow you to edit it like a familiar analog pedal. No paging through screens.
Quality
Solid metal construction.
Value
It was worth it for me. I can't think of another product that delivers this quality and quantity of FX at such a reasonable price.
The Wow Factor
It looks OK. A bit utilitarian, could be more hip/retro.
Musical Background:
semipro
Musical Style:
anything
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Line 6 Scores Big with Little Pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you only buy one stomp box, this is the one to have. I truly does it all.
Sound
The sounds here are amazing. Like the original series of pedals, Line 6 did a great job of copying the real pedals and then adding some additional tweaks. Their new takes on old ideas are equally great.
Features
In addition to the actual knobs, there are some hidden tricks that allow you to go deeper in both the tweaking and programming. What makes this great is that if you just like to change what you can see, it's super easy, but with some homework you can do even more.
Ease of Use
Super easy to use right out of the box. Even the pre-programmed sounds are usable instead of being way over the top like some pedals.
Quality
Other than the plastic footswitches, it's built like a tank and should stand the test of time.
Value
For $200 you get 100 pedals, so that's $2 each. Pretty darn good deal.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with them yet, but their website is very comprehensive and the forum is a good source of help.
The Wow Factor
Very cool looking and my band was extremely interested in how I was getting so many sounds from one little pedal.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2012 by Larry Lion in Caledon, ON
"A really good stompbox simulator"
The simulations (models) are extremely well done, unlike a lot of other multifunction pedals (like the COSM-based ones, in particular). The M5 pedal sims actually perform as advertised, which is not always the case. The layout is logical, and the pedal suits my needs for "an occasional" dedicated pedal, so that I don't have to have a large number of pedals lying around, or a big pedalboard. My only complain is the power consumption: this pedal is advertised as using 200mA, but it drains way more than that from my pedal board, so much so that my Voodoo Labs Pedal Power 2+ supply could not cope, even on the 250mA circuit.
Musical Background:
Playing 30+ years, Sem-Pro, Electric & Acoustic guitar
Musical Style:
Rockabilly, Country, Pop-Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2017 by Mike M in West Covina, CA
"Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is great if you're on a budget but want/need a wide variety of effects in a pedal that is sturdy. The Line 6 M5 doesn't take up much space on a pedalboard and whatever your style is this unit will suit your needs. Plenty of overdrive/distortion, delays and reverb and everything in between. Add an expression pedal if you really want to take things further!
Musical Background:
20+ years of guitar and bass guitar
Musical Style:
Little bit of everything but mostly Alternative and Grunge
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2017 by Brian H in Garden City, KS
"Great pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great pedal. Saves space on my pedal board as I was able to do away with several old pedals. Great sounding effects. The only thing I don't care for is the fact I have to unplug the power when I'm done playing. No on/off switch, just bypass. All said and done this pedal is a keeper. Highly recommend. Quality effects.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2020 by ARTURO BENAVIDES in Laredo, TX
"Valentine"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice size for its performance, glad to remove some of the pedals on my board.
Musical Background:
Being jaming at home for 30 years.
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 3, 2012 by BennCiardi Ciardi in Myrtle beach, SC
"Line 6 m5"
I'll start by saying I am not a big fan of line 6 products I think most of their stuff sounds like poo. I am not a big fan of modeling and to me it always sounds cheap. Buy a tube amp for gods sake. Ok now this box is different no modeling just good effects and so many of them. Does need a little tweaking out of the box but what doesn't. I will say that I have had problems with this pedal and I am now waiting for line 6 to replace mine with a new one because it had some power supply issues and would not boot up. Luck would have it that it was still under warranty so a free replacement was offered and that was good but why not a five year warranty so I feel they really stand behind their product. The effects are all very good and can really add a lot to your tone arsenal. A little tricky to use at first but once understood it is easy to get around the pedal. It is also a great backup in case one of your main pedals decides to bug out at the wrong time which will happen if you play 12 to 15 gigs a month. I would say it is built well but I did have the power supply problem but I don't know if it was just my pedal or it is a problem with other units as well. All in all for the money I am glad I bought it and plan on keeping it in my pedal board.
Musical Background:
40 years of guitar playing 12 to 15 gigs a month
Musical Style:
We play it all just no hip hop gangster crap
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us