Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Line 6 Helix Floorboard Multi-Effects Pedal

Line 6 Helix Floorboard Multi-Effects Pedal

Line 6 goes pro with the Helix. Loaded with the HX modeling engine, this Floorboard can recreate the tone in your head -- and replace a rack full of effects.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted August 2, 2016 by Joe V in Mundelein, IL
"The Best Investment Of My Entire Rig!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned this now for a month. zZounds had it to me with no hiccups and thank God i was able to do the play as you pay!!! So here's all of the arsenal I've ever owned: I've owned a Marshall DSL 100, Blackstar HT40, Bean PODS of every kind, HD500, HD500X and a plethora of pedals from boutiques to you average DD-20 delay pedal. I've played through budget guitars all the way up to my Gibson Les Paul. So i've been blessed to have been able to explore the full spectrum of tones. I"m a worship pastor at my church and play live every Sunday and have also played at different churches when the band would go on the road at different "venue" style environments. Hands down, this is the best thing that Line 6 has ever done!!!! I literally just finished selling the final pieces of my pedals because I do not need them at all!!! The reaction and feedback from each string being hit and the feel of hearing it warm and authentic. The simplicity of setting up patches and assigning midi commands along with using the edit mode while playing not having to stop. All in all, yes this is expensive no doubt but I personally guarantee it that you wont regret it. If you are a mid-level to pro level guitarist, do not hesitate and bite the bullet. The tonality that this thing has is like i went into a music store and bought every piece of dream rig i could and have it all to my availability. I am not being paid by anyone to say this...I am floored and blown away at how she sounds...and to be honest, how she looks!!!! Some of the musicians walk by and stop and love the huge screen and the color coded buttons. DO NOT hesitate...if you're serious about your sound and want the authenticity of the real deal without having to break your back carrying everything or your wallet trying to buy a fraction of it, this is the way to go. Think about this!!!! If you were to buy 1 combo or half stack tube amp...then buy certain pedals that you know is part of your sound...then buy a specific mic to mic your gear...custom or separate jumper cables...possibly even get a good quality power brick...you can easily spend between $2,000 - $3,000 without trying. And that is just 1 amp...for the price of this pedal, you can get your moneys worth on one patch and then still have the entire library of amps, cabinets, mics and IR capabilities to mix and match as your heart desires and that's not including the effect and pedals it models. You want real authentic tone sound with the blessing of portability and price (considering what the real deal costs) and sound just as good as the real thing, invest in this peace of heaven. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!
Musical Background:
I am a worship pastor and lead guitiarst at my church...been playing and recording for over 20 years.
Musical Style:
Rock and Christian
32 of 32 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2016 by Richard Chapman in Rosamond, CA
"First Impression Bad; Second Impression Fantastic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Iv'e been playing through an "old school" analog pedalboard and Marshall stacks for about 40 years, but I finally caved in and decided to try a digital rig. So I bought myself a Helix, based on its reviews and its bang-for-your-buck ratio. Well after my first day with this contraption, I was ready to send it back to the music store. Because as I went through many of the various factory presets, everything sounded fizzy and "sterile" to me. But I knew that I had 45 days to return it, so I decided to hold off and give it another chance. So on my second day with the Helix, I got into its menus and started tweaking things...
Sound
After tweaking various parameters for only about a half-hour, I was able to find "my sound" fairly easily. This is a complicated device and it definitely has a bit of a learning curve, but once I started getting the hang of it, the sounds that I was looking for suddenly burst out of the Helix and quite honestly, the quality of the sound totally blew me away. This is a very responsive unit and not only that, its low noise was a big surprise to me. Once you drop a noise gate or two into your effects chain, and tweak their settings, you wind up with a rich, full sound that is almost dead silent when you stop playing. So far, I'm loving it.
Features
Best features..? Well, it's a complex but highly configurable device and its menus are fairly easy to navigate. For assigning footswitches and the like, the touch sensitive switches are a brilliant addition. The on-board display is large enough that you don't need to squint to read it. And the back-lit, ever-changing "scribble strips" above each footswitch are very, very cool.
Ease of Use
Once you get everything set up to your own personal taste, the ease of being able to quickly change just about EVERYTHING on-the-fly, just by switching between one bank to another.... and to another... and to another... is as simple and as easy as can be. There is indeed a learning curve, as one might expect, but once you lean into it, everything begins to make sense to you. And the sounds are gorgeous... but only AFTER you start tweaking the various presets.
Quality
I have no idea how long it will last... many years, I hope. Physically, it is very solidly built and it has a fair amount of heft to it... which is always a good sign. Solid aluminum all around. A good, logical placement of switches and knobs. I should also mention that it looks very cool.
Value
Given the fact that most of these high-end digital rigs cost anywhere between $1,000 to $5,000... I'd say yes, it's price-to-value ratio is very high. It's manufactured in China, like most things these days, so we'll have to wait and see how reliable it turns out to be. So far, so good.
Manufacturer Support
So far, I have not had to deal with them.
The Wow Factor
Mainly what appeals to me about the Helix is the way that it squeezes hundreds of different sounds and features all "under one hood," without being so complicated that you end up walking away from it in frustration. I'm not quite ready to give up my old Marshalls yet, but the Helix is working beautifully through them... so that too is a major plus: it plays nice with my tube amps.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 45 years.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, metal.
48 of 49 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2016 by Paul A in N Dallas, TX
"Line 6's modeler redemption which gives the expensive two a run for the race..,"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really do not care for the POD thing and would not have one and I was skeptical of the Helix possibly being a POD on steroids. I was delighted to be utterly wrong and over the top excited over creating presets on this puppy ranging from cleans to extreme high gain. Bloody amazing, worth every penny. The amp models are to die for, so real, so rich in feel and response plus all the cool programming features, footswitch assigns and naming, loops, just an infinite param range of tweaking and ideas one can invent. More memory slots and libraries than you could ever use, fantastic PC/Mac editor program. Line 6 just didn't hit this out of the park it went over the wall of the second stadium! Single best piece of gear I have ever had the pleasure of owning. Now you do not need to fret over trying to get a Fractal or Kemper, this unit genuinely competes with them that you really cannot tell an A/B between them. Effects are greatly improved and "component modeled" farm out to your fav pedals and just take advantage of the amazing amp and cab models as well as high end loadable user speaker IRs. Two independent or chain-able DSP line paths, multiple outputs, midi, and so much more. This is the deal in guitar 2016 technology, forget the factory stuff as you might expect and create your own it is an easy as picking something and placing the block in the chain.
Musical Background:
over 40yrs playing
Musical Style:
heavy fusion mix, blues-rock-jazz-metal
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2017 by a customer from gmail.com in Nashville, TN
"Fantastic Unit"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have always been skeptical of units like this in the past. I have owned several and would have never used one on an actual gig. Those days are over. I have been using the Helix Floor Unit live since I received it and have never had more compliments on my tone. Buy it! You will like it!
Musical Background:
Touring Professional
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country, Jazz
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 22, 2019 by Jthomas Annillo in Wilmer, TX
"You won't regret it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I didn't buy this from zZounds since I traded my fender twin and ALL my effect pedals for this thing. I was slightly worried I would regret it even though I watched videos and read blogs about this device. SRV, Jimi, and even John Mayer probably would not buy this because they were so good at dialing in superb tone on their tubes. These guys don't use a ton of pedals and neither did I compared to some. After about a week I am not regretting this trade of my beloved tube twin (though I kept my DSL 40). Whatever sound you are looking for you can find a good quality solution on this board. I didn't try the other Helix or the head rush and I am sure they are just as good. If you can get past the fact this is a digital device and just listen to sounds you get from this thing you would have to work to hear a difference between this and tubes. The cleans are amazing and there is this one preset on here that dare I say sounds better than my fender twin. The price is a lot for some to absorb but you will spend a lot more chasing tone with a tube setup. I bought the KRK 10 in monitors and matching sub to play this through and I don't regret it one bit. Give it try, you have 45 days to return it if it isn't for you but I don't think you will be returning it. The capabilities are endless with this thing and you have an online forum of user designed tones to choose from.
Musical Background:
Most of my life (im 41 now). Mostly Jam at home.
Musical Style:
Blues, country, Jazz, Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 29, 2020 by julio almodovar in Pennsauken, NJ
"The last amp I'll ever need"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used to own a line 6 HD Pro and the Pro X I've had played through tube amps I have playthrough many other amp modeling systems but with this one it's stands out in so many ways from the patches that you can make along with the effects included the impulse responses are amazing this is the closest that I've gotten to to sound without tubes. This amp works for any genre including mine in comparison to other and modeling system business super user-friendly easy to set up an easy to find your sound I do have to say is better for you to make your own instead of downloading them. This is honestly the last amp I'll ever get. Hands down.
Musical Background:
20 yrs. Guitar, yes and tour
Musical Style:
Progressive melodic metalcore.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2021 by Mark P in Twin Cities, MN
"Blown away but this amp!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have so many amps and had competing effect pedals and never could find something that does it all... until now. I just sold my modeling amps and other pedals and I have found everything I could possibly need in this solution. I did hold onto my Fender Tube amp, but mostly because I just can't part with it. This is amazing. The support community is fantastic as well.Be prepared to spend some time with this. It is loaded with features and anytime something comes with this many options, there is going to be a learning curve to it. I assume that I'll be learning for quite some time. But, the time I have spent with it has been amazing. I even purchased a bass again because it will handle a bass. There are so many possibilities that this should be the last amp I will ever need. It may seem expensive, but not when you consider everything that it replaces.
Musical Background:
Novice / Enthusiast
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Contemporary Christian, Country, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2018 by Tyler M in Dannemora, NY
"Best purchase I’ve made!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I previously owned a POD UX2 before this, along with a Marshall MG100DFX. I’ve messed around on Guitar Rig and other programs. This pedal blew my mind, not only can you adjust every fine detail and add multiple effects, you can upload impulse responses too! I am no joke running the pedal into a little $40 speaker and it sounds phenomenal. I actually can’t believe how closeI can get to the sounds I desire! Don’t have to purchase a JCM now because the Helix + impulse responses=WOW.
Musical Background:
Been playing for about 10 years.
Musical Style:
Metal and all its subgenres.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2019 by John Page in Littleton, NH
"Blown away!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow is this thing fantastic! i have always been she of these things but the helix is very easy to use and learn. The pre-sets are incredible! Make it happen if you can, you will never regret it. I truly am blown away.
Musical Background:
a long time
Musical Style:
all kinfd
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 10, 2015 by Glen Johnson in Chico, CA
"Love the Helix!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Pre-ordered my Helix a few months ago; got it at the end of October, 2015. Love this multi-effect pedal board! I now use it with MY dream rig: Helix - Hughes & Kettner Grandmeister 36 amp head - two mini rectifier 1 x 12" speaker cabinets with 16 ohm Celestion V30 speakers. A mini-stack that sounds and looks great! I use the overdrive and distortion effects on the Grandmeister, then use the Helix to send killer presets into the effects loop. Plus, the Helix is also my MIDI controller! Can select presets and amp configurations via MIDI. Unique '5 Cable Method' set up. You can't go wrong with the Line 6 Helix. And, may I say, it looks so cool in the dark! Full color screen and multi-color LED rings for the footswitches. Line 6 hit a grand slam. Love it!
Musical Background:
Working musician
Musical Style:
Rock n roll, jazz, pop, standards.
22 of 25 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2017 by Danny L in Honolulu, HI
"Love it! Except..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really like the Helix. With the impulse response it really makes a HUGE difference in tone and sound. The only thing that disappointed me was there was a scratch when I got it from zZounds. It wasn't enough to make me wanna send it back and ask for a new one, but it looks like a mosquito got squashed on the little display screens.
Musical Background:
Played for more than 8 years
Musical Style:
rock, country, pop, christian, jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 5, 2016 by Simon T
"Helix floorboard review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is a monster. The tones are astounding, and the ability to forgo an amp and plug straight into a PA system without losing tone is phenomenal. Cannot recommend this more.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2016 by Morris Jones in Birmingham, AL
"Line 6 Helix"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great update from the Line 6 folks,but at also a great price. Ive had or tried about everything out there and I've settled down on the Atomic Amplifire for the money and for what I need it sounds as good or better than anything else I've tried. Sure it doesn't have as many options but, if you want simple and great sound it's hard to beat. In the end I returned the Helix I could not justify the cost against what I had and needed.
5 of 13 people (38%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2016 by joe lindberg in caldwell, ID
"Line 6 Helix "factory resealed""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Doesn't even work. Turned on and nothing worked. Went to update and fix and usb is broken. Won't update, won't do anything. This is the worst thing I have ever bought.. I can't believe that this would even be sold broken. At 1400$ it shouldn't have any problems.I am so disappointed. I was really excited to get to try out the Helix. I guess I bought from the wrong website.
6 of 47 people (13%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us