LD Systems Maui 28 G2 Compact Column PA System

LD Systems Maui 28 G2 Compact Column PA System

With a built-in mixer and 2000 watts pushing 20 speakers, LD Systems' 2nd-gen Maui 28 PA delivers serious power in a super-portable, elegant column design.

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(15)
Submitted April 14, 2019 by Catalino Rojas in KISSIMMEE, FL
"Better than bose"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been using bose l1 compact for 3 years until I heard this system 3 weeks ago. It blew it away in every category. Better lows, mids and highs plus a higher power rating carries a 200 chair room with ease. The comments I received from guests and servers were about how loud and clear the music sounded from this small pa system. The Maui 28 G2 with 20 speakers opposed to the L1Compact 7 is very easy to see why audiophiles prefer it over bose. The separate sub and overall gain control knobs plus the inegraded bluetooth are what sold me on this compact line array and I am not going back. Too many features compared yo bose. A little heavier but way better built than bose. The feature to price and quality ratio blows the competition away for the price. Hands down, a better deal and product.
Sound
Way better than the competition overall. No need for separate sub. The 2 horn loaded high frequency drivers add the the clarity and separation of highest to the already rich mids from the 16 spekers colummed below.
Features
Separate sub gain knob and 2 x 8 inch subs are features you can count on for shaping your own sound.
Ease of Use
Plug and play is that simple.
Quality
Not cheap plastic but aluminum for the columns and real wood for the subs. Built to last.
Value
Best value to qualify and price ratio in its class.
Manufacturer Support
I've only had it for 2 weeks.
The Wow Factor
Sleek and professional lookiing.
Musical Style:
LatinSalsaRockClassical Jazz
25 of 25 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2021 by a customer from mancine.net
"Awesome system, but do some homework before trying to use "stereo" column arrays!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a fantastic compact array system. I own two and absolutely love them.Now this is NOT a criticism of the Maui 28, rather information that applies to ALL column array systems when multiple units are used as a PA system.So, you plop one of these on each side of the stage, send out the signal to both like you would with a regular loudspeaker, right? NOPE! It is quite a technical explanation, but these systems were never intended to be used that way. In fact, the "proper" setup is one PER performer. So the drums would come through a column near the kit, the guitars from a colum near the amps and vocala from columns near the singers. I have rarely seen them used this way.The reason is that the wide dispersal pattern of the arrays causes "overlap". If you are mixing in "stereo" (or the same mono signal through both speakers!), that overlap causes audience members to receive sound from both speakers at different times. The result is a ton of phase cancellation and comb filtering.The solution? "Localization" of signals via hard-panning. Not just panning to a position in between, but panning ALL the way. So anything left of center gets panned hard left and only comes out of that speaker, and vice versa. Now, the audience will hear the signal from ONE source rather than two, without the loss caused by filtering/cancellation. Furthermore, they will also *perceive* the sound as coming from the performer's position which improves the quality of the experience as well. The overall sound from the audience will be vastly superior to a traditional stereo or dual-mono setup. In case you question this, it comes straight from Clifford Henricksen who happens to be the renowned and prominent engineer who invented the Bose L1. Google it. Better yet, TRY it! It really makes sense once you hear the difference.
Musical Background:
Professional musician and engineer
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2020 by Jason Mancine
"Hands down, unequivocally awesome."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been performing and producing professionally for over 2 decades, and can say without any reservation that this is the best speaker system I have ever used. It makes the Bose L1 seem like a toy, and has more "umph" in the right places than the L2 with a subwoofer. The price point is unbeatable, to boot.My ONLY qualm is the engineering idea behind the stereo/mono approach. It makes complete sense with two Maui 28 systems in stereo, but summing the signal from a stereo board with stereo FX into a single column inherently produces phasing issues with stereo FX being combined into a one signal. East solution is to mix in mono (obviously), but I have to wonder why the DSP couldn't emulate stereo by firing opposite pairs as left and right.Other than that almost nonexistent issue, this blows away anything else in its class
Musical Background:
20+ year professional
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2020 by Jason C in Butler, PA
"Awesome sound for the price!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have to admit I was skeptical at first to spend this much money on something that I couldn't hear first but I sure am glad I took the risk! In fact I was so impressed with the first one I had to buy another to have 2 in stereo together! The sound clarity is as great up close as it is 100 feet away! In fact I think the sound is better being back away from the unit. The sound is crystal clear with no distortions even when playing music via Bluetooth from my IPhone wether its from a music app or a youtube vid! One thing I did notice is you have to do some adjusting with your device input volume along with the sub main and PA mains to get the max volume without the limit signal blinking but thats just a matter of finding the right mix. Other than that this system seems well built with an Awesome sound! I own Bose 901 speakers for my home stereo system and I will just say I won't be using them anymore either! The sound from this 1 unit alone is way better!!!
Musical Background:
Drummer, Keyboardist
Musical Style:
Country, Rock, Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 7, 2019 by Nick Stark in Cortland, NY
"Poops all over the Bose towers!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I've had these for close to 2 years, and every application I've used them in has been impressive. They are primary for me with my acoustic shows that have guitar, vocal, and cajon. They aren't just limited to that though, as they have been my primary front end on plenty of full band club shows in smaller venues. They db output is the equivalent to any standard front end. You won't be disappointed with the clarity and portability!
Musical Background:
Semi-professional musician of 16 years. Lead Vocals and rhythm guitar.
Musical Style:
Country, rock, pop
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2019 by Von C in Lincoln, DE
"Amazing Product—"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got my stem at 9:30 am today...This thing is insane...I listened for almost 7 straight hours.This beats the bose hanss down...impressed is a understatement..Also, I have a huge jbl srx rig and own a sound and backline company..This is a perfect portable system!!!
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 17, 2018 by Ryan Angus in Phoenix, AZ
"Blown Away"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was originally in the market for the Bose compact system, but after checking out, just felt it didn't offer enough umpf. This LD blows it away. The sound carries the room well and the independent dual sub control is awesome. It really does hit hard. There's no comparison to the other compact PAs I've looked at in this range.
20 of 21 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2017 by Nick P in Grand Rapids , MI
"Amazing!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Huge sound from this!!! You will not be disappointed. Well crafted. Well above the competition in my opinion. I will be purchasing another soon!!!
Musical Background:
DJ 17 years
Musical Style:
All types
19 of 21 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2021 by Scott W in Augusta, ME
"Giddy Up 'Lil Doggy!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This unit is absolutely amazing. Sound is loud, crisp, deep bass, no distortion even at high levels. All you would want in a professional high quality PA. Not cheap plastic, built like a tank. I may buy a 2nd one.
Musical Background:
Professional DJ 25 +years
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great sound"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent value for what this speaker better than towers that cost around $2,000The tower sounds bright and loud and the bottom sounds punchy can’t really feel the bass but it could be heard. I recommend the carrying bags fit perfectly and not expensive. Worth every $$
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Big Sound in a small package"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I saw this system on line and read a few reviews and sounds like it is something I was looking for. It came in and I got bust and did not open it for a couple of weeks. I finally opened it and hooked up and I have used for every event I have done. It does a small event and a large event with the same result, awesome!!! I could not be happier with this system.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 19, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Big Sound in a small package"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I saw this system on line and read a few reviews and sounds like it is something I was looking for. It came in and I got bust and did not open it for a couple of weeks. I finally opened it and hooked up and I have used for every event I have done. It does a small event and a large event with the same result, awesome!!! I could not be happier with this system.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 18, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Big Sound in a small package"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I saw this system on line and read a few reviews and sounds like it is something I was looking for. It came in and I got bust and did not open it for a couple of weeks. I finally opened it and hooked up and I have used for every event I have done. It does a small event and a large event with the same result, awesome!!! I could not be happier with this system.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2018 by Christopher W in Evans, CO
"1st Impressions (I bought two + the bags/covers)"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The pictures do not do this unit justice... Impressive, Solid Wood & Steel construction, large subwoofer, solid connecting pins.. stands just over 6 feet tall and that is subwoofer and speaker from head to toe. Initial sound test was pretty nice, thick - rich lows, pretty highs... smooth sound dispersion . however I live in an apartment building so I could only run them for a minute or two and not at the awesome 4000w of peak power.. but I am going to use them for a large dance this weekend replacing my 4 bulky passive speakers.. and will update. Previously I bought the BOSE L1 Compact which is garbage imo.. I returned that and bought two of the LD Maui 5 Compact systems which are incredible as well. and the mixer is built in.. no need to spend another $500 trying to make them sound right... LD Systems Amazing Quality @ a Great Price.
Musical Background:
Professional DJ and Voice Actor for over 30 years
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2018 by Christopher W in Evans, CO
"Update to my previous review"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used my pair of MAUI 28 G2s for the first time in a professional setting and I couldn't have been more blown away.. the clarity and bass are akin to the large sports stadium array speakers.. LD Systems makes those as well and it shows.. something not mentioned on the sales page is these units are designed to be used below 6,561ft which is a bummer as I am DJ in Colorado.. but I still have plenty of venues where I can use them. The sound out of these puts my game into an entirely new stratosphere.
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.