ONLY 2 LEFT

Lakland Skyline 55-02 Deluxe Maple Neck Bass Guitar

Incredible note clarity and tone at your fingertips! The Lakland Skyline 55-02 delivers an active punch with LH3 bass pickups wound by Lakland in Chicago.

Overall User Ratings (based on 4 ratings)
  • Overall:
    3.5 out of 5 stars
  • Sound:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Features:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Ease of Use:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Quality:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Value:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Manufacturer Support:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • The Wow Factor:
    3.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
(4) (see rating details)
Submitted July 18, 2023 by Daniel J in Heflin, AL

"Great bass.,..."

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this bass a couple of weeks now and have had time to play it some. First of all, this bass looks even better in person. Next, when the bass was delivered, it needed lots of setup. Had to raise the saddles and adjust the truss rod. The action was just way too low. Had fret buzz from one end to the other of the fret board. Now that I have raised the saddles, adjusted the truss rod, and slightly adjusted the intonation it plays great. A bass of this price should come with a hardshell case or at least a gig bag but no biggie. This bass sounds really good. It is very clear. The B string is awesome! It is a modern sounding bass. As for the weight of this bass, it's heavy. My other main bass is an Ernie Ball Music Man Stingray 5 string and it is a lot lighter than this Lakland 55-02. All things considered, I am happy with the purchase. It sounds great. It looks great. It's just a little heavier than I would like and I didn't really like the fact that it needed sooo much setup right out of the box.

Musical Background:

33 years bass player in church

Musical Style:

Praise and worship, southern gospel
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2023 by a customer from gmail.com

"GREAT BASS !!!!"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wonderful instrument !!! Can’t put it down , but I really WISH they could do something about the WEIGHT, how can something so Amazing, be this heavy, please work on this , you’ll go up 500% in sales
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2023 by a customer from icloud.com

"Excellent Bass Excellent Value"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Only had the 55-02 a few days but I'm satisfied so far. Excellent fit and finish.Great playability out of the box. Very well balanced as far as weight. I'm used to playing lightweight basses but this bass is very well balanced and doesn't feel heavy. Excellent tone. Very useable tones using the back pickup coil selector. I've been playing bass for over 40 years so I've played and owned a ton of basses. The Lakland Skyline 55-02 is a excellent bass.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2023 by Charles Baldwin in Philadelphia, PA

"Not a good experience."

Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First I’d like to praise ZZounds excellent customer service. I returned 2 of these basses and they even offered to send a third. They were great.I purchased the first Lakland 55-02 Honey Burst on March 2 2023. I received it on March 3 2023. TheThe Bass was excellent from what I could tell. The playability was great the fit and finish was also. I spent the next few days setting it up to my liking with strings that I like and finding EQ settings that I like. During my set up process I never played the bass very loud at gig levels because I really didn’t need too. The following week I decided to take it to a rehearsal so of course I was going to run it at higher levels. This is when I noticed a lot of hum from the bass which indicates a shielding problem. I thought the issue could have been the amp and room at the rehearsal space. So I got home and ran it at a higher volume and the hum was evident. None of my other basses have a problem at this rehearsal space or at home. So I decided to return it thinking I probably got a problem unit. I returned it on March 17 2023I explained the issue to ZZounds CS they sent a RA# and UPS label for a return and ordered a replacement which I received on March 18 2023 a day after I return the defective bass. So I unboxed the new bass hooked it right up to my amp and checked for hum and sure enough the replacement bass had the same issue and more. Along with the hum on the replacement bass issues were.1. The pickup coil switch was installed in the incorrect orientation.2. The control cavity cover was missing the midrange frequency guide 3. The volume pot would touch the control cavity foil and cause popping and clicking.4. One screw for the control cavity was loose because the screw hole was stripped. 5. The was a definite grounding issue that was evident from touching metal parts on the bass ie The bridge and strings. The first four issues were not a big deal. But the shielding/ground issue was a big deal for a brand new bass out of the box of a $1800 plus bass.The bass couldn’t be gigged with and I play bass for a living. The playability of the neck is fantastic as is the tone of this bass. It’s a great preamp. It just suffered from poor workmanship and quality control. If Lakalnd were to improve the shielding and solder work on this bass I would gladly pay $2000 plus or in the range of an American Fender Jazz because the neck playability is awesome. As I said previously ZZounds offered to send a third bass but I declined. There was absolutely no fault on ZZzounds part. The bass was shipped well there was no physical damage and ZZounds CS was excellent. I don’t know if there is an issue with the line in Indonesia where these basses are made but Lakland needs to check it out. Besides the poor electronic workmanship on the 2 basses I received its an excellent bass but it is an Electric Bass and if the electric part doesn’t function properly what do you have. Just my experience with 2 2022 build Lakland 55-02 Honey Burst Maple neck Basses.If this bass did not have electronic issues I would have given it 5 stars across the board.
Sound
The tonal quality is excellent minus the hum.
Features
The bass is very versatile but poor electronic workmanship.
Ease of Use
Very playable if not for the electronic issues
Quality
Fit and finish is great but poor electronic workmanship and Quality control.
Value
In my experience it's not. With better electronic workmanship it would be worth more.
Manufacturer Support
Did not reach out to the company.
The Wow Factor
Again great sounding bass that would have be in excellent to work with minus electronic issues.

Musical Background:

Professional Bassist for over 40 years. Toured internationally and nationally. Television work. Studio Sessions

Musical Style:

R&B Soul Jazz
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.