Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
JBL PRX418S Passive, Unpowered PA Subwoofer Speaker (1600 Watts, 1x18")
ONLY 2 LEFT

JBL PRX418S Passive, Unpowered PA Subwoofer Speaker (1600 Watts, 1x18")

Complete your sub/sat system with a powerful JBL subwoofer. This passive 18-inch sub pushes out 130 dB SPL, and is rated for 1600 watts program, 3200 peak. Unpowered. Requires separate power amplifier.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted March 19, 2013 by Funky Mechanic in Orange, CA
"JBL You Can Feel It, Booming Subwoofer!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I currently have an old school QSC RMX amp that I am running in bridge mono mode to power this baby at ~1200 watts, as well as 2 QSC K12 as my mains. All I can say is this subwoofer is comparable (or even better) to the QSC kw181... even running it at 800-1000 watts sounds amazing and can fill a good size room. The Selenium SWS1000 18" Subwoofer is the heart of this BASS machine and you can hear and feel the quality. The rear connections include a Neutrik Speakon and 1/4 TRS option, very convenient (use Speakon to prevent disconnects). It also only weighs 79 pounds and light enough for solo gigs. During testing my entire 2 story home was shaking and my neighbors thought there was an earthquake with this JBL as the epicenter. I'm saving up for a second one so I can couple them (yes with a 2nd amp that can bridge @ 4ohms and close to 2500 watts) to get the extra DB. Just buy it already if you have a powerful amp collecting dust.
Musical Background:
20+ Years as Mobile DJ
Musical Style:
House, Electronic, Hip-hop, R&B, Jazz, Some Rock
24 of 25 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2013 by juan espinal in brooklyn, NY
"JBL PRX418s Subwoofer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got a pair in today...And these subs are AMAZING..REALL bass,,if you have a good(CROWN)amp and DRIVERACK..WOW it has A PUNCH...i play all types of music (DJ)and these go with everything..size is perfect..and only 79lbs but feel lighter..before buying another..give this SUB a TRY..you wont regret it
Sound
im using it with dbx driverack260 and its incredible SOUND..its Punchy and Smooth..with DISTANCE
Quality
built to last
Value
its worth every dollar
The Wow Factor
GREAT SOUND!!
Musical Background:
professional dj
Musical Style:
spanish.and all type
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2014 by jorge s
"Jbl 418s ROCK!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Super nice subwoofer that really have a good clear solid bass i ran a pair with crown xls2500 bridge low freq. mode
Musical Background:
mobile dj
Musical Style:
Latin
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2014 by glacklin studios in mount vernon, NY
"you got the amp to drive these jbl's you're gonna be recognized"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i use a 4000 bringer amp to drive two jbl prx4182 ....the bass is just prefect to listen to i got to get two more for a complete set up
Musical Background:
more than 20 years as a disc jockey
Musical Style:
play all music
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 13, 2014 by a customer from hotmail.com
"loud subwoofer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very clear bottom frequencies, very sonic. I just wish they would have lowered the spectrum down to 30 hz for better range, I know the speaker can probably get that low, but at 35 hz I cant complain, it does its job
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2017 by Darryl Kearney in Bailey, NC
"1 out of 2 subs Kicks Butt!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was sooo excited to get my subs. This is my 1st experience with JBl. As soon as I received them, I hooked them up to my PV2000 and one cabinet sounded like the speaker was falling apart. I tried one at a time and found that one was ruptured. I called zZounds to get a return ship label so I could get this out and the other one sent soon as possible. Paul told me it would take a couple of days. This was unacceptable. I wanted it by Friday (today is Tuesday). He told me to order another one and I would be refunded. I told him I did not have the money on my card. He told me they would call me later(Maybe he was going by policy). I told him when I had a defective CV jr earthquake 2 years ago, you sent me a return label in 5 minutes. Then I realized that was AMS. Thanks a lot zZounds customer service. All the business I've given you over the years. I'm Done!!! No More zZounds....AMS for life now!!!!
Musical Background:
DJ, Producer, Musician
Musical Style:
R&B, Club, Hip hop, Dance, Dub, Gospel
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2013 by Francisco L in Milwaukee, WI
"Powerful sub, but BE CAREFUL!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered a pair of these subs and received the first sub on a wednesday. As a dj, I always like to try out the products for any defects. The first sub I tried out seemed to have a growly effect on the sub it self and as I turned up the knob on the amp it seemed to be that it kept sounding worse. I've had my set up for a while, everything the same in it and I've never had subwoofers sound growly at all! The next day I received the second subwoofer and I also tried that one out as well, and no growling effect or anything, very good and clean low end. As soon as I heard the second subwoofer I gave Zzounds a call for an exchange and was immediately sent another one hoping for a better result the second time around. Oh boy was I wrong. The replacement subwoofer for the first subwoofer also sounded the same as the first one with the growling noise and now im in the process of receiving the 3rd replacement for the first subwoofer. Now I know this is none of Zzounds fault as this can be a JBL manufacturers defect. Even though I am kind of getting annoyed with the fact that I have to send the subwoofer and wait for the other replacement, I have faith in Zzounds to correct this for me. Even though this is a Powerful sub, BE CAREFUL with that growling noise.
Musical Background:
DJ for 8 years.
Musical Style:
All types of music.
2 of 6 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2017 by Darryl Kearney in Bailey, NC
""1 out of 2 subs Kicks Butt!!!""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
OK, I'm still with zZounds. My replacement sub was ruptured also. Maybe there is a bad lot. I Called and told them that I wanted 2 labels for a refund for both. I received 1 return label. Since I'm not upset anymore, I decided to try once again. The good JBL sub that I do have sounds really nice. It doesn't hit and drop the bass like my CV Jr earthquakes, but it has some volume!!! Maybe when I get the second cabinet, it may come close. Well it , the new JBL arrived this morning. I will test it out as soon as I get off from work.
Musical Background:
DJ, Producer, Musician, R&B, Club, Hip hop, Dance, Dub, Gospel
Musical Style:
DJ, Producer, MusicianMusic Style: R&B, Club, Hip hop, Dance, Dub, Gospel
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2017 by Darryl Kearney in Bailey, NC
""1 out of 2 subs Kicks Butt!!!" Part 3"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well my second replacement came and it sounds like the voice coil is out of the magnet. "I give up!!". I believe when JBL did some of their 100 hour stress tests, some of the speakers that failed got out some how. Anyway, I'm done with JBL but I'm sticking with zounds because it is not their fault. I'm going with the EV EXT18SP. Don't let me down EV...... Thanks for all your help with the replacements zZounds. You still have me as a customer.....
Musical Background:
DJ, Producer, Musician for over 35 years
Musical Style:
R&B, Club, Hip hop, Dance, Dub, Gospel
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to