Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Overdrive Pedal

Ibanez Tube Screamer TS9 Overdrive Pedal

A solid-state pedal that somehow nails the sound of an overdriven tube amp, Ibanez's ever-popular Tube Screamer will drench your signal in sweet distortion.

Overall User Ratings (based on 189 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(189)
Submitted September 9, 2016 by a customer from verizon.net
"NO WONDER IT'S KINDA THE STANDARD"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I see this on about every pedal board. Finally gave it a try after at least eight or more OD's. It is what the say it is. Plain and simple and good sounding. Built heavy and the switch is quiet, no click. I started with the drive on 0 or 1 maybe the other night and just left it on. Done with tube amps and have gone to solid state. Turned my solid state amp into a tuber.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Old time blues
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2021 by Tom K
"All I need"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not a pedal guy. I have a Carl Martin Quattro that use effectively in my stage rig. But I also have a small/lightweight high-quality/high-power SS amp that I use for rehearsals. I hate riding the volume control on the guitar, so I wanted a lead boost with a touch of dirt for soloing. It took me less than a minute to dial in just what I wanted - a simulation of a tube amp just barely breaking up. I'll see what else it can do when I get around to it, but that's really all I need.
Musical Background:
Long-time Part-time Pro
Musical Style:
Mostly Jazz, but 50's-70's rock/pop as well.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2015 by steve neville in georgetown, OH
"Pricy but worth it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Pushing the tubes to break up point. This is the sound of the rock legends. Take your Fender amp into the blues and you Marshall amp into the late 70's...That warm touch feel area you know you need...
Musical Background:
40 yrs...
Musical Style:
blues,rock,jazz...and classical...
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Awsome pedal"
I'm only usin tubescreamers for my distotion needs
Sound
this thing makes a BIG difference. There is no way to get my peavey amp clean so i just turn down the tone and drive knobs and it boosts my sound giving it a little more kick for that clear but distorted sound for classic rock. just crank it up and its great for punk.
Features
kickin overdrive,sick paint. its enough for me
Quality
Mine is an original from back in the day and it still rocks. The only thing not perfect with mine is paint is flaking off but i like that used look.
Value
i got the best deal in the world. Its a collectors item and i got it for $40 i also got a power supply and a free cable with it from the music shop in Milan, and since its vintage if i dont want it I canjust sell it back to the shop and get $40 back whether it works or not
Manufacturer Support
didnt need it
The Wow Factor
the seasick green paint is sick
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
classic rock
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2013 by Ric B in Durham, NC
"Hoe Lee Shiz Nit!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play a Les Paul Custom through an Orange TH100 head and an orange cabinet. I love the dial to tune in different levels of distortion, but I could never quite get the sounds I wanted for certain songs (i.e., Cumbersome by Seven Mary Three) with the knob. But I plugged in this thing and it made me wonder why I waited all these years to take all the pro advice I've read saying to buy a Tube screamer. The range of this pedal is awesome and with just a little tweak, I can even sharpen the bite on heavier songs. My tone is sick with this pedal! And the range of sound possible was a bit surprising, too...I'm thinking about getting another one to put in my effects loop and mix things up. Worth every penny. Buy it NOW.
Musical Background:
Have played guitar for 28 years, love hard rock but have played everything from acoustic to metal.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 17, 2010 by a customer from entergy.com
"Screamer is nice add to small tube amps."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Seems to work fine, does what I want, not much to go wrong.
Sound
Nice - adds some distortion to my little 5w Bugera tube amp, but doesn't overdo it.
Ease of Use
Three simple dials, with ample variation, and one foot pedal.
Quality
Solid, well made.
The Wow Factor
It could be a little better looking - basically a green box.
Musical Background:
Active musician - retread from the 60s
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, R&B
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
Ibanez Tube Screamer TS9 Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Amazing sounds, great sustain, kick ass distortion
Ease of Use
Simple easy to read controls
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2012 by Anthony F in Long Island, NY
"TS9"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I replaced my Boss SD-1 with this TS9 and couldn't be happier. The TS9 has more of a real smooth tube overdrive without the edge or harshness the SD1 had. The SD1 is a fine pedal but not warm enough for blues and SRV stuff. Just as others have posted the TS9 doesn't cover up the characteristics of your guitar and is real easy to dial in your tone. The SD1 took a lot more tweaking to find a blues tone.
Musical Background:
pro/semi pro
Musical Style:
blues, blues rock, classic rock, a little of everything.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Matt's Review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beats my MXR Distortion +.
Sound
It really hugs the midrange creating a much clearer distortion rather then a much bassier, thicker tone most distortion pedals create.
Features
I can't see many features on the thing, it's just a very good distortion pedal with many clear distortion tones you can select.
Quality
As crazy as it sounds, I so far dropped it down the stairs and dropped my guitar case on it with the guitar in it so! Yeah...self explanitory isn't it?
Value
Hey, ya get what ya pay for...Although if that was the case the vintage one would be the best one...lol
Manufacturer Support
didn't need anyones support so I would rate it a 10 because I never had to bother with anyone.
The Wow Factor
It's got sucha ugly green color...it just attracted me I guess?
Musical Background:
I guess I'm to old to remember that either.
Musical Style:
I keep my options open to whatever...who needs a genre when you can play everything.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2010 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would continue to buy ibanez pedals.
Sound
This pedal is not overwhelming and compliments my mesa boogie roadster. Gives channel the edge I need for blues picking and gives both my 3rd and 4th channel the extra shape I was looking for.
Features
Simple yet easy to adjust.
Ease of Use
very simple indeed. fine tuning this to any tube amps would be a breeze.
Quality
I have had any problems with it. knock on wood!
Value
Well worth the money.
Manufacturer Support
No need them yet.
The Wow Factor
Green color is alright. I can spot a tube screamer easy.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 17, 2006 by a customer from aol.com
Ibanez Tube Screamer TS9 Customer Review
Sound
Great distortion. Works great for lead or rhythm (especially indie).
Features
Features? It's a distortion pedal... ok... LED, 3 knobs, switch. Adapter not included.
Ease of Use
Are you kidding?
Quality
No problems whatsoever. I use this pedal all the time and it works like a charm. Good battery life, too.
Value
One of the best sounding pedals out there, so price isn't really an option anyway now is it?
The Wow Factor
It's green... and it's built very well.
Musical Background:
Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Techno, Jazz
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"10 year user says:..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
would replace it. won't need anything else for it's use in my set up
Sound
very nice sounding distortion pedal, probably the best at what it does. I use a Marshall TSL2000 60 watt amp and a Les Paul Classic, and a Big Apple Stratocaster. I own a black muff pi, a boss DS-1, a boss metal zone, and a boss ME-50. This is a pedal I always come back to. The ME-50 gets close to being as good. I play in a gigging hard rock/alternative band (Lost Disciples.com). The pedal is built super tough. Great for blues to hard rock. The distortion on this sounds very natural for a pedal. It's not for super heavy music cuz the gain just doesn't go that high. Great for boosting your amps gain for a real good bite. It is a good booster for leads of any type of music. I love this pedal as part of my arsenal If I lost it, I'd find another. I'm considering using it as one of my main tones. I lets you hear the sound of your guitar without coloring everything too much. You can play it lightly for cleaner sounds or hit the strings hard for more distortion!
Features
three knobs... drive, tone, and level. Cover on bottom clips over battery compartment. AC adapter available. Simple features. does what it needs to do. Dial in a little bite or some hard rocking tones.
Quality
It's built probably better than a Boss pedal. Feels super solid. Nice heavy duty spring action switching. Never worried about it. Only thing is that after 10 years of knocking around in my gig bag the knobs wiggle slightly. Durability would be a lot better than the newer plastic grey units with the same name.
Value
Great value.. if you really value tone. Only way for better distortion would be to try a very expensive pedal.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed them
The Wow Factor
Nice color
Musical Background:
Active recording and gigging musician
Musical Style:
Hard rock
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2014 by Kirk Newell in Hopkins, MN
"!! WONDERFUL!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing ROCKS !!! Great sound !!
Musical Background:
Trumpet & Bass Clarinet through grade school & high school. Picked up the Guitar in high school
Musical Style:
Rock,Jazz & some Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
Ibanez Tube Screamer TS9 Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
After giving my friend his ts-8 back I had to replace it, I was told that I didn't want a ts9 because the ts8 was so much better. well I couldn't find a ts8 fast enough so i ordered the ts9. I couldn't be happier with the sound. with a stock Studio Les pail and a line6 flextone 3 set to a marshall sound. I could get infinte sustain almost on demand and pinch harmonics everywhere i try. I Love IT !!!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
heavy rock to metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"STRAT + TS9 + BASSMAN HEAD = BIG GRIN!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Being a guitarist, I would never say my search is over for the ultimate tone! But Hey! thats what keeps the guitar, amp and all things related industry rollin' on! All i will say is that for now I am a "Happy Bunny" Like I said, guitar players for years have raved about the Tubescreamers, I just wish that I had listened, I would have saved myself a lot, and I mean a LOT of cash. I hate the colour of this pedal...Yukky green! but it did not deter me from buying it, I stomp on it, not wear it!
Sound
I play in a blues / rock band, and although I tend to shy away from what the masses rave about and use my own ears, I just wish I had for once listened to what the majority of guitar players out there are saying! This pedal is a keeper. I have tried many boutique ts clones in the belief that they would be superior, WRONG! I use a strat into a Budda wah, dunlop rotovibe, custom built fuzzface clone, TS9, Fender 66'blackface bassman head. My sound was always suffering from being thin, enter the TS9, I can max the gain and still it will clean up enough from the guitar volume knob for double stops, jazzy chords and toneful passages. I must admit I do not know what this pedal sound like through a solid state amp, only a class valve amp, but for my style it sings. I find the tone control to be a touch harsh when maxed, so hey! I don't max it! Probably humbucker users would benfit from the wide range of this control, but I never have it past 11 o' clock. The thing I also love about the TS9, is that it sound just as good when the amp is at low volume as when the amp is cooking, but in a live situation, I use the fuzz to goose it into wild distortion. The thing I cannot understand is that so many reviewers state the pedal provides distortion! IT DOES NOT! It is a overdrive device!and a really good one at that!
Features
It has a DC input, great for saving on batteries, Volume, Gain and tone. What more could you need?
Quality
The pedal seems to be robust and well put together, I have heard that on older reissue models the switch has failed, so I hope that this problem has been rectified.
Value
After buying modded TS's and Boutique pedals, this reissue represents very good value.
Manufacturer Support
I have had no contact with manufacturers, so cannot say.
The Wow Factor
I hate the colour green!
Musical Background:
Active musician of 30 years playing live
Musical Style:
Rock / blues :Jimi Hendrix trbute
5 of 9 people (56%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 17, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This product does NOT scream, it merely talks."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was highly disappointed. I was expecting a way cooler sound. Don't be fooled by the hype, it's not as great as you think.
Sound
It don't see what the big deal is. It just sounds like mediocre distortion/overdrive to me.
Quality
Pretty good.
Value
It costs way more than what it's worth.
The Wow Factor
I guess it's a vintage standard or something. I would take one for free, but I refuse to pay for it.
Musical Background:
Producer, recording engineer, and musician
Musical Style:
R&B, Jazz, Hip-hop, and funk
3 of 30 people (10%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2011
"Good buy all around"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The tube screamer is known to be amazing with good reason. Its durable, sounds astounding, and can actually produce a wide variety of sounds for how simple it is. What more could you ask for?
Sound
This guitar can bring out that fat tone you just cant get any other way. Its adds a nice touch to my distortion channel and a light, bright distortion in the clean channel. Basically amazing all the way around.
Features
Nothing special about the features, pretty basic
Ease of Use
3 knobs and a button. Plug n' play. Analog which means its great with anything and you don't have to worry about all that electronic crap like with most pedals.
Quality
This thing is a tank. Its actually pretty heavy for its size and really durable. Everything is metal it should last forever.
Value
I'm actually surprised it isn't being sold for more. It feels and sounds worth way more than it really is. If you have enough money for something else, save your money and get this.
The Wow Factor
I picked it up because I was already spending so much on a tube amp and I thought "ehh this should go nicely with my amp." Heck ya it does. I can't play my amp without it. The sound out of this little stupid green box is amazing.
Musical Background:
teenage rocker
Musical Style:
CLASSIC ROCK ALL THE WAY
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2010
"Compleeted my tone!!"
One ofhe most imortant musical choices ive ever made.
Sound
This pedal compleeted my overall tone! I play through a Mesa F-50 with a Gibson Sg. I play a lot of heavy stuff. When i first got my amp I just coulnt get enough juice out of it. I brought home this pedal nd did an exparament. I put my ap distortion at half, then threw the pedal's overdrive on tp of it. WOW!!! I got a HUGE impovement in my tone. I have tried countless other overdrives, but for what i use them for, this one is best. I love the tone!
Ease of Use
Easy, like any other stomp box.
Quality
Verry sturdy. Steel made and heavy. Zero problembs yet.
Value
I bought mine at $100. This is great deal for this product.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Beatles to Slipknot
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2009
"Just Like S.R.V. Tube Screamer TS 9..."
for ever!!
Sound
if you want that srv sound then you got to get this pedal. that is what he used. just this and a wah. put the drive at 9 and the level at 12 and the tone at 12 and thats it. s.r.v. sound!!! it sounds just like his sound. it rocks. man it is a bad. just buy it now!!
Features
made like a rock!
Ease of Use
to easy.... to get that sound!!!!
Quality
it is a 10 + the best.
Value
i would pay a lot more for this if i had to.
Manufacturer Support
i bet it is good.
The Wow Factor
you got to have it for the s.r.v. sound. get it from here. you can not beat Zzounds!! no way...
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2009
"It's awesome..."
Sound
it has a awesome sound but you need a good cable and a good amp...
Features
its good but need more features. the tone is good the overdrive is awesome the volume at the max, awesome...
Ease of Use
just plug it in set it up and ready to go...
Quality
its ibanez. its good...
Value
for the price i would buy it...
The Wow Factor
i do whant it...
Musical Style:
Metal, Hard Core, Rock, Alternative
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2008
"Great Pedal"
overall its an awesome pedal
Sound
Sound I heard was great on this thing. Ecspecially if you want to play Paul Gilbert music.
Features
Its a tube screamer its green and kicks ass
Ease of Use
very easy to use just has three knobs
Quality
its awesome not a boss pedal but it still gives you that great sound that you are looking for.
Value
very good priced
Manufacturer Support
I like Ibanez i buy only there stuff like guitar and maybe some pedals
The Wow Factor
it looks really plain though
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 10, 2006
"you want this pedal no matter what"
the best pedal ever
Sound
very nice soloing sound almost clean sounding but still heavily distorted
Features
thats all you really need
Ease of Use
easy use nice easy fast channle switching
Quality
very well made pedal
Value
spendy but totally worth every penny
Manufacturer Support
none
The Wow Factor
the color is really cool it stands out
Musical Background:
in a band
Musical Style:
rock , metal
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2006
"kirk hammett uses the ts9"
the best pedal ever
Sound
it is the coolest sound for soloing it gives it a metalliica solo tone to it
Features
what else do you need
Ease of Use
super easy and fast channel switching
Quality
built very well
Value
its a little spendy but its well worth every penny
Manufacturer Support
no problems
The Wow Factor
lets just say you cant lose this pedal easily
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to