Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez SRF705 Portamento Fretless Electric Bass, 5-String

Ibanez SRF705 Portamento Fretless Electric Bass, 5-String

The SRF705 Portamento fretless bass channels traditional upright bass tone, thanks to its pair of Bartolini MK1-5 pickups and AeroSilk Piezo system.

Overall User Ratings (based on 7 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(7)
Submitted February 28, 2016 by Stephen D in Las Vegas, NV
"SRF705 Portamento Fretless 5"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have the Portamento running thru a Core X2 cable into a Bugera Veyron Tube head, then into both a Hartke HyDrive 8x10 cab and Bugera VP1800S 18" Sub. The sound is soo incredible, silky smooth, deep, deep lows, mind yourself you have to use a light subtle pluck with piezo on this, or put a piece of foam under your stings. Exactly the sound I was looking for! Will change out the D'Addario Chome XL's for a set of Thomastik JF345 Flatwound 5-String Jazz Bass Strings very soon Thank You Zzounds for yet another very easy and professionally handled transaction! Bass came setup very low string position....just how I wanted it for jazz
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Jazz, Alternative, Rock, R&B, Folk, Blues, Heavy Metal, Grunge, Pop, Electronica, Psy Chill, Chillout, Western Cowboy Trail Song
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2015 by Bigg Scott in Chicago, IL
"Best fretless bass I've ever played!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was a no brainer. The only thing, that could be better,is if I got it for free! I may switch tom flat-wound strings,later,but i really don't have to. It sounds perfect, right out of the box! The review would only let me rate 4and 1/2 stars. I didn't need customer support.
Musical Background:
Music Producer,, Studying Bass
Musical Style:
All Styles,but Hip hop, and Jazz are my forte.
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2018 by Lawrence T in Stone Mountain, GA
"Bad Neck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The neck on this thing has been a nightmare. I have finally taken it to a luthier, and even they can't get it straightened out. If it was still eligible, I would return it. Since I bought it blemished (DON'T DO THAT!) it doesn't have a manufacturer's warranty. So I'm stuck with a bass with a bad neck.
Musical Background:
Playing bass professionally 45 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, fusion jazz.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2017 by Lawrence T in Stone Mountain, GA
"Ibanez Fretless 5"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am pleasantly surprised with this, my first Ibanez bass. It's well made, with a great playing neck. I like the piezo pickups for a quasi-fretless tone (not perfect, but it's great for an electric). The side of the neck lines are a great security blanket for fretless playing, while leaving the fretboard clean. This plays as well as my Carvin Icon 5F, and has a thinner neck. This Ibanez is now my main gigging bass. I definitely recommend this bass.
Musical Background:
Playing 40 years
Musical Style:
Rock, blues...
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2015 by Chuck H in McRae-Helena, GA
"Great Fretless Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm relatively new to bass guitar, but I've been around for years. Recently, I fell in love with a friend's Fender fretless bass, & I had to get one of my own. After searching around and considering finances, I decided on the Ibanez SR705. I've always liked Ibanez products, tonal versatility, and this bass doesn't disappoint. Actually, it's quite nice. It plays and feels extremely smooth, the tone is great, and the quality & build are excellent. I feel I will have a very long affair with this instrument. As a matter of fact, when I pick up my Ibanez SR705 fretted after playing the fretless, it makes me feel like I've gone from something natural and organic to mechanical and clunky, although the SR705 fretted is a very nice instrument. Nothing beats a smooth fretless, and this bass plays very well. I'm very happy with my purchase. As a matter of fact, I have my first cover band gig in two weeks and I plan on using this bass, as it plays, reacts, and sounds that freakin' good.
Musical Background:
33 years multi-instrumentalist, 12-year studio owner, local producer, performer
Musical Style:
All styles.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2017 by Lawrence Tracy in Stone Mountain, GA
"Great Bass for the Money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this bass from zZounds about a year ago. The action was near-perfect right out of the box. It plays as good or better than my $1800 Carvin fretless, and is more versatile with the piezo pickup. It has a great sound, and has held up great. I recommend this bass highly!
Musical Background:
Playing bass for 43 years.
Musical Style:
All styles from country to jazz.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2015 by Chuck H in McRae-Helena, GA
"Great!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great feel, quality, playability, tonal variety, you can't go wrong with this bass. This is my first Ibanez bass, and I'm happy with everything about it. Can't speak for manufacturer support, but happy thus far. Looks great in person, hardware is nice & solid. Really a good bass for the money. I'm playing through an Ampeg BA, a few minimal pedals occasionally, and some virtual cabs / fx in Pro Tools.
Musical Background:
Pro / Semi-Pro, Studio Owner
Musical Style:
All styles
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us