Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez SRF700 Portamento Fretless Electric Bass

Ibanez SRF700 Portamento Fretless Electric Bass

Get natural acoustic bass and rich electric bass tones in one elegant fretless bass, with transparent Bartolini MK1 pickups and the AeroSilk Piezo system.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted August 12, 2018 by Anne W in Santa Barbara, CA
"Easy to play, perfect out of the box"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think I'm in love! I finally purchase the SRF700 and it was perfect right out of the box. I only had to adjust the piezos a bit to balance the volume across the strings, but it's so easy to do instructions aren't even necessary. Having never laid hand on a fretless bass, i was really surprised how easy it is to play, and to play in tune. The fret markers on the side of the bass are more than enough to help you know where you are, and I like the classy, more traditional, look of the lineless fretboard. My family owns a music store (stringed instruments) and there were lots of oohs and ahhs about the look; everyone said it was 'really pretty'. I love the through-neck.. it's smooth and fast like all SRs, and has really nice sustain, which kinda goes against it ever sounding exactly like a string bass, but it has its own sound which is very nice. The bartolinis give you a really wide range of sounds, but the piezos are still my favorite. This is the bass I want to pick up and play all the time. I wonder if I'll even touch my SR800 again... a great value, great price to become my go-to bass. I doubt you'll regret the purchase if you've been jonesin' for a fretless. I really love Ibanez bass. It's really light-weight too like all their SRs.
Musical Background:
Amateur, learning bass as a way to expand my musical knowledge, especially theory.
Musical Style:
jazz, blues, classic rock, classical
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2019 by Todd M in Lowell, AR
"Amazing!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My wife surprised me with this bass. I had been looking at it for awhile. It’s awesome to play, came perfectly set up and almost in tune right out of the box! The piezo is sensitive and warm, sounding close to an upright at times. Blending in the pickups adds a symphony of sounds to the bass. I’m overwhelmed with the beautiful finish and attention to detail. If you are a fretless player, this is an incredible investment that won’t let you down.
Musical Background:
Lifetime musician
Musical Style:
Jazz, funk, acoustic rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2021 by David Stotts in Newton, NC
"best upright bass ever on a electric"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
best upright bass ever on a electric sounds smooth as baby ass
Musical Background:
forever hooked
Musical Style:
if I can play it I will
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2017 by a customer from gmail.com in Palm Springs, CA
"Truly amazing sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've made custom basses and have been playing bass for 40 years and I have to say the price and sound is one of the best instruments i have ever played. Ibanez has found a way to make affordable amazing instruments. Having said that there are a few things to consider. Because the fret board is so close to the pick ups (by the way the pick ups are amazing) it makes slapping a little getting used to. also the last few inches on the neck are really difficult to play in tune because use the spacing is barely the thickness of a finger but it is fun to work a lot of different sounds at that high of a pitch. The sustain will last for ever until you release the note and the Mahwa sound is great. very easy to play..it almost plays itself if your chops are good. I have a blemished one that is in perfect condition except for some spotty finish on the back of the body...looks like a factory over-spray. has no affect on the playing or sound and got a great price.
Musical Background:
40 years in all styles, Shows, studio, concerts, clubs
Musical Style:
mainly: jazz, funk, fusion, Motown.
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2014 by a customer from aol.com in barling, AR
"Amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had it a week played a couple gigs an love it! Had lots of ppl and musicians bragging on its looks and the Tone from just the pizo pickup. I am more than satisfied with looks, feel and tone! Easy on the fingers, played it for almost 5yrs at a jam and my fingers didn't hurt lol the 4 or 5 guys and one lady played it an they loved it as well! Glad I did the pay as you play plan!
Musical Background:
have played bass about 9 yrs
Musical Style:
Classic rock, country, some blues, gospel
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2020 by a customer from live.com
"Disapointing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass arrived essentially DOA. Is Quality Control a thing anymore. Dirty pots right out of the box. I can live with that, but certainly leaves me questioning the thought process of choosing components. But the kicker was a failing jack input. It literally failed after 2 uses. One test run, and then the gig. I unplugged it to reroute a cable mid set, and that was that. Terrible buzzing. I had to partially pull the cable free to continue, and it shorted out every time I moved. Outside of that, it was playable without adjustment, great balance, and with a little trial and error, I dialed in a nice tone. Overall though, do to faulty/cheap components, not worth the money. The bass I "upgraded" from is better in almost every way.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2014 by Dennis D in barling, AR
"Amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok I've had my SRF700 for about a month now. Can't say enough good about it! The tone is fantastic, just with the pizo pick it sounds great. Don't sound like a standup bass but still sounds great! Every gig I've played at there's always one most times 3 or 4 have to pick it up an they like the look an how easy it is to play. Easy on the fingers lol if your looking for a great bass this is the one. I'm going to sale my GWB35 I probably won't ever play it now. Love the bass but it's time to go an make room for the SRF 700, portamento 4 string! Buy it you won't be disappointed!
Musical Background:
been play about 10 yrs for fun, jams, a few party's
Musical Style:
Country, blues, bluegrass, gospel and some classic older rock-roll
8 of 10 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2017 by Craig E in Elgin, IL
"You get what you pay for."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this bass for about a month and the input jack is going bad... it sounds great when it works... The neck is high on one side...
Musical Background:
Pro and I teach Guitar, bass, and piano.
Musical Style:
Jazz, Rock, Classical
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2020 by Lane T in Winfield, KS
"Dissappointing, overrated"
I've tried both the 4 and 6 string version. Both had issues with the fingerboard being very uneven, greatly compromising the action. The pots needed cleaning. And the piezo adjusters broke on the 4 string model, which was an expensive repair. As a professional bassist who's played a ton of instruments, I've seen more playable instruments out of Squiers.
Musical Background:
Professional, studio, performances, etc
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to