Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez RGA42FM Electric Guitar

Ibanez RGA42FM Electric Guitar

The Ibanez RGA42FM has serious rock and roll attitude. With a flame maple top and a Wizard II neck, the Ibanez RGA42FM is perfect for rock applications.

Overall User Ratings (based on 21 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(21)
Submitted July 25, 2018 by James M in Reidsville, NC
"It’s growing on me"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar a few weeks ago and wanted to play it a bit before I reviewed it. When I first got it the frets were very rough and it buzzed like crazy but I am fairly good with fixing up frets so I did my thing and sanded them down and polished them really good and now it’s an absolutely great instrument. From the looks of the reviews I may have just received one that slipped past and I’m sure if I would have asked zZounds would have switched out the guitar for me. Now that it’s all fixed up I have to say that it sounds amazing and you can really dial in some great tone with this rig.I am really enjoying it and plan on getting another Ibanez after I pay this one off.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 8 months. I practice every morning and night at home.. I’m addicted
Musical Style:
Blues,rock,classic rock, metal, country..
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2009 by a customer from aol.com
"AWESOME FOR THE MONEY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i plan on keeping this thing for a long long while, plays very well, sounds awesome with the emg's. if it were lost, stolen, etc. i would buy another.
Sound
it sounds great stock, i added the emg 81/85 set and it made a world of difference. definatley worth uprgrading. this guitar is great for metal and hard rock, nice thin neck for shredding!
Features
it is pretty straight forward, nice tuners and bridge, plays well. the stock electronics are a little cheesy with the mid cut switch but i ripped all that out in favor of a set of emgs. otherwise its great for the money.
Ease of Use
easy to get a heavy sound from, as well as nice leads. definatley goes good with a boosted tube amp.
Quality
overall fit and finish is very good for this price. my frets were a little rough on the edges, but thats no big deal. the only complaint i have with this guitar is that the factory wiring is very sloppy. i know this because i replaced the pickups and all electronics for emg's.
Value
this guitar is a great value, buy this and upgrade the electronics and you have the equivelant of a prestige ibanez for a fraction of the cost.
Manufacturer Support
i picked 10 because i havent dealt with them, but i imagine there will be no issues with this guitar, well made!
The Wow Factor
the thin neck and the red burst with black hardware is what makes it.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, metal
33 of 35 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 2, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Why haven't I got one before???"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own several guitars and play a few styles. I've always wanted an Ibanez as its a "super-Strat", but bever pulled the trigger. Satriani is a big influence on me and love his axes. So I finally decided to get one.Why did I wait so long? This thing is easier to play than my Fender Strat, lighter than my Epi Les Paul and I'm not going to need to upgrade it like I did my Epi SG. Out of the box, I as blown away with its design and simple beauty. That flamed maple top!!! After tuning I ran it through some places. Holy $h@&! A little cleaning, a quick string change a light set up and boom! Best $400 I've spent since my Les Paul, and more fun to play!!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2019 by Dante D in Oxnard, CA
"Amazing for value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is awesome! It stays in tune really well and sounds great! It is super light and has a super fast neck.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for 2 years.
Musical Style:
I play thrash metal.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2020 by waylon w in hazel green, AL
"Great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great guitar, as long as you understand what you are getting. First thing is the finish, it's a flat/satin. There's no wood filler or heavy clear coat, it's stained and maybe has a light/thin sealer on it. You can see and feel the wood grain, especially on the back and in the body routing around the horns. The FM top is as smooth as silk. I have no complaints and love being able to see the wood, as with no heavy paint they can't hide anything. The neck is great, it's thin but comfortable. It's a very thin D profile, you can feel the shoulders. It kind of makes it feel like a wide neck but honestly, I find it easier to play since it has a flat board 15.7" per Ibanez. It has jumbo frets not extra jumbo, so they aren't as tall as ESP/LTD frets. I'm not a fan of EJ, so this works perfectly for me. I will say the Jatoba board is smooth and not grabby but doesn't look as nice as other woods. It's just plain looking, however I do like that it isn't as dark as Rosewood. The pups aren't bad at all and with a 5 way selector, there's lots of options. It can really do just about any style music. The tuners seem to hold well and adjust pretty easily, no crunchiness. The bridge is solid and is basically a strat hard tail type. It's not perfect, mine did have some stain on the back of the neck but it cleaned off easily with a damp rag and a little soap. Fitment of the neck to body is pretty good, no huge gaps or such. The binding looks great and has no issues. Action came set up pretty good as well, it was actually in tune (never had that happen) but it was tuned drop D flat to E flat. It's really a great guitar for tuning changes, which is why I wanted a hard tail. I have some guitars with tremolos and doing drop tunings can be a pain. It's really a great bang for the buck, plays great as is or makes the perfect platform for modding. For those not sure on Ibanez. This guitar has a super light body that looks like a cross between an S-body (strat) and a SG. It's light like the SG but without the neck dive. The quality is great, it's on par with the MIM strat and duo sonic I have. The best part is it's cheaper, I could mod this and still have less in it than a new MIM strat.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2017 by Paul E in New York, NY
"Great guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a long time bass and sax player, just getting into guitar. This guitar looks really good. The pickups sound just fine through a tube amp (similar to laney cub 12r). Both Dirty and Clean, with rounds and flats. I cannot really justify a pickup upgrade. I only needed to get the nut finished.It isn't a thousand dollar guitar, but this is a great deal for the money.
Sound
It has good clean and dirty sounds, but this is also amp and string dependent.
Features
the parts seem to be reliable. It holds tune well.
Musical Background:
Playing music for thirty years. sax, bass, and vox.
Musical Style:
jazz, pop, and rock
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2019 by Kenneth M in Massena, NY
"Beauty that's a beast"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am now in my 2nd day of ownership and I decided to set this extremely light and sexy purple (blemished) have not found one ...down long enuff to read reviews.and ya if I could find something about it I dont like... well havent!. What's there not to love at the reasonable price and the abilities this ax possesses. 5way and quantum is a nice pxkge.what. would one expect? At fraction of the price on those high dollar "others".. I feel pretty smart these days not emptying my wallet and can say. The wizard neck is so sweet jatoba fretboard is not only beautiful sustain harmonics....for days....VERY NICE..zZOUNDS AND IBANEZ....THANK YOU FOR. A GREAT DEAL ON A KEEPER....OH YEA AND WHY UPGRADE ANYTHING SEEMS TOVDEFEATCYHE PURPOSE AND UNNECESSARY IN MY OPINION. BUT IM A TIGHTWAD.been a member of the ibz family for awhile and they never stop making great products with reasonable pricing.
Musical Background:
Played first guitar at age 10 just turned 60
Musical Style:
Rock metal ..modern country
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2020 by George Kropog in Monroe, MI
"Are you kidding me? JUNK!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The neck has a backbend and a twist. Several frets were high so much so that the guitar wouldn't set up at all. So, I called zZounds and they suggested I take it to a Luther to fix my guitar. They should have told me to immediately return it to Ibanez because now since it's been worked on my warranty is void. Thanks zZounds, now I'm stuck with a crap guitar. I'll never buy an Ibanez again!!!
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to