Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez RG652AHM Prestige Electric Guitar (with Case)
ONLY 2 LEFT

Ibanez RG652AHM Prestige Electric Guitar (with Case)

An ash body keeps your highs sparkly and your lows rumbling, while DiMarzio Air Norton and Tone Zone pickups help your soaring solos cut through the mix.

Overall User Ratings (based on 17 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(17)
Submitted September 27, 2015 by Tim P in Valparaiso, IN
"Perfect"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This is the nicest playing guitar I have ever owned. I have been a pawn shop hunter for years and decided I really wanted something new. After weeks and weeks of research and then research on particular Ibanez models, I chose this one. I usually would stay away from RG bodies because I am short and felt like they dwarfed me. This particular RG with no pick guard and no pick up rings just felt slimmed down and the ash body makes It nice and light. The neck joint and contour on the back of the guitar is perfect.
Sound
It has a birds eye maple neck on it, on mine, the neck is covered in birds eye from fret 9 to fret 24 and its beautiful looking. The maple is tight, fast and poppy, it has a very clear tone. The pick ups were new to me, air Norton, tone zone, I have never tried these before but I am impressed. I found this guitar doing exactly what I wanted it to with stunning results. I am usually | Bridge pup, knobs on 10 - that's it. This guitar offers several awesome tones, I think because of the pups, ash body and that birds eye neck is the coolest neck I have ever seen on an Ibanez. (This is my 5th and final, finally got one made in Japan!) The bridge pup is harsh and warm at the same time, its hard to put into vocabulary, this pick up screams, has killer sustain and clarity and is easy to shape with the controls on your amp. The neck pup is super clear, when your playing a chord, you hear the chord and you hear all the notes in that chord, which is awesome. The guitar on a whole is very juicy and harmonic. The 5 way switch, usually part of a guitar that is dead to me, this guitars 5 way is like having 5 distinct guitar tones at your finger tips. I learned how absolutely clear this guitar sounds because when it was delivered, I was working and wanted to get cleaned up before even touching the guitar, I did open the case and put my hands on the neck like playing it like a piano. When I did this, the notes jumped off the neck. This is a very dynamic, clean and clear guitar with a lot of tone, sustain and the ability to be easily manipulated. I never use a single coil in the middle position so this guitar made a lot more sense in that respect.
Features
The finish is unique, the birds eye on the neck, again, coolest neck I have ever seen on an Ibanez. I like the flower inlay thing but it isn't me. This guitar is extremely stable, you can lift the trem 2.5 steps, shake it, dive it, wiggle it warble it, the guitar does not come out of tune. The tremolo finds itself back in the same place weather your pulling up or pushing down, its in tune. The ash body makes it light and the contouring on the back looks and feels great. I just want to mention the binding is beautiful and perfect. The prestige fret edge treatment is so nice compared to some of the Indonesian Ibanez guitars I have had. You never feel the frets, the edges of them feel tucked down and never interfere.
Ease of Use
It almost plays itself for me because of the neck, its thin, flat and very responsive. I have been playing for 30 years and working with my hands for the same number of years. I have arthritis and carpel tunnel syndrome, playing my les paul is out of the question for me. I also have a 73 strat that is getting increasingly harder to play for me. This guitar is so easy to play that in 3 days of practicing for about an hour a day, I can feel and hear vast improvements in my playing and my hands don't hurt or feel tired after 45 minutes of solid playing. For this reason, I will have this guitar for a very long time. The sound being what it is , just a bonus and I really appreciate getting an instrument that looks awesome, plays awesome, sounds awesome and all I have to do is play the hell out of it. Thanks Ibanez!
Quality
The quality of this guitar continues to blow me away when I compare it to some other stuff at this price range and even above this price range. I REALLY wanted one Made in japan and I am glad I got this guitar.
Value
Some other things need mentioned that are not mentioned by the zzounds description or other reviews. 1. I cant stress enough how awesome this birds eye is, the pictures don't show nearly how cool the neck on my guitar is. 2. The case it comes with. WOW, nicest case I have had a long long time and the case is light. It is a deep case, has 2 really nice accessory cabins, plush thick case liner that keeps the guitar very snug and safe, its like sticking your guitar in a padded cloud. 3. The set up tool that comes with the guitar is very cool. It is like the Swiss army knife of guitar tools. 4. The owners manual covers everything you'll need to know to take care of the guitar properly. 5. My guitar came set up perfectly, all the tags were taken off it and it was packed with a check list of things they checked and set up before they shipped it. 6. Zzounds shipped it to me for free. I really did a LOT of research on 36 different guitars, I called people, I emailed people, I asked myself a lot of questions and had a list of must haves. I sold 4 other guitars to get this and I would do it all over again if I had to, as long as I got this exact guitar back. I had up to 2k to spend. Ibanez and Zzounds got me what I needed, wanted and then some for less than I honestly anticipated. It came down to this and 2 other Ibanez guitars honestly and I was prepared to send this back and try one more but this is the 1st one shipped from Zzounds and it isn't leaving my side for a long time. I have a lot of work to do and I intend on using this guitar for all of it.
Manufacturer Support
I emailed them twice, got a response pretty quick, considering how nice and stable this instrument is, combined with the quality of its parts and build, I really don't see me needing them for anything so I gave them 5 stars on this.
The Wow Factor
I am just extremely pleased with this purchase and I know I have only had the guitar for a few days but I have done my research and this isn't my first rodeo. For me, buying a new guitar is like buying a new car, its a real pain! This has been a seamless and ultimately very fast transfer / integration of this new instrument. It has basically taken over my playing time. I know its new but the honeymoon was over before it got here as I just wanted to almost close and open my eyes and be adjusted to this guitar and it happened almost that fast. One tiny thing, I have used ernie ball super slinky .009s for over 12 years. I know they sent this to me with .009's on it but they weren't slinkys, not a problem because it isn't an option and I like to throw a fresh set of strings on anyway. However, this was shipped with .009's so I figured I would live with them as long as possible. I put on my super slinkys last night and OH MAN... its even better. I played for an additional 35 minutes. I couldn't put the thing down. Made in Japan Beautiful finish, awesome neck awesome pups beautiful binding extremely stable tremolo tuners on the trem are tight and accurate. perfect tone woods, perfect feel beautiful case nice tools provided nice owners manual warranty unique awesome clean tone all the way to modern metal tones sustain, clarity, versatility It has it all.
Musical Background:
Guitar - 30 years - professionally -
Musical Style:
I track everything from rap hooks to metal rhythms and progressive (whatever that word means now) ambient doom metal to very cle
62 of 62 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2016 by Jeff S in San Diego, CA
"Most beautiul playing and looking guitar I have ever owned"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is truly stunning. Pictures do not even do it justice. I have owned Japanese ESP's, as well as a USA Jackson and for me this is the best playing guitar I have ever owned. The wizard neck is so comfortable and for someone who doesn't have giant hands it feels great when I play. I am officially an Ibanez Prestige believer. Incredible instrument!
Musical Background:
I've been playing for 13 years and played Violin prior to guitar
Musical Style:
Metal, Shred, Progressive
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2020 by Mike N in PAOLA, KS
"Ibanez RG652AHM Prestige"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is everything you would expect from an Ibanez Prestige. The build quality is second to none. The fretwork and finish details are as good as it gets. I have a very specific setup preference. Once I got this guitar dialed in to my liking, it plays exactly like my RGA with the exception of the Edge trem vs a Gibraltar bridge. Speaking of the Edge trem, it is in my opinion the best double locking system available. Its dead stable tuning wise, with no slop in the arm and very smooth and precise. Tremolo flutter is effortless. The biggest surprise to me is the light weight, which I love. The Dimarzio/ Ash combination provides amazing tone. This guitar is brighter than my mahogany/maple RGA but still has great bottom end. Lastly, this guitar is a work of art, but with the consistency of Ibanez manufacturing, I could have purchased this model anywhere and had the exsct same instrument. Thats where zZounds made a tremendous difference. I ordered this online and it arrived two days later perfectly on schedule. Additionally, zZounds made the whole process much easier by offering a 12 month interest free payment plan. I cant imagine taking my business anywhere else for future purchases.
Musical Background:
Practicing musician
Musical Style:
blues, rock, progressive
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2017 by Matt Housman in Trinidad, CO
"Outstanding Value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Back in the 80's & 90's I owned & played many Ibanez Prestige models. I owned an Ibanez Artist, 540S, Satch & Via models & multiple other models. I've always considered Ibanez as one of the makers of many fine instruments. When the Grunge scene moved in and took over, I started playing Gibson & Fender instruments. I purchased a Ibanez AS153 Semi Hollow body several months ago and I was really impressed by the build quality even if it wasn't a Prestige model. Ibanez's quality control has always been second to none. After buying the AS153, I started to consider buying a Prestige model with a tremelo system. When I received the guitar, I changed the strings to Ernie Ball Cobalt .09s, lowered the action, then adjusted the neck & tremelo. I was immediately impressed with the RG542AHMs beauty & quality. I had forgottten just how exceptional the Prestige models are. I went over the guitar with a fine tooth comb & couldn't find any issues, not even an over spray or drop of paint that ran. The guitar is absolutely perfect & plays like a dream. Astetically, it's gorgeous and the birds eye maple fretboard is a jaw dropper. When at first I opened the case, I sat there and just stared the the guitar' s beauty. The RG542 is so smooth and easy to play that it's like a hot knife cutting butter. Every piece of hardware & the guitar itself is highly functional & built for one thing, playability. Ibanez hit the nail on the head with this instrument, outstanding.
Musical Background:
Lead guitarist with over 40 years of experience...
Musical Style:
Mostly rock music....
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2018 by Adam Kralic in Monroe, WI
"Old school neck meets 2018"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My all time fav guitar was a 1990 Ibanez USA Custom. I played the living bejeebus out of it and long story short sold it. While I got exactly what I paid for it TWENTY years earlier...selling it was still a mistake. I tried later Ibanez but they just weren’t the same...until the 652. It has the exact same neck dimensions as my USA custom from ‘90 did! Same Trem too. Needless to say I am overjoyed at the return of a familiar feeling guitar. Even better? The 652 is overall a better guitar for. A number of reasons. 1. Better neck joint. (Smoother heel that is shaped for max reach) 2. Better wood. (USA was basswood with a rosewood fretboard....652 is ash with a birds eye fretboard) 3. Smoother neck finish on the 652. Feels like satin. 4. Better pickup options. My USA custom had 1 hum + vol & tone. Came with a IBZ hum. 652 has 2 hums + vol + tone and a 5 way. Pups are Dimarzio tone zone and air norton. Both guitars have bound frets. So I obviously love this axe...if you loved the old school Ibanez...you will too. (This neck shape is the neck shape from 87-92.)Two thumbs up from this guy.
Musical Background:
Playing for 25 years now. (Some off and on years though)
Musical Style:
I love all metal.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 13, 2018 by jeff monroe in east wenatchee, WA
"Absolutely Incredible"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am blown away by every aspect of this beautiful instrument. The feel, tone, tuning stability and looks are all perfect. An Original Floyd is awesome but the Original Edge is perfect in every way. This guitar is so comfortable to play standing or sitting that long sessions are a breeze and I now look forward to them. I grew up learning from Metallica, Testament, Slayer, Megadeth and Sepultura just to name a few. However, I now play Worship and have for the last 6 years. This guitar is perfect for Worship and lets me have fun and remissness as well. It covers all the ground I need it to and much more. I will be buying only Prestige from here on out and it will be from zZounds. Incredible customer service and payment plans. Thank you zZounds, for everything.
Musical Background:
30 Years
Musical Style:
Christian/Worship - Metal background
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 12, 2017 by Dutch C in Crescent Lake, OR
"Absolutely stunning"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a pretty decent guitar collection and this Japanese made Ibanez is at the top of my collection. The playability of this guitar is just silly good. The nexk is so smooth and every fret edge has been meticulously sanded by a superb luthier. The finish just boggles the mind, so beautiful, so expertly crafted, the guitar just pops big time. I've always wanted a Japanese made Ibanez and now I own a beauty. The pups are killer, awesome neck pup for mellow, creamy rythms, and the bridge pup bites right through the mix big time. As for zZounds this is my 3rd guitar I've purchased and I love knowing that I can trust them to ship me a beauty. their pay as you play program allows me to get all the instruments and gear I need and I am a very satisfied musician and customer for life. They ship practically immediately and my gear always arrives fast and in perfect condition. A+ on the guitar and an A+ for zZounds!
Musical Background:
Musician and player for 20+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, classic rock, hard rock, metal, blues, some Delta blues and country, folk rock, r&b
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2017 by Robert R in Ormond Beach , FL
"Great Guitar!!! A true Beast!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just bought this guitar from zZounds on Sunday and it was delivered today (Wednesday). Very fast process and well packaged from zZounds. I wouldn't buy a guitar from anywhere else. They are the best. Now, about this awesome shredding axe. The quality is extraordinary. The Japanese build guitars as good as Fender or Gibson. This thing rocks. The Dimarzio pups are great and the Edge tremelo keeps this beauty in tune no matter how many bends and dive bombs I can throw at it. The wizard neck is a rockers dream. If you are considering buying it.just do it. You won't regret it. Best $1300 I've ever spent on a guitar. I have bought a PRS SE custom, a Gibson Les Paul traditional and a Fender USA made Strat from zZounds over the past 18 months. This ibanez is as good or better than all of those. I love them all. If I had to pick only one it would be a tough call between the Les Paul and this Ibanez! For rock and metal I'd go with the Ibanez. Anyway this guitar is that good. The quality is second to none and the price is great for what you get! And zZounds is the best! Their payment plans are awesome. I won't buy any musical equipment from anyone else.
Musical Background:
30 years playing guitar. Not a pro!
Musical Style:
Hard rock, metal, and more metal!
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2016 by Karim P in Brownsville, TX
"Perfect."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The most beautiful guitar I've ever had, and played!The color, the finish, maple, dimarzios, dark hardware, the neck, prestige... Nothing needed modifications, as for me.The rg652ahm is perfect! My #1 since I bought it (6 months ago).
Musical Background:
I've been singing and composing songs for more than 15yrs. I'm into home production.
Musical Style:
new-jazz, lounge, electronic, rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 14, 2018 by Brian B in Valrico, FL
"Amazing tones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own an American 2004 Les Paul and 96 Strat plus. Amazing guitars. This guitar is as good as any of them. Utterly amazing tones. The single coil tones are breathtaking and fender ish bigtime. The humbuckers crunch and scream like a banshee. The sustain is nearly Les Paul like ... overtones from all the pups are incredible and beautiful. Construction by the Japanese Luthiers is TOP NOTCH. I could not believe the craftsmanship as I was skeptical to be honest. The guitar is beautiful ... no quilted top ... its still superfluous in construction and plays like butter. It weighs about 7.5 lbs. which is about half the Les Paul and keeps the same or better tones and is $1000 less. I bought Nebula Green.The tremelo is mildly finicky, but YouTube solves and diminishes any issues here. The locking tuners hold tune 100%. Tremelo dive bombs are now fun as heck. I did 25 the first day ... each time the guitar held its tuning perfectly. The action from the factory is acceptable but could use a very mild adjustment. Once done ... this is the perfect guitar.Ibanez destroyed my Skepticism.
Sound
It is responsive and buttery. A dream to play.
Features
Locking Nut is 100% tune loss proof. Whammy dive bombs are way too fun.
Ease of Use
Cake to use. Some learning required to your own tremolo adjustments. YouTube.
Quality
High reliability. High player satisfaction.
Value
Should sell for $500 more, its in that fine guitar class of guitars. Non quilted top helps keep the price down, yet it is absolutely gorgeous. Online pics do it no justice.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't used them.
The Wow Factor
Limited Edition USA model, I believe. Just off the charts in the ... Im blown away ... category ... so yeah ... wow!!!!!
Musical Background:
35 years playing Guitar. Also play drums, bass, and harmonica ...
Musical Style:
Mostly classic rock, some 80s metal/rock, a little country.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2018 by Robert Rudock in Indian Trail, NC
"652AHM Nebula Burst"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This should be one of your bucket list guitars. It is absolutely stunning and plays like a dream. The Birdseye maple neck up close is just too gorgeous for words. I also have a Prestige 655M which is my baby for a long time, and a S5470 that I love, (also now the 550 Genesis) but in A/B testing, this one has the best tone to my ears. I normally gravitate to the neck pickups in the others for a sweeter tone, but this one seems to preserve that well in the bridge pickup while also allowing hotter harmonics without sacrificing note tone. Very round, lots of character, sounds very much like Satch tracks through a Marshall DSL40C. For whatever reason I tend to prefer guitars with pickguards but this is still my most complimented guitar by others. Ooh, what's that?! That, sir, is the Ibanez Prestige RG652AHM. My next band practice we started with Blue on Black and they were like hey man what did you change? That's the best tone you've ever had.
Musical Background:
30+ year guitar player
Musical Style:
Hard Rock / Pop Rock / Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2021 by Chris J in Plymouth, MA
"As close to perfect as I have..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this guitar last year and still love it as much as when I got it. It plays so smoothly and sounds great on every amp I own. Bogner 3534, EVH 5153 50-watt Standard and Stealth, Marshall JVM410HJS, Hughes and Kettner TriAmp Mk 2, Ceriatone AH-100 Deluxe, Blackheart Little Giant and Hotone Captain Sunset (SLO) I can't say the same for many other guitars I own.The quality of the workmanship is off the page. The components are top notch and it's beautiful to look at. The neck is the smoothest I own. The Tone Zone sounds great clean but really shines in overdrive. The trem is similar to a Floyd Rose. It stays in tune extremely well.I can't say enough about the quality. Made in Japan is as good as made in America these days. Even the case is 5 stars! Well worth the $$!
Musical Background:
Guitarist
Musical Style:
Hard rock, metal and punk
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 17, 2020 by Gerard Albert in Chesterland, OH
"Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered a Gibson Studio that I had to send back because of many issues I had with it. I was so disappointed in the lack of quality and attention to detail. Sent that one back and had zZounds swap it out for the Ibanez. The difference in quality and play-ability is light years ahead of Gibson. The Ibanez came in a beautiful solid case with a multi-tool (great touch), and was perfect right out of the box. This guitar plays like a dream and is absolutely gorgeous. The sound quality of the pickups are superb and I love the attention to details. The birdseye neck is beautiful and smooth as well as the fret ends. Thank you zZounds for taking care of the swap in an expedient fashion and giving me a little discount to boot. I'm a huge fan of zZounds and now Ibanez. Simply outstanding. Thanks you!!
Musical Background:
Fifty plus years.
Musical Style:
eclectic, mostly jazz fusion, some classic rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 23, 2017 by Ryan Schueller in Los Angeles, CA
"SICK GUITAR!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own a Ibanez RG3520ZE and a PWM10. I believe this guitar is better than both of them. Neck plays great, pick ups sound huge and the frets are perfect (no PLEK needed).
Musical Background:
Playing guitar 25 years
Musical Style:
Prog rock... and electronic-ragtime-chillwave
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2018 by scott williams in Mount Vernon , MO
"Tuning issues"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Beautiful guitar. The finish is outstanding. The neck feels very comfortable and very easy to play. My issue is keeping it in tune. Yes, I know how to tune a guitar. I took this guitar to a very capable guitar tech and he made sure that it’s properly set up. After doing so, he also encountered the issue of keeping this guitar in tune. Is this the case with all of them? I highly doubt it. They are very well made and typically have zero issues. Mine however is very frustrating for me or anyone else that attempts to play it.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 23 years
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 31, 2015 by Warren W in LRock, AR
"No longer just wanting"
I stand in TOTAL AWE!! She arrived the 26th of Aug. I knew from the moment of contact raising her out of the case she was the ONE. Being prior NAVY I have looked down into the ocean from various ships which her finish resembles quite nicely. The neck being bird's eye maple is beyond compare, bound with a feel of almost hand rubbed oil finish. The strings reverberate through her with no interruption and seems infinite. This guitar was well worth the 1960 Les Paul I gave up and definitely worth the wait. The best part besides the total package is the combination of these two pups which I think represents the best example that works best with this guitar's tonal woods and makeup. I have heard them in others (basswood) and they sounded mundane and flat. I have put both Yngwie strats back in their cases along with my other Nippon RG520QSTB. This ladies and gentlemen is "IT". Thank you Ibanez.
Musical Background:
over 20 years playing. I also play a Rick 4003. semi
Musical Style:
Christian, rock, blues
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 8, 2015 by Warren W in Fairfield Bay, AR
"not for a lack of wanting...."
it would be nice just to get the guitar.....the wait is killing me. I gave up a 1960s heritage Cherry Les Paul for this guitar knowing that it will be MORE than worth it. But yeah......still kinda just waiting.......still.....I have another Japanese model RG that is the absolute best and has never let me down. having lived in Japan I am fully aware of their craftsman capabilities and I know this guitar will never disappoint.
Musical Background:
30 yrs. Guitar and Bass semi pro,
Musical Style:
Rush, Yes, Malmsteen, CHRISTIAN, Moodscapes Dish network, it's great for making up leads.
5 of 12 people (42%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to