Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez RG550 Genesis Electric Guitar

Ibanez RG550 Genesis Electric Guitar

With striking aesthetics, comfortable jumbo frets, and multiple pickups for tonal versatility, the Ibanez RG550 Genesis lets you rock your own way.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted September 16, 2018 by Robert Rudock in Indian Trail, NC
"Had to Get one"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I waited a long time for the release of this guitar. loved all the colors and had heard great things. I bought the white mostly because I did'nt have any white guitars and don't regret it, it's very clean and gorgeous. Out of the box it plays great (No HSC or Gig Bag). Could very easily have Prestige written on the headstock and as you know this is also made at Fujigen so no problem there. The guitar plays with a lot of bite, there's nothing really wrong with the sound. However I do own 3 other prestiges with brand dimarzio pickups, and when I A/B test them, this one has a bit less life, less character or roundness to the notes to me. I have a PAF Joe I will probably put in the neck and leave the bridge stock. With this said, if you are torn on a couple models, look strongly at the RG655, it's really not much more and comes with the HSC and Tone Zone and Air Norton, overall a better buy. They are basically the same guitar otherwise. But I certainly wouldn't fault you for falling in love with these colors particularly if you're willing to mod later. zZounds is the best as ever.
Musical Background:
30+ year guitar player, rock/pop/metal. Also Sax, piano, brass instruments.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2019 by ruben trevino in katy, TX
"Academy award goes to RG550"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This axe is the total beast. Absolute tone machine. Fab fit and finish in purple, great pickups and edge tremolo. Outstanding Japan build, and came out of box perfect. No setup needed! Got a ibanez MC300c case for it. It's my first Japan Ibanez RG and it's totally worth it, and I even love the color. Packaged super great. Arrived in 2 days, great work zZounds. If you're a player this axe is a must.
Musical Background:
Playing music long time
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, pop, country rock, funk, soul
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2020 by anthony v in clearlake, CA
"Hands down the best guitar i've ever played"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first purchase from zZounds, decided to try this red rg550. I was a bit worried because this is my first Floyd. I have a handful of other guitars but none of them play like this. Everyone upgrades these pickups, im not going to, they are hot to me, there is a great amount of sustain and they are metal machines as far as im concerned its that old school metal shred tone I want but they are versatile. The guitar was in 99 percent perfect condition, the bridge pickup was raised too high and someone testing it out had caused a slight cosmetic tear in the ribbon of the pickup, a few pick marks on the plastic. Stellar condition, the neck is flawless, the trem is top of the line with gotoh hardware stays in tune even with the gnarliest dives. Beinga Floyd noob I had to watch a few videos on how to tune it but ive got the hang of it. The first time I didn't tighten the nuts just a hair enough and lost my tuning when I dived, I tuned and tried again now I have the hang of it. Anyway, aside from the Ibanez edge trem system the neck itself is like butter. I mean any solo or riff I could think of just felt effortless and easier. Like I said hands down the best guitar ive ever played and totally worth every penny. Will come back to zZounds, thank you for the great guitar.
Musical Background:
playing for about 15 years, just a metal thrasher who usually shreds low end guitars. Intermediate skill.
Musical Style:
Metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2020 by Jack of All Trades MARTINEZ in Castle Rock, CO
"Jack of All Trades"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing for many years off and on. Since the pandemic I've found myself purchasing more to my arsenal and have spent way too much money. Oh well we only live 1 life. This is my very first time buying an Ibanez electric guitar and I've been around since the 80's. I typically go for Fender, Jackson or Gibson. However I wanted to give this guitar a try. As simply put this guitar is outstanding in every way! I honestly thought the wider nut width was going to turn me off as my other guitars have in the past. I'm so wrong cause of how thin this neck is I can put my hand around it and not feel like I'm stretching my fingers to play the next fret. I have smaller hands so this is plus for me. It looks amazing and plays well without even plugging into an amp. I actually had to force myself to put it down to write a review before hearing what is sounds like only because the play-ability is amazing. This guitar is not lite as I expected and I'm glad it doesn't feel like a toy. The neck is smoother than the others I've played or had in the past. The only drawback is the whammy bar. I can't tell if it's in all the way and is it supposed to be stiff.....meaning it doesn't seem to move freely at all. However the plus side it's made in Japan and the craftsmanship shows! I've owned a lot of guitars and this ranks one of the best comfort and play-ability guitars I've had. I'll plug into my amp later but more than likely I'll change the pickups just because I want Dimarzio Super D and Super 2. Great price and great guitar......I would buy again if it was ever stolen!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 21, 2019 by Leon L in Mary Esther, FL
"Japan's Precision"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have another Ibanez RG655 Prestige that was also purchased from zZounds. This is equal to it. Some slight differences. (Pickups, trem). Other than that this guitar could have the prestige badge on it. Fit and finish are 100%. Plays awesome. Super neck, very fast. I purchased Road Flare red and it a cool color. Very bright indeed. You will not find a better guitar at this price or a better company to do business with. Thanks zZounds for pay as you play and very quick shipping.
Musical Background:
45 yrs, play guitar, harmonica, accordian, keyboards, trumpet
Musical Style:
80's heavy metal, classic rock, country.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2019 by Yuri Coutinho
"Ibanez RG550 Genesis"
I love the pick ups on this guitar! I happen to own a Prestige model with stock DiMarzios but honestly there's something about the tone of the V7 and V8 pick ups that just cuts through like crazy... Just perfect for metal and modern rock sounds. The finish is excellent overall, and I'm a sucker for the neck! The only thing I expected to be a bit better is the polishing work on the frets, a recurrent issue on my Ibanez guitars.
Musical Background:
Been playing for about 15 years, amateur gigs.
Musical Style:
Metal, jazz and Brazilian.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Genesis RG 550"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing Ibanez guitars for over 30 years and have owned many models in that time including the original 500 series guitars some of which I still own. This guitar is superb. I have had the guitar for a couple of days now and can say after playing it almost non stop. The build quality is excellent I haven't found any flaws yet and will have to say that this particular guitar is absolutely flawless. I have gone over and over the guitar and there are literally no flaws. When I received the guitar which was 3 days earlier than promised I unpacked the guitar and went over it with a fine tooth comb. Flawless fit and finish. Everything is exactly as it should be. I have been ordering guitars for years online and this one was the most flawless one I ever purchased. I always find something on guitars when ordering online like at least some minor flaws or even major ones that are deal breakers. I've been comparing this guitar to my original 550 and it does have some differences. The neck is slightly thicker than my old one and the volute on the neck is there. 5 piece neck is different from the one piece with scarf joint. These are all excellent improvements to the original the other thing that I noticed was the fretboard edges are rolled which is awesome! I love it. I actually like it better than my old 550 which is blowing my mind. The only complaint is I really wish it was offered in a hardshell case. But I'm in the mindset that all guitars over say 500 bucks should have at least a gig bag. Thanks zZounds for getting me a great guitar super fast!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Ibanez RG550 Genesis - DY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar rips. While this is my first non-prestige Ibanez, it certainly contends with them. The Super wizard neck is super thin and fast. 5 piece construction is great for touring musicians and those living in constant humid-shifting climates. Maple fretboard is clean and snappy. Tilt-neck joint allows for pretty solid upper-fret access. And as for the finish, Desert Yellow POPS. Its super bright and obnoxious. I love it!This is my first Edge tremolo system ( My other prestige's consist of lo-pro Edge or hard tail ) , and I think it feels good! Diving up and down feels fluent as ever, tuning stability is solid, and the sustain seems decent aswell. One thing is for sure, its MILES better than any FR...It's no secret that the v7 and v8 PU's are a bit underwhelming, they lack the low and mid-range punch being medium output humbuckers, but that is my only personal gripe with this guitar. I plan to switch them out with something a bit more hot.All in all, for 1000USD this is a steal. the 550 Genesis is a work of art. A worthy reissue of the classic shred guitar, and I've been having a blast playing it since I got it. MIJ Ibanez simply cannot be beaten.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2018 by Daniel C in phx, AZ
"Amazing Neck!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this guitar is by far the best feeling ibanez I've played! super skinny neck and super thrash sound from the v7v8 pickups. I couldn't resist buying the yellow one too!
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for 20 years and recording for 15 years.
Musical Style:
rock' metal'
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"It's 1987 Again !!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My Oh My, what a pleasant surprise. Straight out of the box this guitar rocks, shreds, dunks, whatever you want to play on it. The best bang for your buck, FujiGen knocked this one out of the park. I've been playing for 38 years and very few guitars impress me. The wizard neck is sleek and fast, for all your metal needs this is the only guitar that you'll need. For a $999 guitar I have no issues with it, Thank you FujiGen.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2019 by larry mcinnis in Grandview, TN
"neck to thin"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this guitar in two days ago. The thing is absolutley beautiful. I got the yellow. It sounds great and plays awsome if you like this style of neck. I love everything about this guitar but the neck for me its way to thin and flat. So to my disapointment i have to return it for something with a more rounded neck. But if your into lightning fast leads. Then this is for you.
Musical Background:
guitar and bass. Around 10 years
Musical Style:
Blues,rock,and 80s metal
1 of 6 people (17%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us