Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez GSR206 6-String Electric Bass

Ibanez GSR206 6-String Electric Bass

The Phat II active EQing boasts a full-bodied sound while the 6-string design, mahogany body, and Dynamix pickups offer an excellent playing experience.

Overall User Ratings (based on 24 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(24)
Submitted April 11, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Church Bass Player"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I was a bit apprehensive switching from a four to a six string, but this baby has soothed all of my doubts. It is easy to play and the sound quality is amazing! The highs and mids are very nice but the bottoms are out of this world. The "boom" knob caused the windows to rattle in our midsized chuch. (I have a 200w Ampeg head and a 700w SWR cabinet w/ 4-10s in it.) In short, I'm not sure why this bass is priced so low but if you're looking to purchase it, you'd better get it now because I'm sure the price is going to go up.
Manufacturer Support
This was my first dealings with ZZ Sounds but i WILL use them again! Ships fast!
Musical Background:
church bass player
21 of 21 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2012 by Joe Nicholson in Mukilteo, WA
"My Favorite Bass - by far!"
This is the 5th electric bass guitar I've owned and it is by far my favorite. It's powerful, punchy and a real pleasure to play! Another reviewer said, "It's like it plays itself", and I agree! I don't know why, but put any other bass in my hands and I won't sound as good! This bass makes me sound better than I really am! My only complaint was that within a couple weeks from when I purchased it new (at Guitar Center, (Sorry zZounds!)), some of the solder joints came loose inside where the 1/4" cord plugs in, and I had to tear it apart and re-solder it myself. That was the one and only problem I've ever had with it before or since that incident. It's been a great guitar and although I am not a professional, I have friends that are, and they were impressed with my choice. Out of all the other basses I've owned, (Drive, Squier, Hohner), this has been the best of them all!
Musical Background:
Playing bass since 1987. Perform on stage with two different bands 2x every week & some session work.
Musical Style:
Rock / Contemporary Christian (Rock), Jazz, Blues, Some Funk. Some Country.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2016 by Robert Jakiel in North Arlington, NJ
"First Timer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Having never played a bass before and after doing tons of research I decided on going with a 6 string seeing as I have absolutely NO muscle memory or habits from a 4 string bass. I am a big dude with "banana hands" as my wife so eloquently puts it so the neck on this bass is perfect. Seeing as it is thinner than most it plays really nice and is comfortable even higher up. The sound on this bass is really nice as well and with a chorus pedal and a little tweaking of the pre-amp it puts out such a rich sound. Arguably the best $300 I have spent in a long time. The only downside to the instrument like others have said is the B is a little muddy but can be remedied with a little tweaking oh and new strings.
Musical Background:
Play at home. Piano for too long
Musical Style:
rock, classical, blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 4, 2012 by John F in Hohenwald, TN
"Sweet 6 and great for the price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I picked this bass up at zzsound and have been impressed. Out of the box, all I had to do was tune it and start ripping into playing. The neck is lighting fast and works with your hand. The body is well contoured so it does not beat your leg up if sitting down. It stays in tune well and I havent had to adjust anything. The value and what it is and what it has is incredible. The active pickups were a surprise for the value. I actually turned my amp to a "flat" setting and does it sound sweet! I'll reccomend this bass to anyone starting on 6 string basses and the pros who like 6 string basses.
Musical Background:
12 years of guitar and bass, In bands and at home.
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Blues, Thrash.
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2017 by Corey R
"Incredible Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this bass from zZounds and I figured in this price range for a 6 string bass it would need some work. Wow was I wrong. The walnut finish is absolutely gorgeous. This is the first bass I have ever ordered that came set up perfect and almost perfectly in tune. The fret work and neck is unbelievable. No buzz or sharp edges at all. The string spacing is a bit tight but once you get used to it slap isnt a problem. This bass sounds just as good as it looks. The active preamp definately has a punch. For 300 bucks this bass is an absolute steal. Its worth so much more than that. It puts some high end basses I have owned to shame.
Musical Background:
Been playing bass for 15 years. I jam at home now but use to gig.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, jazz, and funk
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Amazing instrument!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am completely satified. This is the first 6-string bas I have owned, and for the price you all should make the step up to a 6!
Sound
You have to hear this instrument through your rig!...such a clear, tight, deep sound. Once you dial in the right settings. It will blow you away.
Features
The Phat II active knob brings the thunder!
Ease of Use
Simple and very straight forward controls
Quality
This instrument is well put together. It's an Ibanez...what do you expect!
Value
I picked this baby up before the price goes up. I would advise you to do the same. This is worth way more than 299.99!!!
Manufacturer Support
No need to at this time
The Wow Factor
The photo doesn't do this product justice. When I opened the box, I was amazed with the chrome, and the high glos black finish. It will definately get your attention!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Gospel, R&B, Jazz
28 of 30 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2012 by Andrew D in Vernon, NY
"The Ibanez GSR206 Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned this bass since January. It is one of the best you will get for this price range! Great out of the box! Shipped fast and Strings already put on. String are great but you will want a thinner gauge b string. Great for recording and live playing. VERY NICE TONE! HIGHLY SUGGESTED. The neck is very thin for a six string as well.
Musical Background:
I play bass and a little bit of drums...ive been playin bass since i was seven.
Musical Style:
Metal..rock..slap...jazz....but ive become more of a melodic bass player.
24 of 26 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 24, 2009 by a customer from comcast.net
"My Upgrade Bass..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought mine from a local music shop, I love shopping with zzounds but I prefer to try out my axes before I buy them. Anyway, this was my upgrade from a squier mb5 5 string bass. I was expecting it to be about the same with an extra string but from the first time I played it I knew it was something special, alot more chord possibilities too. 6 string basses aren't so good for people with smaller hands, but luckily mine can palm a regulation size basketball. I love Ibanez axes, you always get more than your moneys worth and this is no exception. If you've got the fingers for it I highly recommend the gsr206!!
Sound
Crazy punch to this baby, phat 2 eq is apparently active as there is a battery compartment on the back (though unfortunatly the screw kind). It's very effective too, all the way down sounds like you're run of the mill low end bass, but boosted up about half way and as the name indicates, PHATT!! My only beef soundwise is that the low b is a bit muddy, but not too bad.
Features
For the price, it's all you could expect and more. Standard volume for each pickup, regular type tone knob, and the mac daddy phat 2 boost knob. Did I mention it's six strings and sounds great?
Ease of Use
For a six string, pretty easy. Yes it's a pretty wide neck and a bit neck heavy, but again, it's a six string so that's expected.
Quality
My only gripe quality wise is that the bridge piece holding my g string for some reason rattles (slight buzzing) the string when plucked from underneath (I do alot of slap & snap), but only when it's plucked open. I've isolated the cause, if I push up on the piece toward the headstock it doesn't do it anymore. I'm not a tech so I'm getting my dad to fix it. Might replace the tuners with sperzels, but overall this baby is excellent.
Value
It's a 6 string that plays well with active electronics built in, the gsr206 is a steal!!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't used it.
The Wow Factor
I play it constantly
Musical Background:
active musician, home producer, songwriter
Musical Style:
metal, punk, a twist of funk
29 of 32 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2017 by bill e in parkville, MD
"love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is a great bass, especially for the price, plays awesome, sounds good, feels good, really a nice instrument
Musical Background:
pro
Musical Style:
rock, blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2016 by Eric Turner in San Tan Valley, AZ
"Ibanez GSR 6-String Electric Bass Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wandered into a national Music store chain one day in Oct 2016 and went straight to the used guitars that were hanging on the wall in the used section. I'm always trying to keep an eye out on a good used Music Man electric as I try to collect these fine instruments. That particular day there was pretty slim pickings so I wandered through amps, effects and I ended in the pass guitar section. (I do play bass but usually when I write my own tunes) and this 6 string bass caught my eye. It didn't look cheap so I asked one of the vultures hovering there ( employees, just doing their gig) what he could tell me about this bass. It was pretty light-weight, first impression, so he gave me the run-down on the thing and I asked him if I could put it through the paces that I knew and we plugged it into an Ampeg mini brute what ever it was called and began a 45 minute of exploration where I passed this through an extensive test regarding tone, intonation,ease of reaching pots, tome control, The bass boost, I checked out the spec's which were pretty tight on with what was written. The balance was great, ease of use overall in case I plan to take a 6 string bass to a gig and perform for 3 hours was good weight-wise. I was particularly impressed with the bright tome. I was impressed in the selection of pickups that were available with this instrument. I've been performing on stage since I was 8 years old but mostly on guitar. I understood first you are usually someone and I was tithe whowe
Musical Background:
50 years, (40 years as a professional musician Piano, guitar, synth, Bass, Mandolin, drum machine, DAW's, bouzouki, violin,
Musical Style:
Blues based rock and styles following the natural progression of music through intense study followed by music courses and 2 yea
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2013 by Bad Mofo in Indianapolis, IN
"Great deal for what I paid"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought a "blemished" model for $220 and it arrived looking brand new other than some finger smudges. The action is good, the sound is good and it looks good. There are only two downfalls to this bass - the low B is pretty floppy and it's neck heavy so you have to keep control of the neck or it will dive. Otherthan that I consider it a great deal for what I paid.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar and bass for over 20 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal and whatever
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.fr
"Nice bass, after the setup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was initially disappointed; it was completely unplayable. I couldn't even tune it. It required a complete setup. Once I got it playable, I dig it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2018 by Steve Johnson in Omaha, NE
"You get what you pay for."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Being that this is the cheapest 6 string bass I could find on planet Earth, I suppose I can't be too upset about the lack of shielding, or the lack of any finish over the paint. Expect the paint where your walking fingers hit the body to rub off within days. Expect to buy copper shielding tape. Still, I'd recommend if you're new to a 6 string bass and just want something cheap to get used to playing one before getting something better.
Musical Background:
I'm a multi-instrumentalist, since the '80s. I'm part of an active group that's getting international radio airplay.
Musical Style:
I play most styles that require an instrument to be played, from classical through psychedelic to progressive metal and pretty m
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2012 by Nayquawn L in Brooklyn , NY
"GSR206 6 String Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Its a starter 6 string bass the low B string is a lil floppy but manageable sound is a 7 out of ten it gets the job done nothing special i hate the finish it gets dirty to quick overall its a great bass to get started with the 6 string world chords sound crystal clear. i am gonna change the pre amp to a bassmods 3 band that will really make this bass sound awesome Good bass over all though just nothing special out the box sound wise.
Musical Background:
Pro keyboardist bassist for a year
Musical Style:
Gospel neo soul r&b rock music
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great Value"
Sound
I got much more than I expected when I received my GSR206. I normally play lead and rhythm guitar. I do a lot of home recording and got it so I could lay down bass tracks myself. I've never played bass for any period of time, but I was playing this like a pro almost right away. It almost plays itself and the sound is excellent. If you finger-pick on a guitar, use the same technique for intricate runs. A beautiful instrument and fun to play.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it.
Musical Background:
Sound Tech, Recording Engineer, Play guitar, bass and mandolin.
Musical Style:
All styles, mainly Rock, Country , Bluegrass
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"one of the best bass for me! bonito bueno barato!"
..... primero no lo tengo y estoy muy emocionado en tenerlo! segundo cuando lo tenga no lo soltare XD y no creo q lo pierda pero si algo le pasa creanme q lo compro denuevo, solo espero q no lo suban de precion jajaja
Sound
yo pienso q no existe bajos malos, solo existen diferencia en cual es mejor q otro pero la vdd un buen musico lo es con cualquier instrumento, solo q puede ser mejor, y es un buen instrumento y no tiene mal precio la vdd, digo si quieres algo mas profecional q este bajo pues gasta uno 500 dolares mas y tendras algo "mejor" la vdd estoy buscando un bajo de 5 o 6 cuerdas pero me e enamorado de este y no puedo pedirlo en mi pais por q no lo venden asi q lo mandare a pedir aun q salga en 200 dolares traerlo sale aun, mas barato q uno aqui de 6 cuerdas y que mas de la mitad de los de 5 cuerdas! pera mi es un exelente producto lo unico q tengo dudas es de el peso si alguien me puede ayudar ifbb_pro@hotmail.com
Features
como dije este bajo cuesta 299.99 y tiene neck maple! no es rosewood y eso le da un punto mas a su favor, aparte es 6 cuerdas y para mi gusto es muy bonito, me gustan los bajos de un solo color y con pickups anchos como los de este bajo y por estetica es justo lo q buscaba en un bajo y aparte tiene buenas partes, q mas puedes pedir por 299.99?
Ease of Use
bn.... no lo tengo, todavia jaja pero por lo q se del producto debe oirse muuy bn y bueno si quieres aprender y necesitas comenzar pues es perfecto, es accesible, es bueno y es bonito! yo soy guitarrista y la vdd me siento incomodo con un bajo de 4 cuerdas y buscaba algo mas q eso y en panama 6 cuerdas no es una opcion jaja por lo caro, y me habia rendido y solo buscaba uno de 5 cuerdas pero 6 cuerdas! WAO puedo hacer escalas y tocar con libertad! sin qdarme con ganas
Quality
ok... es ibanez es 6 cuerdas cuesta 299.99 tiene cuello de maple es hermoso! solo me qda comprarlo XD
Value
bueno la vdd pienso q es exelente precio ademas no ecuentro algo parecido
Manufacturer Support
bueno ...... no puedo opinar pero pongo 9 por q lo compro desde un lugar donde no lo venden
The Wow Factor
pues... como se ve WAO! me encanto!
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
jazz, salsa, rock, merengue
3 of 13 people (23%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to