Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez AX120 Electric Guitar
BACK IN STOCK

Ibanez AX120 Electric Guitar

Get ready to rock on this slick double-cutaway Ibanez! The affordable AX120's twin humbuckers provide hot tone you can shape via dual volume and tone knobs.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(16)
Submitted May 8, 2019 by Robert A in Glencoe, OK
"Holy crap! For $200? Really?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First impression:Out of the box, this thing is downright beautiful. The Candy Apple Red just shines in the light without a flaw on it. In my personal opinion, it's the only one that the Tortoise Shell pickguard really works on and that's why I picked the color. Not disappointed. The Pao Ferro fretboard is gorgeous.I had the same Elite pickups in an old GAX 70 that got destroyed and the great sound out of them didn't catch me off guard, but the quality of the tuners did. They're smooth, just tight enough, and not catchy or jumpy at all. I actually get to keep a stock set for a while. I learned how to tie a "locking knot", so no need to replace them.The switches and knobs feel good, too. Nice and clicky switch, and smooth turns from the pots. The balance and feel are extremely nice, and the neck profile is just butter.I can't really say a bad thing about this guitar as it sits right out of the box, and then when I remember that it was only $199 it just blows my mind. This will go up on stage with me if I ever get up there again, no doubt.P.S. - We love you, zZounds!
Musical Background:
In my 30+ years of playing I've hardly ever strayed from Epiphone because they've never let me down. Not disappointed, though.
Musical Style:
I'll pretty much play anything but rap/hip-hop, but I've been leaning hard toward learning more jazz lately. Broken fourteen fin
28 of 28 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2021 by Devin D in Omaha, NE
"Amazing for the price, for any price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
My wife wants to learn guitar, I have played for 37 years and she wants to participate. She wanted her own to use so I chose this one as it was a lighter weight instrument with a smaller neck that will fit her hands. I pulled this out of the box and it was nearly perfectly set up out of the box. The forest green is very deep and really pops in the sunlight. Paint is flawless and even. The neck felt good, I oiled the board and changed strings, as always with a new instrument. The pickups have a nice rich clean tone, that was a surprise. I'd expected them to be thin but these will work great. The tuners aren't anything special but they are smooth and tight. They are holding tune fine. I really am just amazed at the quality of this for $200.
Sound
The sound through my amp is deep and warm. It's working perfectly for a guitar to teach someone with. The pickups aren't perfect, but they are solid for my purposes.
Features
The poplar body is nice, the neck is smooth and plays well. I like the independent volume and tone controls. It's just a fun player overall.
Ease of Use
If you need super bright tones, this may not be your first choice, it's thick and warm sounding. Through my rig, it sounds good. Playability is great.
Quality
It's made quite well, I've found nothing to gripe about with it. Fret access is great, the neck is smooth and fast.
Value
I would say this punches well above it's weight class. For $200, I'm amazed. I wasn't expecting it to be nearly this well made.
Manufacturer Support
I've never had to contact Ibanez as all of mine have been trouble free.
The Wow Factor
I'm using it to teach my wife as she needed a smaller neck and lighter weight. It's perfect for it.
Musical Background:
Lifelong musician
Musical Style:
I've played everything from Mozart to Megadeth.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2020 by Darrell Jeffery in Maben, MS
"Very Fine Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is Very Fine & Very Well Built. The price doesn't do it justice at $200.00. I received the guitar/ Opened the box up , took out the guitar, Hooked it up , started picking all in that order. I only had slightly tune one string and wow!!! This guitar came alive. I have several guitars of which I pick often. This Ibanez AX120 just went up in front of the others.
Musical Background:
I've been a musician for 60 years. Started at age 5. I Play Banjo, Mandolen, Guitar, Steel Guitar, Dobro, Bass & Keyboard.
Musical Style:
I have been Professional Lead Musician for Gospel Groups, Country and Old Rock Bands. Picked Bluegrass and Traditional Folk Musi
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2019 by Ron C in Jacksonville, FL
"Awesome Ax120"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the Baltic Blue one discounted because of a blemish, honestly it's a little scratch, I'm pleased with the guitar!It sounds great with my Marshall amp! All I did after I received it was put new D'addario 10-46 on it, it looks and sounds amazing!
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock, metal.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2019 by don s in weed, NM
"worth 3x as much"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i was wanting a cheep dc guitar with humbuckers and since i love ibanez guitars i decided to buy this one. reviews had stated that it was a really good guitar.having gigged for 50+ years i have a fair idea what guitar ought to play and sound like.this isn't a good guitar, it's a GREAT guitar. plugged into my kemper it easily covers hendrix, pink floyd, led zep, clapton, dire straits, van halen and all the 80's hair bands.out of the box the setup was perfect (and since i do all my own setups, i am picky).the pups are great, the tuners tune and stay there even during my massive bends. controls are smooth, finish, frets and neck are perfect.i have high dollar guitars that are not even close to this one.
Musical Background:
50+ years sessions and gigging out
Musical Style:
blues rock, rock, progressive rock
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 22, 2020 by a customer from aol.com
"Great price and fast neck!"
This Candy Apple is the heaviest of the bunch, at 11 lbs, (which is not much more than the 9 and 10 lb. AX120’S), but worth mentioning. The frets were fine on mine, but the high E string may pull off the neck, if you are a Rock or Blues player, and “ dig into your notes”, so to speak. The finish is beautiful, the pickups soar, and respond nicely to your particular playing style. The neck is narrow but solid, and it plays “like butter”. It’s well worth the $199 price tag, and also would make a beginners first guitar, a smart move.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 16, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Wow"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It plays smoothly, the Laurel fretboard scared me when I read it before the purchase, I didn’t really need to worry, it’s was a big surprise, I love the positioning of the volume and pick up knobs are located, I don’t accidentally turn them while playing, the strings that came on actually surprised me also, usually not good strings come on the guitar shipped, but not to shabby Ibanez, the pickups sound chimney, vintagey (not a word), which is ear porn to me, so worth the 200 bucks in my humbled opinion.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 18, 2019 by Derrick Bailey in Sasser, GA
"Great Guitar Great Bargain"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought is as a back up guitar or the do some gigs with to keep from wearing out my main ax this guita rocks out of the box had it tuned up in under 5 minutes and it did not slip it stayed in tune even played a gig the next day with pickups sound great and the neck smooth as hell very easy to play this was a great catch thanks zZounds
Musical Background:
Guitar 25yrs semi-pro
Musical Style:
Gospel soul blues rock classic rock blues rock country R&B hi-hop
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2018 by Jordan R in Thousand Oaks, CA
"Pickups!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall the build quality is fantastic. You get the really thin Ibanez neck. The New Zealand pine came a little dry but with some oil, the board really blings up. The strings it came with were not so good so I switched them out for some Slinky 10's. It did look like there was some buffing compound still on the body but you can wipe that away with a microfiber cloth. My one big concern is the neck pickup. For some reason, the neck pickup really feeds back but not in a good way. I used a little OD and the thing just wouldn't stop squealing. It sounds like they are not wax potted because they sound like microphonic pickups. For some reason the bridge pickup is fine. The neck pickup is also at a weird angle.
Sound
The sounds are great clean and overdriven.
Features
It's an Ibanez so it has a great feeling neck which also has binding for aesthetics. The Pine fingerboard is looks great, almost like a bright rosewood.
Ease of Use
Really easy to use. If you've played a LP then the controls are the same with 2 volumes and 2 tones with a 3-way switch
Quality
The guitar has un-branded tuners. I didn't give them a chance but I'm sure they would have done the job. I just prefer locking tuners for a quick change of strings. I did also install strap locks because I don't trust regular strap buttons. I do that to all my guitars though. Everything else seems fine for now.
Value
For $200? This should probably go for maybe 300 or 400 the most. The contours on the body are great with a thin body as well. I guess the pickups are the one things that could be upgraded.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't dealt with them.
The Wow Factor
I love the look of the neck and fingerboard once it's oiled of course.
Musical Background:
10
Musical Style:
Chrisitan
14 of 17 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2018 by Ethan P in Kingsport, TN
"Love it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Straight off the bat I had to adjust the truss and the bridge but other than that solid. I’m I’m planning on replacing the machine heads as well because keeping in tune is an issue. Not a biggie it doesn’t fall off much. I just like to be precise. Pickups sound great and the action is super smooth. You get some great tone out of it. I was playing a fender Strat before. Blows it out of the water. K
Musical Background:
Been playing music since I was 17. I am now 29. Started off playing bass and the need for a guitarist arose.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, aka punk, alternative, and funk.
11 of 14 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2018 by Scott T in Las Vegas, NV
"Horrible Factory Setup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very nice guitar once you get over the horrible factory setup . I got the Candy Apple Red the finish is flawless .Stock pups surprised me very clear sounding clean up nicely . I'm going to put some EMG 5766 in it next month. I put cream accessories on it to replace the black really brings out the color . I got a bone replacement nut and some Grover 18 tuners for it .Nice heavy mahogany body once I replace the pups this is a 1500 guitar for less than 600 it's a keeper for life .
Musical Background:
Life time hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic rock and blues
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2020 by Ethan P in Johnson City, TN
"Eh"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I only have two critiques about this guitar. The frets are not filed level. It's the ones about the 12th fret. So getting clear notes while soloing is hard. I've taken the time and filed them myself. The second is the string spacing on the nut/neck width relationship. If your aren't really careful while play you will pull a string off the frets and kill the note. First time I've had this problem. Anyway yeah just wanted to be honest. I'm not unhappy with it. But you get what you pay for.
Musical Background:
I play guitar and bass. I've played since I was 17. I currently am in a band and have been in a few others. I play gigs and jam
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, metal
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us