Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez AW54OPN Artwood Acoustic Guitar

Ibanez AW54OPN Artwood Acoustic Guitar

Traditional yet modern, this mahogany acoustic guitar produces rich, open tones -- made possible by its breathable open pore natural finish.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted November 5, 2014 by Michale Gaull in strongsville, OH
"Best Guitar for the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently bought this guitar as one I could just take everywhere with me. I have a Taylor but don't always like to bring that guitar out camping and stuff. This guitar is amazing and the action and sound quality are almost unbelievable. This can be an everyday guitar and I would record with it. Outstanding job by ibanez on this one and for only 200.00, i'm not lying when I say it sounds as good as 700.00 guitars... Go try one out you will be amazed.
Musical Background:
been playing guitar for 28 years
Musical Style:
all
86 of 87 people (99%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2018 by Rob G in Garner, NC
"Awesome Sound, Best value out there"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Just got this beauty yesterday and only spent an hour last evening so far, but know this is what I've been looking for as my main acoustic. Several months ago I had my eye on a mahogany solid top guitar. I was sure the Taylor was it, but held off after testing several Taylor non-mahogany versions. Main reason was that I'd go back to my Takamine G series and ask, why? The Takamine sounded great. However, I was in Guitar Center picking up strings and picked up a few acoustics for fun and this one stood out in terms of balance, depth and sustain if that makes any sense. Not only that, but the neck just fit so well in my hands it was easier to hit chords. The neck is narrower and thinner than my Takamine, so my fingers reach over the fretboard so much easier. The narrow neck makes barre chords easier. It was setup perfectly right out of the box. Action is lower than my Takemine. There is barely any clearance off the first fret and zero buzz. Before this came yesterday, I stopped by Guitar Center to look for a case and tried out a $1000 Martin Mahogany. Not sure the model, but this Ibanez sounded and played as well. The neck feels better than the Taylor. If you like acoustic guitar, this mahogany top is a must. And supposedly they only improve with age.
Musical Background:
1.5 years
Musical Style:
classic folk rock, alternative and blues
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2016 by Sheridan M in Mobile, AL
"Much more than expected!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this guitar figuring it would make a good back up for messing around and taking places with me I wouldn't want to take my more pricey guitars to. This thing is beyond what I expected. It is actually quite beautiful. The sound is amazingly clear, crisp, with some punch to it and it has a long sustain. Great tones all around. Super fun to play. A very pleasing voice from this all wood acoustic. There's no bells and whistles on this thing and no electronics. So I can see where they cut the costs in producing this guitar. Surprisingly it stays in tune through some rough playing. I used a hair dryer to carefully peel off the pick guard. Wow, is this guitar even prettier! Bottom line is that this guitar is very worth the 200 bucks. I find it sounds as good as so many guitars priced a few hundred dollars more. I can't imagine any other guitar being a better value for the money than this one.
Musical Background:
play guitar on and off over many years
Musical Style:
country, blue grass, Christian
53 of 54 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 20, 2019 by Clint Harris
"Awesome Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this and And have been playing it all weekend! I never take the time to rate and review anything ever but this time I feel it's necessary! I've played a few acoustic guitars and been playing on and off for awhile. This is by far the best guitar I have ever owned. I've never spent alot of money on em because I'm on and off again but this guitar is amazing even the strings it came with sound nice! I can't put it down and even when I'm not paying it I'm thinking about it! If your looking for a good acoustic guitar and on a budget BUY THIS ONE you will not regret it I promise youthat! Also very satisfied with zzound it was here on time and packaged nicely with no scuffs or dings and strung right. I had to tune the high E barley out of the package and just went to tune it after a weekend of playing and she is still in tune perfectly. All around I'm satisfied!!
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2016 by Barbara M in Port Charlotte , FL
"Ibanez artwork Acoustic Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have 3 Guitars . Because of my disability I needed a lighter one than my Fender. I love this all wood Guitar and the wonderful sound. I have had private lessons for 3 years now and can read any sheet music. I am not great will cords because of short fingers other wise I enjoy it very much. Barbara
Musical Background:
3 years 1 hour a week lesson from my Teacher I am disabled and Doctor said get a hobby. This is my 3rd Guitar.
Musical Style:
This Guitar plays all kinds of music. Rock classical, folk.I have a nice Fender but, it is now too heavy for me to pick up & ne
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 3, 2016 by Jim Miller in Hendersonville, NC
"NO WORRIES MATE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Even if you don't need this guitar BUY IT! For $50 bucks a month it's a no brained. The sound of it and playability of it are unbelievable. It is very warm and LOUD. I'm so very happy with it!
Musical Background:
experienced bluegrass gospel
Musical Style:
Christian
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2018 by John S in Tabor City, NC
"No you gotta check out this guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got my AW54 today. I've been playing it for a couple of hours already. Neesless to say I love it. Ibanez has really got something here. This is bare bones but absolutely lovely all the same. I can't imagine how awesome their ADV9MH must be lol. I like this Artwood as good if not better than my Yamaha FG800 and the FG800 is a fantastic guitar in its own right.I do have two complaints tho minor. The sticker in the soundhole is crooked. Sloppy. Also the strap botton is in a crappy place. But to me this and the Yamaha are the top two in the 200 price range.
Musical Background:
I have played guutar for a little more than one year.
Musical Style:
Country, rock, blues, Christian.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2020 by curtis case in Louisville, KY
"IT'S A NO BRAINER !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Where to start........It was packed up great........It came set up........Strings are awesome.......Beautiful tone.......I would have paid double for it.......Pictures do not do it justice........zZounds is absolutely an awesome company, I buy all of my musical gear from these guys they are doing things the right way. Don't bother with spending anymore money on an acoustic, you will be missing out if you do.
Musical Background:
40 plus years
Musical Style:
rock n' roll
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2019 by Robert G in Broken arrow, OK
"Wonderful guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had this guitar for a couple months and the sound has already opened up. I play prolly about 1 hour per day. I enjoy this guitar more n more. Very solid build didnt like the finish at first or the okume wood. But it has grown on me and i now like the vintagy finish. The okume is not quite as dark sounding as mahogany but is very balanced. I have gotten several compliments on the sound and the finish! Anyway if you are considering this beauty you wont regret it when it gets in your hands.
Musical Background:
Playing music for 40 plus years
Musical Style:
Christian country and classical
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2019 by Tim Lee in San Jacinto, CA
"Love Ibanez acoustics"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Needed an everyday guitar. Found OPN feature interesting. I have an Aw300NT with Bubinga wood Extremely nice guitar. But I don't play it everyday. So I bought the AW54. Wow I like the OPN finish just wish cleaning instructions for this type of finish was provided. But it looks great. Stays in tune. And is really a great guitar for the price.
Musical Background:
Been playing for30 yrs.
Musical Style:
Rock,blues, 60's & 70's era.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2017 by Robert O in Millville, NJ
"Sweet and Warm!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First zZounds is great,I got super fast shipping and a great payment plan. The guitar is really unbeleavable. It was set up great ,right out of the box,fit and finish are very good,and the tone! Its got tons of warm mids.and bass,and the treble has a sweet tone.I really did say out loud,how did Ibanez do this? For $199.? This would make a great guitar to learn with and anyone that is looking for a warm toned acoutic should consider this really great guitar.Its sugar sweet!
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 7 years.I play at church,ect.
Musical Style:
I like Christian,classic rock,folk,ect.
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 6, 2020 by Michael P in Gilmer, TX
"Very nice!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very beautiful guitar, fun to play, comfortable, and sounds great!
Musical Background:
Playing guitar over 20 years
Musical Style:
metal/rock/blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2021 by Tim G in Dedham, MA
"Great sounding guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar has high quality sound --- great value. It's the one I leave out so i can pick it up when I'm around the house. I've recommended this guitar multiple times.
Musical Background:
Played music for 40 years
Musical Style:
Acoustic, folk, punk
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2020 by Quinn Dérive in Chicago, IL
"Solid Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play this more than any other guitar I've ever had. Really enjoyable experience.
Musical Background:
Ex-Professional Musician. Now I just play for fun.
Musical Style:
Punk, Math Rock, Grindcore, Doom Metal. Lately, just comfortable campfire emo.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us