Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Ibanez AS53 Artcore Semi-Hollowbody Electric Guitar
BACK IN STOCK

Ibanez AS53 Artcore Semi-Hollowbody Electric Guitar

Get awesome Ibanez playability for a unbelievable price with the AS53. Crafted from sapele and nyatoh, this semi-hollow beauty sounds great even unplugged!

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(15)
Submitted March 3, 2014 by Ken F in Islesboro, ME
"As53 - SO WORTH THE MONEY!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Perfectly set up out of the box just and sleek as it looked in the pics on this website, I got the tobacco flat finish. Nice low action and very comfortable to play sitting. Thinking about selling my Les Paul I like it so much. The only thing I did was change the strings to ones that I like. Never had to call customer support.
Musical Background:
Started teaching myself to play banjo and guitar a year ago.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, bluegrass
44 of 44 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2013 by John E in Ripley, TN
"Ibanez Artcore AS53"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar brings big time sound quality to the working man. I needed a quality instrument and the AS53 has delivered. You don't have to spend 1,2, or even 3,000.00 to get superior sound. I did ALOT of research and read many reviews before deciding to purchase this instrument. I want to thank all those musicians that took the time to write a review because I am very, very pleased with my purchase. ZZounds was wonderful. Transaction was silky smooth and product arrived as promised in excellent condition.
Sound
For $300.00.....you can't beat it, period. It sounds good played through my small amp but really shines when hooked up to the board at church.
Ease of Use
Very impressed with its playability. I own an acoustic/electric and this instrument is easier to play in terms of neck thickness and minimum input pressure on the strings.
Quality
Seems to be made well.
Value
Value is tremendous. I don't think you could find a better deal.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
When people see and hear this guitar for the first time they are very impressed with its appearance and sound.
Musical Background:
Been playing approx. 15 years on and off. Play for myself, friends, family an praise band at church.
Musical Style:
Christian
62 of 64 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2018 by Todd Flowers in PALMETTO, FL
"Great guitar @ this price !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got the tobacco and it is beautiful! The pictures here don't do it justice ! I bought this thinking I would have to change pick ups right away but,it wasn't needed they are really good for ceramics,also the tuning machines are very good .Fit and finish are good,frets are not sharp .I am very pleased with this guitar .I am so amazed that this guitar is priced so low for a solid ,quality made instrument.Thanks Ibanez and zZounds ! I'll be buying more products from you soon ! (Didn't have to use support but ratings required an answer.)
Musical Background:
playing for 40+ yrs,electric and acoustic ,home player
Musical Style:
Blues,rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"A solid instrument at a great price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Exactly as advertised. The tones are outstanding. The workmanship is top notch. And zZounds made it all too easy. Setup out of the box was great and it was nearly in tune.Also, the picture in the ad is out of date, it did come with the slotted, Quik Change III tailpiece, advertised on the Ibanez web site.It's just the entry level guitar in the Ibanez Artcore AS line, but it's a wonderful instrument at a great price. There are other inexpensive archtop, 335 clones out there which have a bit more bling, a bit more eye candy, but I think you'd be hard pressed to find one with this kind of quality at this price point. Would buy it again and would recommend it to a friend.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"I'm loving this guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this for about 6 months now, so the honeymoon period is over so this isn't a review of, Oh I just got this and it's great, no, It takes time to develop into your style and your environment. So, after 6 months of playing this guy (or girl - I name my guitars) this has been a real pleasure to play. I wanted a semi-hollow and at $300 I figured I couldn't lose, and I was right. Well made, good fitment of knobs, although I did have to tighten the input jack. As for tuning, it keeps tune real well if kept in the house, no problems at all. If I leave it in the garage (where I practice) it needs a little lovin to get it back in tune, granted, this in Vegas where my garage hits 100 degrees easily so that's actually not bad, seriously, it's not bad. The one thing I'd say is a con to this guitar are the pickups but ONLY if you drive your amp hard, they tend to get muddy. Changing these out is a major PIA but I may try at some point. For now though, it really is a good buy and a fun guitar to play.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2012 by Richard R in Sacramento, CA
"A lot of guitar for the money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am blown away at the sound for such a little price. I am a big fan of Ibanez guitars and also play an Ibanez Talamax acoustic electric, which I absolutely love. I own many other guitars including an Ovation and Takamine acoustic electric. I prefer the Ibanez guitars over both the Ovation and Takamine. I love the Ibanez pickups and the ease in playability. You cannot go wrong for the price.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar and piano my entire life. I jam with others occasionally.
Musical Style:
I love rock and roll and country.
33 of 36 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2016 by phillip t in warrenton, NC
"Ibanez AS53"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very surprised with this guitar! Great feel and tone especially for the money. I can't wait to get a tube amp to run it through.
Musical Background:
15 years, acoustic and electric guitar, jam at home mostly
Musical Style:
Blues and rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"I was unmotivated until i bought this guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After having a strat for 8yrs never again guitar was new wouldnt stay in tune horrible playability tone sounded like a banjo the whole time i thought it was me. I recieved my Ibanez AS53 yesterday along with a Vox VT20x oh my how beautiful sound so rich with little effort i am excited to play it again
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2014 by Elizabeth S in Tallahassee, FL
"great guitar"
Perfect item, great quality
Musical Background:
home player, plying a few months
Musical Style:
Electronic, rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 23, 2014 by Anthony L in Brooklyn, NY
" Ibanez AS53 Artcore Electric Guitar "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great guitar right out of the box
Musical Background:
plaing on and off for about 30 years
Musical Style:
country southern rock rock some blues
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2021 by a customer from aol.com
"Nothing “hollow” Bout this one!"
I’ve always had an affinity for electric hollow body guitars like the Gibson ES 335, like the one Clapton played in Cream. Unfortunately, those guitars are much too pricey, and a bit too wide for my liking. Hence, this very reasonably priced AS 53 was right up my alley! Great neck, fast action, sweet sustain, and throaty raunch, when pushed with a distortion pedal. I love playing Blues on it, and medleys of 60’s and 70’s, of Brit and USA tunes. Solo Jazz comping is easily achieved with this guitar, as well as traditional Country songs. This Artcore AS53 exceeds all expectations, and needs no alterations as gar as I am concerned. Get it at this lowball pricing!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2016 by Scott W in Westfield, MA
"Th"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this thing. Plugged in or not it's fun to play n sounds great. I have the dark wood finish. The tuner for my g string broke almost immediately n so far have been too lazy to get it squared up. Not a big deal, for 300 bucks this thing is a deal. Recommend it all day long.
Musical Background:
25 yrs, just for fun
Musical Style:
Rock,metal
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2014 by Anthony L in Brooklyn, NY
"Ibanez AS53 Artcore Electric Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this guitar sounds great
Musical Background:
playing on and off for about 10 years. jam at home
Musical Style:
rock country southern rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us